The Best People In The World!

Saturday, July 31, 2010

No More Christian Nice Girl - Review


Tired of doing all you can for others while your relationships remain stuck in neutral or are headed in reverse? Paul Coughlin and psychologist Jennifer Degler show how being nice can harm you and drain the life out of your relationships. They explore the keys to fulfillment at home, work, church, and even in the bedroom. You'll discover that emulating the real Jesus is the key to transforming from a Christian Nice Girl into an authentic, powerful woman of loving faith.
(excerpt from back cover).

My Review:

I actually loved this book, No More Christian Nice Girl, When Being Nice - Instead of Good - Hurts You, Your Family, and Your Friends, by Paul Coughlin and Jennifer Degler, because I can identify with your typical CNG or Christian Nice Girl.

These are the types of women and girls who try to follow in the footsteps of Jesus but only the sweet and kind, Jesus steps. Not the mix of salty and sweet that is found in our favorite foods and snacks. We need a bit of both to balance our life and make sure we don't become the proverbial "doormat".

There is a cute quiz at the beginning of the book to let you know if you have fallen into the character of CNG or are on your way to becoming one. Each chapter helps you to identify how you can find balance in those areas of still walking in the footsteps of Jesus but defining boundaries and borders instead of letting people walk all over you and saying nothing.

Some of the chapters deal with friendships and families, how nice wrecks those relationships; dating, how nice attracts Mr. Wrong; Marriage, how nice messes up matrimony; sex, how nice steals your spice, and work, how nice cripples your career.

After reading this book, I understand the mistakes I have been making along with so many other women I know who don't want to rock the boat, but have the feeling that we are taken advantage of instead of speaking up for ourselves. Thankfully in using some of these principles in my own personal life, I can rest assured I am not doing things God would be unhappy with but seeing me become the woman of God He truly had in mind for me all along.

I received this book, compliments of Bethany House Publishers for my honest review and feel that every single girl and woman should read this. I would rate this book 5 stars for the benefit that we all need to become that woman of God we've always dreamed of becoming.

For more information on this book, the authors or where you can obtain a copy for yourselves, please click on the link below:

http://www.bethanyhouse.com/ME2/Audiences/dirmod.asp?sid=0477683E4046471488BD7BAC8DCFB004&nm=&type=PubCom&mod=PubComProductCatalog&mid=BF1316AF9E334B7BA1C33CB61CF48A4E&tier=3&id=8EA9CAED5BFA49C8BC56E9F68DAC187F

Friday, July 30, 2010

Love Is A Flame


Real people. Real stories. Real love.

Happily ever after. Does it only happen in fairy tales, or in real life? Over the years love may burn strong and steady, but sometimes it grows cold. However, it can be rekindled - and these stories show how. Be inspired by true accounts of how love was revived and renewed.

You'll discover that love can grow stronger and burn brighter through the years as you read more than forty stories from everyday people like:

  • Jan, whose marriage was restored despite adultery

  • Marsha, who fought pornography and won

  • Bryan, who realized his family, not his career, was his most important responsibility

  • Emily, who learned that real love overcomes unrealistic expectations

  • Jeff, who went from dissatisfaction and boredom to falling in love all over again.

The true stories in Love Is A Flame will warm your heart and show you how to create a new spark in your marriage and build it into a glowing flame. (excerpt back cover).

My Review:

In Love Is A Flame by Gary Chapman and James Stuart Bell, you will discover how to rekindle your marriage back into the fire it was when you got married. It will teach you ways through real life stories of couples and people just like yourself that encountered issues in their marriage that would have cause most people to walk away and show you that you can save yours if you are willing to try.

This book is wonderfully divided into unique chapters that address the common issues like the ones mentioned above so you can go directly to the source of conflict within your own marriage or perhaps help another struggle couple out of their mess with strong biblical insight coupled with real true stories.

I received this book from Bethany House Publishers for my honest review and truly believe that every married couple should have this book in their home for review and for a great resource. You may never need it but it's nice to have to provide sound biblical advice to so many marriages that are going through these issues around us. I would rate this book a 5 out of 5 stars.

For more information on this book, the authors and where to purchase a copy simply click on the title below:

Thursday, July 29, 2010

In A Heartbeat - Review


First came the bestselling book, then the Oscar nominated movie - the story of Michael Oher and the family who adopted him has become one of the most talked-about true stories of our time. But, until now, Leigh Anne and Sean Tuohy have never told this astonishing tale in their own way and with their own words.

For Leigh Anne and Sean, it all begins with family. Leigh Anne, the daughter of a tough-as-nails U.S. marshal, decided early on that her mission was to raise children who would become "cheerful givers." Sean, who grew up poor, believed that one day he could provide a home that would be a "place of miracles." Together, they raised two high-spirited children - Collins and Sean Jr. - who shared their deep Christian faith and their commitment to making a difference. And then one day Leigh Anne met a homeless African American boy named Michael and decided that her family could be his. She and her husband taught Michael what this book teaches all of us: everyone has a blindside, but a loving heart always sees a path toward true charity.

Michael Oher's improbable transformation could never have happened if Leigh Anne and Sean Tuohy had not opened their hearts to him. In this touching, funny, and profoundly inspiring book, the Tuohys take us on an extraordinary journey of faith and love - and teach us unforgettable lessons about the power of cheerful giving. (excerpt inside book cover).

My Review:

This book picks up where the first book and movie the Blind Side left off and then some. You get the inside story of Sean and Leigh Anne's childhood and upbringing and learn how giving has led them to the story we have all come to know and love. Their heart warming generosity is overwhelming and I loved this book from the very first page. It makes me want to become a better person and I think that is the point behind this book.

"If there is one meaning we'd like you to take from our story, its' this: the person you just walked past is the one who could change your life. So, every once in a while, stop and turn around. Find out about that person.

Eight years ago we didn't go out looking to adopt a child - a miracle simply hit us in the face and we didn't run from it. We can tell you from personal experience that the kid you never looked for can be the most surprising blessing in the world.

Love, we've learned, can come into your life in a heartbeat. But the people who are your family aren't always the people who are blood related to you, and loving someone unconditionally is a lot easier that we make it out to be.

Give love and you will always get it back. That's our story, that's our message." (pg 263-264)

I received In A Heartbeat by Leigh Anne and Sean Tuohy with Sally Jenkins, compliments of B & B Media Group and must say, it's hard to not want to read their personal story. Not just for the story behind the Tuohy family but to learn how giving to help others truly does bring out the very best in all of us. I would easily rate this book a perfect 5 stars.

For more information about this book, the authors and where to purchase a copy, please click on the link below:

In a Heartbeat: Sharing the Power of Cheerful Giving

by Leigh Anne and Sean Tuohy with Sally Jenkins

Henry Holt and Company/July 13, 2010

ISBN: 978-0-8050-9338-4/288 pages/hardcover/$24.00

http://us.macmillan.com/HenryHolt.aspx

Wednesday, July 28, 2010

Dark In The City of Light - Review

My Review:

Paris in the 1870's is a very dangerous place to be. The country is on the edge of a civil unrest as the citizens rise up against Napoleon Bonaparte saying that he isn't the rightful emperor of France, while Austria and Prussia try to stay out of an impending war with France.

Meanwhile Baron Ferdinand Harsanyi has one of the the rights to the Cinnabar mines his wife owns which can be mined for ore to gain Mercury, a very sought after product that France, Prussia, and England which to purchase to gain a hand in the upcoming war. But when his wife refuses to get involved in the profits of war, she mysteriously dies and leaves the rights of the mine to her husband.

