The Best People In The World!

Thursday, March 31, 2011

Scars of a Chef


People always ask about the tattoos.

I don't blame them for being curious. I've got twenty-four different tattoos now, running up and down both sides of my body, on my arms, my legs, my chest, my back; they're pretty hard to miss.

Not that I haven't already been marked by the profession. Take a look at my hands and arms and you'll see the cuts, calluses, burn marks - the scars - all symbols of a life that includes working with razor-sharp knives, red-hot cookware, and vats of boiling oil.

But my tattoos are more than just battle scars. Each one is an intentional representation of my commitment and devotion, both to my Creator and my career. They reflect a thirty-year life journey, a great picture of where I've been and what God has taught me along the way.

Much like my physical scars, each one of my tattoos tells a story. This book is my attempt to flesh out those stories a bit more. Though my stories - like my scars and tattoos - are unique to me, you just might recognize something from your own life here. And I hope you'll come away with the conviction that the same loving God who has filled my life with peace, promise, and purpose can do the same for you. (pg 15)

I received the book Scars of A Chef by Rick Tramonto and Lisa Jackson, compliments of Tyndale House Publishers for my honest review. I loved this book considering all the cooking shows you see on TV, and they all make it look so easy. This biography shows just how hard Rick Tramonto's life was from childhood to where he worked as an apprentice at various restaurants. Being born into an Italian family with food always a part of your life, you would have thought he was naturally drawn into it but only when he failed at school did he sense a growing desire to do something he had always been exposed to and make a living at it.

The best part of the book was showing the reader that the journey to greatness was long and not always an easy one. He had problems being exposed to the criminal element and introduced to drugs and alcohol which made moving ahead more difficult. Yet with faith in God, he overcame those challenges and became the chef, he is today. This book easily rates a 5 out of 5 stars and a great gift for anyone looking to move into the culinary world.

This book is available in hardcover and eBook formats. For more information about this book, the author and even where to purchase a copy of this book, click on the link below:

Tuesday, March 29, 2011

Wolves Among Us


The year 1538 in Dinfoil, Germany. This is a dark time in history. It is a time when the Bible wasn't as available as it is today. There was no readily available translation of the Bible in a commoner's language. So most relied on whatever the church taught as truth. Most commoners couldn't read anyway.

It is a time when women were specifically banned from reading the Scripture. They were denied a voice in the church and persecuted for their distinct gender differences, so women frequently turned to folk magic for help.

Thus the book, Wolves Among Us by Ginger Garrett begins. We find ourselves in the small town of Dinfoil, Germany where we meet Stefan, the local priest of the church, who has a particular disdain for women. He truly believes all problems that befall a woman or her family is the result of her undisclosed sin. He insists that all of his people attend Mass daily and makes confession a requirement. He favors the men of the town and often overlooks their indiscretions once again blaming the women for men falling away in lust or getting drunk in town. The women must confess and repent.

Here we meet Mia who is the outcast of the town. She is the sheriff's wife and has no friends among the women. She is the only one who will not visit the "healer" on the outskirts of town in hopes of finding a cure for her daughter Alma who can't breathe most days and has a cough that will claim her life if Mia can't help her. The priest claims it's her sin of pride that is preventing her from getting well. However Mia will continue to pray as often as she can for God to heal her child. In addition, she cares for Marguerite, an ailing and deaf mother of her husband Bjorn.

The events in the story will lead to a crossroads of good and evil when two local townspeople are found murdered on the steps of the church. The priest believes that an unseen evil of witches has afflicted his town and sends for the Inquisitor who will reveal where the evil witches live and restore the town to holiness no matter what the cost.

I was captivated by this story that Ginger Garret has woven in the pages of Wolves Among Us using the details from the early days of church history to tell a heart pounding story of witch hunts in a small town and how the town will eventually turn against itself until Mia reveals the truth in her past. I received the book compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review. This one hands down scores a 5 out of 5 stars. This is the second book I've read of Ginger's and she truly has a master talent for weaving a story that will capture your attention and your heart.

This book is available in paperback. Here's even more information about the book, the author and where to get a first chapter glimpse of the story.
This week, the
Christian Fiction Blog Alliance
is introducing
Wolves Among Us
David C. Cook; New edition (April 1, 2011)
by
Ginger Garrett

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:


Ginger Garrett is the author of the Chronicles of the Scribes series (In the Shadow of Lions, In the Arms of Immortals, In the Eyes of Eternity), Dark Hour, and Beauty Secrets of the Bible. Chosen: The Lost Diaries of Queen Esther was recognized as one of the top five novels of 2006 by the ECPA.

Focusing on ancient women's history, Ginger creates novels and nonfiction resources that explore the lives of historical women. A frequent media guest and television host, Ginger has been interviewed by Fox News, Billy Graham's The Hour of Decision, The Harvest Show, 104.7 The Fish Atlanta, and many other outlets.

A graduate of Southern Methodist University with a degree in Theater, she is passionate about creating art from history. Ginger resides in Georgia with her husband and three children.

ABOUT THE BOOK

This richly imagined tale takes readers to a tiny German town in the time of “the burnings,” when pious and heretic alike became victims of witch-hunting zealots. When a double murder stirs up festering fears, the village priest sends for help. But the charismatic Inquisitor who answers the call brings a deadly mix of spiritual fervor and self-deceptive evil. Under his influence, village fear, guilt, and suspicion of women take a deadly turn. In the midst of this nightmare, a doubting priest and an unloved wife—a secret friend of the recently martyred William Tyndale—somehow manage to hear another Voice…and discover the power of love over fear.

Dinfoil, Germany, 1538. In a little town on the edge of the Black Forest, a double murder stirs up festering fears. A lonely woman despairs of pleasing her husband and wonders why other women shun her. An overworked sheriff struggles to hold the town—and himself—together. A priest begins to doubt the power of the words he shares daily with his flock. And the charismatic Inquisitor who arrives to help—with a filthy witch in a cage as an object lesson—brings his own mix of lofty ideals and treacherous evil. Under his influence, ordinary village fears and resentments take a deadly turn. Terror mounts. Dark deeds come to light. And men and women alike discover not only what they are capable of, but who they are…and what it means to grapple for grace.

If you would like to read the first chapter of Wolves Among Us, go HERE

Glimpsing God


What would you do if in the span of 2 years, you had your heart stop, you found out your daughter had been hit in the head with a steel baseball bat and suffered a cracked skull that would require surgery more than once, you get involved in a car accident with all of your kids that leaves one of thm almost lifeless, you discover that three of your five kids have a rare genetic brain disorder, and then your husband is involved in a car accident that leave him permanently disabled?

Would you question God?

Would you ask Why God would put you and your family through this?

If He is God, couldn't He have prevented all this?

What if you were doing all the right things as a Christian, going to church, volunteering in the church, paying your tithes, and praying as often as you could, what then?

