The Best People In The World!

Friday, December 30, 2011

The Ultimate Prescription


We all know the signs of a heart attack and how we should seek medical care immediately when the symptoms present themselves, but is it possible that everything we have been doing in our lives have been leading us down the wrong path, heading for heart issues, cancer and disease?

In the latest book by Dr. James L. Marcum, M.D., The Ultimate Prescription: What the Medical Profession Isn't Telling You is perhaps the best eye-opening book on biblical health care that I've had the opportunity to read. Dr. Marcum is a leading cardiologist at the prestigious Chattanooga Heart Institute who believes there are two paths in life we can all walk, one that will lead us to a healthy life and one that will lead us to disease and health issues.

He takes us into the first book of the Bible, Genesis for the biblical foundations to great health, beginning with what he calls the Eden Plan. This is God's formula for what our lives should be about. Instead of popping pills for everything from stress, sleeplessness, weight loss, and medications for most preventable health issues, he guides the readers through the Bible to show you how you can achieve a more healthy, relaxed and peaceful life for the believer in Christ.

He exposes the lies the media and medical professions have been telling us about the dangers of food additives, high fructose corn syrup and hydrogenated oils and the most simple guide to a healthier inside, just adding water to our day. We all take showers to clean the outside of our bodies, yet so many of us are ignoring our internal care with stopping for convenience of fast food meals and things we can eat while we are on the go. Technology made have made things easier but at this rapid pace, we are literally killing ourselves while the pharmaceutical companies, medical professionals and the media are making profits of our preventable deaths. This book is one that every single person should read for a simple formula to get back to health, through God's Word.

I received The Ultimate Prescription compliments of Tyndale House Publishers for my honest review and have made some personal changes in my own health and that of my family. I never considered the Bible to have the formula for a healthy physical life before and believe that everyone will truly benefit from reading these profound words. I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and it's just the perfect book to begin your New Year's resolutions with.

For more information on this book, the author and even where to purchase a copy of this book, please click on the links below:


You can also learn more from Dr. Marcum's website by clicking here.

Friday, December 23, 2011

The Accidental Bride


If you've never read a Big Sky Romance novel by Denise Hunter, you are truly missing out. Denise writes her characters so well, you can't help but feel as though they are truly real people. In her latest, The Accidental Bride, Shay Brandenberger has experienced a life time of pain. First, her childhood love, left her standing at the altar when fear got the best of him and he simply headed west. Promising herself to never fall for another man again, Shay did the unthinkable and fell hard again.

Maybe as a way to prove to herself and the town of Moose Creek, Montana, that she wasn't hopeless failure after all, she married Garrett, against her common sense. Now the mother of a new daughter, Olivia, Shay realizes that she never loved Garret and that he doesn't fit into her ideal dream of a cowboy running a busy family ranch, now in her care. Divorced and a single mom, Shay vows to commit her life to simply raising her daughter as best as she can, and try to find a way to keep Yellowstone River, her family ranch from being foreclosed on by the bank.

When she volunteer's to play the part of the bride in a wedding reenactment in a Founder's Day ceremony, she is hoping to finally put all the past behind her. Only when she arrives at the altar, Shay is more than surprised and shocked to see the man she almost married, Travis McCoy is the groom. Can she pull her emotions together to get through the ceremony or will she once again be the talk of the town?

I received The Accidental Bride by Denise Hunter compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers and Net Galley for my honest review and LOVED IT! Once again, Denise captivated my heart and emotions as I truly felt for both Shay and Travis in their relationship. Trying to find a way to deal with their feelings and the pain of getting hurt, they both decide to trust God to handle things and the gossip and rumors that any small town is bound to have. This one rates a perfect 5 out of 5 stars in my book and can't wait to pick up all the Big Sky Romances!

For more information on this book, the author and where to purchase a copy of this book, please click on the links below:


You can also find Denise on Facebook by clicking here.

Wednesday, December 21, 2011

The Way Back To Mayberry: Lessons From A Simpler Time


Most of us have grown up at some point in time watching The Andy Griffith Show or have at least heard about it. Some of us, like myself, are still searching for their version of Mayberry, a town where people truly care about one another, family values are more important than the gossip, and where life just seems a whole lot more simple.

Joey Fann, is the author of a new book entitled, The Way Back To Mayberry: Lessons from A Simpler Time, a unique look into the episodes of the classic Andy Griffith show that when mirrored with scripture from the Bible, gives us a modern day look at just how to apply those to our lives. Here are just a few of the tidbit's I gleaned much wisdom from:

"I've learned that bad things will happen to us in this life, but the issue is not the tragedy itself; it's how we respond. To some extent, we do have a choice. We can choose to get bitter or to get better. This is from an episode "Andy Forecloses", and relates to an episode in which Lester Scobey has fallen on hard times and Andy is asked by the rental manager to evict the family. Seems like a life lesson we can all learn from even today. The scripture reference to this particular chapter is from Matthew 17:20 "I tell you the truth, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, 'Move from here to there' and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you."

Each chapter is dedicated to a specific episode that opens first with Biblical Scripture. Perhaps it's one you've read for quite some time, but when placed next to an episode from the Andy Griffith Show, you can see how it can be taken quite literally. Along with the chapter comes the authors own personal experience in how this has worked in his own life and what he has taken away from it.

These episodes can still be found on YouTube for free but the book is now used in Bible Study's in churches all over to teach the valuable lessons we can all learn from. Even reading this last night, I found myself watching the show and seeing how the author ties it all together so well. Even my husband and I laughed watching the simplicity of the characters on the show, from fun-loving Barney Fiff, to the compassionate sheriff Andy who always had the love for his fellow man close at hand, something we can all learn from even today.

I received this book compliments of B & H Publishing Group courtesy of Net Galley for my honest review and really loved the wholesome message that is contained in each chapter along with pictures of the characters we've have come to love and adore from the show. This really would make a great Bible Study for small groups and even teens who are getting an opportunity to see these episodes with new eyes in this generation. I rate this book a family-filled 5 out of 5 stars! For those of you that love television with a great message, this book is the perfect companion.

For more information about this book, the author and even where to pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the link below:

The Way Back To Mayberry: Lessons From A Simpler Time by Joey Fann

You can also find out more about Joey Fann by clicking on his website Barneyfife.com and learn more about how to incorporate this study's into your church group!

Tuesday, December 20, 2011

An Amish Wedding


Here's a great twist from three fabulous authors who have collaborated their finest writing talents in one sensational book, An Amish Wedding by Kelly Long, Kathleen Fuller, and Beth Wiseman. Taking a journey into an upcoming wedding of Priscilla and Chester who truly believe that perhaps with all the bad things happening to them just prior to their wedding, that perhaps it may be a sign that they shouldn't be married after all. From her younger sister Sara Mae, who takes Priscilla's wedding dress that she's been working on and makes clothes for her doll as well as a blanket and hammock, just weeks before the big day, while Chester's been busy planning on the perfect home for them is experiencing setbacks of his own, from electrical that needs to be rewired to pass inspection, a roof that unexpectedly leaks and issues with his current employer. Is it a sign after all that they should wait?

