The Best People In The World!

Friday, January 31, 2014

Friend Me



If there was a way to recreate someone you had lost due to an unexpected death with the only exception being that they were not physically real, meaning you couldn't go see them, but in every other aspect they were as real as you and I, would you be interested?

What about having the perfect wife or husband? One you could create from scratch and be everything you ever wanted, a great listener, a romantic at heart, or someone who simply gave you everything you needed to hear and kept all your secrets? Perhaps a best friend you could confide in, but one that would only be there for you anytime you needed them? A sister or brother you always wanted but never had? Would you be interested?

Consider that such a reality could literally be just months away from being a reality. Just as convenient as Facebook is to your need to touch base with people, now you could create that virtual person who would act, sound and look like a real person. You might just want to visit the latest website known simply as Virtual Friend Me, an excited new social media site that offers something more than Facebook or My Life could ever dream of, and it's all Free. Of course if you want a more personalized friend whom you can "see" you might want to sign up for the Premium Plan for only $15.00 a month. It guarantees your "friend" will be there whenever you want, simply a mouse click away.

Now you've gotten a taste for the latest suspense thriller from author John Faubion who has created a concept that is chilling you can envision something like this truly on our horizon in the not so distant future. Now that Rachel Douglas has been having a difficult time with raising two children while her husband spends so many countless hours working at the office, it would be nice if she only had her close friend Suzanne to confide with, but she died. When she learns about a new social media site, she enlists her husband Scott's help to see if he is fine with her creating an online friend.

Knowing how alone Rachel has been especially with him logging in so many hours to making a dent working on his latest clients stock investments, he's been warned unless they start to see results, he will find himself out of a job. If only he had someone to confide in, like Rachel does with her new virtual friend. Someone he can confide in that won't see him as a failure if his latest investment idea doesn't work out as planned. What harm can there be if Scott creates a virtual friend as well. Only both Scott and Rachel get more than either one ever bargained for and it has them wondering just where they crossed over the moral line in regards to their marriage.

I received Friend Me by John Faubion compliments of Howard Books, a division of Simon and Schuster Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed in this review are strictly my own. This is a chilling thought to know just how close we are in actually having a company create something like this. I could see so many people lining up to create their own "friend" without considering the implications of who is really on the other end with all the information you are feeding them to create that perfect friend. I think John pulled out all the stops on this one and makes you truly consider just who you are allowing to become your friend in all the social media platforms available today and in the very near future. You will not be able to put this one down until you know how it all plays out and John does an exceptional job at keeping the right amount of suspense going to keep you flipping pages! I loved this one and is a must read for suspense fans who love a twist to something that may not be that far off in our own future. I easily give this one a 5 out of 5 stars.

For more information about Friend Me, John Faubion, or where you can pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can also find John Faubion on Facebook to stay up to date on all his latest novels.

For more reviews on Friend Me, stop by Howard Book's website. 


Thursday, January 30, 2014

The Confident Mom



As a mom, have you ever wondered if maybe you could have done a better job at raising your kids or looked at someone else and questioned maybe where you are going wrong in your own life? Why do we second guess our efforts when God clearly isn't done with our kids yet? Why do we look at what is going on in other's lives when we don't know what they have had to go through to get to where they are? So how do we move forward and gain a better understanding on how to be a more confident mom based on the abilities and talents God has uniquely given each of us and our kids?

Joyce Meyers has written a book called The Confident Mom to guide your family with God's strength and wisdom. I've always found that sometimes our best resources of truth can be discovered within the Bible, but just where to find it becomes the challenge. Joyce does an exceptional job at incorporating her humor as a mom in relating to us exactly where we have all found ourselves sometimes wondering just what the point is in all of this child rearing from a mom's perspective using the wisdom found in the Bible.

"We can all relate to those idyllic dreams we once had about our soon-to-be-born little bundles of joy. We also remember when the reality of the situation set in. Little bundles of joy grew into teething toddlers who cried and threw up on us every time we got dressed up to go out. They threw temper tantrums and tried to drink out of the dog bowl. Soon, instead of feeling sure of ourselves, we started wondering if we really have what it takes to do this right. We started seeing our short comings, focusing on our failures, and feeling inadequate.

I'm sure you know what I'm talking about. Every mom (no matter how awesomely competent she may appear to be) has lost her confidence at one time or another. But, thank God, there is a way to get your confidence back. It's actually possible for us as mothers, at any stage in our lives, to regain, not the false and fleeting kind of confidence but the real thing: the kind that keeps us looking forward with assurance even when things are going wrong - the kind that keeps us looking up instead of down, in spite of our mistakes. The kind that enables us to laugh at our imperfections and be positive about ourselves and what we can do instead of worrying about what we can't do." (excerpt page 7-8.)

