The Best People In The World!

Thursday, September 30, 2010

The Trials of Zion - Giveaway and Review


Having a father who is one of the leading criminal defense lawyers in the country can be hard to live up to, especially when you too, have become a lawyer as well, graduating at the top of your class. The one advantage it does offer is that it opens the doors for you with clients and companies that would love to have you work for them. Emma Ringel is about to get the opportunity of a lifetime.

When the latest in peace talks between Israel and Palestine, erupts with a terrorist bombing that not only claims the lives of the leaders of both countries but our own President of the United States, Emma finds herself being tasked with helping to defend the one man who claims responsibility. Problem is, she is being asked to find him innocent of the charges.

In this latest suspense thriller The Trials of Zion, by Alan M Dershowitz, we find Emma and her boss, Habash Ein knee deep in the most dangerous place in the world and defending a man that every one wants to see executed. No one wants to see him found innocent and some are willing to task whatever risks are needed to make sure that Faisal Husseini winds up dead.

I received this amazing book, compliments of Hachette Book Groups for my honest review and loved it. It had me on the edge of my seat wondering just how this was going to turn out. It had me challenged in coming up with how it was all going to play out in the end and never disappointed. For anyone who loves crime and justice along with the element of suspense, then this is the book for you. I would rate it a perfect 5 out of 5 stars.

For more information on this book, the author and where to gain a first chapter glimpse, click on the title of the book below:


For three lucky followers of my blog, Hachette Book Groups is giving away copies of this book. Here are the guidelines:

1. You must be a follower of my blog, Reviews From The Heart.

2. You must reside in the US and Canada please. No P.O. Boxes.

3. I must have a way to contact you via email if you are the winner. Please provide an email address in your comment and you can use the words (at) or (dot) instead of the symbols.

4. The giveaway will end on October 8th. Simply leave a comment telling me why you'd love to win a copy.

The One Year Mother Daughter Devo


As a mom of two daughters of different ages it is interesting to find a way to still connect with them uniquely on their own levels and still keep the communication open as they grow. I was more than pleased when Tyndale House Publishers asked me to review The One Year Mother Daughter Devo or Devotional with their compliments.

This was the long awaited answer I had been seeking. Not only are the stories for each calendar day fun and relevant for various ages of girls, but there are some additional fun tasks that keep more than communication going long after the devotional reading. One such day that we were working on, spoke about the various fruits of the Spirit and what was needed to grow each type of fruit. Then came a task that instructed us to make home made guacamole and see how working together can keep our relationship growing as well.

There are fun activities incorporated or even great discussion starter that keep the bonds between a mother and daughter growing and maturing in not only communication but in loving at different stages of their life. There are also great Bible references and scriptures to have fun in memorizing and gaining additional insight into what God has to say about the subject.

I loved this book and can't wait to complete it in a full years time but most of all I look forward to the love and character building that will take place as we grow in our relationship as mother and daughter as well.

For more information on this wonderful book, The One Year Mother Daughter Devo by Dannah Gresh and Janet Mylin, click on the link below:

Wednesday, September 29, 2010

Up From The Blue - Giveaway and Review



Sometimes the best way to understand a tragedy is to view it from an outsiders view of things. That is just what insight the reader is offered in the book by Susan Henderson called Up From The Blue. In this book we are taken between present day and the year 1975 in the life of Tillie Harris' life. In the present day, she is in the process of delivering her baby of 34 weeks at a hospital and trying to convince doctors that her symptoms are genuine and not something from her imagination.

In the life of Tillie Harris of 1975, we are transported in back in time to when she was eight years old. The life that she has with her father, a colonel who spends his life working on a missile defense system for our government whose way of running a home is very rigid and goes by a list of standards he expects in the home. When you enter this time in Tillie's life her mother is withdrawn and facing a series of depressing circumstances in her life that are peeled away slowly layer by layer to where we can understand by the ending of the book, just how Tillie's life has evolved into the present day. Her father sensing that nothing he can do will make her mom snap out of her deep depression, chooses to lose himself further into his work. It isn't until he's offered a new position at the Pentagon that things take a drastic turn for the worse. Tillie is sent off to Anne's home for a week while her brother Phil and her father pack up their home. Her mother, sits on the couch doing nothing to assist and occasionally cries. When she learns that Tillie is being taken away for awhile, her mom truly loses it and has a complete breakdown.

This was a difficult book to read, because it really does take up inside the mom's head to see the depths and destruction that severe depression can have not only on the mom, but on the family and friends as well. It provides the reader a different look into depression that isn't normally known unless you have been personally involved in dealing with someone who has been diagnosed with it. While I don't agree with how things are handled in the book with her mother's depression, it’s a different way to see how each person chooses to deal with their situation and how they have to get through life and still move forward.



I received this book compliments of TLC Book Tours for my honest review and even though the story is difficult it's still worth reading. I would rate this book a 4.5 out of 5 stars for taking on a challenging subject matter and still keeping the story true and the characters life like. They are ones, especially Tillie that you find yourself rooting for and hoping for a happy ending. This book is available in paperback and eBook formats. For more information on this book, the author and where to purchase a copy for yourself, please click on the title of the book below:

Thanks to TLC Book Tours, I am offering one lucky follower of my blog a copy of the book. Here are your guidelines to enter to win:

1. Be a follower of my blog, Reviews From The Heart.

2. You must be a resident of the US and NO P.O. Boxes please.

3. I will need a way to contact you in the event you are selected as the winner, so please include your email in the comment box. You can use the words (at) and (dot) instead of the actual symbols.

4. The giveaway will end on October 6th. I will notify the winner by email.

5. Please leave a comment and let me know why you would like to win this book.


Tuesday, September 28, 2010

The Mayan Apocalypse



The world is one more focused on an end time event that promises to deliver what is expected. The Mayan calendar is anticipated to expire on December 12, 2012 and for most believers, they believe that all life as we know it now will cease to exist.

Christian believers are quite so sure, since they are only anticipating the coming rapture of the church with Jesus Christ as predicted in the Bible so when people start attending the latest conferences and supporting the last self proclaimed Mayan priest who calls himself Robert Quetzal, the media jumps all over this one.

In light of the recent worldwide disasters that seem to be happening at an accelerated speed with no none cause, Mr. Quetzal is the only one with the answers to it all. However for those willing to pay the ultimate price, he is promising eternal life while the rest of humanity will die.

I received the book The Mayan Apocalypse by Mark Hitchcock and Alton Gansky compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review. In light of the recent movies and books out on the 2012 prophecies and the end of the Mayan Calendar, this book has a new take on how some will survive, however will this prophecy come to pass or will it be like those who feared the Y2K situation only to be left with empty promises and nothing happening? To find out, you'll have to read the book. I would rate this one a 4.5 out of 5 stars.

For more information on this book, the authors and even a first chapter glimpse, please read on:
This week, the


Christian Fiction Blog Alliance

is introducing

The Mayan Apocalypse
Harvest House Publishers(September 1, 2010)

by
Mark Hitchcock & Alton Gansky


ABOUT THE AUTHORS:

Mark Hitchcock is the author of more than 17 books related to end-time Bible prophecy, including the bestselling 2012, the Bible, and the End of the World. He earned a ThM and PhD from Dallas Theological Seminary and is the senior pastor of Faith Bible Church in Edmond, Oklahoma. He has worked as an adjunct professor at DTS and has served as a contributing editor for the Left Behind Prophecy Club for five years.