Each of the three authors takes a turn putting this wedding together in three separate parts of the book, The Perfect Secret, The Perfect Match, and The Perfect Plan. While each of them works on a different set of characters through the story, they are magically woven together seamlessly so the reader gains insight into each of the couples involved in the mini stories.

The Perfect Secret involves Rose and Luke who are engaged to one another, but despite some secrets that each of them has, they begin to wonder if they truly really know one another at all, especially to be married. In the Perfect Match, Naomi has been asked to help set up Margaret with the perfect man, Zeke, who arrives in time for Priscilla and Chester's wedding. Yet instead of falling for Margaret, he falls for Naomi, who is dealing with past hurts that may prevent her from ever accepting the gift of true love from anyone. These stories wrap up with The Perfect Plan in which all attend Priscilla and Chester's wedding.

What happens is a perfect blend of perfection with the hope and promise that all things work for the good of God in the end. I received this eBook compliments of Thomas Nelson publishers for my honest review courtesy of Net Galley and being a huge fan of Amish Fiction and Christian Romance, this one hits a home run with a 5 out of 5 stars! The best part is the recipes for some delicious Amish treats at the end.

For more information on this book, the authors and where to purchase a copy of this book, please click on the link below:

Sunday, December 18, 2011

Box of Books Giveaway # 3


By now, I have had the rare opportunity to read almost 365 books this year alone, thanks to some great publishers, blog book tours, and just friends who have gifted me with books this year. To pay it forward I am offering a weekly Surprise "Grab Bag" or in this case, Priority Box Grab until the end of the year.

Here's what your entering to win. I will select as many books as I can carefully pack into a Priority Mailbox and the surprise part comes in you won't know what you'll be getting! I may be able to get 8-11 books in each box and I'll be giving away a box load until the end of this week. This is the last giveaway of my Box of Books so please make sure you tell everyone and enter again if you haven't won yet!

So if you are interested in participating, here's what you need to do to enter.

1. Be a follower of my blog, Reviews From The Heart.

2. "Like" my Facebook Page, Reviews From The Heart and leave a comment there!

3. Tell others about it, blog about it, tweet it, post it to Facebook and come back and let me know what you did. If you can leave a link, you get an extra entry.

4. Be a resident of the US or have a US shipping address! Please No P.O. Boxes!

5. Leave me a comment telling me your favorite types of books. This may inspire me to fulfill your wish list as best as I can.

6. Along with your comment make sure to include your email address since that is how I will be able to get in contact with you that you've won! Please don't forget this as I have had many giveaways go unclaimed because I can't locate the winner.

This giveaway will end on Friday, December 23th and I will be contacting the winner via email at that time. Don't worry if you don't last week cause you can still enter again for another chance to win!

13 Little Blue Envelopes


Ginny Blackstone, a 17 year-old-girl has always admired her eccentric Aunt Peg, who has traveled all over the world, experiencing life on a whim and just going with the flow of things. When she learns that Aunt Peg has died of a brain tumor without being able to say goodbye, Ginny learns of an unexpected plan that her Aunt Peg hatched in her moments of clarity. She receives a letter from Aunt Peg with $1000 cash and instructions to get a passport, purchase a ticket to London and take only what she can fit in a backpack. She can't take any electronic devices like cell phones, lap top or even any extra cash or ATM card. She is also not allowed to browse the internet before she leaves to gain any travel information about London.

There is one stop she must make before heading to the airport, she has to stop at the 4 Noodles in New York and retrieve a package. She can not open the package until she is on the plane. So Ginny does what most of us might do, she carries out the instructions and heads for New York to retrieve the package. While in route to London, she learns the package contains a letter and 13 little blue envelopes. The letter is once again from Aunt Peg who instructs her that each of these envelopes contain a task for her to complete. Once she completes the task, she can open the next envelope until she reaches the end. What Ginny learns through completing these series of tasks is that she gets to spend time with her Aunt Peg even though she isn't around and in the process learns a lot about herself along the way.

I received 13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson as a Free Kindle Ebook and am so glad I did. Even though this book is written for the Young Adult audience, it's truly got a message tucked within the pages of this book that everyone needs to read. So the question is what if you received a message containing $1000 and instructions to obtain a passport and ticket to London, would you go? Trust me, you're going to love this book and now my 18-year-old daughter is planning on reading this one right after me. I would rate this adventure a true 5 out of 5 little blue envelopes!

For more information on this book, the author and even where to purchase a copy of this book, please click on the link below:

Saturday, December 17, 2011

Lonestar Angel


Clay Larson had a job that kept him away from his new wife Eden and at times put his own life at risk as a photo journalist in the drug lord filled jungles in Columbia. When their only infant daughter Brianna is suddenly kidnapped and a ransom offered, the Larson's marriage will be put to the ultimate test. Feeling this has something to do with his job, Clay is more than willing to put up the ten-thousand dollar ransom demand. However in the process of delivering the money to the drop site on a rain slick road, Eden rear ends the car with her daughter and the kidnappers inside causing the car to plunge into the icy river and no one survived.

Now torn between their grief, the Larson's can't seem to put their marriage back together. Eden feels responsible for the loss of their daughter, and Clay feels that his job put them at risk in the first place. Now five years later, the Larson's have moved on, without each other. Eden believes she has been divorced from Clay but when he suddenly shows up claiming their daughter may still be alive, will God have other plans for Clay and Eden?

In the novel, Lonestar Angel by Colleen Coble, we see how grief can tear a marriage apart but ultimately God will have other plans as both of them are now united in a search for their missing daughter, Brianna who could be 5 now if she is in fact alive. Will the Larson's discover the glue that binds marriages together or will they be torn more by reliving their grief once again?

I received this novel compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers and Net Galley for my honest review and absolutely loved the story of love torn apart and God revealing Himself in the midst of a parents worst nightmare. This is a story about faith, hope and love, the three greatest gifts God has to offer anyone who believes in Him. I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars for those that love western modern day romance stories with suspense thrown in to add some spice.

For more information about this book, the author and even where to purchase a copy of this book, please click on the links below:


You can also find Colleen Coble on her website, by clicking here.
You can follow her on Facebook by clicking here.

Friday, December 16, 2011

Interview with Author Stephen Schochet of Hollywood Stories


Author Stephen Schochet (pronounced Show-het) is a professional tour guide in Hollywood who years ago began collecting little known, humorous anecdotes to tell to his customers. His new book Hollywood Stories: Short, Entertaining Anecdotes About the Stars and Legends of the Movies! The book contains a timeless treasure trove of colorful vignettes featuring an amazing all-star cast of icons including John Wayne, Charlie Chaplin, Walt Disney, Jack Nicholson, Johnny Depp, Shirley Temple, Marilyn Monroe, Marlon Brando, Errol Flynn, and many others both past and contemporary. Tim Sika, host of the radio show Celluloid Dreams on KSJS in San Jose has called Stephen, “The best storyteller about Hollywood we have ever heard.”