The family is then uprooted to Paris where Rudolph Harsanyi is enrolled in Ecole military school that had once taught Napoleon and when he learns that his mother may have been murdered, he wastes no time in trying to find the killer, who may very well be under the same roof.

His sister on the other hand is involved in the romance of Paris and in meeting with the up and coming well to do royalty that finds it's way in the Prince and Princess Von Metternich of Austria. She also finds the man she left behind in Vienna has followed her to Paris and proposes marriage.

Will the war bring this family together or simply tear them all apart? You'll have to find out by reading Dark in the City of Light by Paul Robertson. I received this book, compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance, for my honest review and would rate this a 4 out of 5 stars. It was a hard start in the beginning and then it got better by the second chapter. For more information on the book, the author and where to purchase a copy, please review below:
This week, the


Christian Fiction Blog Alliance


is introducing


Dark In The City Of Light
Bethany House (July 1, 2010)


by
Paul Robertson






ABOUT THE AUTHOR:









Paul Robertson is a computer programming consultant, part-time high-school math and science teacher, and the author of The Heir. He is also a former Christian bookstore owner (for 15 years), who lives with his family in Blacksburg, Virginia.











ABOUT THE BOOK



What Evil Haunts the Shadows of 1870s Paris?



Baron Ferdinand Harsanyi — After his wife's mysterious death, this Austrian attachĂ© holds control over mines whose coveted ore could turn the tide of war.



Therese Harsanyi — Swept up in new romance and the spectacle of Paris, the Baron's daughter is blind to the dangers stalking her family and the city she loves.



Rudolph Harsanyi — Unsure whom to trust, the Baron's son's grief over his mother's death twists into growing anger and a desire to break free.



As France and Prussia plunge toward war, one family is caught in a web of deceit, political intrigue, and murder that threatens to tear them apart.



If you would like to read the first chapter of Dark In The City Of Light, go HERE.

Winning In Troubled Times - Giveaway and Review


In this timely and powerful new book, Dr. Creflo A. Dollar shares transforming ways to deal with the challenges and hardships everyone faces today. In MAXIMIZE YOUR LIFE, Dr. Dollar not only helps those who are struggling to identify their troubles, he also shows them how to find the path to true happiness. Dr. Dollar equips readers to move beyond trials in areas such as marriage, family, finances, relationships, parenting, career, and health. Even those suffering from personal struggles and addictions can claim victory and healing through faith in God's Word. With the right attitude and mind-set, anyone can overcome life's obstacles and move on to success!

Readers will discover the keys to acquiring character, hope, and answers necessary for growth and excellence. Dr. Dollar equips readers with the tools needed to transform their thinking, bring this message of hope into everyday practice, and produce real results in their lives. (excerpt from back cover).

My Review:

In the book, Winning In Troubled Times by Dr. Creflo Dollar, he teaches you the eight steps to create the life you want. He deals with the common areas we as all Christians struggle with, finances, relationships with friends, marriage and children, negative emotions, anger, depression, stress, and rejection as well as addictive behaviors such as lust and selfishness.

You can tackle to book by reading it from page one on or simply jump to the chapter where you have the biggest challenge in your own Christian life. He provides some great true life challenges of his own, coupled with sound biblical advice on overcoming these challenges and finally obtaining the life you have always dreamed of.

I received this book, compliments of Faith Words, a division of Hachette Book Groups, in exchange for my honest review. I found this to be a great resource in dealing with some of the challenges we all face from time to time and rate it a 5 out of 5 stars.

The generous folks at Hachette Book Group are allowing me to host this book giveaway for three (3) copies!
  • Winners are restricted to the US and Canada. No PO Box mailing address please. You must be a follower of this blog to win.
  • I must have a way of contacting you, so be sure to leave your email address in your comment.
  • Some choose to omit the @ sign and the . dot by writing it in "code" like this: you (at) your email (dot)com.
  • I'll close the comments August 4th and pick the three winners. I will contact the winners via email to get their mailing information. The winners will have three days to respond. If I do not hear from them within three days, I will select another winner(s).
For more information on this book, the author and where to purchase a copy, click on the title of the book below:

Tuesday, July 27, 2010

Exercising Your Soul - Review and Giveaway


Do you know the story of Raider's of the Lost Ark?

Our hero Indiana Jones is asked to track down the famed and legendary ark of the covenant before the Nazis, in the years before World War II, locate it to use for devious purposes. Now, the ark is this box that holds the Ten Commandments, the stone tablets that God gave to Moses and that ancient Hebrews treasured and carried with them wherever they went. At some point in history the ark went missing and has been sought after ever since, because it is said that whoever wields the ark will have great power - the power of God.

After Christ's death, resurrection, and ascension, the Holy Spirit makes his presence known to the apostles and in turn becomes a living fire that burns in each and every one of us. This means that each of us carries within the Word of God, the new agreement, the new covenant. This in turn means that each of us is an ark of the covenant. Each of us is a container for the great and awesome power of God. This does not make us God, but God is present in every one of us. Every one of us contains the awesome power of God.

In the book, Exercising Your Soul by Gary Jansen, he uses stories like the one mentioned about to draw you back to the intimate relationship we should all have with God if we are willing to give just fifteen minutes of our day to God. This is a wonderful and simple book to use each morning to awaken a new insight into awakening our souls ready to receive God for the day.

I received this book, compliments of Faith Words, a division of Hachette Book Groups for my honest review. I can honestly say this book has enhanced the relationship and prayer life I share with God each day. Not only that the stories that Gary uses makes each concept simple for anyone to understand. I would rate this book a 5 out of 5 stars!

For more information on this book which is available in hardcover or eBook, the author and where you can read an excerpt from this wonderful book, click on the link below:


Thanks to the wonderful folks at Faith Words and Hachette Book Groups, I am blessed to be able to provided 3 copies of the book for a giveaway and here are the guidelines:

  • Winners are restricted to the US and Canada. No PO Box mailing address please. You need to be a follower of my blog to win.
  • I must have a way of contacting you, so be sure to leave your email address in your comment.
  • Some choose to omit the @ sign and the . dot by writing it in "code" like this: you (at) your email (dot)com.
  • I'll close the comments August 3rd and pick the three winners. I will contact the winners via email to get their mailing information. The winners will have three days to respond. If I do not hear from them within three days, I will select another winner(s).

Kid's Hands On Bible - NLT Version Giveaway


Your kids won't just read the Bible, they'll experience it!

The Hands-On Bible is loaded with activities that parents and kids can do together. Experiencing the Bible in engaging ways makes Scripture relevant and memorable. It features the clear New Living Translation to help children understand God's Word. Plus, MyHandsOnBible.com gives parents free bonus activities, devotions, music and more.

The Hands-On Bible Experiences invites kids to do the Bible with science experiments, crafts, snacks, journals - the ways kids learn best!

52 Key Verse Activities - help kids learn, understand, and live important Bible truths.

Bible Book Introductions - make kids want to read every book of the Bible by using humor and hilarious graphics.

Fun Facts - help kids see the Bible as true and amazing.

Bible Hero Biographies - talk straight to kids, making the characters come alive.

Where to Turn When I'm...index, kid friendly Q & A, dictionary, concordance, maps and charts reinforce truths and add to the ongoing learning fun.

I was provided with a complimentary copy of the Kid's Hands On Bible for my honest review and love this Bible version. I could completely see this being used by parents that home school and add Biblical teaching to their childrens' curriculum. There are some great hands on science experiments that incorporate Bible lessons alongside Science.