Sound like something you'd want to know more about? Then trust me, when I say, you'll definitely want to pick up The Confident Mom by Joyce Meyers. There is something in this book for anyone even if we have kids who are grown and living outside of our homes. We all know that confidence in our abilities makes us stronger and able to gain insight to struggling moms everywhere who ask us how we seem to have it all together. We can sit back smile, and know we've all been there at one point in our lives and have arrived! "The difference between a good mom and a great mom is her supreme confidence in her supreme God!"

I received The Confident Mom by Joyce Meyers compliments of Faith Words, a division of Hachette Book Groups for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed in this review are strictly my own unless otherwise noted. Joyce shows us not only how to rely on the advice God provides in His Word, but also how to make sure the children we raise remain confident in their own faith even though at times, some may fall away or stray, God will bring them back in His own timing and in His own way. We just have to have faith in the abilities we have instilled in them, God won't let them go too far! God doesn't expect us to be perfect, only trust in Him to help raise our children! I easily give this one a 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion.

For more information about The Confident Mom, Joyce Meyers or where you can pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can also find Joyce Meyers on Facebook to stay up to date with all her latest books.

To read more reviews on The Confident Mom, stop by Faith Words Website.

  • Hardcover: 224 pages
  • Publisher: FaithWords (January 21, 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 145558018X
  • ISBN-13: 978-1455580187
  • Product Dimensions: 7.1 x 5 x 0.6 inches

Wednesday, January 29, 2014

Butterfly Palace



For fans of Downton Abbey who want a little bit more spice in the storyline, you might just want to pick up Colleen Coble's latest novel, Butterfly Palace. Set in Larson and Austin, Texas in the early 1900's we find that the romance between Lily Donaldson and Andy Hawkins have all but fizzled. They were at one time engaged to be married but with the deaths of both of their fathers in a horrible fire, it seemed that Andy blamed himself for not being able to get the men out alive and he left Lily behind in ashes of their love.

Now that four years have passed Lily has found employment working as a ladies maid in Butterfly Palace, the wealthy home of the Marshall family. She finds her job enjoyable as Belle Castle's lady's maid putting her knowledge of fashion and hair design to work for her. She learns that Belle has her sights set on marrying Drew Hawkes, a guest in the Marshall home. Little did she realize that Drew is her Andy from Larson. Why he has changed his name and what he is doing in Austin cause her to be concerned and both hope that neither of them will share their intimate past with their current employers.

While Belle has her sights set on Drew, her father meanwhile wants Belle to marry Mr. Stuart Vesters, an up and coming wealthy politician and businessman. But it seems Mr. Vesters isn't all he appears to be to the Marshall family. Now that Lily has found work in the home, she finds herself the unlucky victim of the Servant Girl Killer, a serial killer that has been murdering maids around the city, preferring women who fit Lily's mold as the intended victim. Will Drew be able to keep up his pretense of acting like he doesn't know who Lily is even when she is almost murdered in the church or will their love reignite once again despite the obstacles facing them both?

I received Butterfly Palace by Colleen Coble compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed in this review are strictly my own unless otherwise noted. I found myself completely captivated by this novel because I am a huge fan of Downton Abbey. I think Colleen Coble did an exceptional job at incorporating the characters of the upstairs wealthy aristocratic family from those of the household staff. The intermixing of those stereotypes is necessary to understand when Lily finds herself at odds wanting to talk to Drew but being in her position as a maid, wasn't something that was allowed. There are social barriers keeping them apart as well as the roles each of them in playing in their current situation which complicates their conversations. Lily at one point is discovered conversing with Drew by Belle who believes that Lily it out of place as a maid and threatens to fire her if she doesn't discontinue in her pursuit of being in Drew's company. A little jealous rivalry since despite Lily's attempts to downplay her beauty, she still comes shining through. I honestly had my suspicions about who was the murderer, but Colleen truly mixed me up and had me chasing my own tail by the end. Well done in my opinion and thus a just deserved 5 out of 5 stars!

For more information about Butterfly Palace, Colleen Coble or where you can pick up a copy of this novel today,  please click on the links below:


You can also find Colleen Coble on Facebook to stay up to date with all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on Butterfly Palace, please visit Thomas Nelson's website. 