I don't know about you, but I would have thought God up and abandoned me several times. Yet, we know God is never to blame. We live in a world where our faith is constantly put to the test, but none in this case as much as Rachel Alkire does in her dramatic true story called Glimpsing God.

Yes, all the above is detailed out along with Rachel's thought that often go hand in hand with what we might consider if we had to deal with everything. Yet in the midst of everything, time after time, God showed the goodness that comes from every single one of those circumstances and in the end, created such a strong faith for both her and her family to come to know God more intimately.

I received this amazing story compliments of Bring It On Communications for my honest review and LOVED it! I taught me that seeing things through the eyes of another is often easy to see just how powerful and mighty our God truly is, and no matter what happens in our life, He never leaves us. This one is a powerful testimony that would be a great gift for anyone wanting the answer to why God does what He does. This rates a 5 out of 5 stars!!!

If you would like more information about the book, the amazing author and where to purchase a copy for yourself, simply click on the link below. This one is now part of my permanent library of faith along with my Bible. It's available in paperback format for now.

  • Paperback: 176 pages
  • Publisher: Deep River Books (June 1, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1935265202
  • ISBN-13: 978-1935265207
  • Price: $11.69

Monday, March 28, 2011

False Pretenses


Zoe Broussard and her husband Pierce have moved to Louisiana to establish Zoe B's, a Cajun, down home style eatery. Things seem to be going well for them including the possibility that Pierce's gumbo could possibly take first place this year earning them a well deserved place in the community.

However when mysterious envelopes begin to appear with Zoe's name typed on the front and inside containing 5 words in cut out words from magazines saying "I know what you did," Zoe begins to wonder if her past is about to catch up with her.

Meanwhile Vanessa and Ethan Langley have purchased the old Langley estate in hopes of restoring it into a Bed and Breakfast. However when their 4 year old son, Carter claims to have spoken to the "Candy Man" in the closet who promises him lemon drops if he keeps his presence a secret, they begin to wonder if the Candy Man is real or a figment of Carter's imagination. The police can find no evidence of a break in and when a white man is found hung just on the outskirts of their property line, they all begin to wonder if the Candy Man has anything to do with it.

I received the book False Pretenses by Kathy Herman compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review and have to say I really enjoyed the storyline. Set in the Bayou's of Louisiana, the story will unravel among the secrets that Zoe is hiding from her husband along with the mysterious man in Langley Manor. This sets the stage for showing just how devastating secrets can be, and how nothing is truly hidden that God won't use for His good. I would rate this book a 4.5 out of 5 stars and is available in paperback and eBook formats.

Here's even more great information about the book, the author and even a first chapter peek into the mysteries in the Bayou!

This week, the
Christian Fiction Blog Alliance
is introducing
False Pretenses
David C. Cook (March 1, 2011)
by
Kathy Herman




ABOUT THE AUTHOR:



Suspense novelist Kathy Herman is very much at home in the Christian book industry, having worked five years on staff at the Christian Booksellers Association (CBA) in Colorado Springs, Colorado, and eleven years at Better Books Christian Center in Tyler, Texas, as product buyer/manager for the children’s department, and eventually as director of human resources.



She has conducted numerous educational seminars on children’s books at CBA Conventions in the U.S. and Canada, served a preliminary judge for the Gold Medallion Book Awards of the Evangelical Christian Publishers Association , and worked as an independent product/marketing consultant to the CBA market.



Since her first novel, Tested by Fire, debuted in 2001 as a CBA national bestseller, she's added sixteen more titles to her credit, including four bestsellers: All Things Hidden, The Real Enemy, The Last Word, and The Right Call.



Kathy's husband Paul is her manager and most ardent supporter, and the former manager of the LifeWay Christian Store in Tyler, Texas. They have three grown children, five almost-perfect grandchildren, a cat named Samantha. They enjoy cruising, deep sea fishing, and birdwatching—sometimes incorporating these hobbies into one big adventure.



ABOUT THE BOOK



Zoe Broussard loves the life she and her husband Pierce have built in her beloved Louisiana hometown. She owns a thriving Cajun eatery in South Louisiana and is married to the love of her life.



But it’s about to become hell. One day, out of the blue, she receives a series of anonymous notes that sends her life into a tail spin. Five simple words, “I know what you did.” Zoe has a secret so terrible it could leave the business in shambles and tear her marriage apart. Unbeknownst to anyone, even Zoe’s husband, Pierce, she has a past—a past she had covered so well she never thought she would have to confront. How could anyone know what she did? Can she find the courage to face her past?



If you would like to read the first chapter of False Pretenses, go HERE.

Sunday, March 27, 2011

A Cowboy's Touch


Abigail Jones is what most people would consider a work alcoholic, spending way to many hours working as an investigative reporter for her mother's magazine Viewpoint. Compromising her health with hypertension which also took the life of her father, Abigail's mom insistent she take a long leave of absence. A three month leave!

Her mother worries that her Aunt Lucy who lives in Moose Creek, Montana may be ready for convalescent care talking about people living with her that don't exist. Abigail is asked to spend her three months learning to relax and evaluate the health of her aunt.

What she doesn't expect is to take on a summer job as a nanny for Madison, a 12 year old whose father Wade Ryan runs a busy cattle ranch. Will Abigail heal more than just one broken heart during her summer in Montana?

I received the latest book, A Cowboy's Touch by Denise Hunter, compliments of B & B Media Group for my honest review. This one captured my heart in a span of an evening. I love the character of Abigail who I can relate to that has a tendency to stay busy even at the risk to her own health. This is a story of hope and restoration in the lives of all the characters that are touched by Abigail's presence during a summer leave on a Montana ranch.

This book is available in paperback, hardcover, and eBook formats. For more information on this book, the author and where to purchase a copy of this heart-warming story, click on the link below:

Saturday, March 26, 2011

The Heavenly Host - The Testings of Devotion



We all know that an unseen world exists along side the world in which we live in. I have found myself wondering just what happened on that day when Lucifer, one of God's archangels, desired to set himself above God and think he could control the world. Not only that he managed to convince a third of the angels in heaven to leave with him where God has him banished until judgement day.

Welcome to The Heavenly Host - The Testing of Devotion, Book One by Cheryl Dellasega, who takes the reader on a journey in heaven on that fateful day through a fiction based novel taking what we know from the Bible and giving us a perspective on what may have occurred.



We meet Gabriel, Michael and a host of angels whose job it is to find Lucifer on the edge of where heaven and earth meet, to give him an ultimatum, to serve God or be banished from heaven forever. Lucifer begins his argument that he needs to take control of the mortals ruining what God has created and try to fix them so that they will stop hurting and causing pain for their creator, the Almighty Divine. He truly believes that he can fix things and convinces the angels listening to him that God has place humans needs above the angels whose desire it is to serve him.