The wonderful people at Tyndale House Publishers have provided me with an opportunity to provide one lucky follower of my blog with a certificate to either pick up your own copy at your local Christian book store or have one mailed directly to you. Here are the guidelines for this giveaway:

  • Winners are restricted to the US and Canada. No PO Box mailing address please. You do not have to be a blogger to win.
  • I must have a way of contacting you, so be sure to leave your email address in your comment.
  • Some choose to omit the @ sign and the . dot by writing it in "code" like this: you (at) your email (dot)com.
  • I'll close the comments August 3rd and pick the three winners. I will contact the winners via email to get their mailing information. The winners will have three days to respond. If I do not hear from them within three days, I will select another winner(s).

For more information on the Bible, the view sample pages directly from the Bible, and where to purchase your own copy, click on the link below:

http://www.thenlt.com/05discoverthenlt/hands_on_bible.asp

Monday, July 26, 2010

Nightshade - Review

My Review:

Deep in the jungle of the Philippines is where Max Jacobs the former Navy Seal leads a secret Black Ops Mission to help several missionaries get out before the Radical Guerillas come in to kill the rival tribes where they live. Max soon learns that through the help of some very close combat friends that he has to accept God and learn from his past, to let go of his inner demons and strife. This book has a great moral storyline for all to read and learn out of this book which is pride. Don't be so prideful that you can't share and trust the people who are part of your life. Max learns a great moral in the final section of the book which I will not spoil for you.

The book Nightshade by Ronie Kendig is definitely great for men and women who know or have some sort of connection with the Armed Forces that protect our Nation everyday! I can't wait to read some more of Ronie Kendigs' next book in this series. Thank you for writing such a clever story! I definitely rate this book a 4.5 out of 5. It has all of the aspects you are looking for in an action book. I like how the story leads Max into wanting to know more about God as the story unfolds before you.

I received this book compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review. For more information regarding the book, the author, and a book video check out the links below:

This week, the


Christian Fiction Blog Alliance


is introducing


Nightshade
Barbour Books (July 1, 2010)
by


Ronie Kendig






ABOUT THE AUTHOR:



Ronie has been married since 1990 to a man who can easily be defined in classic terms as a hero. She has four beautiful children. Her eldest daughter is 16 this year, her second daughter will be 13, and her twin boys are 10. After having four children, she finally finished her degree in December 2006. She now has a B.S. in Psychology through Liberty University in Lynchburg, VA. Getting her degree is a huge triumph for both her and her family--they survived!!



This degree has also given her a fabulous perspective on her characters and how to not only make them deeper, stronger, but to make them realistic and know how they'll respond to each situation. Her debut novel, Dead Reckoning released March 2010 from Abingdon Press. And her Discarded Heroes series begins in July from Barbour with the first book entitled Nightshade.





ABOUT THE BOOK



After a tour of duty in a war-torn country, embattled former Navy SEAL Max Jacobs finds himself discarded and alienated from those he loves as he

struggles with war-related PTSD. His wife, Sydney, files a restraining order against him and a petition for divorce. Max is devastated.



Then a mysterious a man appears. He says he's organizing a group that recycles veterans like Max. It's a deep-six group known as Nightshade. With

the chance to find purpose in life once again, Max is unable to resist the call of duty and signs on.



The team handles everything with precision and lethal skill...until they're called upon to rescue a missionary family from a rebel-infested jungle and

avoid a reporter hunting their identities.



Will Max yield his anger and pride to a force greater than him...love?



If you would like to read the first chapter of Nightshade, go HERE.



Watch the trailer:



What's In The Bible # 3


In What’s In the Bible #3, Wanderin’ in the Desert, Buck Denver and his cast of friends take us through the next three books of the Bible—Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy—helping kids understand how these books fit in with Genesis and Exodus to make up the Pentateuch and to set the stage for the trials and victories of God’s people. The question “Did this stuff really happen?” is also answered.

From the man who made vegetables talk (and sing and dance and tell Bible stories) comes this third release in the engaging new series that walks kids through the entire Bible! Each DVD is filled with an entertaining cast of characters who bring the most powerful Bible stories to life using humor, creative storytelling, and fun songs. Join VeggieTales creator Phil Vischer on a wild and zany journey and see the world’s most amazing book come to life.

My Review:

I have had the wonderful opportunity to view all three of these wonderful DVD's from the creator of Veggie Tales Phil Vischer and I think these would make for a wonderful addition to those of you that are homeschooling your children. Whether you use them as a history lesson in learning about the different places mentioned on the DVD and then looking those places up on a map, or even using the musical songs to enhance a child's love of music, there are so many ways to incorporate a bit of fun into learning more about God's word and the Bible.

In the DVD, Wandering in the Desert part 3, you learn about Leviticus and the rules governing the tribes of Israel and why it was necessary. This is also a critical part of learning why rules are necessary in our world, our cities and in our families as well as churches. Just another valuable way to teach your children about why rules are necessary.

I have received a complimentary copy of the DVD, What's in the Bible, Wandering in The Desert # 3, from Tyndale House Publishers for my honest review. My 17 year old daughter is the biggest fan in our family and has already learned all the words to these songs. So you can see it's truly fun for the whole family. I would rate this DVD a perfect 5 stars for great family entertainment with a message!

For more information on this DVD, the creator Phil Vischer and where to purchase your copy, simply click on the link below:

http://whatsinthebible.com

Sunday, July 25, 2010

The Boy Who Came Back From Heaven - Giveaway and Review


"God is amazing. I am just a kid" - Alex Malarkey

We were made for so much more than the things of this world. Sometimes we can sense it...we have a restless, dissatisfied feeling that we don't quite belong here, that this is not our final home.

Yet who do you know who has been to the next world? Sure, you may have heard stories of white light and tunnels and near-death experiences. But what if there was a person who had been to Heaven - who had actually walked through the gates - and stayed long enough to learn about the things of God? Would you be interested in what he had to stay?

Meet Alex Malarkey. Alex and his dad, Kevin, were in a car accident so horrific that emergency workers recommended calling the coroner to the scene for Alex. For the next two months, Alex lingered in a coma. When he finally awoke, he revealed something amazing: He had spent time in Heaven with Jesus while unconscious and had come back with astonishing revelations about what he had seen, heard, and experienced.

You may be intrigued. You may be skeptical. You may be hungry to know more about what lies beyond life on earth. Join Alex on his journey... and your life may be changed forever.

"Let the children come to me. Don't stop them! For the Kingdom of God belongs to those who are like these children." - Mark 10:14 (excerpt from inside cover).

My Review:

I have no doubt in my mind what so ever that the things Alex and his father Kevin share in their personal true story called The Boy Who Came Back From Heaven by Alex and Kevin Malarkey, is 100% true.

The pictures contained in the book are so undeniable that Alex's injury that he sustained that day in the car accident with his father, should have a different outcome. He shouldn't have survived. No one with that type of injury severing their spinal colon from their skull at the base of the neck, shouldn't be alive.

Yet despite all the doctors and eye witnesses, Alex continues to be a personal testimony to the amazing power of what God can do when people gather together to pray. ALL things are possible with God, not just some. And that is the point Alex is making in sharing his story in this wonderful book. It's not about him, it's about the hope that lies within all of us that have that relationship with God.

The story Alex tells of his personal time in heaven is amazing even though he can't begin to accurately describe it knowing our earth and words today. The angels, the Throne Room of God, the Inner and Outer parts of Heaven, Hell and the devil and his demons are all something Alex has been given the opportunity to have the veil of the unseen world removed. He can see things now that none of us can.