Length: 336 Pages
Publication Date: January 21, 2014
Company: Thomas Nelson
ISBN-10: 1595547835
ISBN-13:9781595547835

Tuesday, January 28, 2014

The Wedding Bees



Sugar "Honey" Wallace never believed that she could ever find love again. In fact, she had only one mission in life and that was to keep moving as often as her bee's provided a new location. She never imagined that all of her running would end when she arrived in Manhattan armed with nothing but a hive of sixth generation bee's, a birdbath, and the supplies of honey that she intends to sell. While she was trying to locate a place to park with her friend Jay, a homeless man ran out in front of their van. Not knowing if he was alright, she got out of the car just as he was colliding with a man chatting away on his cell phone. Love finds you in the strangest of places and from that moment on, Sugar had met her match.

Theo Fitzgerald, a lawyer for a non profit company housing the homeless, knew in a instant the moment he met Sugar, he had a feeling they would be walking hand in hand forty years from now, living a life of wedded bliss. His mother always said he would met the "one," he just never imagined that would literally run right into one another. The only problem with their relationship besides his inability to convince her that they are destined to be together forever after just meeting moments ago is when he learns she is a bee keeper and he is allergic to bees.

What transpires over the course of Sarah-Kate Lynch's novel The Wedding Bees is the story of how Sugar Wallace became interested in bees and why she spends every year moving from place to place without setting up any roots. Now she finds herself in the middle of Alphabet City and the residents that live in the same apartment building as her are truly in for a treat of the sweetest kind. From Lola, the balloon lady who has a child that no one in the building can stand because of his crying at all hours of the night and day, to Ruby, the young girl who lives alone and rarely comes out to see anyone. There are the older couple Mrs. Keschl and Mr. McNally who live on different floors but spend all their time yelling at one another over the silliest of issues. Topping it off with the pasty genius of a recluse named Nate whose sweet smelling creations drive the entire complex into mouth-watering fits. What happens in the course of the novel is truly an unforgettable and memorable time you will enjoy.

I received The Wedding Bees by Sarah-Kate Lynch compliments of William Morrow, a division of Harper Collins Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation and the opinions in this review are strictly my own unless otherwise noted. I thoroughly enjoyed this romantic comedy and now find myself craving honey in a different way, wanting honey scented candles to fill my home with their intoxicating fragrance much like the products that Sugar created for sale. Readers should be cautioned that there is some profanity and adult subject matter in this book but overall the story is enjoyable and worth immersing yourself in if you love movies like Steel Magnolias or Runaway Bride! I personally rate this one a 4 out of 5 stars based on my rating system.

For more information on The Wedding Bees, Sarah-Kate Lynch or where you can pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can find Sarah-Kate Lynch on Facebook to stay up to date with all her latest novels.

For more reviews on The Wedding Bees, stop by William Morrow's website. 

  • Paperback: 368 pages
  • Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks (January 28, 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0062252607
  • ISBN-13: 978-0062252609
  • Product Dimensions: 7.8 x 5.3 x 1 inches

Monday, January 27, 2014

Scraps of Evidence



Just what does a beautiful sewn blue quilt have to do with the latest serial murders running rampant in Florida? Just another mystery waiting to be discovered by best-selling author Barbara Cameron in her latest novel Scraps of Evidence that joins the Quilts of Love Series as book 14. The readers of this novel are bound to a true treat if you have read any of Barbara Cameron's novels. There is always an element of mystery and suspense to keep you reading long past it's time to head for bed because of your compelling urge to know who did it.

Join Detective Tess Villanova as she teams up with her new partner who just happens to be amazingly good-looking as well as single, Detective Logan McMillian from Chicago. Now they must work together when the latest case reopens the serial murder case when Tess lost her best friend as the first murder victim. Working hard to try and find the killer, when the latest body turns up, Logan gives the case a whole new perspective and a fresh set of eyes.

Like most colleagues that work together and spend so much time together, you get to know someone in ways you never would if you had met in a bar, and this gives Tess and Logan time to unwind and compare notes over lunches and dinners working their case. What they find is that they have more in common than simply being partners working together and the more time they spend with one another the more things begin to heat up and not just in the romance department.

I received Scraps of Evidence by Barbara Cameron compliments of Abingdon Press and Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation and the opinions expressed in this review are strictly my own unless otherwise noted. The best thing about any of the novels you find in the Quilts of Love series is why they do have a common thread running through them, you can pick up any of them and read them. They are not linked in any way other than having a quilt at the central theme. I've been a huge fan of Barbara Cameron's novels and was thrilled to read and review this one. I love the romantic tension that builds up between Logan and Tess and you just hope by the time you get to the end, they both come around to realize love is in the air. I easily give this one a 4.5 out of 5 stars in my opinion. Included in this novel at the conclusion are some excellent discussion questions just perfect for book clubs as well as sneak peek into the next book in the series A Sky Without Stars.