1) Let’s get right to some vintage Hollywood. Tell the story of Jane Russell agreeing to co-star with Marilyn Monroe, in Gentleman Prefer Blondes (1953).

Director Howard Hawks wanted levelheaded Jane Russell to star alongside Marilyn Monroe in the 1953 comedy Gentlemen Prefer Blondes. Twentieth Century Fox head honcho Darryl Zanuck told Hawks to forget it; Russell was unavailable. The filmmaker asked the mogul if he could borrow his phone. Fourteen years earlier, Howard had discovered the eighteen-year-old buxom brunette Russell working in a dentist’s office, making ten dollars a week. When he reached Jane at home, the loyal actress immediately agreed to do the picture then asked, “Do you think I could get fifty thousand?”

Hawks eyed Zanuck then replied into the phone, “Nope, try again.”

“Seventy-five?” asked Russell.

“You’re being unreasonable,” replied Hawks.

The conversation continued for another few minutes, then Howard put his hand over the receiver and said excitedly to Zanuck, “Great news. I got her down to two hundred thousand.”

Darryl agreed to pay Russell’s fee, and the comic pairing of Monroe and Russell onscreen proved to be priceless.


2) Another famous blonde, Veronica Lake, had a reputation for turning in great performances but being difficult, is that correct?

That’s right, she did:

Rising star Veronica Lake continued her pattern of infuriating co-workers at Paramount Studios on the set of the 1941 film Sullivan’s Travels. The blonde actress, famed for her “peekaboo” hairstyle that covered her face, was constantly late and did not bother to learn her lines. Her resentful leading man Joel McCrea was forced to do tons of retakes in their scenes together. The twenty-two-year-old also lied to writer/director Preston Sturges about not being pregnant; he had to restrain himself from hitting Veronica when she confessed the truth. A tramp’s outfit and careful camera angles hid her growing belly. The completed movie about a filmmaker who lives like a hobo was a challenge for the Paramount marketing people; they decided to make Lake the main selling point. Unaware of her antics, cinemagoers were once again drawn to Veronica’s sexy screen presence and she was praised for her fine performance.

3) Please tell that story about the misunderstanding on the set of The Hunchback of Notre Dame in 1939.

William Dieterle when he directed The Hunchback of Notre Dame in 1939. Up to now, the German filmmaker’s instructions were being carried out flawlessly. In blistering Los Angeles’ heat, covered in tons of make-up, Charles Laughton was wonderful as the deformed bell ringer. Playing the gypsy Esmeralda, Maureen O’Hara was excellent in her dialogue and dance scenes. And hundreds of costumed extras were performing without a hitch. The mammoth production had gone smoothly until that day; there were a bunch of chimpanzees, orangutans, and gorillas running around their seventeenth-century Paris set. Dieterle, who always wore white gloves to protect himself from germs, demanded to know what these smelly, noisy creatures were doing there. It turned out that a hard-of-hearing assistant misunderstood the director’s request for some more monks.

4) You have a pretty big bibliography; why was David Niven a better source for lore than history?

In my opinion David Niven was the greatest Hollywood raconteur:

British actor and raconteur David Niven never let the facts get in the way of a good yarn. In his wonderful 1975 book about Hollywood, Bring on the Empty Horses, Niven described Christmas in 1947 when he convinced his neighbor Tyrone Power to dress up as Santa Claus at a party for Niven’s children. At the last moment, Power came down with a bad bout of stage fright and tried to back out of his promise; only after downing a great deal of Scotch did he stumble into the backyard as St. Nick. Like most actors, once Tyrone got into character, he began to enjoy himself. At one point, the inebriated matinee idol put Gary Cooper’s daughter Maria on his knee. “Ho, Ho, Ho, little girl. You tell your old man Santa enjoyed watching him in High Noon. And ask him to get that pretty Grace Kelly’s phone number for me while you’re at it. Ho, Ho, Ho.”

High Noon was released in 1952, five years after Tyrone supposedly put on the white whiskers.

5) It took Ingrid Bergman a while to become a fan of Casablanca, correct?

Yes, I think the years gave her some perspective; I think a lot of actors realize after a time that if people have a favorite role that you did it is a compliment, not a knock on their talent:

Throughout the filming of Casablanca in 1942, leading lady Ingrid Bergman felt she was working on a loser. The unfinished script gave her no clue as to which of her leading men she was supposed to be in love with: Humphrey Bogart, playing her ex-fiancĂ© that she jilted in Paris, or Paul Henreid, as the husband she mistakenly thought was dead. Play it in between, she was told. Bergman felt very little connection to Bogart; that Casablanca won the Academy Award for best picture made little impression on her. Other roles meant more, and for years Ingrid lamented that all anybody wants to talk about is “that thing I did with Bogart.” But in the late 1960s, Bergman was invited to a college retrospective of her films; she watched Casablanca with an enthusiastic young crowd. After the screening, Ingrid walked up to the podium and seemed surprised as she smiled at the audience and said, “Wow, that was a really good movie!”

6) Speaking of Bogie, he had a tumulotous third marriage didn’t he?

Yes, but sometimes her toughness came in handy:

The five-foot-eight Humphrey Bogart (1899-1957) was so convincing as a tough guy on screen that it sometimes landed him in trouble. One time he was dining out with his third wife, Mayo Methot (1904-1951), when an idiot walked up to his table. “So you’re Mr. Tough Guy, Humphrey Bogart. You don’t look so tough to me! Why don’t we step outside?”

Bogart sighed. “Sit down, pal. Have a drink.”

“No, I don’t want a drink. I told my friends at the bar I could beat you.”

The man kept badgering until the weary star turned to his wife. “Hey, Mayo. Take care of him.”

Mayo took off her shoe and beat the hell out of him.

7) Now Fred MacMurray and Cary Grant were a bit frugal weren’t they?

Their thriftiness was the stuff of legends:

Cary Grant and Fred MacMurray were both millionaires many times over, raised lots of money for charitable causes and were known for being two of the biggest cheapskates in Hollywood. One possibly apocryphal tale involved the two film legends meeting for an expensive dinner at a popular Beverly Hills restaurant. Both men seemed to enjoy each other’s company greatly and the conversation went well. When the last course was finished, the check was placed between them, but neither Cary nor Fred made any effort to pick it up. As they slowly ate their desserts, the trendy eatery began to clear out. The oblivious stars drank coffee and smoked cigarettes, while their small talk continued. Their waiter stayed on well after all his colleagues went home. After a time, he approached the two actors and politely inquired if they wished to see the breakfast menu.

8) Harold Lloyd and Douglas Fairbanks were big inspirations for a pretty famous fictional character weren’t they?