When Lucifer finishes, he tells the angels that he will grant them the positions they so believe they are entitled to, ruling over mortals and restoring the earth as God had imagined, not serving mortals whose selfish lives are what is causing so much pain for God. All but Michael, Gabriel and a praying angel called Sophia are the only ones who don't join, and so the portal between heaven and earth is closed.

What takes place in the book shows us just how angels can be used by God as He desires us to be protected, ministered to and even comforted in the midst of the chaos that Lucifer and his angels are waging on earth. It really gets the reader involved in just what some things occur on earth and while we may not see it, God is truly controlling it all for His purpose and His good.

I received this heartwarming book, The Heavenly Host - The Testing of Devotion by Cheryl Dellasega, compliments of Bring It On Communications for my honest review and can say I LOVED it! It takes the stories we find in the scriptures and brings to light the possibilities of what is going on in the unseen world we know exists. It provides hope and faith, that even though we can't see it, we know God is using all things to His goodness in the end. This book rates a 5 out of 5 stars! It is available in paperback format and on the Kindle.

  • Paperback: 256 pages
  • Publisher: VMI Publishers (October 16, 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1933204702
  • ISBN-13: 978-1933204703
  • Price: $11.45 paperback, $ 9.99 Kindle


For more information about the book, the author and where to get a copy of this book, simply click on the link below:

Friday, March 25, 2011

The Crossmaker - DVD Giveaway and Review


We all have read and seen the story of Easter according to the Bible, but here is a perfect way to capture the attention of children everywhere with this latest DVD from See The Light called The Crossmaker.

We learn what happens in the life of a boy named Dominic whose father makes crosses. When called to finish a last minute order, his father asks if he will make the cross and deliver it as soon as it is finished. Dominic is reluctant due to the comments his friends make when they see him delivering crosses but his father insists that he be the one to take this cross today. They are expecting it.

We are drawn into the life of a small boy when he delivers the cross to a Roman guard only to see a story unfold before his eyes as Pilate begins to deal with the crowd of people who have brought a man named Jesus before him. Dominic soon will discover that he will play a pivotal part in what ultimately happens to Jesus.

Brought to life by illustrations in chalk as the story unfolds to the viewer, we learn once more about the death and resurrection of Jesus through the telling of the story just in time for Easter. This DVD is packed with extras including over an hour and a half of art lessons showcasing illuminated letters and chalk drawings that your child can watch and complete in easy to follow step by step directions. You also will receive contemporary music performed by Breathing Room as Gloria draws along with it creating the Easter story.

There is so much combined in this one amazing and unforgettable DVD that you can also supplement with The See The Light website for more ideas and DVDs as well. I received this DVD, The Crossmaker, compliments of Propeller and See The Light for my honest review and my entire family LOVED it. We all agree this is a wonderful way to enjoy the story of Easter this holiday. I would highly recommend it and give it a 5 out of 5 stars.

For more information about this DVD, See The Light and where to get a copy, please click on the link below:


Thanks to See The Light and Propeller, they are giving away a copy of this DVD to one lucky follower of my blog. Here are your guidelines to enter:

1. You must be a follower of Reviews From The Heart.

2. You must be a resident of the US or have a US shipping address. No P.O. Boxes please.

3. I must have a way to contact you if you are the lucky winner of this giveaway, so please be sure to include your email address along with your comment. You can use the words (at) and (dot) instead of the symbols.

4. Leave a comment telling me why you'd love to win this DVD. The giveaway will end on April 2nd so we can get this to you before Easter. I will be contacting the winner by email on the 2nd.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

Thursday, March 24, 2011

Breath of Angel


Legend has it that the within the Tree of Wisdom held a great stairway. This stairway would allow angels and the souls of those who passed on to make their way to heaven. Yet the story would reveal that the protector of the Tree, an angel called Dreia, who gave the juice of one of the fruits from the tree, that held knowledge and cleverness to a man in despair searching for a perfect gift. What she did not intend was for this handsome man to ask for a fruit from the tree, but with his insistence and begging, she relented.

However their was a bargain to be made in exchange for the fruit, that the first living thing that the man should come across on his way home would be the payment for the fruit. Deep within the man's mind, he knew right away without fail that the first thing to greet him when he returned home would be his hunting dog. So with a smile, he agreed and took the fruit.

When he was just about home, his young niece came running out to meet him with news of his hunting dog had died. The man was grieved to know that she would be the payment for his foolish decision,

Now legend has it that the Tree was destroyed and that the angels are earth-bound here until the stairway is restored. Not only that it's not just the angels from heaven that are bound here, but also the ones called malevolents, whose goal it is to keep the stairway from being restored. This way, all the souls that pass on are kept in the underworld.

I received the first book in the newest series, The Angeleon Circle, called Breath of Angel by Karyn Henley compliments of WaterBrook Multnomah Publishers for my honest review. I can tell you that I LOVED this book. I can't wait to read each and every single one that follows this because the story was amazing. The battle that is being waged between the Angeleon (good angels) and the malevolents (evil angels) ties in with the creatures that live in the various kingdoms looking to retrieve three magical harps and the son of the guardian of the Tree. With those tools and the perfect alignment of the stars, the stairway may be able to be restored.

This book rates a perfect 5 out of 5 stars for it's amazing ability to hold the readers attention to the storyline and provide a great Christian Fantasy story that deals with the unseen world. This book is available in paperback and eBook formats. Trust me, you'll want to get hooked on this series. For more information about this book, the author and where to purchase a copy of the book, please click on the link below:

Wednesday, March 23, 2011

The Resurrection


When Ruby Case, an unassuming crippled woman, inexplicably raises a boy from the dead, she creates uproar in the quiet coastal town of Stonetree. Some brand her a witch, others a miracle worker. Yet Reverend Ian Clark could care less. Dogged by demons and immersed in self-pity, Clark is being unwittingly drawn into a secret religious order--one that threatens his very life. But he's about to get a wake-up call.

Together, Ruby and Reverend Clark are thrust into a search for answers... and a collision with unspeakable darkness. For behind the quaint tourist shops and artist colonies lies a history of deceit. And a presence more malignant than anything they can imagine. Yet a battle is brewing, the resurrection is the first volley, and the unlikely duo are the only ones who can save them. But can they overcome their own brokenness in time to stop the evil, or will they be its next victim?

I received The Resurrection by Mike Duran compliments of Christian Science Fiction and Fantasy Blog Tour for my honest review and once again I am drawn into this wonderful story that will hold you captivated until the very end. It's so refreshing to have Christian writers like Mike Duran pick up a story that hold Christian traditions and faith at its core and keep the reader engaged. I rate this book a 5 out of 5 stars! Just the cover of the book alone will make you want to pick this up and read it! This book is available in paperback format.

For those of you that want to learn more about the book, the author and where to pick up a copy for yourself, please click on the links below:

Mike Duran's Webpage

Amazon Books

Here's even more great reviews from some amazing people who also read this book.