Alton Gansky is the author of 30 books—24 of them novels, including the Angel Award winner Terminal Justice and Christie Award finalist A Ship Possessed. A frequent speaker at writing conferences, he holds BA and MA degrees in biblical studies. Alton and his wife reside in Southern California.

ABOUT THE BOOK

On the heels of Mark Hitchcock’s prophecy bestseller 2012, the Bible, and the End of the World comes a suspenseful novel (coauthored with bestselling novelist Alton Gansky) about the supposed expiration date of planet earth—December 21, 2012.

Andrew Morgan is a wealthy oil executive in search of the meaning of life. In his quest for answers he encounters the ancient Mayan predictions that the world will end in 2012. That the claims seem supported by math and astronomy drives him to check on them. Then he meets Lisa Campbell, an attractive Christian journalist also researching the Mayan calendar. When he learns that she is a Christian, he quickly dismisses what she has to say.

As the time draws closer to December 21, 2012, a meteorite impact in Arizona, a volcanic eruption, and the threat of an asteroid on a collision-course with earth escalate fears. Are these indicators of a global apocalypse? Will anyone survive? Does Lisa’s Christian faith have the answers after all? Or has fate destined everyone to a holocaust from which there is no escape?

If you would like to read the first chapter of The Mayan Apocalypse, go HERE.

The One Year Book of Encouragement


In today's ever changing world, we find ourselves constantly looking for something to bring us joy or to invoke a feeling of contentment and happiness. Yet far too often we seek that in things that will only do it on a temporary basis and today with our economy being unstable, job losses at an all time high, families losing their homes, retirement funds left depleted, its no wonder why people are seeking something more in this life.

In the One Year Book of Encouragement by Harold Myra, the reader is introduced to your standard devotional listed on a daily basis. However what is unique to this devotion is that each story shared is from an inspirational author, such as Corrie Ten Boom, Billy Graham or even Mother Theresa. These are the people we have come to cherish for their words of encouragement in their own personal storms. This book gathers some of the best and shares them with the reader, along with a short personal prayer and a verse of scripture from the Bible.

I found this book to be encouraging on a different level because these are published stories pertaining to the situations where hope and inspiration is needed to weather the tough times. Besides our faith in God its nice to see personal situations where their authors own personal testimony is shared so the reader can be encouraged.

I received this wonderful devotion compliments of Tyndale House Publishers for my honest review and would rate this one 4.5 out of 5 stars. For more information on this book and where to purchase a copy for yourself or a loved one, please click on the title below:

The Way Home - DVD Review


So many times as families we search for great movies with a message. Too often we fail in our attempts because companies simply aren't gearing that kind of movie any longer, yet I have come across some greats lately with my latest, The Way Home that I received compliments of Thomas Nelson to review.

The movie based on a true story is about a man named Randy Simpkins, (played by Dean Cain from The New Adventures of Superman) who is like your typical family man. He spends countless hours trying to make enough so that his wife Cristal can stay at home and take care of raising their three boys. However lately Randy has been working way too much and neglecting his number one priority, his family.

When Cristal makes plans to take the family away on a much needed vacation to the beach, she has to call Randy at work and tell him to come home. He had promised her he wasn't even going to go into work that day and now he is late coming home. Meanwhile, the responsibility has fallen on her shoulders to load up the family van while taking care of her youngest Joe, whose two.

When Randy finally makes it home, Cristal is in the final stages of being packed and ready to leave, but needs to make a final check through the house. She asks Randy to take the last two bags by the front door and load them into the van, and make sure to put Joe in his car seat.

Randy and Joe have a confrontation when Joe refuses to get in the van insisting that he wants to go to his Pa-Pa's house instead on his tricycle. While Joe tells him to stay by the van while he grabs the last of the bags and head inside, Joe promises to stay close. However when Randy gets the last minute impulse to check his work email before leaving, he is caught by his wife. They both grab their stuff and head outside, where Joe is now missing. Thinking he is doing nothing more than playing hide and seek, the parents spread out and begin the search. However after 30 minutes, it seems like something more has happened and the real search for Joe begins.

This movie has a great message behind it all as Randy gets an opportunity to see what life without his family would be like before it's too late and comes with a great recommendation from me as a must see movie. I would easily rate this movie a 5 out of 5 stars because in today's world where we find ourselves so busy, its easy to lose sight of what really matters most. The movie is 91 minutes long and produced by Red Five Entertainment and Lionsgate. It was also the winner of the Pearl Award at the International Family Film Festival.

For more information on this movie, and where to purchase one for your family, click on the title below:

Monday, September 27, 2010

Venom and Song Review


This young adult fantasy based book, Venom and Song by Wayne Thomas Batson and Christopher Hopper, starts off very fast paced throwing you into the lives of 7 junior high school aged boys and girls who are swept up in learning that they they are descendants from elves and are transported into a whole new world via a magical portal. I loved this book from the very first page and did not want to put it down.

The story line and character development move pretty fast, but not so fast as you are lost on the pages wondering who is who. You get to learn about each of the 7 main characters as well as their teachers and protectors throughout the story. Each lord has a special if not several special powers that are just being unlocked and honed by learning the ways of the Vexbane. You will love this fast paced book and won't want to put it down! Even though it is considered a young adult book, I loved it and I am not a young adult, but in my forties.

I want to go back and read the first book in this series, The Curse of the Spider King, as this is book two of what is called the Berinfell Prophesies. I am rating this book a 5 out of 5! For me this book was thrilling, suspenseful, powerful and strange all wrapped up together in a smooth storyline that makes you wish you could jump into the pages and be a part of this world (except for getting killed of course!). All I can say is buy the series, start from book one and slip into a realm of imagination and wonder! The authors have great imagination and clarity that seem to work together very well. I could definitely see this book becoming a movie!

Thank you for such an imaginative book! In conjunction with the Christian Science Fiction and Fantasy Tour, I received a free copy of this book from the publisher.

* Venom and Song - http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/1400315069
Authors’ blogs
Wayne Thomas Batson – http://enterthedoorwithin.blogspot.com/
Christopher Hopper – http://www.christopherhopper.com/blog/

* Participants’ links:

http://sevendogsandababy.blogspot.com/"> Angela
Brandon Barr
Keanan Brand
Amy Browning
Beckie Burnham
Morgan L. Busse
Melissa Carswell
Jeff Chapman
Valerie Comer
Amy Cruson
http://csffblogtour.com/"> CSFF Blog Tour
D. G. D. Davidson
April Erwin
Tori Greene
Ryan Heart
http://www.613media.com/"> Bruce Hennigan
Timothy Hicks
Becky Jesse
Cris Jesse
Jason Joyner
Julie
Carol Keen
Krystine Kercher
Dawn King
Leighton
http://rebeccaluellamiller.wordpress.com/"> Rebecca LuElla Miller
John W. Otte
Donita K. Paul
http://www.sarahsawyer.com/blog> Sarah Sawyer
Chawna Schroeder
Tammy Shelnut
James Somers
Kathleen Smith
Rachel Starr Thomson
Robert Treskillard
Steve Trower
Fred Warren
Jason Waguespac
Dona Watson
Phyllis Wheeler
Jill Williamson

Judgment Day A Novel

Judgement Day isn't your ordinary cable news show. This is more like a blend between TMZ and your local news with the main anchor being Suzanne Kidwell, whose sensationalized stories based on merely little more than a statement leads to some of the shows highest ratings. Unfortunately all that missing fact finding and investigative reporting of the truth is about to land Suzanne is some hot water with her latest expose's on the biggest political figures.