Yes, their on screen personas helped to create a dual personality:

One of Douglas Fairbanks’ contemporaries, Harold Lloyd (1893-1971), had struggled to gain traction in silent films. Lloyd’s friend and fellow actor Hal Roach (1892-1992) inherited some money in 1915 and produced some short comedies featuring Harold. After two years, Roach suggested that his pal needed a disguise; he was too handsome to be funny. Lloyd remembered seeing a film about a mild-mannered, bespectacled clergyman who became a he-man in dangerous situations. The young comedian purchased a pair of cheap glasses at a dime store and transformed himself into an all-American boy next door. Cinemagoers totally identified with this new, go-getting character who maintained his pluck in perilous situations. In 1938, Harold’s onscreen persona became the inspiration for the comic book character Clark Kent, while Fairbanks’ gravity defying Robin Hood helped bring forth the creation of Clark’s alter ego Superman.

9) Judy Garland got some clever coaching during the making of The Wizard of Oz, correct?

Sixteen-year-old Judy Garland had a tough time taking her job seriously in the 1939 MGM musical The Wizard of Oz. The character of Dorothy was actually much younger in L. Frank Baum’s book causing some at Metro to push for the unavailable ten-year-old Shirley Temple for the part. Director Richard Thorpe had Judy running around in a blonde wig and baby-doll make-up giving a campy performance. It was hard for the fun-loving teenager not to laugh at some of her hammy co-stars dressed up in their ridiculous costumes. Thorpe’s job was deemed inadequate and George Cukor replaced him. The new director, who left after three days to begin making Gone with the Wind, told Garland to lose her childish get-up and be herself. From then on, the Minnesota-born actress played her farm-girl role with sincerity, and for generations audiences believed that she believed in the wonderful Land of Oz.

10) Where can people go to get more information about you and your book?

Hollywood Stories: Short, Entertaining Anecdotes About the Stars and Legends of the Movies!

(ISBN 9780963897275)

Available at Barnes & Noble, Amazon or wherever books are sold.

http://www.hollywoodstories.com

Thursday, December 15, 2011

The Scroll


One last dig. One final descent into the twisted tunnels on ancient Jerusalem. Will the truth be found among the treasures that lie beneath the holy city?

Dr. David Chambers, leading archaeologist, has spent his professional career uncovering the facts in the artifacts. His work sets the standard for biblical research in the Holy Land. But surrounded by the evidence. David has sunk into an abyss of doubt. A painful experience with a seemingly unresponsive God has left him without hope. The Old Testament scriptures that used to fill his mind with wonder now drive him to frustration. His unanswered questions have ripped him from both his academic pursuits and the love of his life, his fiancee' Amber.

An old friend and mentor reaches out to David, enticing him with the riches described in the enigmatic Copper Scroll. Losing ground with his peers, his love, and his faith. David Chambers has a choice to make. Will he undertake one final dig to unlock a secret that could alter the course of history? Do the mysteries of the Old Testament hold the key to the political turmoil of the Middle East?

In a world where faith has been eclipsed by the allure of doubt. The Scroll by Grant R. Jeffrey and Alton L. Gansky offers a different journey: a gripping adventure to find truth worth dying for. In a time in the near future, this book plays out with your typical Biblical expedition to unearth another artifact while those who want it for their own purpose will attempt to get it at all costs. Along the way of searching for this artifact, Dr. Chambers is lacking his faith in God and will soon discover that God has been with him all along.

A fantastic journey into an action-packed adventure with countless murders, foiled plots and the most amazing weapons ever imagined will bring this story to a heart-stopping climax. I received this book compliments of WaterBrook Multnomah Publishers for my honest review and would have to rate this one a 4 out of 5 stars. There are times when the story fails to captivate the reader and keep them engaged in the plot, but overall the premise is well supported with some amazing characters along the way.

For more information about this book, the author and where to purchase a copy of this book, please click on the link below:

Wednesday, December 14, 2011

Great FREE Book - Click Here for Details


The difference between vampires and angels? Angels are real.

Here's an early Christmas present for your readers! Angel in the Shadows, Book 1 by Lisa Grace, a young adult supernatural, is free on Amazon only from Tuesday December 13th - Thursday, December 15th.

This is such an exciting new series that I know you're going to love. It's a young adult series set in a high school setting where a battle is taking place between angels and demons and the teens that attend there. It goes to show that not everything is as it appears.

I reviewed the first two books in the series which you can read my original reviews by clicking on the appropriate titles and coming up is the 3rd book in the series next year. You won't want to miss out on this series and now you can get the first novel free through the link at Amazon below but only until tomorrow, December 15th, so please spread the word to all your family and friends.

Angel in the Shadows - Free at Amazon through December 15th, click here.

My Reviews on Lisa Grace's books:

Angel in The Shadows - Book 1
Angel in The Storm - Book 2


Waking Hours


If you are looking for a great book that will grab you from the first page and keep you glued until you finally finish inhaling it in one sitting, then Waking Hours by Lis Wiehl is the novel for you, especially if your a huge fan of mystery suspense thrillers.

In this book, the reader is engaged in the first book in the East Salem Trilogy where an ancient evil has been awakened and a ritual murder appears to have happened amid horse farms and wealthy homes of northern Westchester County, New York. A high school party happened the night before the murder and the suspects are a group of teenagers with something to hide.

Investigating the murder is Danielle Harris, a local forensic psychiatrist who is working with the police attempting to figure out just what really happened. The only evidence so far is a boy's cell phone found at the murder site and a group of teens that have apparently passed out with no knowledge of what happened.

Dani Harris has teamed up with Thomas Gunderson, the local boy turned private investigator after a fatal accident made him give up his professional career in football. When an elderly woman sets of his burglar alarm on the night of the murder, mumbling words in Latin, and then attacks him with supernatural strength, he believes the two may be linked to one another.

I received Waking Hours by Lis Wiehl compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers and Net Galley for my honest review and LOVED it. I could NOT put this one down because in all honesty I couldn't figure out who did it and toss in some creepy supernatural stuff in the mix with nightmares and things that really do more than go bump in the night, you'll want to keep the light on when you read this one. This one rates 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion because when the writer can keep me glued to a book enough to make me want to finish it without putting it down, that's what makes it a best-seller in my opinion.

For more information on this book, the author and where to purchase a copy of this thriller, click on the links below:

Waking Hours by Lis Wiehl

You can also find Lis Wiehl on her website by clicking here.

You can also find her on Facebook by clicking here.

Tuesday, December 13, 2011

The Ranch Next Door and Other Stories


Like little samples of your favorite desserts all wrapped up in the pages of this debut ebook, The Ranch Next Door and Other Stories by Elisabeth Grace Foley. This writer truly has the beautiful gift of being able to offer a taste of what she can write in this simple but powerful short stories. I found myself lost immediately in each one and wanted to much more when I got to the end.