This is Alex's life testimony and one you can continue to view on PrayforAlex.com to see his ongoing progress, and personal pictures of the healing power of God so far in his life. He still has a way to go, but God will heal this amazing child and use him in powerful way to bring God all the glory.

I was provided with a complimentary copy of this book through Tyndale House Publishers for my honest review and rate this a perfect 10 stars. It's a book you can't pass up. It will change your life forever. I know it has changed mine. This book is available in hardcover, DVD and CD. For more information on this book, the amazing authors and where to purchase your copy, click on the link below:

http://mediacenter.tyndale.com/1_products/details.asp?isbn=978-1-4143-3606-0

I am giving away my copy of the book because I truly believe that Alex's story needs to be read and passed on. For one lucky follower of my blog, I will be giving that to you. Here are the guidelines:

1. You Must be a follower of this blog.

2. No P.O. Boxes please.

3. Open to all followers! Take advantage this is a first. Followers get 2 entries.

4. Blog about this on your blog and get 2 extra entries.

5. If you donate to Alex's website directly, you get 10 extra entries. Any donation is fine. Simply let me know.

6. Leave me a comment and tell me how this post about Alex is changing your life. I dare you to check out his personal website and not be changed. - worth 2 entries!

The giveaway will end on August 1st. Winners will be notified by email. Please make sure I have a way to contact you, please leave me your email address in your comments. You will have 5 days to respond. If I don't hear from you within 5 days, I will pick another winner.

Desire Me - Giveaway and Review


The Legend Hunters...

The Men of Solomon's meet in secret, their very existence only a rumor among the best of Victorian society. They are treasure hunters, men of wealth and title, seekers of myths and legends. And no legend is a mystifying as the lost city of Atlantis.

Years ago, Maxwell Barrett found a map to Atlantis and dedicated his life to the search for the mystical lost continent. But when an alluring woman make a wager for the priceless artifact, he may have discovered an even greater treasure.

A descendant of Atlantis, Sabine Tobias needs the map to decipher an ancient prophecy. What she doesn't need are the sparks flying between her and Max. He's too devilishy charming to be trusted: The fate of her people is at stake as well as her heart. Yet a ruthless killer also covets the map. Now Max and Sabine must race to decode the prophecy's riddle before this criminal fulfills his deadly mission. (excerpt back cover).

My Review:

This book, Desire Me, by Robyn DeHart is like a blend of Lara Croft Tomb Raider and Indiana Jones. The story is woven so nicely between Max's search for the lost city of Atlantis while helping Sabine understand the ancient prophecy concerning her family. They work well together to help both of them achieve their desires and in the end, it's truly a masterpiece in the making.

This is the second book in the Legend Hunters series and yet can be read completely alone and still find so much excitement and intrigue with it. If you like stories like Romancing the Stone and Jewel of the Nile then this is a must read for you.

I received this book, compliments of Hachette Book Group for my honest review. This book is available in paperback and eBook formats only. I would rate this book a 4.5 out of 5 stars. For more information on the book, the author and where you can obtain your own copy, please click on the link below:

http://www.hachettebookgroup.com/books_9780446541978.htm

The wonderful publishers of Hachette Books, are offering five lucky followers of this blog, and opportunity to win this book in a giveaway that ends on August 1st. Here are the guidelines:

1. Must be a follower of this blog.

2. Must be a resident of the US or Canada.

3. No P.O. Boxes please.

4. Need a way to contact you if you a winner, so please include your email address in the comment box.

5. Share with me one of your life's greatest adventures. It can be something you've experienced in the past or something you want to do in the future.

6. All winners will be notified by email.

Saturday, July 24, 2010

Resurrection In May


A strange and wondrous friendship ignites the fire of love in May Seymour's life.

Lovely and winsome May Seymour graduated from college with the world at her feet...and no idea what to do with it. A spontaneous mission trip to Africa brought a great surprise - love - and a strong sense of purpose. But in loving others there, she encountered a severe tragedy that left her deeply wounded.

She comes to heal at the farm of Claudius Borne - a sweet, kind old man who understands plants and animals far better than people. And his farm becomes May's home.

There on the farm, May renews a friendship with an old college flame name Eli whose path has taken unexpected turns too. As May tries to convince Eli to grab hold of life once again, he begins to pull May from her sheltered existence. Like old Claudius's farm in the Spring, May begins to blossom back into life. But no resurrection ever comes without sacrifice - and this sacrifice will forever transform May. (excerpt from back cover).

My Review:

Who would have ever thought that one's graduation night would completely and utterly change her life forever? Not only hers but the life of Claudius Borne as well. May's life of the college girl who has partied one too many times has finally caught up to her and finds herself staggering drunk on a deserted street about to be hit by Claudius Borne, a seventy two year old man who has lived alone his whole life.

Compassion and mercy fall on May when Claudius takes her in and offers to help her get through the worst hang over in her life, back on his farm. He has spent all his life raising produce to supply his most basic needs with only a few farm animals to keep him company. Until May arrives and they both see they need one another more than a life alone. Claudius becomes a father to May and May offers him the life of having someone to care for and someone to care about him.

The hardest part comes for both of them when May leaves for a mission trip to Rwanda to help the church. Claudius misses the very presence May brought into his life for a few short months and learns that turmoil is erupting in Rwanda that could cost May her life.

I received the book, Resurrection In May by Lisa Samson, compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers for my honest review. It was one of the books that took me the longest to read, not because it wasn't interesting but because I was so deeply involved in the aspects of the lives of May and Claudius so much I really wanted to take my time. It was time well spent and a book, I would easily give 10 stars too! It's that great a book.

It gives you back hope when you think that enduring a tragedy in your life can not be forgotten or forgiven. It offers you a look at the life of a man who truly took up his cross and followed in Jesus' footsteps in the life of Claudius Borne. He sacrificed all he has and owns to care for a perfect stranger without a second thought and in doing so teaches May the greatest life lesson anyone could, than that of someone who loves others more than himself.

For more information on this heartwarming and wonderful book, the amazing author or even where to purchase a copy for yourself, please click on the link below:

http://www.thomasnelson.com/consumer/product_detail.asp?sku=1595545441&title=Resurrection_in_May

Friday, July 23, 2010

Stars In The Night - Book Review

Everyone has always dreamed of moving to Hollywood with the hopes of becoming the next big star with their name in lights.

That’s what Rosemary Shaeffer had hoped when she convinced her mom and dad to let her leave her small town in Indiana at the height of World War 2 to head for Hollywood to make it big.

Her parents only relented and gave her their blessing if she remained in contact with them faithfully with a weekly phone call, otherwise she’d be on the next bus headed home.

Her older sister, Audra, is finally getting her big break after finishing up at law school to try her very first case as a woman. Finally life for the Shaeffer sisters is looking up.

Until…one night when Rosemary doesn’t make her routine call home. At first her father brushes it off that she might be at an audition or on a movie set, but they agree to wait until morning hoping that she will call and explain the reason for taking so long to call. Only the call never comes. Audra feels that something isn’t right. Maybe it was the sound in her voice the last time she spoke with Rosemary. Was it trouble with a man?

Leaving nothing to chance, Audra leaves to Hollywood to find out what happened to her sister. Yet when she arrives, she finds a dead body of a woman in her sister’s bathroom and her sister missing. Is her sister the murderer?