When her boyfriend Guy Mandeville, proposes one more time to Suzanne, she agrees to at least consider the offer, despite his father William Mandeville who questions Suzanne's reasons for marrying his son. He believes that she is after his company and all their money, however when Guy winds up dead after driving Suzanne's car one day, is appears that her boyfriend may have not been so forth coming in his own business dealings.

While Suzanne tries to find out the reason for Guy's death, she comes across his locked personal computer and a briefcase in the car she had borrowed. What she uncovers is about to tie one of the cities two biggest cases together and who is ultimately behind it all will leave you guessing until the very end.

In the novel, Judgment Day by Wanda L. Dyson, you will find yourself on the ride of a lifetime spent trying to figure out the woven stories and crimes being twisted together while the main characters are being framed for murder and having their own lives in jeopardy. This is a wonderful suspense book for those readers who love a little mystery in their reading lives.

I received this book, compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review, and must say I couldn’t put this one down til I solved the crimes myself. Got me off guard quite a few times but completely enjoyed every moment. I would easily rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars. For more information about this book, the author and where to gain a first chapter glance, read on:
This week, the

Christian Fiction Blog Alliance

is introducing

Judgment Day
WaterBrook Press (September 21, 2010)

by
Wanda Dyson

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Wanda Dyson – "a shining example of what Christian fiction is becoming..." (Christian Fiction Review). She's been called a "natural" and a "master of pacing," but her fans know that whether it's police thrillers, suspense, or bringing a true story to life, Wanda knows how to take her readers on a journey they'll never forget.

Wanda is a multipublished suspense author, currently writing for Random House/Waterbrook. Her one attempt at a nonfiction book was picked for an exclusive release on Oprah. In addition to writing full time, she is also the appointment coordinator for the CCWC, Great Philadelphia Christian Writers, and ACFW conferences.

Wanda lives in Western Maryland on a 125 acre farm with a menagerie of animals and when she's not writing critically acclaimed suspense, or away at conferences, you can find her zipping across the fields on a 4-wheeler with Maya, her German Shepherd, or plodding along at a more leisurely pace on her horse, Nanza.

With the release of her newest hit, Judgment Day, Wanda is heading back to the keyboard to start on her next high-octane thriller, The Vigilante.

ABOUT THE BOOK

Sensational journalism has never been so deadly.

The weekly cable news show Judgment Day with Suzanne Kidwell promises to expose businessmen, religious leaders, and politicians for the lies they tell. Suzanne positions herself as a champion of ethics and morality with a backbone of steel—until a revelation of her shoddy investigation tactics and creative fact embellishing put her in hot water with her employers, putting her credibility in question and threatening her professional ambitions.

Bitter and angry, Suzanne returns home one day to find an entrepreneur she is investigating, John Edward Sterling, unconscious on her living room floor. Before the night is over, Sterling is dead, she has his blood on her hands, and the police are arresting her for murder. She needs help to prove her innocence, but her only hope, private investigator Marcus Crisp, is also her ex-fiancĂ©–the man she betrayed in college.

Marcus and his partner Alexandria Fisher-Hawthorne reluctantly agree to take the case, but they won’t cut Suzanne any slack. Exposing her lack of ethics and the lives she’s destroyed in her fight for ratings does little to make them think Suzanne is innocent. But as Marcus digs into the mire of secrets surrounding her enemies, he unveils an alliance well-worth killing for. Now all he has to do is keep Suzanne and Alex alive long enough to prove it.

Watch the book trailer:




If you would like to read the Prologue and first chapter of Judgment Day, go HERE.

Sunday, September 26, 2010

The Dead Rise First Rapture Countdown - Giveaway and Review


I love books about the end times and of the prophecies of the Bible pertaining the rapture, so when I was contacted to review the newest book, The Dead Rise First Rapture Countdown, by Alton Ragan and Robert D. McLaughlin, I knew I was going to be super excited.

Their book is a fictional one based on the theory of taking the scriptures referring to the "dead in Christ will rise first and overlaying that with the ones regarding Jesus' resurrection. I was so completely hooked from the first page and seeing the rapture in a whole new possibility. The story takes place in a small town called Jordan where the residents of the small community wake up one morning and none of their electric appliances or cell phones work. Even their cars won't start. So the citizens decide to walk to city hall to see if they have any answers.

When they arrive, they are told that the believe that our country has been under another terrorist attack with the most likely reason for the loss of electronic devices being caused by an EMP blast. Although the city can't confirm this since all communication is out, they feel that the citizens should use the local churches as a base for shelters and protection.

When the pastor of the First Community Church, named Jack begins to head back to his church, he notices a young woman sitting on a porch swing, singing a old church hymn and just smiling away. He also remembers that the house has been vacant for the last ten years as the owner of the home had died, yet the young woman doesn't look like her, she does bear a resemblance to her.

When he arrives at his church he discovers other towns people there who have similar stories. When an elderly man pulls Jack aside to talk to him, he tells him that his wife Virginia woke up this morning to find her mother standing in the kitchen cooking breakfast and making coffee. He even brought her biscuits with him. The problem was her mother was dead. Jack was the pastor at her service. He knows his wife saw her because she has no reason to lie and just as suddenly as she appeared, she tells her that Jesus is coming soon and she vanishes into thin air.

The book is woven with scripture references to support this new theory of the event of the dead rising in Christ and those of us left as having a space of time between the two much like when Jesus was resurrected and the dead in those days were resurrected and walked around the town.

I absolutely loved this book and was provided with a complimentary copy to review for my honest review by Hamby Media. I would rate this book a perfect 5 out of 5 stars and can't wait to share a copy with one lucky follower of my blog.

Here are your guidelines:

1. Be a follower of my blog, Reviews From The Heart.

2. Be a resident of the US and No P.O. Boxes please.

3. I must have an email address to contact you regarding your winning a copy of the book, so please include it with your comment. You can use the words (at) or (dot) instead of the symbols.

4. Leave a comment and share your beliefs on how you believe that Jesus will return.

5. The giveaway will end on October 3rd.

For more information on this book, the authors and where to purchase a copy for yourself, click on the title of the book below:

Saturday, September 25, 2010

The Secret of the Shroud

This week, the


Christian Fiction Blog Alliance


is introducing


The Secret of The Shroud
B&H Books (September 1, 2010)


by
Pamela Ewen






ABOUT THE AUTHOR:



Pamela’s first novel, Walk Back The Cat (Broadman & Holman. May, 2006) is the story of an embittered and powerful clergyman who learns an ancient secret, confronting him with truth and a choice that may destroy him.



She is also the best-selling author of the acclaimed non-fiction book Faith On Trial, published by Broadman & Holman in 1999, currently in its third printing.