Noah Arsenault
Brandon Barr
Red Bissell
Book Reviews By Molly
Keanan Brand
Kathy Brasby
Grace Bridges
Beckie Burnham
Melissa Carswell
Jeff Chapman
Christian Fiction Book Reviews
Carol Bruce Collett
Valerie Comer
Karri Compton
Wanda Costinak
Amy Cruson
http://csffblogtour.com/"> CSFF Blog Tour
Janey DeMeo
http://in--and--out.blogspot.com/"> Cynthia Dyer
Tori Greene
Nikole Hahn
Katie Hart
Joleen Howell
http://www.613media.com/"> Bruce Hennigan
Becky Jesse
Cris Jesse
Jason Joyner
Carol Keen
Emily LaVigne
Shannon McNear
Matt Mikalatos
http://rebeccaluellamiller.wordpress.com/"> Rebecca LuElla Miller
Mirtika
Joan Nienhuis
Nissa
John W. Otte
Gavin Patchett
Sarah Sawyer
Andrea Schultz
Tammy Shelnut
Kathleen Smith
Donna Swanson
Jessica Thomas
Steve Trower
Fred Warren
Dona Watson
Phyllis Wheeler
Nicole White
Dave Wilson



Vicious Cycle


She was selfish, like all active drug users. She only cared about herself and getting the next high. Whatever she had to do, whoever she had to sell out, however she had to lie, she would. He'd learned all about it - their need to lie and steal to get drugs to numb the pain.

But the lying and stealing lead to more problems and more pain, so they needed more drugs to feel better. And that meant more lies and stealing. More problems. More cravings for drugs. It was a vicious cycle that took miracles to break (pg 91)

Emily Covington knows all about that cycle. She's spent the last year trying to break free from the cravings that have held her prisoner. She knows she has to lose contact with all her old friends once she is released from New Day, a rehabilitation center for girls who need to break free from their addictions. Her mom, Barbara has been hanging on as long as she can after losing her husband and is just beginning to break free from her own vicious cycle and learning to trust love again.

However when her brother Lance finds himself with a baby that was born to another drug addicted mother he was trying to help, he finds himself involved in a cycle that may prove one that no of them can break free from.

I received the book, Vicious Cycle by Terri Blackstock, compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review and could NOT put it down until I finished that final page at 1:40am. It's that great. Spell-binding, edge of your seat, can't put it down, great!!! This one easily rates a 5 out of 5 stars for its exceptional way to capture your heart and brace for impact. For anyone looking for a great read, this one hands down will do it! This is the second book in the Intervention series.

This book is available as a paperback and eBook format. Here's even more great information about the book, the author and even a peek at the first chapter:

This week, the
Christian Fiction Blog Alliance
is introducing
Vicious Cycle
Zondervan (February 22, 2011)
by
Terri Blackstock




ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Terri Blackstock is a New York Times best-seller, with over six million copies sold worldwide. She has had over twenty-five years of success as a novelist. She sold her first novel at the age of twenty-five, and has had a successful career ever since.



Besides entertaining her readers, Terri tackles issues that she hopes will change lives. Her recent book, Predator, was inspired by her experiences on Facebook and Twitter, and her concern that people posted too much personal information about themselves. The book deals with an online predator who uses social networks as his playground. She hopes the book will change readers’ online habits. Her New York Times best-seller, Intervention, was inspired by her own personal struggles with a daughter on drugs. In the book, a mother hires an interventionist for her drug-addicted daughter. But on the way to treatment, the interventionist is murdered, and the daughter disappears. Barbara, the mother, sets out to search for her daughter. Terri modeled Barbara after herself, and poured many of her own emotions and experiences into that character. As a result, many families experiencing drug addiction have written to thank her for telling their story and giving them hope. Vicious Cycle, Book Two of the Intervention Series, releases February 22, 2011. She’s currently working on Book Three.



Other recent books include a stand-alone novel called Double Minds, as well as Last Light, Night Light, True Light and Dawn’s Light (from her acclaimed Restoration Series). She is also known for her popular Newpointe 911 Series and Cape Refuge Series. Terri makes her home in Mississippi, where she and her husband Ken are enjoying their empty nest after raising three children.

Terri has appeared on national television programs such as “The 700 Club” and “Home Life,” and has been a guest on numerous radio programs across the country. The story of her personal journey appears in books such as Touched By the Savior by Mike Yorkey, True Stories of Answered Prayer by Mike Nappa, Faces of Faith by John Hanna, and I Saw Him In Your Eyes by Ace Collins.







ABOUT THE BOOK



When fifteen-year-old Lance Covington finds an abandoned baby in the backseat of a car, he knows she's the newborn daughter of a meth addict he's been trying to help. But when police arrest him for kidnapping, Lance is thrust into a criminal world of baby trafficking and drug abuse.



His mother, Barbara, looks for help from Kent Harlan---the man whom she secretly, reluctantly loves and who once helped rescue her daughter from a mess of her own. Kent flies to her aid and begins the impossible work of getting Lance out of trouble, protecting a baby who has no home, and finding help for a teenage mother hiding behind her lies.



In this latest novel of suspense and family loyalty, bestselling author Terri Blackstock offers a harrowing look at drug addiction, human trafficking, and the devastating choices that can change lives forever.



If you would like to read the first chapter of Vicious Cycle, go HERE.



Watch the Book Video:




Tuesday, March 22, 2011

His Other Wife


Sometimes you look back and try to figure out when it all when wrong. For the last six years as Hilary attempts to move forward, she still finds herself wondering where it all fell apart. One day out of the blue her husband Eric, announces one day that he is in love with someone else, has started divorce proceedings, is moving out today and the papers will be served on Thursday.

So how do you begin to process that? Hilary looks to God to deal with all the issues surrounding this circumstance, while struggling to raise her teen son, Seth as a single mom working as a nurse.

After those six long years, Seth's graduation day is coming up and with that, a meeting with her ex husband Eric, his new wife Pam and her two kids, Ben and Lily. How will she deal with that? Seth also informs her of a private graduation party that most parents are aware of that involves an overnight camping trip on graduation night. Will she let him go?

Hilary's life will be tested beyond what she has gone through in the last six years in one night that will change everything and give her faith in God the ultimate test. Will she survive?

I received the book, His Other Wife by Deborah Bedford, compliments of Hachette Book Groups and Faith Words, for my honest review. I can say I loved it! The reality of what Hilary must face not only with her divorce but the struggle in single parenting is inspirational to those that have walked in those shoes, myself included. I wish I had the support system she did in the book and shows just how difficult it can be at times to wonder where God is in all of it, when things come crashing down. This one rates a 5 out of 5 stars!