The way I viewed each of these stories were like the old radio western stories our grandparents and parents would listen to on the radio. Just enough of the episode to keep you on the edge of your seat and then tuning back in the following evening just to hear what happened next. I would LOVE to see Elisabeth Grace Foley write a full length novel on one of the stories she has so eloquently captured in this collection, but for those of you that love those classic western tales of life on the wide open range with danger and intrigue around the corner with a touch of romance tossed in for good measure, then this is the perfect collection for you. Here's a synopsis of what you'll find in the book from the author:

Suspense, humor and a touch of romance await in seven short stories of the American West. In the title story, "The Ranch Next Door," a cattleman's young son dreads breaking the news to his family that he has fallen in love with the daughter of a neighboring sheep rancher despite an ancient feud between the two families. In "Cross My Heart," a boy is torn between betraying his conscience or a fugitive friend, and in "Delayed Deposit," five people are taken hostage during a bank robbery that turns into a tense standoff. The collection also includes the award-winning "Disturbing the Peace," honorable mention in the 2010 Rope and Wire short story competition. These seven stories total approximately 40,330 words or 161 book pages.

As you can see there are some great stories locked within the pages of this wonderful ebook and I was honored to be asked to review this book by the author for my honest opinion. Being a huge fan of western historical fiction, I couldn't wait to read this one and hope for many many more from her in the future. In my opinion the reader will not be disappointed and this one rates a perfect 5 out of 5 stars. For more information about this book, the author or where you can purchase a copy of this ebook today, please click on the links below:

Monday, December 12, 2011

Closet - Giveaway


It seemed to be an innocent looking book that John picked up from the local bookstore, but late that night, as he read it in the secret of his closet, a creature emerged. Then with arms extended strangled the life out of him, leaving behind Megan and their baby Derek. But as Megan was leaving the house, two other forms attempted to kill her as well.

In the suspense thriller novel, Closet by Eric John Swanson, the readers are immediately taken into the innocent aspects of dabbling in what appears to be nothing more than a simple self help book intending to help the reader get their life back on track. What happens however is a door is opened into another dimension and with that the desire to capture the the baby who escaped so long ago along with anyone else they can seek to get their hands on.

This is an exceptional book that delves into the innocent things believers at times will pick up and attempt to use to help themselves get their lives moving in the direction they desire, instead of following in the path God wants for them. In this case, Derek is now grown with a wife and son of his own. Even though he has graduated from seminary quite awhile now, he can't seem to secure a job anywhere working for God. Not to mention that he has a son that has a severe learning disability, Derek finds himself constantly at odds with God wondering just when he is going to be able to support his family and questions his faith.

This is when evil strikes in the form of an old woman Derek meets on the sidewalk just outside his home who gives him look into his current future. When he grows suspicious of her visions, she vanishes leaving behind a self help book that will take him places he never expected to go.

I received this book compliments of Pump Up Your Book Tours and Eric John Swanson for my honest review. It got difficult to follow the story when Derek slips into the other dimension but if you stick to it, you learn some really valuable insight into the faith of the believer and what God's purpose is for us in life no matter how we view it. For those that love a bit of suspense and thrill to their reading, then this is the book for you! I personally rate this a 5 out of 5 stars because of the lessons it teaches throughout the book.

For more information on this book, the author and where to purchase a copy of this book, please click on the link below:


I am giving away a copy of this book to one lucky reader of my blog, Reviews From The Heart. Here's all you have to do to enter:

1. Be a follower of my blog, Reviews From The Heart.

2. Be a resident of the US or have a US shipping address. Please No P.O. Boxes.

3. Leave me a comment telling me why you'd love to win a copy of this book, along with your email address. You can use the words (at) and (dot) instead of the symbols. I will notify the winner by email when the giveaway ends, so please don't forget to include it.

The giveaway will end on December 31st and will notify the winner at that time via email.

Sunday, December 11, 2011

Angels


Since this is the time of Jesus Christ's birth, I thought it was the perfect time to review a great book on Angels by Robert Morgan! This provides a detailed account of a variety of encounters with God's heavenly messengers and takes us through the Bible to show not only their purpose, creation but what they mean in the lives of believers.

Since reading a variety of books on the market about angels, this one really captured my heart because I love reading about true life encounters that others have had with angels. This book does exactly that along with showcases recorded Biblical examples of how angels have appeared in the New and Old Testament books and what role they will also play in Jesus' second coming. Whether the examples in the story are actual angelic encounters only the people involved have an idea but they do seem to follow the examples the Bible uses. Not only are they messengers of God's news or prophecy fulfillment, but they aid in caring for the believers as well, they encourage when we are in need, help protect or warn us in times of trouble, and even carry us to our heavenly home when we die.

Angels were also present at the proclamation of Jesus' birth to the shepherds and offered wisdom and advice to both Joseph and Mary before he was born. The Bible states that some have even entertained angels in the forms of strangers without knowing it and we know throughout Bible history that angels have been present during battles of God's people.

I received this book Angels by Robert Morgan compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers for my honest review along with Net Galley and think this would make the perfect give this Christmas season. I rate this one a 5 out of 5 heavenly stars! For more information on this book, the author and where to purchase a copy of this book, please click on the link below:

Saturday, December 10, 2011

Box of Books Giveaway # 2


By now, I have had the rare opportunity to read almost 365 books this year alone, thanks to some great publishers, blog book tours, and just friends who have gifted me with books this year. To pay it forward I am offering a weekly Surprise "Grab Bag" or in this case, Priority Box Grab until the end of the year.

Here's what your entering to win. I will select as many books as I can carefully pack into a Priority Mailbox and the surprise part comes in you won't know what you'll be getting! I may be able to get 8-11 books in each box and I'll be giving away a box load each Friday beginning this Friday.

So if you are interested in participating, here's what you need to do to enter.

1. Be a follower of my blog, Reviews From The Heart.

2. "Like" my Facebook Page, Reviews From The Heart and leave a comment there!

3. Tell others about it, blog about it, tweet it, post it to Facebook and come back and let me know what you did. If you can leave a link, you get an extra entry.

4. Be a resident of the US or have a US shipping address! Please No P.O. Boxes!

5. Leave me a comment telling me your favorite types of books. This may inspire me to fulfill your wish list as best as I can.

6. Along with your comment make sure to include your email address since that is how I will be able to get in contact with you that you've won! Please don't forget this as I have had many giveaways go unclaimed because I can't locate the winner.

This giveaway will end on Friday, December 16th and I will be contacting the winner via email at that time. Don't worry if you don't win this week, I'll be posting another giveaway grab box opportunity on Monday, December 19th to end the following Friday!

The Christmas Singing Promo



Cindy Woodsmall is known for her great Amish fiction books and now has written a heart-warming story for Christmas. Click here for an excerpt. The best part is the savings WaterBrook Multnomah is offering its readers this Christmas to get a copy to you at a discount.

You can get 30% off and free shipping on The Christmas Singing (and any other title) when you use promo code CHRISTMAS11 at checkout on WaterBrookMultnomah.com. The coupon code expires on December 20th, 2011.