Although it was written for non-lawyers, Faith On Trial was also chosen as a text for a course on law and religion at Yale Law School in the Spring of 2000, along with The Case For Christ by Lee Stroble. Continuing the apologetics begun in Faith On Trial, Pamela also appears with Gary Habermas, Josh McDowell, Darrell Bock, Lee Stroble, and others in the film Jesus: Fact or Fiction, a Campus Crusade for Christ production.



Her most recent novel, The Moon in the Mango Tree (B&H Publishing Group, May 2008) is currently available online and in bookstores everywhere. Set in the 1920’s and based on a true story, it is about a woman faced with making a choice between career and love, and her search for faith over the glittering decade. Pamela’s upcoming book, Dancing On Glass, which was recently short-listed as a finalist for the Faulkner/Wisdom creative writing novel award, will be released in the spring of 2011, and she is currently working on a sequel.



ABOUT THE BOOK



A frightened apostle in AD 33, a tragic child in the 1950s, and a slick, twenty-first century church leader are all linked by the secret of the Shroud of Turin, the purported burial cloth of Jesus-and by something more.



Wesley Bright, a corrupt, media-savvy clergyman, is out to destroy the Christian church of the God who abandoned him in his boyhood. Likable and entertaining, Bright keeps his motives well hidden. But as he seeks revenge, leading the church toward unknowing destruction, the mysterious Shroud of Turin stands in his way.



Strange characters and clues emerge like shadows limned in mist as the most recent discoveries on the Shroud connect the pieces of a fascinating puzzle. When Wesley learns the ancient secret, he’s forced to confront a terrible choice: keep the secret—and the power, wealth, and fame he’s won over the years—or expose it...and lose everything.



At stake is one thing: absolute truth.



If you would like to read the first chapter of The Secret of The Shroud, go HERE.

A Hope Undaunted - Giveaway and Review


Katie O'Connor is our modern day Scarlett O'Hara in this latest novel, A Hope Undaunted by Julie Lessman.

Katie O'Connor is tired of watching the men around her growing up, take control of the women in their lives. They keep their women on a short leash and Katie for one is about to take a step forward in making sure she doesn't fall for becoming a hopeless romantic and falling for the first man who will sweep her off her feet. Nope Katie wants more, she wants to be in charge, the one calling all the shots. Ever since women gained the right to vote and now beginning to work, Katie sees possibilities in her future.

Jack Worthington is everything that Katie wants in a man and possible future husband. He's great looking, rich, and is willing to do anything that Katie asks of him. However, she begins to notice that Jack in so much like all the men she has met in her past when he is with his guy pals. Suddenly, Jack isn't looking quite so sweet any longer.

Enter Luke McGee, the soda jerk caught working late one night, when Katie and Jack arrive with their friends to the local diner. Being so close to ten, Katie is hungry and demands a burger to go along with her Coke. However when Luke reminds her of the rules of the diner, meaning no grilling after nine, Katie is more than miffed by his approach at not doing as she asks.

Jack makes sure that when Luke isn't looking that they all make a fast getaway as a reminder to Luke to treat his doll better. However when Katie learns of their plan, she isn't about to go about treating Luke like a second class citizen despite the fact her pride is more than bruised.

To see whether or not Katie will remain the spoiled child she is now, or if Luke will somehow tame the wild streak within her, you'll have to read, A Hope Undaunted by Julie Lessman.

I received this amazing book, compliments of Winsome Media Communications for my honest review. I would easily rate this book a 5 out of 5 stars because there are times when I can relate to the character of Katie and the difficult decisions she finds herself coming face to face with in this book.

For one lucky follower of this blog who leaves a comment, Winsome is offering a signed copy of the book just for you. Here are the details:

1. Be a resident of the US. No P.O. Boxes please.

2. Be a follower of my blog, Reviews From The Heart.

3. I must have a way to contact you, so please leave your email address in your comment. You can use the words (at) and (dot) instead of the actual symbols.

4. Leave a comment telling my why you'd love to win this signed copy of the book.

5. The giveaway will end on Oct 2nd. So hurry and leave me a comment to be entered to win!

For more information on this book, the author and where to obtain a copy for yourself, click on the title of the book below:

Friday, September 24, 2010

No Girls Allowed


Ever wondered if there was a devotion out there just for boys? Containing topics and things that only boys want to talk about?

Well have I discovered a true treasure for you! In the book, No Girls Allowed by Jayce O'Neal, you find the perfect blend of the joys about being a boy contained with the pages of this devotional. Since this isn't geared to any specific day on the calendar, you can pick it right up and begin reading it on day one.

There are stories with the pages geared just for boys, but I know for our youngest daughter who loves the rough house that our neighborhood boys put her through most of these apply to her as well. One of the stories was about technology and the things we hear on TV and the radio. Even though the general concept can be good, it teaches that the messages behind some of the programming on both, can cause you to question whether or not it's beneficial for your life.

I found this to be a great tool for opening up conversations with my own kids because sometimes just preventing them from a program isn't what's needed. Its the why behind it all. It's even better if your kids discover those on their own and can see why not all the things of this world are truly meant for good. Coupled with games and scriptures that go hand in hand with each story the messages are well worth purchasing this for anyone in your family you believe can benefit from it.

I received this amazing devotional from Tyndale House Publishers for my honest review and think this one is a winner at 5 out of 5 stars!

For more information on the book, the author and where to purchase this book, click on the title below:

Thursday, September 23, 2010

The One Year Choose Your Own Ending Devotions


Want a way to interact with your family and children more than to not only do family style devotions but to have them try and figure out a possible ending? In the newest book from Tyndale House Publishers, The One Year Choose Your Own Ending Devotions does exactly that.

In your traditional daily calendar style devotional that has a day dedicated to a story, a Bible scripture reference and short passage along with some though provoking questions, the story simply ends with a question of where does the story go from here? It gets the whole family involved in the possibilities of interpeting the scriptures and finding a way to conclude the short story.

At the end of the book it lists the possible endings so you can make sure you are on the same page as a traditional devotional as well as learn things from your family through their own insights into the passages or scriptures they are reading.

My youngest daughter and I loved to incorporate this into our school mornings and begin our day with this fun way to study God's word together. I was provided with a complimentary copy of this book for my honest review and found it to be well worth the reading. I would rate this a 5 out of 5 stars for the simply pleasure of involving the whole family during devotions in a new and creative way.

For more information about this book, and where to obtain a copy for yourself, please click on the title below:

Love's First Bloom

Ruth Livingston is the only living daughter of her father Reverend Livingstone, whose mission in life is to help those that society deems unworthy of help. Caught in the turbulent times of 1800's his life's mission is to help those women and young girls that have been caught up in prostitution, however when one of them is murdered suddenly, the city begins to cry out for justice and right now the only person who was with her last was Reverend Livingstone.

Trusting his daughter Ruth with Lily the child of the murdered prostitute, he sends her away under the pretense of being the so-called prostitute in need of help along with her toddler child. She leaves her father behind hoping that he will be found innocent of all charges so she can return once more to her home and leaving her assumed life behind her.

In the latest book, Love's First Bloom, by Delia Parr we find ourselves mixed up in the tragic turn of events in Ruth's life. Will she ever be able to return home or will she find a reason to keep the secret her father has so desperately trusted her with? To find out more, read further below for a first chapter glimpse.