After contacting the police, Audra is called to meet the police at the hospital. She is hoping that her sister has been taken there after some accident, but when she arrives, she is asked to identify the body of a woman found in red gown at the park. It’s Rosemary.

How does one call her parents and tell them that they have lost another child? Audra decides to stay in town and try to solve the murder of her sister. As she has to go on is a book of her sisters calendar and a long list of men’s names. Will she be able to find her sister’s murderer? Will she herself become the newest target of something the killer is looking for? What did her sister wind up getting herself involved with to justify murder?

In order to find out, you’ll have to read, Stars in the Night by Cara C. Putnam, in her latest book involving the Hollywood stars that all have ulterior motives to get their names in lights.

I received this book, compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance, for my honest review. For more information regarding this book, the author or where to purchase a copy, you can read more below:

This week, the


Christian Fiction Blog Alliance


is introducing


Stars In The Night
Summerside Press (July 1, 2010)


by
Cara Putman






ABOUT THE AUTHOR:



A Word From Cara:



I graduated from high school at sixteen, college at 20, and completed my law degree when I was 27.



My writing journey started in 2005 when I decided to write my first novel. Now I have eleven books published with more on the way.



People say I've accomplished a lot and that I must have life by the proverbial tail. Hardly! I grew up as a home schooled kid when home schoolers were misunderstood and oddities.



I struggle with balancing my writing and law career, plus being a good mom and wife.



I often fear people won't like my books.



I've walked through the deep pain of miscarriage.



Really, I'm just like you – I don't have it all together and have gone through tough times. But in His strength, I've discovered a strength I never knew I had. A strength I want you to discover, too.



In the end I'm just an ordinary mom who has seen God do some wonderful things as I've been obedient to step into the calling He's led me into.



Stars in the Night Background



Stars in the Night was an idea that had begun to percolate in my mind. I’d written two World War II series and was actively looking for my next setting. My husband, a huge World War II history buff, and I were kicking ideas around, and I’d decided Hollywood was probably the next place for me. I’d gone to the library and gotten a stack of research books when I got the call. An editor I knew but had never worked with wanted to know if I might be interested in a new line they were starting. As we talked, I got so excited. And then she emailed me their guidelines, which listed that Hollywood was a location they were interested in setting books.



Only God could have known ahead of time. But because I followed His prompting I was ready to run with an idea. Stars in the Night is the result.







ABOUT THE BOOK



Hollywood 1942. When attorney Audra Schaeffer's sister disappears, Audra flies to Hollywood to find her.



Any day Audra might have been flattered by the friendly overtures of Robert Garfield, a real-life movie star. But on the flight from Indianapolis to Hollywood, Audra can think of little else than finding her missing sister. When Audra arrives in the city of glitz and glamour, and stars, and learns her rising starlet sister has been murdered, all thoughts of romance fly away.



Determined to bring the killer to justice, Audra takes a job with the second Hollywood Victory Caravan.



Together with Robert Garfield and other stars, she crisscrosses the southern United States in a campaign to sell war bonds. When two other women are found dead on the train, Audra knows the deaths are tied to that of her sister.



Could the killer be the man with whom she's falling in love?



If you'd like to read an excerpt of Chapter 1 of Stars In The Night, go HERE.



Contest: Lots of opportunities to win and great prizes, and the grand prize contains some of Cara's favorite classic movies as well as all of her WWII novels: Launch Contest!

Thursday, July 22, 2010

A Maze of Grace - Giveaway and Review


In her first book, He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not, Trish Ryan chronicled the ways in which finding faith led her to the happily-ever-after ending that had eluded her for so long. Only it wasn't an ending. It was a beginning.

In A Maze of Grace, Ryan picks up where she left off, sharing the early years of her marriage and the challenges that came with it. With humor and wit, she recounts the moments that left her looking for answers, from temptations regarding fidelity and the anxiety of shifting body image to the awkward nature of following Jesus in a decidedly secular city, and a series of struggles (depression, trying to conceive) that made her wonder if God had lost her file.

With appealing candor, Ryan sweeps the reader into her life and ponders questions and issues that we all face, dropping nuggets of wisdom along the way that are sure to inspire, encourage, and help women in all walks of life. (excerpt from inside flap).

My Review:

I'd love the true honesty that comes across in A Maze of Grace, A Memoir of Second Chances by Trish Ryan. I hadn't been fortunate to read the first book but picking up just after her marriage, she faces the same struggles that all of us at one time or another have thought about. Girls at our husbands work flirting with them while struggling with our own self image issues, having thoughts about other men, even though we never acted on them, dealing with wanting children and waiting on God to provide and during that time, questioning her faith because even though she knew Sarah was blessed in her old age, she didn't think God was still working miracles like that today.

She faces every single obstacle that new believers and new married couples face in the first few years of marriage and she walks us through them all with a great blend of humor, "one being when after several years of trying to have a baby and being left barren, while holding the baby of a friend, a man comes by and tells her that she and her husband ought to stop holding up the process and pop a few out, while in her mind she is visualizing kicking him in the family jewels." This is just the real down to earth writing that Trish shares in taking us through the difficult years that she and her husband faced.

I think it keeps it real for all of us and shows us that we are all human and struggle at times in our faith, but that God is faithful and will always come through.

I received this book, compliments of Faith Words, a division of Hachette Book Groups, for my honest review. I would rate this book a 5 out of 5 stars easily for the honest way that Trish shares the story of faith.

This book is available in hardcover and eBook formats. It retails for between $15-$19

For more information on this book, the amazing author and to read an excerpt from the book, please click on the link below:

http://www.hachettebookgroup.com/books_9780446545815.htm

For three lucky followers of my blog, Hachette is blessing you with a copy of the book. Here are the guidelines for the giveaway:

1. Must be a follower of my blog.

2. Be a resident of the US or Canada.

3. I must have an email address to reach you in the event you win, please add it to the comment window.

4. No P.O. Boxes, please!

5. Leave me a comment and tell me your biggest struggle in your walk of faith.

The giveaway will end on July 29th. Winners will be notified by email.

P.S. I am now being featured on Giveaway Scout. You can find out more by clicking on the widget on my side bar.

Wednesday, July 21, 2010

Live Long, Finish Strong - Giveaway and Review


In Live Long, Finish Strong, Gloria Copeland presents a scriptually sound program to show readers how to claim the promise of a long and blessed life. Gloria believes the Bible teaches that God's plan includes a life span of at least 120 years.

In this book, she reveals through faith in, and focus on, the Word of God, people can be energized and renewed regardless of their chronological age.

Each chapter helps readers implement the principles of this amazing process. From "Scriptual Antioxidants" to "God's Healing Promises," Gloria addresses specifics that readers can use to claim this supernatural health for themselves. Here is an insightful new look at God's divine health plan for His children and a personal invitation by the author to join her in living a long and strong life until God calls us home in victory and triumph.

"God may not be through with you yet," writes Gloria. "You may have been in training for a long time. You may have wisdom and a capacity to bless people that come only after many years of service to the Lord. If so, you're a valuable soldier in the army of God."

Don't be willing to leave this earth until you're sure you've finished the work He has called you to do. Determine to complete your mission so that when you stand before Jesus you can hear Him say, "Well done, good and faithful servant." Come discover the divine secrets to living long and finishing strong. (Excerpt from back cover).

My Review:

I absolutely loved this book and its Biblical principles to living a life, both spiritually and physically fulfilling for the work of God to be completed by us. I love the chapters that show just how we can ask for a youth renewing in our physical bodies as well as praying for healing when we don't feel like we should from aging pains to diseases. There are chapters on scriptures for healing and in leaving our lives in victory and triumph to head to our eternal home, instead of wallowing in pain filled with disease.