Delivery


When Olivia Wilson Jarvis agreed to help her daddy start Wilson's Florist, she knew she'd sometimes face servicing the funerals of loved ones. But why now?

Miss Ellie nodded. "After forty years, I've learned a few things about this job. Flower shop folks know what a dead man wears on his feet beneath the coffin lid, but we rarely get to file past the casket to say our final good-byes. We watch life pass through this town from the inside and outside all at once, closer than anyone and not as close as others at all." Her gaze meet Livi's. "It isn't always easy." She should know.

Delivery by Diana Prusik, is a delightful and at times serious novel about the staff that work and interact with those at Wilson's Florist in Mount Helicon. The book opens with the death of a beloved resident of the town, Robert "Bink" Carter as the florists are busy with all the floral arrangements that almost every single resident in town has ordered. While they are working and having conversations, the story flashes back to their individual pasts so the reader gets an inside look at why they are the people they are today. Why Livi pauses during hectic times to have a bottle of beer or two, why Miss Ellie is busy searching for husband number five and even why Livi and her sister Gretta remains at odds with one another.

Tales of birth and death, sickness and sorrow, love and betrayal, and even forgiveness. And yet, privy to some of the community's deepest secrets, Livi sometimes wishes she didn't know so much--and that is just what the reader will discover through the pages of this delightful story.

I received this eBook compliments of Tyndale House Publishers and Net Galley for my honest review. If you look for books with very different characters who's lives overlap one another, then this is the book for you! I would rate this one a 4 out of 5 stars simply due to the fact that all the stories can get a bit confusing. At one point, I had to grab a notebook to jot down how they were all related and that was during 1/3 of the way into the book for me. This is only available as an electronic book at this time. For more information about this book, the author and where to purchase a copy of this book, please click on the links below:

Friday, December 9, 2011

Triple Dog Dare: One Year Dynamic Devotions for Boys



Boys want action. They don’t want to sit around and talk—that’s for grown-ups and girls. They engage life and relationships by doing something: skateboarding, playing games or re-creating favorite movie scenes. So why should faith be any different? That’s why Jeremy V. Jones created Triple Dog Dare: One Year of Dynamic Devotions for Boys—to provide the action boys need in order to grow their faith.

The Bible is full of action. Remember how David slew Goliath, Daniel faced those lions, Paul survived a shipwreck and Jesus stood up for a woman about to be killed? God made boys to take His truth and do something with it, to man up and change the world. These action-packed devotions for boys ages 9 to 12 are filled with godly truth and bold spiritual challenges that transform time with God into the adventure of the day.

Triple Dog Dare connects God’s Word to boys’ hearts and hands with real-life scenarios and activities. Each day is filled with short Scriptures, concise biblical truth and a daily dare, all challenging them to put their faith into practice. Scripture readings from every book of the Bible open up the action-packed Word of God. Whether it’s drawing comic strips of biblical battles, dreaming up a life list of goals, making snack packs for the homeless or producing Bible-based movies, boys will go on daily dynamic experiences with God, taking faith off the page and setting it into motion.

Themes cover the daily realities of pre-teen males, including bullying, peer pressure, girls, sibling rivalry, honesty and more.These exciting devotions will inspire boys’ hearts toward godly characteristics such as integrity, generosity and kindness. Parents will appreciate watching Christ-like traits emerge as each dare is undertaken. It is a manual that will deepen boys’ friendships with Jesus as they look forward to spending time with Him every day. So if you know a boy who is up for the challenge, triple dog dare him!

About the Author:

Jeremy V. Jones is an award-winning journalist who has served as senior associate editor of Breakaway magazine. He has authored several books, including Toward the Goal: The Kaka Story and The Keeper: The Tim Hoard Story. He also writes for magazines such as Clubhouse and Christianity Today. He resides with his wife and two children in Colorado.



My Review:

Even though I don't have any boys, I found this devotional geared for boys to be just as challenging for my girls. At times my girls have more interests in what boys are doing than in dolls, beauty, clothes and shopping any day of the week, so I wanted to explore this with them to see what differences there are.

Contained within this devotional are a continual use typeset, meaning that it doesn't correspond to specific dates but days of the week instead so you can jump right in at any time. You don't have to wait for the beginning of the year to start. Every weekday you get...

  • One Bible verse or passage
  • some short thoughts about a real-life situation or connection to God.
  • three Triple Dog Dares - ideas to put the theme into action.(example: Who really bugs you? Do a kind deed toward them.)
  • two Mission Accomplished questions so you can write down your results from yesterday's dares.

Each weekend you get something a little different: Make Triple Dog Tracks sections give ideas to make something cool, like a movie, comic strip, life list, or Noah's Ark out of Legos' From The Triple Dog Pound sections deliver short stories about guys in the Bible who accomplished God's Triple Dog Dares - plus ideas of how you can do the same.

There is even sections in the book for them to reflect or doodle on areas they want to work on, which is a great tool, to use at the end of the year to see how far they have worked on their goals during the years.

I received Triple Dog Dare: One Year of Dynamic Devotions for Boys by Jeremy V. Jones compliments of B & B Media Group for my honest review and can see how this would benefit growing young men who are faced with unique challenges that girls are not from peer pressure to bullying. This is a MUST read for anyone dealing with preteen and teenage boys and rate this a 5 out of 5 stars!

For more information on this book, the author or where to purchase a copy of this, please click on the links below:

Thursday, December 8, 2011

Truth and Dare: One Year of Dynamic Devotionals for Girls



Is your pre-teen daughter ready for more—more excitement, more adventure, more joy? Then dare her to discover the secret to a life that sparkles for God. Show her she’s got what it takes to make an impact on the world. Ann Margret Hovsepian’s newest book, Truth and Dare: One Year of Dynamic Devotions for Girls, is designed for girls 9 to 12 and filled with powerful wisdom on everything from godly friendships to worshiping God.

It can be easy for young girls to neglect their Bible reading. Perhaps they feel Scripture doesn’t directly relate to them. Maybe they may lack encouragement or accountability, or they may just have too many distractions in their everyday lives. This lack of spiritual food can stunt girls’ spiritual growth and make them vulnerable to the temptations and ungodly influences around them. It can also prevent them from developing a love for Scripture early in life, making it even harder to get into God’s Word when they get older.

Truth and Dare encourages tween girls to discover how exciting God’s Word can be. They will see it make a difference in their daily lives and experience the blessings that come from doing it and not just hearing it. Daily challenges (dares) based on Scripture (truth) will provide opportunities for them to make their faith come alive as they learn to serve others, build character and make a difference.

Scripture will be transformed from something learned to something lived. Girls will delight in discovering how God’s Word can become real in whole new ways as they learn to apply it with each day’s dare. It ideally suits anyone looking to inspire a young girl to boldly live out her faith. So encourage the tween girl in your life to take the dare and discover the truth! It’s her time to shine as a girl who knows what it means to live a fierce and fearless life of faith.