I received this book, compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review and must say, this one doesn't disappoint. It easy rates a 5 out of 5 stars and can't wait for more great books from Delia Parr.

This week, the

Christian Fiction Blog Alliance

is introducing

Love's First Bloom

Bethany House; Original edition (September 1, 2010

by
Delia Parr

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Delia Parr, pen name for Mary Lechleidner, is the author of 10 historical novels and the winner of several awards, including the Laurel Wreath Award for Historical Romance and the Aspen Gold Award for Best Inspirational Book. She is a full-time high school teacher who spends her summer vacations writing and kayaking. The mother of three grown children, she lives in Collingswood, New Jersey.






ABOUT THE BOOK


Ruth Livingstone's life changes drastically the day her father puts a young child in her arms and sends her to a small village in New Jersey under an assumed name. There Ruth pretends to be a widow and quietly secludes herself until her father is acquitted of a crime.

But with the emergence of the penny press, the imagination of the reading public is stirred, and her father's trial stands center stage. Asher Tripp is the brash newspaperman who determines that this case is the event he can use to redeem himself as a journalist.

Ruth finds solace tending a garden along the banks of the Toms River--a place where she can find a measure of peace in the midst of the sorrow that continues to build. It is also here that Asher Tripp finds a temporary residence, all in an attempt to discover if the lovely creature known as Widow Malloy is truly Ruth Livingstone, the woman every newspaper has been looking for.

Love begins to slowly bloom...but is the affection they share strong enough to withstand the secrets that separate them?

If you would like to read the first chapter of Love's First Bloom, go HERE.

Wednesday, September 22, 2010

In Every Heartbeat

Imagine growing up most of your life in an orphanage? Imagine that each time parents came looking for a child to adopt, you were not the one that they were looking for?

For Elisabet Conley this was her life. She spent time growing up in an orphanage at a time when most people came looking for strapping young boys that they could put to work, so hers was a time spent lonely and searching in desperation for a place to fit in. She did when she made friends with Bennett Martin and Pete Leidig, both boys in the same place as her, friends she made in the orphanage.

Pete Leidig is a cripple missing a leg that was ran over by a trolley when his parents needed money and sent him out to sell papers. Now missing a leg, his parents didn't know what to do with him so they had him sent to the orphanage as a way of solving a problem.

Bennett Martin is a muscle bound boy whose hopes and dreams in life is finally finding a place to fit in. He has always had a fondness for Elisabet or Libby as the boys have affectionately named her. Yet her caring and compassion seem to be only for Pete. Perhaps she feels overly protective of him due to his injury.

Yet when all three find themselves in the same college thanks to the orphanage sponsoring all three, each one has a goal in life to seek. For Libby it's becoming a writer, Pete wants to be a minister and Bennett, wants to join a fraternity and just have fun.

Just how will the trio survive the challenges that each will face in light of the coming World War. Will they seek what they hope to find or will this be the force that drives them apart? Find out by reading Kim Vogel Sawyer's latest novel, In Every Heartbeat!

I received this amazing book compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review and would rate this one a 4.5 out of 5 stars. For more information about the book, the author and even a first chapter glance, then read on.

This week, the

Christian Fiction Blog Alliance

is introducing

In Every Heartbeat
Bethany House (September 1, 2010)

by
Kim Vogel Sawyer

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Kim Vogel Sawyer is the author of fifteen novels, including several CBA and ECPA bestsellers. Her books have won the ACFW Book of the Year Award, the Gayle Wilson Award of Excellence, and the Inspirational Readers Choice Award. Kim is active in her church, where she leads women's fellowship and participates in both voice and bell choirs. In her spare time, she enjoys drama, quilting, and calligraphy. Kim and her husband, Don, reside in central Kansas, and have three daughters and six grandchildren.

ABOUT THE BOOK

As three friends who grew up in the same orphanage head off to college together, they each harbor a cherished dream.

Libby Conley hopes to become a famous journalist. Pete Leidig believes God has called him to study to become a minister. And Bennett Martin plans to pledge a fraternity, find a place to belong, and have as much fun as possible.

But as tensions rise around the world on the brink of World War I, the friends' differing aspirations and opinions begin to divide them, as well. And when Libby makes a shocking discovery about Pete's family, will it drive a final wedge between the friends or bond them in ways they never anticipated?

If you would like to read the first chapter of In Every Heartbeat, go HERE.

Sunday, September 19, 2010

Heart with Joy - Giveaway and Review


In his latest novel Heart with Joy, Steve Cushman takes us into the life of fifteen year old Julian Hale's life in Greensboro North Carolina. We catch a brief glimpse into a troubled time for him when his mom announces she is moving to Florida to run her parent's motel and finish her novel. When Julian probes her for a reason, she simply says that there is no one else plus it will give her time to write.

Julian and his distant father are staying to finish his school year out in North Carolina. When he pushes his dad for the reason of his mom leaving all his dad can reply is, "What did your mom tell you?" This doesn't provide the answer that Julian is looking for. However never seeing his parents actually fight doesn't mean things have been going well for either of them. His father spends all of his time at the hospital where he is a nurse and his mom spends hers writing leaving Julian to wonder if this is truly what a happy family is all about.

When Julian is forced to take on some of the responsibilities of his mom from cleaning the home, to learning to cook something besides mac and cheese hotdogs, he turns to the Food Network, where he becomes a natural chef in the making, cooking for him and his dad.

On his weekly trips to the market, Julian meets Tia, the cashier and she invites him to join their cooking club. He is reluctant at first trying to figure out why a boy his age would want to show girls he can cook.

He ultimately finds comfort in the strained relationship with a ninety year old lady whose been his neighbor. When she asks for help retrieving something under her home, this begins the basis of a unique relationship with Julian that ultimately will help him sort through his feelings of resentment with both of his parents.

I received this book complements of Steve Cushman himself for my honest review and absolutely loved this book. It takes the reader into a short time in these peoples lives to see how broken relationships can be mended through finding out what really fills our hearts with joy! I would rate this book a perfect 5 out of 5 stars.

I am going to offer a giveaway copy of this amazing book, to one lucky reader of my blog who leaves a comment telling me what fills your heart with joy, what is your one true passion in life?

1. You must be a follower of this blog, Reviews From The Heart.

2. You must reside in the US and NO P.O. Boxes please.

3. I must have a way to contact you via email if you are the lucky winner, so please include your email address in the comment box. You may use the words (at) and (dot) instead of the actual symbols.

4. The giveaway will end on September 27th and I will notify the winner by email. Don't forget to include what fills your heart with joy in the comment.

For more information on this book, the author and where to purchase a copy of this book, simply click on the link below:

Saturday, September 18, 2010

Autumn's Promise

In the final chapter in the Season's of Sugarcreek, Shelley Shepard Gray takes us back into the lives of the Amish people living in the town of Sugarcreek in her latest novel, Autumn's Promise.

Here we are introduced to Lilly Allen, a nineteen year old English girl whose family has recently moved to Sugarcreek to avoid her old friends and neighbors learning that she had gotten pregnant by a boy she had a crush on but didn't want to become a father. Her family thought leaving town would be an easy way to avoid the questions some would ask and the people of Sugarcreek were willing to not ask questions. However when Lilly miscarries, she wonders if her life is truly over or if it were a blessing in disguise.