This book is available in paperback and eBook formats. For more information on this book, the author and where to get a first chapter peek, click on the link below:

Saturday, March 19, 2011

No Safe Haven


Jenna tried hard to find a way to forgive her husband Marc, but after hearing about Amy for so long, it was hard to put it behind her. Could her husband have cheated on her?

She was trying hard to remember God's provision to forgive and to trust in Him as she struggled for survival along with her 12-year-old daughter Andie. Lost in the frozen Denali National Park after their plane crashed, she isn't sure whom she can trust anymore. When an unexpected passenger comes along for a last minute ride, she begins to realize that if they want to live, she's going to have to trust Cole's instincts to climb higher rather than down. Andie has a nervous disorder that doesn't allow her to feel pain, much less the ability to regulate her body's temperatures, so it's imperative that they must be rescued soon or she could die.

It seems like the plane crash wasn't just an accident, and her trusted pilot Hank wanted to make sure that they all died in it. When Cole informs her that the people that wanted her dead would be coming back to the crash site to ensure that everyone had died, she begins to wonder if there is any safe haven anymore.

I received No Safe Haven by Kimberley and Kayla Woodhouse, compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review. This mother/daughter team of writers takes you to another place with a different threat level in dealing with a real disorder that Kayla has and was featured on Extreme Makeover: Home Edition. In using her daughter as the basis for the character of Andie, I believe it made the storyline that much more urgent and action packed from the very first page. This story is based on the faith and forgiveness that can only be found in a personal relationship with God to help them weather the storm of their survival and rates a 5 out of 5 stars.

This book is available in paperback and eBook formats. Here's even more information about the book, the authors and even a first chapter peek, but be warned, it will leave you wanting much, much more.



This week, the
Christian Fiction Blog Alliance
is introducing
No Safe Haven
B&H Books (March 15, 2011)
by
Kimberly and Kayla Woodhouse




ABOUT THE AUTHORS:



A devoted wife and mother, Kimberley Woodhouse is a third generation Liszt student, she has passed down her love of the arts to hundreds of students over the years.



About fifteen years ago, Kimberley began writing seriously. Songs, plays, short stories, novels, picture books, articles, newsletters - you name it - she's written it. It wasn't until a dear friend challenged her to "do something with it", that she pursued publication.



Kimberley and her family's story have been on the front page of newspapers, in magazines, articles, medical journals, and most recently her family was chosen for ABC's Extreme Makeover: Home Edition. They were also asked to share their story on The Montel Williams Show and Discovery Health Channel's Mystery ER. She has recorded three albums, and has appeared at over 700 venues. Kimberley lives, writes, and homeschools in Colorado with her husband and their two children in a truly "Extreme" home.



Thirteen-year-old Kayla Woodhouse’s zest for writing comes not only from her natural ability, but also from her love of the written word as witnessed by her voracious reading appetite. One of only a few dozen cases in the world, Kayla was born with HSAN, Hereditary Sensory Autonomic Neuropathy, an extremely rare nerve disorder. Unable to sweat, or feel pain, she’s also been through brain surgery. But even through a life of extreme hardships, her ever-present smile encourages others to pursue their dreams, no matter the obstacles. In addition to being homeschooled and writing with her mom, she’s an amazing swimmer, and spends up to thirty hours a week in training. No Safe Haven, her first release from B&H Publishers in 2011, written with mother, Kimberley, makes her the youngest author to have a full-length novel published by a royalty paying publisher.





ABOUT THE BOOK



Jenna and Andi Tikaani-Gray are hoping for a fresh start. Though twelve year-old Andi has long struggled with a rare medical disorder, she and her mother have finally received good news from out-of-town specialists. It's news they desperately needed, especially after the recent death of Jenna's husband (Andi's dad) in a car accident.



But as they are flying home to Alaska, ready to begin again, the unthinkable happens. The pilot sabotages their small plane and crashes into Sultana, one of the most remote and dangerous mountains in the Land of the Midnight Sun. Even worse, a winter storm is headed their way along with someone who doesn't want to save them, but to kill them.



Only one man can keep them alive: Cole Maddox, the mysterious last-minute passenger who joined them on their flight. But trust doesn't come easy to Jenna or Andi√Ďand they both sense Cole is hiding something.



A relentless tale of survival and suspense unfolds, involving military technology designed by Jenna's late husband that some would do anything to possess.



Watch the Book Video:







If you would like to read the first chapter of No Safe Haven, go HERE.

Thursday, March 17, 2011

The Grandfathers - DVD Review


Nate Saint was famous for something most of us would not want to be remembered for. He was murdered by a tribe he was living with in the jungles of the Amazon in Ecuador. Not only was he murdered but four others he was traveling with, leaving his widow, Rachel behind in the tribe.

What happened after that fateful day would change the Amazon tribe forever in events that are told about in the DVD documentary, The Grandfathers.

We meet the Saint family as they uproot their lives and move to the jungles of the Amazon rainforest to meet the tribe of people living there, the Woadani's, that killed their grandfather but to see just how much their lives are forever changed. The saying "same hands, yet different hearts" is the theme throughout as we see just how different it is for both cultures to live within each others worlds and to see God's forgiveness played out in this beautiful film.

I received the DVD, The Grandfathers by EGM Films, compliments of B & B Media Group for my honest review. Both my 17 year old daughter and I watched it, often times in amazement, laughter and tears in the 54 minutes. It changed us both and made us realize how different things really are and yet there is wisdom from our grandparents that needs to be listened to and learned from. It makes us not only the people we are today, but able to learn from their ways and grow. I would easily rate this a 5 out of 5 stars for anyone looking to see what a Missionary life is like from a true perspective.

This is the third film in the series that chronicles the lives of the five missionary men who died from Mart Green and Jim Hanon, with End of The Spear and Beyond the Gates of Splendor being the first two. This film has received the Dove Foundation seal of approval. I can't wait to see the first two.

For more information about this DVD, watch a trailer, and where to purchase a copy, click on the link below:

Wednesday, March 16, 2011

The Caregiver


Lucy Troyer is coming via train to visit her cousin Mattie who is undergoing treatment for breast cancer among the Amish community of Jacob's crossing. Lucy feels that since Mattie was there for her when her husband Paul died and in the midst of years of abuse from him, it's the very least she can do.

Lucy is also hoping to finally put some of the deep, dark nightmares to rest that have been haunting her since he died. She feels that this time away focusing on Mattie's care may bring the healing they both need. She ends up becoming friends with Calvin Weaver and his young sister Katie aboard the train and when it breaks down, she discovers that God has a bigger plan in her life than she thought.

Mattie Lapp is beginning to wonder whether she can ever begin to live her life. She fears that cancer sits at her door waiting to take all it can including her life. She has already lost one breast and with the chemotherapy she isn't sure that she will be able to fight this final battle. Her only hope besides the expected visit of Lucy, is her childhood friend, Graham Weaver who lives next door. It is his unconditional caring that seems to help Mattie when everything else fails.