About the Author: Ann Margret Hovsepian is a published author, freelance writer and editor and amateur artist. She has published more than 210 articles for dozens of Canadian and U.S. print periodicals and has become a sought-after author of pre-teen girls’ devotional books. She has published Blossom: The Complete New Testament for Girls(Thomas Nelson, 2006) andThe One Year Designer Genes Devo (Tyndale, 2007). She speaks at conferences and events and is actively involved on the board of Canadian Baptist Women of Ontario and Quebec, Canada. Hovsepian resides in Montreal, Canada.





My Review:


Being a busy mom with an 18-year-old and 12-year-old girls, I knew I wanted to pick this one up! The devotional is geared not just as a Bible Study for each day but it also provides an opportunity for my daughters to capture their thoughts on what they learned and what really spoke to their hearts during that day's devotion. There are even some challenges for them to complete and it provides a chance for parents to really talk to their girls about what is going on in their lives at that moment. For example, "Imagine for a moment what your life would be like if your parents (or parent, if you live with only one) suddenly disappeared. Write down some ways your life would change." Then at the conclusion it takes the teen into a prayer to reflect on thanking God for their parents and asking Him to help them give them the honor and respect they deserve. Try and find some ways to show your parents how much they mean to you.


This is perfect for preteen and teenage girls (9 through 14) in my opinion. There is so much to do in this one year devotional it will really provide them with a chance to see how much they have grown at the end. Because this devotional isn't geared to specific dates, you can jump in at any point and make it work. That's always a plus especially if you have multiple age girls! I received this book compliments of B & B Media Group for my honest opinion and highly recommend this to anyone who deals with preteen or teen age girls even if you aren't a parent. Hands down a 5 out of 5 star devotional.


For more information on this product, the author or where to purchase this devotional, please click on the links below:



Wednesday, December 7, 2011

Invisible


Lola’s not pretty. Lola’s not popular. Lola wishes she could disappear … and then one day she does just that…

For seventeen-year-old Lola Savullo, life is a struggle. Born to funky parents who are more in than she could ever be, Lola’s dream of becoming a writer makes her an outsider even in her own home. Bullied and despised, Lola still has the support of her best pal Charlie and Grandma Rose.

Not only is she freakishly tall, Lola’s a big girl and when forced to wear a bathing suit at her summer job as a camp counselor, Lola’s only escape from deep embarrassment seems to be to literally vanish. Soon after, she discovers the roots of her new “ability”.

Slowly, with Charlie’s help, Lola learns to control the new super power. The possibilities are endless. Yet power can be abused, too…

Then, when tragedy strikes, Lola must summon her inner strength, both at home and at school. She has to stand up for herself, despite the temptations and possibilities of her newfound super power.

A coming-of-age story that will warm the heart.

My Review:

Who hasn't wished at some horrible point that they could simply disappear or become invisible? This is just the beginning for a girl like Lola who is constantly being bullied at school based on her appearance of being tall and fat unlike the others in school. However when a boy by the name of Jon suddenly takes an interest in her seeing past her outer appearance, Lola feels that she can trust him with her new found secret in hopes of finally finding the perfect guy for her.

Along the journey through her year in school, Lola's source of contentment lies with her grandmother who confides in her that the power she possesses is a family secret! She teaches Lola how to use it not for revenge on those that have hurt her but to use it for the benefit of making her a better person. She struggles dealing with her parents who seem to be stuck in their own high school years, dressing and acting much younger than they really are, and a sister who will never understand the personal struggles, Lola faces.

This is such a great book for anyone who has ever been faced with the challenge of peer pressure or bullying. This story teaches Lola that rather than seeking revenge, she should use her abilities to see them as they really are and in the process come to a unique understand that appearances on the outside really aren't who people are on the inside.

I received Invisible by Jeanne Bannon compliments of Pump Up Your Book Tours for my honest review and found such great insight on seeing things from a different perspective on those that have dealt with peer pressure and bullying and how they really feel on the inside. For that reason alone, this rates a 4.5 out of 5 stars. There are some uses of profanity in the book but it doesn't take away from the storyline, however some readers may find this offensive.

Here's an extra special treat, this ebook is available on Amazon and Smashwords for only .99 til December 16th! For more information about the book, the author and even where to purchase a copy of this book, please click on the links below:

Invisible by Jeanne Bannon

You can also follow more reviews on this book tour by clicking here.

Tuesday, December 6, 2011

Hollywood Stories


It seems like celebrity news is everywhere these days, from supermarket tabloids to reality news shows, but it exists because we love to hear about what they do and why they do it. Sometimes they things they did were very quirky, amusing and downright shocking.

In the latest novel by Stephen Schochet, Hollywood Stories: Short. Entertaining Anecdotes About the Stars and Legends of the Movies takes a look at celebrities from the past and present and shares those insights inside the cover of this wonderful book. From Buster Keaton, to The Three Stooges, from Johnny Depp to George Lucas, from Marilyn Monroe to Walt Disney, anyone who has loved movies or television stars will love this candid look into some of those rare moments in their public and private lives.

Did you know that the basis for the voice of Gollum, from The Lord of the Rings trilogy was from a cat coughing up a hairball? Or that Dick Van Dyke donated money to Walt Disney's newly formed Cal Arts University in exchange for getting the secondary role of the elderly banker in Mary Poppins and even the "Banks" children did not know it was the same actor that played Burt in the movie?

How about Jimmy Stewart who was just returning from serving the last five years in the Army Air Corps, and felt he was a changed man. He began questioning his return to acting as he was starring in It's A Wonderful Life, and received a lecture from Lionel Barrymore, the wheelchair bound, Mr. Potter after moping around the set for five days. He felt that maybe working in films wasn't for decent folks. Lionel's advice? He told Jimmy that making pictures gave people more happiness than shooting at them from planes. The pep talk helped restore Stewart's pride in his craft; he delivered his most famous performance in Wonderful Life and went on to have a long post-war movie career.

There are simple so many great anecdotes that everyone will find something that they love inside the pages of this hardcover book. I received this book compliments of Pump Up Your Books tours and Stephen Schochet for my honest opinion and think this would make a beautiful gift for your favorite movie or television lover! From vintage classics to your favorite sitcoms, this is such a wonderful book to gain a piece of Hollywood's brightest and biggest stars and why I rate it a 5 out of 5 stars.



About Stephen Schochet

A professional tour guide in Hollywood, Stephen Schochet has researched and told thousands of entertaining anecdotes for over twenty years. He is also the author and narrator of two audiobooks Tales of Hollywood and Fascinating Walt Disney. His latest book, Hollywood Stories: Short, Entertaining Anecdotes About the Stars and Legends of the Movies! Tim Sika, host of the radio show Celluloid Dreams on KSJS in San Jose has called Stephen," The best storyteller about Hollywood we have ever heard."