Robert Miller is a twenty four year old Amish man who recently is widowed after losing the love of his life, Grace at such an early age. Since her death the only thing keeping Robert going is his work at Miller Carpentry and spending some time at the Sugarcreek Inn getting to know a new waitress named Lilly who seems just as withdrawn from this life as he is.

Yet will their differences in faith keep them apart or will one of them make the ultimate sacrifice in the name of love? Will they be able to allow their love to grow or will the towns old ways keep them apart? To find out, you'll need to read the latest book, Autumn's Promise by Shelley Shepherd Gray.

I received this latest book compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review and this one rates a perfect 5 out of 5 stars in my library. This is a keeper for me. For more information about the book, the author and even a first chapter glimpse along with where to purchase a copy, please read below:

This week, the

Christian Fiction Blog Alliance

is introducing

Autumn's Promise
Avon Inspire (August 3, 2010)

by

Shelley Shepard Gray

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Since 2000, Shelley Sabga has sold twenty-six novels to numerous publishers. She has written a seven book contemporary series for Avalon books. She also published The Love Letter, a western for Avalon. Five Star Expressions published Suddenly, You in February of 2007. This novel is a historical western set in the mountains of Colorado.

Shelley has written nine novels for Harlequin American Romance. Cinderella Christmas, her first novel with them, reached number six on the Waldenbooks Bestseller list. Her second book with them, Simple Gifts won RT Magazine’s Reviewer’s Choice award for best Harlequin American Romance of 2006. The Mommy Bride, was chosen by Romantic Times Magazine as one of their TOP PICKS for May, 2008.

Under the name Shelley Shepard Gray, Shelley writes Amish romances for Harper Collins’ inspirational line, Avon Inspire. HIDDEN and WANTED the first two novels of her ‘Sisters of the Heart’ series, were chosen to be Alternate Selections for the Doubleday/ Literary Guild Book Club. FORGIVEN, book 3, has received glowing reviews. Avon Inspire is releasing four novels by Shelley this year.

Before writing romances, Shelley lived in Texas and Colorado, where she taught school and earned both her bachelors and masters degrees in education. She now lives in southern Ohio and writes full time. Shelley is married, the mother of two teenagers, and is an active member of her church.

ABOUT THE BOOK

Some promises are meant to be broken...

Until Robert Miller met Lilly Allen, his world had been dark. A widower after only two years of marriage, he'd been living in a haze, feeling that, at twenty-four, his life was already over.

But thanks to his friendship with Lilly, he now has new reasons to wake up each day. He knows his connection to her doesn't make sense. She's only nineteen, with a past the whole town talks about. Even more, she's not Amish, like Robert. A marriage between the two of them could never happen.

Lilly's heart is drawn to Robert, not to his faith. No matter how much she admires his quiet strength and dependability, she doesn't think she could ever give up her independence and reliance on the modern world. Is their love doomed before it even begins?

If you would like to read the first chapter of Autumn's Promise, go HERE.

Friday, September 17, 2010

The Black Madonna


Ever wonder if there is a great book out there somewhere that combines all the action of movies like Indiana Jones and The Raiders of the Lost Ark, Lara Croft Tomb Raider, as well as parts of the DaVinci Code? Well I've found it.

The newest novel from Davis Bunn called The Black Madonna is just the book for you adventure fans looking for a little thrill in your reading. I was captivated by the story from page one. The main character is Storm Syrrell whose company lies on the verge of complete bankruptcy. She is in the business of bidding on unique items to sell to her exclusive and very wealthy clientele in Palm Beach, yet due to the latest economic downfall, Storm hasn't had the funds to purchase anything new and exciting.

Yet when the bankers call to remind her of the severe debt in her account, she finds herself at the end of the rope. However, one afternoon, she gets a phone call saying that four hundred thousand dollars has just been wired to her account and the person on the other end of the phone is telling her that he wants her on the next plane to bid for an ancient Russian oil painting.

Is this the lucky break she has been waiting for? When the caller keeps his identity hidden and the cost to acquire the item at the auction has no limit, Storm begins to wonder who is on the other line?

This amazing new novel takes you all around the world, while Storm and her friend, Emma who works for Homeland Security begins to unlock the secrets in the antiquities that are being auctioned off and just what their true motives are in obtaining religious items especially one item that has claims to stop time.

Trust me, this is the best action packed book, I've read in quite a long time. I read it in one sitting, not being able to put it down. It held my interest all the way to the end. I would rate this book a perfect 5 out of 5 stars~!!! This is the second in a series of books where Storm Syrrell returns back on paper. The first is Gold of Kings.

I received this book compliments of Glass Road Public Relations for my honest review.

For more information on this book, the author and where to pick up your copy today, click on the title below:

Thursday, September 16, 2010

Raising The Dead Giveaway and Review


We've heard of stories in the past of people on the brink of death or who are medically pronounced dead, returning and coming back to life. This novel, Raising the Dead by Chauncey W. Crandall IV, MD, is a twist on that very premise.

The difference in this story is that Dr. Crandall is a Christian and this is his story of the many times as a cardiologist that he has personally witnessed miracles taking place within his OR and in the various places he has practiced that God has personally shown him, his mission in this life.

God has shown Dr. Crandall that even times in the Old and New Testament where people are healed and even raised from the dead, are possible even today. As Dr. Crandall searches for the true while still being a doctor, God has revealed to him that his mission is to save those very lives in his care while they still have a chance to come to know him. There are countless miracles described in detail and the effect that they have had on both Dr. Crandall and the very people who witnessed them as well, technicians, nurses, family members and even the patient themselves who are given a second chance through their encounter with Dr. Crandall.

During this amazing journey, we are taken on a personal one of faith in both the spiritual and physical worlds and see first hand the battle being waged behind the scenes as Dr. Crandall fights to save his own son from dying.

I received this book, compliments of Faith Words, a division of Hachette Book Groups for my honest review. This book has recommitted my personal ministry to follow God instead of waiting for God to provide me with another challenge, God has challenged me to do what I can with what He has already provided for me. There is no need to look further. I have no doubt in my mind what so ever that what Dr. Crandall has experienced is divinely inspired and led. I would rate this book a perfect 5 out of 5 stars.

It would make the perfect gift for those still undecided of their eternal fate and the choice that we all face in facing our own deaths. Where will you chose to spend yours?

For more information on this book, the author and where to purchase a copy of this amazing, life changing book, click on the title below:


For three lucky winners, Hachette Book Groups has provided copies for a giveaway. Here's all you need to do:

1. Be a follower of Reviews From The Heart.

2. Be a resident of the US or Canada, No P.O. Boxes please.

3. Provide an email address that I can contact you at should you win this giveaway. You can include it with your comment. You can also use the words (at) or (dot) instead of the symbols.

4, I will notify the winners on September 24th via email. If I don't hear from you within 5 business days, I will select another winner(s).