My favorite chapter was on the willingness to stop negative beliefs and words from leaving our mouths whenever something is physically wrong with us. Have you ever heard someone say they won't live to the age of 40 and then die at 40? It's about changing our beliefs and words to match up with our faith in God and what His word says about our lives. How else could Moses have lived so long or ever Abraham and Sarah having kids at such a late age?

We are the ones sometimes who dictate our own demise by what we believe and say. What a wonderful way to change our perception on what God's plan is for us in our life. I would rate this book a 5 out of 5 stars and a great reference book to keep on hand.

I received this book, compliments of Faith Words, a division of Hachette Books Groups, for my honest review. To make things even more wonderful and blessed, they are offering 3 copies to 3 lucky followers of my blog. Here are the guidelines for the giveaway:

1. Be a Follower of this blog.

2. Must be a US or Canada resident only.

3. No P.O. Boxes please.

4. Leave a comment telling me what you believe about living a long and strong life.

5. This giveaway will end on July 28th. Please make sure I have a way to contact you if you are a winner, please include an email address in your comment.

For more information on this book, the author and where you can purchase a copy, click on the link below: This book is available in hard cover, audio downloads, CD, eBook and large print.

http://www.hachettebookgroup.com/books_9780446559287.htm

Tuesday, July 20, 2010

Not That Kind of Girl - Giveaway and Review


Raised in evangelical churches that preach apocalypse now, Carlene Bauer grows up happy to oblige the God who resides over her New Jersey childhood. But in high school and in college, her intellectual and spiritual horizons widen, though still she finds it hard to let go of her ingrained ideals and to rebel as she knows she should.

She loves rock n roll but politely declines offers of sex and drugs, and hovers between a hunger for the world and a suspicion of it. In her twenties, however, determined to make up for lost time, Bauer undertakes a belated and often comic coming of age in New York City - ultimately fall in love and losing her religion, and left wondering just what it means to be good.

Sharply written, hilarious, and touching, Not That Kind of Girl is the story of one young woman's effort to define worldliness, ambition, and love on her own terms. (Excerpt back cover).


My Review:

In Not That Kind of Girl, Carlene Bauer takes us through her personal memoir of growing up like I did, raised in the Catholic church. There were the days of watching a Thief in The Night and then lying awake wondering just when Jesus was going to come back and take people away while leaving the unbelievers behind.

She shares the story of struggle with her faith in her early childhood, where her lifestyle with the Catholic religion didn't give her the personal relationship we know is possible with Jesus Christ. The Christians should mentions in the memoir are the Bible thumping kind that define things in black and white, which TV shows, music and movies are of the devil and influenced by Satan. It is easy to understand the conflict that Carlene faces throughout high school and even in college dealing with her question of faith, and dealing with peer pressure that every single one of us has had to deal with.

While I don't believe along the same lines as Carlene with regards to who God truly is, and thus willing to take risks while searching for it, I didn't grow up as a child with the same upbringing as she did. I didn't find my personal relationship with Jesus until my late 20's. This book is truly believable and in certain aspects of it, I could relate to her on a personal level with regards to the questions she asks of herself.

I received Not That Kind of Girl by Carlene Bauer, compliments of TLC Book Tours for my honest review. I would rate this book 3 out of 5 stars for the overall content of the book. For more information about this book, the author and where to purchase a copy, please click on the link below:

http://tlcbooktours.com/2010/04/carlene-bauer-author-of-not-that-kind-of-girl-on-tour-july-2010/


TLC Tours is happy to offer one lucky follower of mine the opportunity to win a copy of this book. Here are the guidelines for this giveaway:

1. Simply be a follower of my blog
2. Be a resident of the US and Canada only
3. No P.O. Boxes
4. Leave a comment and tell me when you discovered God.

The giveaway will end on July 27th. Winner will be notified via email, so please make sure I have a way to contact you.

Monday, July 19, 2010

Heartless

My Review:

Deep in a land once forgotten that lies outside of the kingdom of Parumvir, lies the hope of world. Princess Una has just come of age and has forgotten the childhood games that she used to play with her brother Felix while sitting on the Old Bridge that separates her father's kingdom from the Old Woods. She has been warned not to cross the bridge but never the reason why.

While Princess Una dreams of suitors, Felix begins to learn the art of sword fighting. Then one day, a crowd of unknown strangers enters the land of Parumvir for the Twelve Year Market, selling magical wares and the kingdom will begin to enter a period of darkness ruled by dragons once more.

I received the book, Heartless by Anne Elisabeth Stengl, compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review and I absolutely adored it. Its a mixture of Pirates of the Caribbean, mixed in with elements of Eragon and Lord of the Rings. Ms. Stengl does a masterful job at immersing the reader into the lives of Princess Una and the fate that awaits her. I would easily rate this book at a 5 out of 5 stars and now even my husband has picked it up to begin reading it the minute I put it down. This is a great Christian fantasy book that rates right up there with C.S. Lewis.

For more information on the book, including the first chapter preview, the author and where to purchase a copy, click on the links below:

This week, the


Christian Fiction Blog Alliance


is introducing


Heartless
Bethany House (July 1, 2010)


by


Anne Elisabeth Stengl



ABOUT THE AUTHOR:




Anne Elisabeth Stengl makes her home in Raleigh, North Carolina, where she enjoys her profession as an art teacher, giving private lessons from her personal studio, and teaching group classes at the Apex Learning Center. She studied illustration at Grace College and English literature at Campbell University. Heartless is her debut novel.


ABOUT THE BOOK



Princess Una of Parumvir has come of age and will soon be married. She dreams of a handsome and charming prince, but when the first suitor arrives, she finds him stodgy and boring. Prince Aethelbald from the mysterious land of Farthestshore has traveled far to prove his love--and also to bring hushed warnings of danger. A dragon is rumored to be approaching Parumvir.


Una, smitten instead with a more dashing prince, refuses Aethelbald's offer--and ignores his warnings. Soon the Dragon King himself is in Parumvir, and Una, in giving her heart away unwisely, finds herself in grave danger. When Una makes the wrong choice, catastrophe ensues for the princess and her family, and love, courage, and trust are needed when darkness engulfs the kingdom.


Only those courageous enough to risk everything have a hope of fighting off this advancing evil.


There are some delightful things and scenes: the Twelve-Year Market that appears in its own good time and sells fairy goods; a clever blind cat who is invariably underfoot and has, of course, a secret!


If you would like to read the first chapter of Heartless, go HERE.

Sunday, July 18, 2010

To Surrender To A Rogue Giveaway and Review


An expert in antiquities, Lady Alessandra della Giamatti arrives in Bath to excavate newly discovered Roman ruins - only to find herself caught in a web or a blackmailer threatening to expose her scandalous past. The one man who can help her is Lord James "Black Jack" Pierson, a fellow member of the expedition and sinfully handsome rogue whose tempting presence ignites a different sort of danger.

Jack has clashed with Alessandra in the past, so when she suddenly surrenders her body he can't help being suspicious. Is she a scheming temptress? Or is she truly a lady in trouble? As desire and deceptions swirl around them, Alessandra and Jack must find a way to win each other's trust. For if they don't work together to uncover a shocking truth, their enemy - and their own simmering passions - may destroy them and everything they cherish. (Excerpt back cover).