For more information visit http://www.hollywoodstories.com


For more information on this book, the author and where to purchase a copy of this book, please click on the links below:

Monday, December 5, 2011

Corus the Champion


I have had the delightful opportunity to be a part of the Legends of Karac Tor when I reviewed book three in the series, The Song of Unmaking. Now I get to further my reading pleasure in taking my readers back a bit to book two in the series, Corus the Champion by Dean Barkley Briggs.

First a bit of history on Mr. Briggs, who wrote the series for his children who were dealing with their own personal tragedy of losing their mother. In a twist of divine providence, Mr. Briggs soon met another woman who was also grieving the loss of her husband and was raising her children alone. God stepped in and a new family was born when the two met and later married.

In the first book in the series, The Book of Names, the brothers from our world enter a world of myth and legend to find the courage to answer the call, you see in the Hidden Lands of Karac Tor, names are being stolen and darkness is spreading. This book begins the series that picks up again in the second book, Corus the Champion.

The Barlow boys, from book one, have helped turn the tide in the Hidden Lands with the defeat of Nemesia. Yet as all great books have in store, their victory is not secured as a new enemy emerges from the North with a new army now bent on destruction. Just as Gabe and Garret, the twins are discovering their special powers that are only available in this new land. Gabe has the ability to speak to birds while Garret is like a young Arthur if you will, learning new abilities from a Merlin like character Tal Yssen. The boys now learn about a fabled king that was rescued from death in our world and is now hidden in Karac Tor. Will the boys be able to find and rescue this king from their own world or will they have to make sacrifices to save their friends?

To find out, you'll have to read this series of great adventure books from Dean Barkley Briggs. My recommendation would be to start at the beginning like any great series and work your way through them one at a time. This one to start with may be a bit confusing as a stand alone, but with persistence is truly a great story to immerse yourself and your children in.

I received this book compliments of Christian Science Fiction and Fantasy book tours for my honest opinion and now having read the first three, will be going back and rereading them from the beginning. It's like reading The Chronicles of Narnia in the middle of the series, you can figure it out but its more enjoyable to read it from the beginning. This one rates a 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion and definitely captures a child's love of fantasy and adventure in this one.

For more information on this book, the author and where to pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:
Corus the Champion by Dean Barkley Briggs

You can purchase a copy of this book on Amazon by clicking here.

You can also read more reviews by clicking on any of these bloggers who are part of this amazing tour.

Gillian Adams
Noah Arsenault
Beckie Burnham
Morgan L. Busse
http://csffblogtour.com/"> CSFF Blog Tour
Carol Bruce Collett
Theresa Dunlap
April Erwin
Victor Gentile
Nikole Hahn
Ryan Heart
Bruce Hennigan
Christopher Hopper
Jason Joyner
Julie
Carol Keen
Krystine Kercher
Marzabeth
Shannon McDermott
http://rebeccaluellamiller.wordpress.com/"> Rebecca LuElla Miller
Eve Nielsen
Sarah Sawyer
Kathleen Smith
Donna Swanson
Rachel Starr Thomson
Steve Trower
Fred Warren
Phyllis Wheeler
Nicole White
Rachel Wyant

Christmas Surprise Book Giveaway


By now, I have had the rare opportunity to read almost 365 books this year alone, thanks to some great publishers, blog book tours, and just friends who have gifted me with books this year. To pay it forward I am offering a weekly Surprise "Grab Bag" or in this case, Priority Box Grab until the end of the year.

Here's what your entering to win. I will select as many books as I can carefully pack into a Priority Mailbox and the surprise part comes in you won't know what you'll be getting! I may be able to get 8-11 books in each box and I'll be giving away a box load each Friday beginning this Friday.

So if you are interested in participating, here's what you need to do to enter.

1. Be a follower of my blog, Reviews From The Heart.

2. Tell others about it, blog about it, tweet it, post it to Facebook and come back and let me know what you did. If you can leave a link, you get an extra entry.

3. Be a resident of the US or have a US shipping address! Please No P.O. Boxes!

4. Leave me a comment telling me your favorite types of books. This may inspire me to fulfill your wish list as best as I can.

5. Along with your comment make sure to include your email address since that is how I will be able to get in contact with you that you've won! Please don't forget this as I have had many giveaways go unclaimed because I can't locate the winner.

This giveaway will end on Friday, December 9th and I will be contacting the winner via email at that time. Don't worry if you don't win this week, I'll be posting another giveaway grab box opportunity on Monday, December 12th to end the following Friday!

Friday, December 2, 2011

KBL - Kill Bin Laden: A Novel Based On True Events


Moving from the political battlefields of Washington, D.C., and the secure, seventh-floor suite of the CIA director in Langley, Virginia, to the dusty streets of Peshawar, Lahore, and Abbottabad, Pakistan, to the rough Afghan interior, to the Middle East and western Europe, this fictional narrative brings to life the drama behind SEAL Team 6’s breathtaking raid in which Bin Laden—a.k.a. Crankshaft, a.k.a. al Mas (the Diamond), the ghost, the wraith, the grail for counterterrorists for more than a decade—met his fate.

Filled with pulse-pounding excitement and the tactics, intelligence tradecraft, and operational sources and methods used in real-world CIA and special-operations missions, KBL: KILL BIN LADEN is a thrill-a-minute dramatization that sets the standard for adventure novels as it brilliantly imagines the action, intrigue, and suspense of this real-life event and offers a glimpse of the new face of warfare.

My Review:

This is a book based on the events surrounding the plot to kill Usama Bin Laden and the men whose mission it was to see that it was carried out. This book probes the hearts and minds of America's secret warriors, revealing what the job means to them and the toll it takes. Here are the Navy SEALS who can never admit what unit they work for; the CIA paramilitary operators who risk their lives among the enemy, putting themselves in harm's way knowing their existence will be denied if they are killed or captured; and the elite cadre of gritty leaders who bravely put country and security above politics.

This book is not like the Hollywood productions of Jason Bourne or Ethan Hunt, but truly gives the readers an inside view on what it takes to put your live on the line to bring a terrorist to justice and secure the safety of the country they love and serve. I was captivated by this story because I love movies like Mission Impossible but from a true sense of where the actual stories come from. Having know friends involved with Black Ops, I know how real and intense their stories can be, although they can never share the information with anyone.

This is a must read for anyone who loves stories involving true life events told from all the perspectives of those involved and to see just how difficult it is to bring criminals to justice when they lie outside our countries borders and people will do anything to make sure they are never found.

I received this book, KBL: Kill Bin Laden by John Weisman compliments of William Morrow, a division of Harper Collins Publishers for my honest review and LOVED every single page of this compelling novel. It's hard to believe that the book you are reading isn't a fictional story but one that actually happened. For that reason alone, this one rates a hands down 5 out of 5 stars! For more information on this book, the author and where to pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the link below:

KBL: Kill Bin Laden: A Novel Based On True Events by John Weisman