I received The Caregiver by Shelley Shepard Gray compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review and must say it was an award winner. The story between Lucy and Calvin is so much a different romance story than that happening between Mattie and Graham and the overlapping parallels of healing in both women's lives is touching on some many different levels. You can see how much God plays a part of every part of what each woman is dealing with and how His love, once more prevails. This one rates a perfect 5 out of 5 stars.

This is also the first book in the Families of Honor series and can't wait to read them all. This book is available in paperback and eBook formats.

Here's even more great information about the book, the author and where to get a first chapter peek into this heart-warming story of love and faith.

This week, the
Christian Fiction Blog Alliance
is introducing
The Caregiver
Avon Inspire; Original edition (March 8, 2011)
by
Shelley Shepard Gray


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:



Shelley Shepard Gray is the beloved author of the Sisters of the Heart series, including Hidden, Wanted, and Forgiven. Before writing, she was a teacher in both Texas and Colorado. She now writes full time and lives in southern Ohio with her husband and two children. When not writing, Shelley volunteers at church, reads, and enjoys walking her miniature dachshund on her town's scenic bike trail.





ABOUT THE BOOK

Two lives converge one stormy night on a train headed to Cleveland

Lucy is traveling by herself via train to Jacob's Crossing to help care for her cousin Mattie, recently diagnosed with breast cancer. Trying to overcome the sudden death of her husband, she's glad to get away and focus on someone else for a while.

The only other Amish people on the train are Calvin Weaver and his little sister, Katie. When their train breaks down outside of Cleveland, Calvin and Lucy band together to face the outside world. But Calvin also carries the weight of past hurts. When an altercation brings both their wounds to light, they question whether they can trust each other.

Once in Jacob's Crossing, Lucy is occupied with caring for Mattie, while Calvin does his best to run his family's farm. But they can't stop thinking about those special hours spent together. Will the bond they formed last? And will Lucy and Calvin be able to put away the pain in their pasts to recognize the happiness that is suddenly in their grasp?

If you would like to read the first chapter of The Caregiver, go HERE.

Tuesday, March 15, 2011

In The Shadow of Evil

Watch the trailer:





Not many men are willing to believe that Layla Taylor is as capable as a foreman/contractor as the reputation her father had left behind as the owners of Taylor Construction. Now that Layla is up for the regional award suddenly her life is about to go spiraling downhill quickly.

When one of her homes for charity, Homes for Hope is burned and a body is discovered inside, the police have no choice but to investigate Layla. Maddox Bishop is one of the lead investigators working this crime and he seems bound and determined to find the reason behind it all even if it means arresting the beautiful Layla who seems to have gotten under his skin.

When the investigation starts drawing closer to who is responsible, things really get hectic when peoples lives are put in danger, bombs are detonated while the criminal mastermind tries to find a way out.

I received the book, In The Shadow of Evil by Robin Carroll, compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review. This one rates a 5 out of 5 stars for edge of your seat, suspense mystery on literally every page. The basic theme of the book is that forgiveness is necessary to keep evil from controlling your life and keeping you bound in misery.

Here's even more great information about the book, the author and a first chapter glimpse that will have you wanting more.



This week, the
Christian Fiction Blog Alliance
is introducing
In The Shadow of Evil
B&H Books (March 1, 2011)
by
Robin Caroll


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:


Born and raised in Louisiana, Robin Caroll is a southerner through and through. Her passion has always been to tell stories to entertain others. Robin’s mother, bless her heart, is a genealogist who instilled in Robin the deep love of family and pride of heritage—two aspects Robin weaves into each of her books. When she isn’t writing, Robin spends time with her husband of twenty years, her three beautiful daughters, one precious grandson, and their four character-filled pets at home—in the South, where else?

Robin gives back to the writing community by serving as Conference Director for ACFW. Her books have finaled/placed in such contests as RT Reviewer's Choice, Bookseller's Best, and Book of the Year. An avid reader herself, Robin loves hearing from and chatting with other readers. Although her favorite genre to read is mystery/suspense, of course, she’ll read just about any good story. Except historicals!

ABOUT THE BOOK

Informed by the real-life fallout of the U.S. economy plus devastation caused by multiple hurricanes along the southern coast, In the Shadow of Evil casts the modern day story of a building rebound scam exposed. It begins when the body of a property inspector is found among the ashes of a burnt out Homes of Hope house. Wrapped up in this mounting case of unethical practices, supply shortages, and murder, top Louisiana homicide detective Maddox Bishop is losing his heart to a charitable contractor, Layla Taylor, whose own sister is under suspicion. He’s also about to discover a deep secret about his tragic past.

If you would like to read the first chapter of In The Shadow of Evil, go HERE.

Sunday, March 13, 2011

The Voice


In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God and the Word was God, and the first words that God ever spoke was "Let there be light."

What would happen if people could have a way to use sound waves and vibrations from objects, the have been where God was, and develop a way to capture that on tape. They could then have the voice of God. Think of all the possibilities in life that you could benefit from if you had the same power as that of God's voice?

Not only could you speak things into creation, you could heal every type of sickness, illness, injury there ever was, you could even speak life back into people that died. You could also destroy them just as quickly.

Charlie Madison was hoping to find peace at some point in his life when he leaves the Special Forces after his wife and child were brutally murdered by assassins that wanted to take Charlie out for good. Now he finds himself thrust back into survival mode when his niece Jazmin, flees to him to rescue her. Her parents and others have discovered the voice print of God and it seems like people will do anything to make sure they are the ones to have control over it.

Charlie's Special Ops training will have to be used to find and rescue his sister and brother in law, and in the process find healing for the loss of life he feels personally responsible with his own family. Perhaps he can find a way to make amends.

I received the book, The Voice by Bill Myers, as a gift from my husband and as I am now beginning to discover on my third book from Bill Myers, he is one talented writer. The elements that he uses to take the reader along on the characters journey in the book, is action packed, fast paced and thrilling all at the same time. It's no wonder how quickly you are immersed into his stories, heart and soul, until the very last page. Bill Myers' books are not to be missed and if this one sounds like something you'd be interested in, you should check out his others. Like this book, they have all rated hands down, 5 out of 5 stars.

For more information on this book, the author and where to purchase any of Bill Myer's hard to find books, click on the link below:

Thursday, March 10, 2011

A Heart Most Worthy

Three ladies living in the 1900's at a crucial time in history. All united by their employer, Madame Fortier, who owns a gown making shop. There are experts in what they do and Madame can't afford to lose any of them.

Julietta Giordano is the embroider who has been with her the longest. She longs to be the object of love's desire and thus finds herself constantly walking the streets of Boston making sure all the men can see her. Yet what Julietta fails to see is that the life long, child hood friend of her brothers who is a doctor now, Mauro Vitali, longs to win her heart. But the passion within Julietta's heart desires much more.