My Review:

Here's another reminder of my high school days where romance is alive once more, like the stories from old Harlequin romance books, this is another great read. To Surrender To A Rogue, by Cara Elliot, transports you to another time and place entirely. Much like the classic romance stories this one will too capture your heart. Alessandra plays a great strong female character with a knack for hiding secrets that she should share with Jack which always leads her to trouble. Jack and her have an unusual relationship and their communication comes of in a power play sort of way. One giving a comment and the other trying to outdo it without being the slightest bit vulnerable.

I received this book, compliments of Hachette Book Groups in exchange for my honest review. This is another great romance story where the lady is so likely to be weak just for the sake of love. I would rate this book a 4 out of stars for some suggestive encounters between Alessandra and Jack but that is your classic romance story. This book is available in paperback only.

For 5 lucky followers of my blog, Hachette is pleased to offer this book as a giveaway. Here are the conditions of this giveaway:

1. You MUST be a follower of this blog.

2. This is for US and Canada residents only.

3. No P.O. Boxes.

4. Simply leave me a comment of who your favorite romance couple is whether from books, TV, or movies.

The giveaway ends on July 25th and I must have a way of notifying you, so please leave your email in the comments.

Saturday, July 17, 2010

The Lion Giveaway and Review


In this eagerly awaited follow-up to The Lion's Game, John Corey, former NYPD Homicide detective and special agent for the Anti-Terrorist Task Force, is back. And, unfortunately for Corey, so is Asad Khalil, the notorious Libyan terrorist otherwise known as "The Lion." Last we heard from him, Khali had claimed to be defecting to the US only to unleash the most horrific reign of terrorism ever to occur on American soil. While Corey and his partner, agent Kate Mayfield, chased him across the country, Khalil methodically eliminated his victims one by one and then disappeared without a trace.

Now, years later, Khalil has returned to America to make good on his threats and take care of unfinished business. "The Lion" is a killing machine once again loose in America with a mission of revenge, and John Corey will stop at nothing to achieve his own goal -- to find and kill Khahil. (excerpt from Hachette's website).

My Review:

Even though this book is a sequel from the Lion's game, I was able to read this as a stand alone book and got so much action and thrills from reading it. It is a very graphic violent book, as you could imagine you would get in dealing with a terrorist set on killing those he believes are responsible for the death of his family in 1983.

Now the "Lion" is back on American soil and finishing the job he set out to do last time, which is locating the final pilot responsible for killing his family in a air raid in Iran, and dealing with the FBI Anti-Terrorist Task Force that is seeking to stop him at all costs. Only last time, they lost more agents and still were unable to stop the Lion before he fled back to Libya.

This time he is working with Al Quada to remind the American's once more that their country is no more safe then it was when 9/11 happened two years ago. This is a fast paced, action, thriller that literally keeps you on the edge of your seat. Well worth reading every single second I had time.

I was provided with The Lion by Nelson DeMille compliments of Hachette Book Groups for my honest review and if you like action, thriller, suspense books, then this one is perfect for you. It comes in CD's, eBook, and Hardcover formats. For more information on this book, the author and where to read an excerpt from this book, click on the link below:

http://www.hachettebookgroup.com/books_9780446580830.htm

For three lucky followers of my blog, Hachette Book Groups is offering a giveaway of this amazing book. This giveaway is open to US and Canada residents only. You must be a follower of my blog. I must have a way to contact you in the event you're a winner, so please include an email address with your comment. This giveaway will end on July 24th.

Don't forget to enter my Cheerios Prize pack giveaway which includes a $25.00 American Express Gift card. Click Here to Enter.

Thursday, July 15, 2010

Win $25.00 American Express and Cheerios Gift Package


What do you love to do? Bike rides in the park? Scrapbooking? Travel? No matter what you love to do, you´ll need a healthy heart to do it, and Cheerios® can help.

As part of a heart healthy diet, eating Cheerios cereal, which is made with 100 percent whole grain oats, is an easy way to help maintain a healthy heart. And now cheerios is giving you the chance of a lifetime!

Cheerios is partnering with country music superstar Martina McBride and professional athlete Cal Ripken, Jr. for the "Do What You Love" Contest. McBride and Ripken will recognize two lucky people with prizes that will make their hearts race.

One music lover (and a guest) will tour the Country Music Hall of Fame
® and Museum with McBride, hang out with her in her recording studio - the world famous Blackbird Studio in Nashville, Tenn. - and even get VIP tickets to one of her upcoming concerts.

Another lucky baseball enthusiast (and a guest) will have the chance to hang out and play catch with Ripken and to tour the Ripken Youth Baseball Academy in Aberdeen, Md., with the "Iron Man" of baseball himself. In addition, the winner will throw out the first pitch at the Cal Ripken World Series and sit in Ripken´s reserved seats at a Baltimore baseball game.

Now through July 23, 2010, you and your readers can submit your 150-250 word original story and photo, showcasing what they love to do. For a chance to win the experience of a lifetime with McBride and Ripken, visit http://www.cheerios.com/love today.

For one lucky follower of my blog, Cheerios and Blog Spark are offering a prize pack of a box of Cheerios along with a $25.00 American Express gift card to spend doing what you love. The giveaway deadline is July 22nd.

Here's how to enter:

  • Be a follower of mine.

  • Leave me a comment telling me what you love to do most with your free time.

  • Residents must be from the US or Canada only.

  • I must have a way to reach you to notify you if you are a winner. Please include your email in your comments please. Note: I will need to submit your mailing address and phone number for them to ship you your prize package!

  • If you post about this giveaway on your blog and link it back to me, I enter you twice.
That's all there is too it. I look forward to being able to reward one lucky winner with the chance to not only enjoy a great breakfast cereal like Cheerios but to enjoy doing what you love.

Flight to Heaven


Imagine getting a glimpse of heaven, a preview of life in God's presence. Could life here ever be the same?

Captain Dale Black has flown as a commercial pilot all over the world, but one flight changed his life forever - an amazing journey to heaven and back.

The only survivor of a horrific plane crash, Dale was hovering between life and death when he had a wondrous experience of heaven. What he saw, what he heard, and what he learned there continues to ripple through his life and touch others.

Against all odds, Dale miraculously recovered from his injuries and learned to fly again. Now with his life as a testament, he shares his inspiring story - offering hope and encouragement to those dealing with serious injuries or the loss of a loved one, and those looking for assurance about this life and the next. (excerpt from back cover).

My Review:

This is the true story documented with details from a horrific plane crash over Burbank airport in 1969 that killed two and left one person as the sole survivor of a crash deemed by the FAA as unsurvivable. What happened in those days where Dale Black lay in a coma in the hospital slowly begins to come back to him in small pieces over the years until one day he learned what lies in this life after we die.

I truly found this story to be inspirational to the power of just what faith in God can do when applied correctly in our lives. Where others see hopelessness and failure, God restores hope and faith. This is a remarkable book to gain a slight glimpse into what awaits us in Dale's account of his trip to heaven. You'll have to read it for yourself.

I was provided with Flight To Heaven by Capt. Dale Black compliments of Bethany House Publishers for my honest review. I would rate this book a 5 stars because we all need to have our faith restored from time to time and this book does just that.

For more information on this book, the author and where to purchase a copy, please click on the link below:

http://www.bethanyhouse.com/ME2/Audiences/dirmod.asp?sid=0477683E4046471488BD7BAC8DCFB004&nm=&type=PubCom&mod=PubComProductCatalog&mid=BF1316AF9E334B7BA1C33CB61CF48A4E&AudId=205F4A61B07648D98551934CA40DE116&tier=2

Wednesday, July 14, 2010

Shades of Morning


Marnie didn't know much about miracles.