5. Leave me a comment telling me where you plan on spending your eternity.

Wednesday, September 15, 2010

More Than Words

Gretchen Kohler lives in a traditional Amana village, similar in some ways to the Amish but there are differences in their Old Ways. Gretchen's mother has passed away for quite some time, so the responsibility for managing the home has fallen on her shoulders. Her grandmother or Oma is facing the effects of alzheimer's and at times, resorts to her child like ways of her former days when she was a young girl and can no longer remember how old she is.

To pass the time, Gretchen journals her thoughts in notebook along with stories and poems. She wishes to someday share them with somebody other than her friends and even her Vater or father knows of her writing but has never read her work. One day a salesman from Chicago comes to her family store selling the latest in lace and trim which her father is interested in purchasing, but Mr. Finley seems to have other motives on his mind besides just selling his wares.

I received this amazing new novel, More Than Words, by Judith Miller compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review and was captivated by Gretchen's character. Being a writer myself I love how she uses her journal to capture her feelings and the lives of the people she is with in words. This is a great book on judging a book by it's cover too early and thus avoiding what lies beneath. I would rate this book a 5 out of 5 stars just for the historical content contained within the pages of another unique lifestyle of the 1800's!

For more information on this book, the author and a first chapter glimpse, please read on:

This week, the


Christian Fiction Blog Alliance


is introducing


More than Words
Bethany House; Original edition (September 1, 2010)

by

Judith Miller

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Most readers want to know how authors 'got started' writing. My first novel, Threads of Love, was conceived when I was commuting sixty miles to work each day. I wanted to tell the story of a pioneer girl coming to Kansas and the faith that sustained her as she adjusted to a new life. When the book was completed, I tucked it away. I had absolutely no idea how publication of a book occurred and had given no thought to the concept. However, through a co-worker, I was directed to Tracie Peterson who, at that time, worked down the hall from me. Having never met Tracie, I was totally unaware of her writing career, but God intervened. The rest is, as they say, history....

With a graciousness that continues to amaze me, Tracie agreed to read my story, directed me to a publisher, and gave me information on a Christian writers conference. Since that first encounter many years ago, I have been blessed with the publication of numerous books, novellas and a juvenile fiction book. Joyously, Tracie and I had the opportunity to develop a blessed friendship. In fact, we have co-authored several series together, including The Bells of Lowell, the Lights of Lowell and The Broadmoor Legacy. In addition, I have continued to write several solo series. Please check those out on the "My Books" page on my website.

God's design on the lives of His people never ceases to amaze me! Because I am eternally grateful for my own forgiveness and salvation, I strive to share God's desire to pull us from the mire of sin and set us free to live exciting lives for Him. Through His abundant grace and love, God gifts and equips each of us to share the story of salvation and eternal life. Won't you share His story using the special gifts He has given you?

ABOUT THE BOOK
Journey to the charming villages of the Amana Colonies, 1885

Gretchen Kohler is an Amana storekeeper's daughter with a secret passion for writing. But artistic pursuits are frowned upon in her conservative Amana village, so she confines her poems and stories to her journals, letting only close friends read them.

When a young reporter comes into her store, she believes she's found a kindred spirit. She shares a few of her stories with him--only to have her trust betrayed in the worst of ways, resulting in trouble for her entire community.

The scandal is made even worse by the fact that gypsies have camped nearby and seem to be preying upon the Amanans' compassionate, pacifist nature. Will Gretchen lose her job, her reputation, and the love of her childhood beau all because of one bad decision?

Judith Miller is an award-winning author whose avid research and love for history are reflected in her novels, two of which have placed in the CBA top ten lists. In addition to her writing, Judy is a certified legal assistant. Judy makes her home in Topeka, Kansas.

If you would like to read the first chapter of More than Words, go HERE.

Tuesday, September 14, 2010

Rumble! Zap! Pow!


Rumble! Zap! Pow! Sounds a lot like those old comic strips or even the old time super hero shows. Yet this unique children's book combines both a comic strip version of some of the classic Bible stories we have come to know and love in one hardcover version called Rumble! Zap! Pow! by Diane Stortz.

The Bible is full of action and adventure! Follow Moses as the walls of water part with a Whish!

March around Jericho with Joshua and hear the RUMBLE! of the city walls crashing down. Watch Goliath fall down with a giant-sized THUD! And listen in with the amazed disciples as a mighty WHOOSH! fills the room.

Perfect for energetic preschoolers, these 40 exciting stories and engaging activities make the Bible come to life for kids...and teach them how mighty our God is!

The best part following each of these colorful, comic strip stories is the activities that follow each. Such as Find crayons or markers. Get these colors: red, blue, green, yellow and purple. In your yard or at the park, match the colors of your crayons to the colors in God's beautiful world. This activity follows the creation story. There are even great scripture verses to practice memorizing such as the Power Words: I am the Lord who made all these things ~ Isaiah 44:24.

What a great and educational way to incorporate Bible learning in our earliest learners. I can see this book as a perfect introduction to the Bible for children just learning to read.

I received this book, compliments of Tyndale House Publishers for my honest review and have to say it rates a perfect 5 out of 5 stars. For more information on this book, the author and where to pick up this amazing book, click on the title link below:

Monday, September 13, 2010

Immanuel's Veins - Giveaway and Review



What is "sacrificial love"?

For some they would say that no matter what the cost, they would do anything for love including if necessary dying for the sake of the one they loved.

Some people fantasize about finding such a love like that in their lives. The kind of love that is unconditional. No rules or standards to follow. Just giving 100% of yourself to loving someone regardless if they ever love you back or even the same as them.

The kind of love that if your life were on the line, the one who loved you would be willing to step up and take your place rather than seeing you die.

This story is for everyone but not everyone is for this story.

It is a dangerous tale of times past. A love story full of deep seduction. A story of terrible longing and a bold sacrifice.

Then as now, evil begins it courtship cloaked in light. And the heart embraces what it should flee.

Forgetting it once had a truer lover.

With a kiss, evil will ravage body, soul, and mind.

Yet there remains hope, because the heart knows no bounds.

Love will prove greater than lust. Sacrifice will overcome seduction.

And blood will flow.

Because the battle for the heart is always violently opposed.

For those desperate to drink deep from this fountain of life, enter.

But remember, not everyone is for this story.

In his latest book, Immanuel's Veins, Ted Dekker takes us on a new journey into the darkness and evil woven together with twisted love and desire, when Lucine Cantemir and her twin sister Natasha find themselves the center of attention in the latest of parties hosted by their mother at their castle.

Being complete opposites of one another yet both strikingly beautiful beyond words, one is a notorious flirt with all the men who attend, while Lucine believes deep in her heart that true love really does exist somewhere in the world for her. Not to mention that Catherine the Great has requested the service of two of her most admirable and honorable men to watch over the two sisters to protect them at all costs from the war currently taking place in their country.

Alex believes that unless he is out taking the lives of the enemies of this war, than babysitting two sisters in a castle, he is simply wasting his time. Yet Toma, the warrior and servant of Catherine the Great of Russia, believes in those lasting noble traits of honor and loyalty and sees a higher purpose in the protection of these two women.

It isn't until the Duke Vlad van Valerik arrives with his guests to the Summer Ball of Delights that things begin to grow darker than the war gripping the country of Russia. I received this book compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review. This one is completely off the scale for me. Way above the perfect 5 out of 5 stars for those of you looking for a great outstanding Christian Suspense book written by a master of storytelling. You will have to pick this one up for yourselves. It's a permanent in our home and a fan favorite of my oldest teen daughter as well.