Annamaria Rossi is the smocker for Madame Fortier. She is usually quiet and has resolved her life to being single and taking care of her family since she is the oldest daughter of her family and thus the responsibility falls directly on her shoulders. Annamaria longs for the love and romance that everyone around her seems to be finding, until one fateful day she is sent to the Zanfini's for tomatoes and discovers a most beautiful, caring man there named Rafaello. The only problem is he is a Sicilian which is considered forbidden by her family.

Luciana Conti is the beader at the gown shop, a skill she learned from a life that seems so long ago, when her father the Count of Rome was assassinated and left her and her grandmother fleeing for their lives. Now living in disguise in Boston, she longs for the life she had but since seeing her fathers killer on her street, she has to remain hidden.

All three of these women will be completely shaken upside down in their wishes and desires for love and the circumstances that each will face will change them forever.

I received this book, A Heart Most Worthy by Siri Mitchell, compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review. I LOVED it. There is so much rich history held within the pages of this amazing novel. It takes place at the beginning of World War 1 with the Italian Migration to America. They were considered the worst of people since they came to America with different cultures, different language and pretty much kept to themselves. Not only that, the Spanish Influenza took place during this time and completely wiped out huge populations of people living in towns and cities. My favorite character was that of Annamaria because she was someone I could relate to. She is quiet and reserved, dreaming of a life she wishes to have, but finally finds it where she least expects it. I love her story and how it all ends. I would rate this book a 5 out of 5 stars for providing the reader an inside look into the life of the Italian Emigrants.

Here's even more information about the author, the book and even a first chapter peek into the novel.

This week, the
Christian Fiction Blog Alliance
is introducing
A Heart Most Worthy
Bethany House (March 1, 2011)
by
Siri Mitchell

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Siri Mitchell graduated from the University of Washington with a business degree and worked in various levels of government. As a military spouse, she has lived all over the world, including in Paris and Tokyo. Siri enjoys observing and learning from different cultures. She is fluent in French and loves sushi.

But she is also a member of a strange breed of people called novelists. When they’re listening to a sermon and taking notes, chances are, they’ve just had a great idea for a plot or a dialogue. If they nod in response to a really profound statement, they’re probably thinking, “Yes. Right. That’s exactly what my character needs to hear.” When they edit their manuscripts, they laugh at the funny parts. And cry at the sad parts. Sometimes they even talk to their characters.

Siri wrote 4 books and accumulated 153 rejections before signing with a publisher. In the process, she saw the bottoms of more pints of Ben & Jerry’s than she cares to admit. At various times she has vowed never to write another word again. Ever. She has gone on writing strikes and even stooped to threatening her manuscripts with the shredder.

Her ninth novel, A Heart Most Worthy, follows prior Bethany House releases: A Constant Heart (October 2008), Love's Pursuit (June 2009), and She Walks in Beauty (Apr 2010). She Walks in Beauty won the inaugural INSPY Award for Historical Fiction in Dec 2010. Two of her novels, Chateau of Echoes and The Cubicle Next Door were Christy Award finalists. Love's Pursuit was a finalist for the ACFW Carol Award.

Publishers Weekly proclaimed, "Mitchell delivers the historical goods."

ABOUT THE BOOK

The elegance of Madame Forza's gown shop is a far cry from the downtrodden North End of Boston. Yet each day Julietta, Annamaria, and Luciana enter the world of the upper class, working on finery for the elite in society. The three beauties each long to break free of their obligations and embrace the American dream--and their chance for love. But the ways of the heart are difficult to discern at times.

Julietta is drawn to the swarthy, mysterious Angelo. Annamaria has a star-crossed encounter with the grocer's son, a man from the entirely wrong family. And through no intent of her own, Luciana catches the eye of Billy Quinn, the son of Madame Forza's most important client.

Their destinies intertwined, each harboring a secret from their families and each other, will they be found worthy of the love they seek?

If you would like to read the first chapter of A Heart Most Worthy, go HERE.

Wednesday, March 9, 2011

The Other Life


Sometimes we get to a point in our lives and wonder if we could go back and change things would we?

Quinn Braverman has always had a unique ability to find portals as her brother has come to call them. Places in her life where she can find a sliver of a dual reality if only she were brave enough to take the risk and peer inside. She knows her other self lives there making different choices than the one she has made.

In her world she has married a safe man, Lewis. He was the owner of a taxi cab company and has provided her the stability in her life she has needed. She also has a six year old son, Issac whom she adores. Now pregnant with the possibility that her new daughter may be born with a serious birth defect and not survive, Quinn is desperate to see just what her other life may be like. Yet what is she can't get back? What really lies on the other side?

In the novel, The Other Life by Ellen Meister, Quinn gets the opportunity to do just that. To see what her life would have been like if she made different choices, she also gets the opportunity to talk to her mom, who had committed suicide in her current life. What will she say to her? Will it change anything now?

I received this book, compliments of TLC Book Tours for my honest review and LOVED it! What a unique and interesting storyline for this author to take and makes us all wonder what our choices would be like if we had taken a different path. This one rates a 5 out of 5 stars!

For more information on this book, the author and where to get a copy of this book, click on the link below:

The Other Life by Ellen Meister


Tuesday, March 8, 2011

Hearts Aglow



Deborah Vandermark has always dreamed of becoming a doctor in Texas, yet amid the constant stares and whispers around her, it seems as though the town isn't quite ready for a woman doctor. Christopher Clayton is the only doctor in these parts that is able to treat the people of Perkinsville. He sees hope in Deborah's eyes and such a passion and desire to care for the people of this town. So whenever possible he passes along his medical journals and magazines for Deborah to read as well as help out in his office whenever possible. He sees more in Deborah than just an interest in becoming a doctor. He just can't forget about his own past to move forward and court Deborah properly.

In the town of Perkinsville that isn't the only thing stirring in the night, as Sissy's husband and son are hanged in the middle of the night strictly due to the color of their skin. Sissy only survived because she managed to walk into town and fall into the hands of Deborah's mother and her brother G.W. With her having a degree of medical training, Deborah is the only hope Sissy has until they can locate Dr. Clayton.

Now it seems like Deborah isn't the only one to question why God allows such things to happen. Seems like a whole lot of people in town are going to start to wonder the very same thing.

In the sequel to Embers of Love by Tracie Peterson, we are once more reunited with Deborah Vandermark and her mentor/doctor Christopher Clayton in the novel Hearts Aglow. Set in the late 1800's in a town called Perkinsville, Texas, the town is about to come full circle when the past that Deborah and Clayton thought were behind them suddenly throws both into the faith of God. I couldn't wait to read this one as the love between Clayton and Deborah captivated me in the first novel as well as the strong character and ambition that Deborah displays in rising above the stereotypes of the town amid gossips and rumors of her personal character to become a woman most men would be willing to die for.