Mistakes maybe. Accidents. And monstrous mess-ups.

She knew a lot about those.

But miracles? Those were for other people.

Marnie Wittier has life just where she wants it. Quiet. Peaceful. No drama. A long way away from her past. In the privacy of her home, she fills a box with slips of paper scribbled with her regrets, sins, and sorrows. But that's nobody else's business. Her bookstore/coffee shop patrons, her employees, her friends from church - they all think she's the very model of compassion and kindness.

Then Marnie's past creeps into her present when her estranged sister dies and makes Marnie guardian of her fifteen-year-old don - a boy Marnie never knew existed. And when Emmit arrives, she discovers he has Down syndrome - and that she's woefully unprepared to care for him. What's worse, she has to deal with Taylor Cole, her sister's attorney, a man Marnie once loved - and abandoned.

As Emmit and Taylor work their way into her heart, Marnie begins to heal. But when pieces of her dismal past surface again, she must at last face the pieces of paper in her box, all the regrets and sorrows. Can she do it? Or will she run again? (excerpt back cover).

My Review: THE BEST BOOK I've read to date! Yes, it really is that great and outstanding. If you ever wanted to purchase an award winning book, THIS IS IT! Shades of Morning by Marlo Schalesky is one of the top picks in my opinion.

The story of Marnie Wittier and her sister Rose is so heartwarming. They both find themselves in the foster care system and have for once settled with a lady named Doris who raises them up as best as she can. Meanwhile, Marnie has always desired to know who her real mom was and if she is still living. Rose knows but won't tell Marnie, until one day Rose has a heart condition and the doctors need to know her medical history. Will Rose finally tell?

Later in the story we learn how Marnie has spent the last 15 years trying to forget the life and love she has left behind. Until she learns that Rose has died tragically and has left her only son, Emmit to Marnie. Now Marnie will have to learn how to deal with a boy she has never known and who has Down syndrome as well. He is prone to outbursts when she least expects it, whines until he gets he way, and can make the biggest messes she's ever seen. Oh how can she be expected to care for a boy when she can barely take care of herself?

I absolutely loved how this book turned out in the end, nothing like I would have guessed or expected. Even now, trust me if you think you can figure it out, you won't. I would rate this book an 11 because it steps outside the rating scale as over the top, GREAT! This book is part of my permanent library for anyone looking for a great feel good book. I received this book compliments of WaterBrook Multnomah for my honest review.

For more information on the book, the author and where to get your copy, click on the link below: This book is available in paperback and eBook formats.

http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/catalog.php?isbn=9781601420251

Tuesday, July 13, 2010

David and Goliath Review and Giveaway


Mary paused and whispered, "Bye, Daddy. I miss you."

She pulled the door closed, creating a dismal hue in the room.

Good. Just leave...and don't bother coming back. I don't want to see any of you again.

David Liberty is a broken, lonely, and embittered old man. With his mind still intact but trapped in a physical failing body, doomed to spend his last remaining days in a nursing home, David welcomes his impending death - his escape from life.

All that changes when he is visited by an angel, Joelle, who confronts his past failings and offers David a second chance at life. At first David scoffs, but the chance to renew his body and live again intrigues him. But there is an extraordinary condition: "You will demonstrate to God through your actions that you believe and love Him," Joelle announces. David must help others reignite their faith so they do not lose their eternity. Faith with works, David soon learns is a living faith.

Temporarily escaping the walls of his nursing home, David is thrown into the lives of people he begins to care deeply for. He hopes to reunite them with God, but he discovers another obstacle - the angel has removed David's ability to speak. His actions alone will define who he is. In addition, David must fight a powerful enemy, who seeks to destroy God's children any way he can - and David, as well.

In the book, David and Goliath, The Guardian Angels Chronicles, by Bryan Hathaway, this is just the way the book opens. We learn that David Liberty used to be a very successful motivational speaker responsible for changing the lives of each person who heard him. Yet the only lives he never changed was his own. He has failed to show the very people whom he loves that he has changed. His was a life of spoken words but never one of action in his own life.

When he is faced with facing death and being trapped inside his own physical body, he wants so desperately to tell those who come to visit how much he loves and cares for them, but can't. Until Joelle shows up and gives David the second chance he's been dreaming of, but he can't speak. He has to show the peoples whose lives he finds himself a part of, that their lives are worth something, and he has to do it with actions only. Only the enemy isn't about to give up his souls so quickly.

This is such a moving story and truly did not expect an ending that I was anticipating, it truly sets itself up as a sequel. This book is like A Wonderful Life meets Highway to Heaven, and I look forward with anticipation to the sequel in this series.

I received this heartwarming, feel good book, compliments of Glass Roads Public Relations for my honest review.

Thanks to Glass Roads, I am able to offer one lucky winner a copy of this wonderful book. Here are the conditions to this giveaway:

  • Be a follower of my blog.

  • I must have a way to reach you by email. Please include an email address with your comment.

  • This is for US and Canada residents only. No P.O. Boxes please!

  • Leave me a comment and tell me if you believe in angels and if you have had an angel encounter. I'd love to hear it.

The giveaway will end on July 20th. Winners will be notified by email.

Monday, July 12, 2010

Sweet Misfortune Giveaway and Review


Sophie owns a chocolate shop where she sells Misfortune Cookies-dipped in bitter chocolate they contain messages she hand writes each day such as "Your car seems fine now, but just wait...it will eventually be a source of frustration and unexpected delay." What starts as a gimmick, turns into a surprise hit with customers. But when her ex-fiancée moves back to their small Washington town, he is surprised at how bitter and unhappy Sophie has become. He proposes a bet--she must place an ad in the paper that simply states "Wanted: Happiness.(excerpt from inside cover).

My Review:

This is such a wonderful story and you'll be so surprised at how it ends up. At the beginning of each chapter there are cynical fortunes that Sophie personally writes and inserts into each of the bitter fortune cookies she sells in her chocolate shop. It is easy to figure out just why she is that way after her fiancee dumps her just a week before her wedding. At least she has found an outlet for her pain and it's the best seller at her shop.

We find the book opening to Sophie's birthday and one she hates to celebrate. It's on that fateful day twenty years ago that her life would be forever changed when she loses her family in a horrible car accident leaving her an orphan.

Yet Garrett Black shows up that on her birthday wanting to explain why he called off the wedding if she is only willing to give him a date. Sophie has no intention on following through and decides that placing an ad in the Times looking for happiness is the best way to deal with him. She tells him if 100 responses come in that she approves are true feelings of happiness, than she will agree to go on that one date and learn the truth of why he devastated her life that day.

I received this wonderful, rainy day, romance book, Sweet Misfortune, by Kevin Alan Milne, compliments of Hachette Book Groups in exchange for my honest review. This one rates a perfect 10. The story and characters are so believable that I was turning pages as fast as I could read them. It's a heart rendering story of how God can use bad things to bring about true and lasting happiness.

For more information on this book, the author and where to pick up a copy of this book, simply click on the link below. This book is available in hard cover and eBook formats.

http://www.hachettebookgroup.com/books_9781599952970.htm


Thanks to the generosity of Hachette Book Groups, I am offering 3 beautiful copies of this book, to followers of my blog. This giveaway is available to US and Canada residents only and No P.O. Boxes please. Simply leave me a comment on the best fortune you've ever gotten and I will be drawing winners on July 19th.