For more information of the book, the author and even a first chapter glimpse, please read on, but a word of warning, once you start you won't want to stop til the end.

This week, the


Christian Fiction Blog Alliance


is introducing


Immanuel's Veins
Thomas Nelson (September 7, 2010)


by
Ted Dekker

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Ted Dekker is a New York Times best-selling author of more than twenty novels. He is best known for stories which could be broadly described as suspense thrillers with major twists and unforgettable characters, though he has also made a name for himself among fantasy fans.

Early in his career he wrote a number of spiritual thrillers and his novels were lumped in with ‘Christian Fiction’ a surprisingly large category. His later novels are a mix of mainstream novels such as Adam, Thr3e, Skin, Obsessed and BoneMan’s Daughters, and fantasy thrillers that metaphorically explore faith. Best known among these is his Circle Series: Green, Black, Red, White and The Paradise Books: Showdown, Saint, and Sinner.

Dekker was born to missionaries who lived among the headhunter tribes of Indonesia. Because his parents’ work often included extended periods of time away from their children, Dekker describes his early life in a culture to which he was a stranger as both fascinating and lonely. It is this unique upbringing that forced him to rely on his own imagination to create a world in which he belonged.

After leaving Indonesia, Dekker graduated from a multi-cultural high school and took up permanent residence in the United States to study philosophy and religion. Upon earning his Bachelor’s Degree, he entered the corporate world and proceeded to climb the proverbial ladder. But his personal drive left him restless and, after many successful years, he traded corporate life for wide range of entrepreneurial pursuits that included buying and selling businesses, healthcare services, and marketing.

In the early nineties while visiting a friend who had just written a book, Dekker decided to pursue a long held desire to be a novelist. Over the course of two years he wrote two full length novels before starting from scratch and rewriting both. Now fully enamored by the the process and the stories, he realized that storytelling was in his blood and a new obsession to explore truth through story gripped him anew.

He sold his business, moved his family to the mountains of Western Colorado and began writing full-time on his third novel. Two years and three novels later his first novel, Heaven’s Wager, was published.

Now, Dekker’s novels had sold over 3.4 million copies worldwide. Two of his novels, Thr3e and House, have been made into movies with more in production. Dekker resides in Austin, Texas with his wife Lee Ann and two of their daughters.

If you'd like to read the first chapter of Immanuel's Veins, go HERE.


I'd like to thank the folks of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance and the publishers of the book Thomas Nelson for sponsoring this amazing giveaway of a "Spread the Love" T- Shirt for one lucky person who leaves a comment on this blog. Here are the guidelines:

1. Be a follower of my blog

2. You must reside in the US and No P.O. Boxes please!

3. I must have a way to reach you, so please include an email address in your comment. You can use (at) and (dot) instead of the symbols if you wish. I will be emailing the winner on September 20th. You will have 5 business days to respond or I will pick another winner.

4. Leave a comment telling me why you'd be interested in this book and what sacrificial love means to you! That's it. I will be emailing you for your mailing information and Adult T - Shirt size from S to 2XL.

Sunday, September 12, 2010

The Bridge of Peace



Living in the Amish community isn't easy. Especially when you have a disfigurement that is so apparent, people can't seem to notice it when looking at you. No matter how hard you try to hide it, its no use.

Lena Kauffman is a young Old Order Amish schoolteacher who has dealt all her life with attention raised by a noticeable birthmark on her cheek. Having learned to move past the stares and whispers, Lena channels her zest for living into her love of teaching. But tensions mount as she is challenged to work with a rebellious young man, named Peter, whose only goal is to finish school no matter what the cost.

Lena has to deal with several crises at the schoolhouse that threaten her other students. Her lack of submission and use of ideas that don't line up with the Old Ways strengthen the school board's case as they begin to believe that Lena is behind all the trouble.

One member of the school board, Grey Graber, feels trapped by his own stifling circumstances. His wife, Elsie, has shut him out of her life, and he doesn't know how long he can continue to live as if nothing is wrong. As the two finally come to a place of working toward a better marriage, tragedy befalls their family.

Lena and Grey have been life-long friends, but their relationship begins to crumble amidst unsettling deceptions, propelling each of them to finally face their own secrets. Can they both find a way past their losses and discover the strength to build a new bridge?

This novel, A Bridge of Peace, by Cindy Woodsmall, is a great Amish story with a difference. This time it isn't so much about falling in love in the Amish community but more with how does the Amish community cope when they don't care for the newest school teacher that comes with Public School ways of teaching. Or even how does one rebuild your life and marriage when its finally reached an end of no hope? What happens when a wife finds herself abandoned by her Amish husband and left with no way to make a living in a failing bakery business when everything around her home is falling apart, including her horse that has become lame due to her own neglect?

This novel is about finding hope in the hopeless situations? That no matter how tragic the loss in your life is, there is always God and the restoration possibilities that await when we return to Him for the solution. I absolutely adored this book. I got a deeper understanding of the Old Order ways of the Amish lifestyle as well as how someone outside the community is treated. I would rate this amazing book a 5 out of 5 stars and would highly recommend this book to anyone in need of recharging their faith and hope.

I received this book, compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review. For more information about the book, the author and even a first chapter sneak peek, then read on:

This week, the

Christian Fiction Blog Alliance

is introducing

The Bridge of Peace
WaterBrook Press; Original edition (August 31, 2010)
by
Cindy Woodsmall

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Cindy Woodsmall is a New York Times best-selling author whose connection with the Amish community has been featured on ABC Nightline and on the front page of the Wall Street Journal.

She was also a homeschool mom. As her children progressed in age, her desire to write grew stronger. After working through reservations whether this desire was something she should pursue, she began her writing journey. Her husband was her staunchest supporter.

Her first novel released in 2006 to much acclaim and became a best seller. Cindy was a 2007 ECPA award finalist, along with Karen Kingsbury, Angela Hunt, and Charles Martin.

Her second book, When the Morning Comes, hit numerous best-sellers lists across the US, including edging into the extended list of the New York Times, coming in at number thirty-four.

Her third book, When the Soul Mends, hit the New York Times best-sellers list, coming in at number thirteen, as well as making the USA Today’s best-sellers list.

Cindy continues to write and release best-selling works of fiction, and she’s also written a nonfiction work with an Old Order Amish friend, Miriam Flaud. The book is titled Plain Wisdom: An Invitation into an Amish Home and the Hearts of Two Women. It will release March 11, 2011.

Her real-life connections with Amish Mennonite and Old Order Amish families enrich her novels with authenticity.

As an adult, Cindy became friends with a wonderful Old Order Amish family who opened their home to her. Although the two women, Miriam and Cindy, live seven hundred miles apart geographically, and a century apart by customs, when they come together they never lack for commonality, laughter, and dreams of what only God can accomplish through His children.

Cindy, her husband, their three sons and two daughters-in-law reside in Georgia.


Here's a wonderful contest to enter:


Win a "Trip To Amish Country"...contest opens August 31st -December 31st...go HERE to enter!

If you would like to read the first chapter of The Bridge of Peace, go HERE.