I received this book compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review and fell in love once more. Not only with the characters of Deborah and Clayton, but even the courage of Sissy to deal with the loss of her husband and son and once more find love and hope in holding onto to God. This one rates a 5 out of 5 stars! I can't wait with fingers crossed that once more Tracie will continue this story into a third book.

Here's even more great information about the book, the author and a first chapter glimpse that is guaranteed to have you wanting to read this amazing story.

This week, the
Christian Fiction Blog Alliance
is introducing
Hearts Aglow
Bethany House (March 1, 2011)
by
Tracie Peterson


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Tracie Peterson is the bestselling, award-winning author of more than 85 novels.

She received her first book contract in November, 1992 and saw A Place To Belong published in February 1993 with Barbour Publishings' Heartsong Presents. She wrote exclusively with Heartsong for the next two years, receiving their readership's vote for Favorite Author of the Year for three years in a row.

In December, 1995 she signed a contract with Bethany House Publishers to co-write a series with author Judith Pella. Tracie now writes exclusively for Bethany House Publishers.

She teaches writing workshops at a variety of conferences on subjects such as inspirational romance and historical research.

Tracie was awarded the Romantic Times Career Achievement Award for 2007 Inspirational Fiction and her books have won numerous awards for favorite books in a variety of contests.

Making her home in Montana, this Kansas native enjoys spending time with family--especially her three grandchildren--Rainy, Fox and Max. She's active in her church as the Director of Women's Ministries, coordinates a yearly writer's retreat for published authors, and travels, as time permits, to research her books

ABOUT THE BOOK

The future should be bright for Deborah Vandermark, who is now pursuing her interest in medicine alongside Dr. Christopher Clayton, who is courting her. But the lumber town is resistant to the idea of a woman physician, and she feels thwarted at every turn.

A more devastating blow occurs, however, when Christopher breaks off their relationship to return home to his troubled family. Despite her own love life going awry, Deborah is still intent to be a matchmaker for both her widowed mother and her brother, who has caught the eye of the spit-fire daughter of the local pastor.

But what will Deborah do when faced with the truth about Christopher's family? Is there hope for the two of them...or will Jake Wyeth's attentions finally catch Deborah's eye instead?

If you would like to read the first chapter of Hearts Aglow, go HERE.

Monday, March 7, 2011

Showdown


Along a dusty road, walks a stranger dressed in black. He's wearing a cowboy hat pulled down low over his eyes and aside from hearing his crunching of his boots on the gravel street, there isn't much else going on outside the town of Paradise.

Sitting on the only bench outside of the town's drinking establishment, Cecil Marshall watches the stranger walk into town. The only other person sitting with him on that unseasonably hot summer day is a Johnny Drake.

"Looks lost." Johnny says to Cecil, who merely nods his head towards Johnny. He can't speak since he's a mute some eighty-one years ago. He and Johnny alone are the only ones watching the man in black walk into town. Yet there is something there that tells them today is about to change in the lives of those living in Paradise, for better or worse remains unknown but Johnny and Cecil believe it to be worse. Is all hell about to break lose in Paradise?

I received the novel Showdown by Ted Dekker, one of my all time favorite authors from my husband Steve for my birthday and honestly couldn't wait to find time to enjoy and savor the flavor of this book. Within the first chapter, you suddenly realize that once more Ted Dekker has masterfully captured the very essence of evil as it strolls into Paradise and with every page that turns after that brings you closer to what lies in store for the citizens of Paradise. Hands down another award winning book by Ted Dekker. This one rates 5 out of 5 stars with a word of caution. Read it with the lights on!

For more information about this book, the author and where to get a copy of the book, click on the link below:


You can also follow Ted Dekker on Facebook by clicking here.

Sunday, March 6, 2011

Souper You Debut - Giveaway and Review


I don't know about you but so many nights after working all day, dealing with all the kids requests and even all the never-ending housework, you want a meal that is easy, quick and nutritious for your family.

This is where Progresso soups comes into play. Not only are there over 40 variety to choose from, but there is also their "Lite" line that offers soup to you for under 100 calories. Top off the soup with a great salad, or fresh fruit and you have a great, nutritional and wholesome meal that takes a little time to prepare.

Not only that with so many different varieties to chose from, there's something for everyone in the family. I know our youngest is a Classic Chicken Noodle girl while my oldest daughter loves the New England Clam Chowder. For me and hubby, we love the Chicken and Wild Rice variety as well Beef Pot Roast. With so many choices everyone can have their own and not create a huge mess in the kitchen.

The best part is with the healthier Lite choices it makes sticking to my low calorie dinner plans a breeze and I can never get tired of the same old thing day after day. There is just something comforting about a nice warm meal. You can also take these to work, and just pop them in the microwave for a quick and healthy, low calorie meal anywhere.

To make this offer even more tempting, Progresso Soups along with MyBlog Spark is offering a Progresso prize pack to one lucky follower of my blog. Here's what you'll get.

  • A VIP coupon to try one of Progresso Soups amazing flavor-filled soups!

  • A Yoga Mat

  • A Water Bottle

  • A Set of Aerobic Bands

  • A Sports Headband

  • A Set of Sports Wristbands

Here's your guidelines for entering this giveaway:


1. Be a follower of my blog, Reviews From The Heart.

2. Be a resident of the US and No P.O. Boxes please.

3. I need a way to contact you if you are the lucky winner, so please be sure to include your email address along with your comment. You can use the words (at) and (dot) instead of the symbols.

4. Leave a comment about which flavor soup appeals most to you and how you plan to use Progresso soups in your weight management plan.

The giveaway will end on Friday, March 11th and I will contact the winner at that time. I will also need your phone number for shipping purposes, but you can include that in the winning email.

To help kick off a new outlook on the New Year, Progresso is excited to announce the return of the "Souper YouTM Debut" contest! From January 3rd through March 16th, you and your readers can visit Progresso on Facebook to enter for the chance to win a full makeover in New York City.

Three grand prize winners will be awarded a trip for two to New York City from May 20th-22nd. The prize includes roundtrip airfare, a two-night stay in an NYC hotel, a full makeover, a guided wardrobe shopping spree with a personal consultation at a New York City department store, and $1,000 in spending money.

To enter, you´ll need to do the following:
  • Go to Progresso on Facebook to learn more and enter the contest
  • Submit your essay (200 characters or less) telling Progresso why you love their soups that contain 100 calories or less, and why you deserve a chance to win a trip to NYC for a full fashion overhaul
  • In addition, please submit a photo of yourself that visually reinforces the theme of your essay
Once the 10 finalists are announced, you can visit Progresso on Facebook from March 30th through April 13th to vote for your favorite.

Visit the Facebook page to download a coupon for $1.00 off four (4) cans of Progresso Soup and to check out makeover videos provided by MyStyle.com and the Style Network. Be sure to also "Follow" Progresso on Twitter to keep up with the latest news from Progresso.