For more information about Scraps of Evidence, Barbara Cameron or where you can pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can also find Barbara Cameron on Facebook to stay up to date with all her latest novels.

For more reviews on Scraps of Evidence, please visit Christian Fiction Blog Alliance Book Tours.

  • Series: Quilts of Love (Book 14)
  • Paperback: 240 pages
  • Publisher: Abingdon Press (January 21, 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1426752784
  • ISBN-13: 978-1426752780
  • Product Dimensions: 8.4 x 5.6 x 0.7 inches

Friday, January 24, 2014

A Promise Kept



"In the two weeks since moving into the log house, Allison and Gizmo had explored several paths on their daily walks. Allison's favorite was the one that followed the river. nd today, with wildflowers blooming everywhere - an abundance of pinks and blues, yellows and oranges - she felt a lifting of her spirit. It was so pretty. God's handprints were everywhere.

Thank You. 

Thank You that I had this place to come to. Thank You that I wasn't completely ruined in the divorce. I might've been. Other women have been. But I'm okay.

After Tony's first stint in rehab, Allison went on loving him, even when others though her crazy to put up with him. Even when he lost another job and then another and another. Even when he landed in the hospital. Again and again. Even when he broke her heart and disappointed her and abandoned her emotionally. With his every new attempt at recovery, she took hold of hope and expected to see him overcome the desire to drink. She believed again and again that he would get sober and stay sober. Only to see him fail. Again.

One good thing came out of her troubled marriage: Allison had been driven to the foot of the cross. Her faith in Christ has been born and then challenged and deepened. A Bible study leader once said to her,"A faith that can't be tested can't be trusted." Well, Allison's faith had been thoroughly tested. She'd gone through the refiner's fire more than once.

And then, at long, last, had come God's promise to save her marriage. Or at least she'd believed it was His voice. His promise at the time.

Tears sprang to her eyes at the memory. Disillusionment pierced her heart like the sting of a scorpion.

She'd been so certain God would heal her marriage, but it was clear that she'd misunderstood. For Allison's marriage was over and God did not lie.

She turned away from the bridal gown and the memories it had stirred to life and left the attic." (pg 42-43).

In the latest novel from Robin Lee Hatcher, A Promise Kept takes the reader into two very different time periods as Allison Kavanaugh moves into her great aunt Emma's home she inherited, she discovers a collection of journals that describe a very different Emma that no one had ever known. As Allison begins to heal from the promise she felt that God had given her and come to terms of acceptance in His will for her life, she finds Emma Carter was a very different woman growing up in the early 1900's and the love she had showcased how much God can work in someone's life when they are willing to commit to His plans 100%.

I received A Promise Kept by Robin Lee Hatcher compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed in this review are strictly my own. This is a story of how can can redeem not only anything but also anyone when we least expect it. I was surprised by the path Robin took her characters in and found myself wishing some things would have gone different ways. At the conclusion of this novel, Robin takes you behind the scenes for the real-life details of the inspiration for this story. One that shows that even though our time table for things we believe God wants in our lives, is a very different one than God has in place at times. In the end, however, ALL things work together for the good of those that love the Lord. I easily give this one a 4 out of 5 stars.

For more information about A Promise Kept, Robin Lee Hatcher or where you can pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can also find Robin Lee Hatcher on Facebook to stay up to date with all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on A Promise Kept please visit the Litfuse Publicity Book Tour page.


Don't miss Robin Lee Hatcher's stunning new novel, A Promise KeptRobin is celebrating with a fun giveaway and an encouraging Facebook Author Chat Party.

promisekept-400
 One winner will receive:
  • A Kindle Fire HDX
  • A Promise Kept by Robin Lee Hatcher
Enter today by clicking one of the icons below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on February 6th. Winner will be announced at the "A Promise Kept" Facebook Author Chat Party on the 6th. Connect with Robin and friends for an evening of encouraging book chat, prizes, and an exclusive look at Robin's next book!

So grab your copy of A Promise Kept and join Robin on the evening of February 6th for a chance to connect and make some new friends. (If you haven't read the book, don't let that stop you from coming!)

Don't miss a moment of the fun; RSVP today by clicking JOIN at the event page. Spread the word—tell your friends about the giveaway and party via FACEBOOK or TWITTER. Hope to see you on 2/6!

Thursday, January 23, 2014

The Headmistress of Rosemere



After losing her father, Patience Creighton is doing everything she can to keep the Rosemere School for Young Ladies running while caring for her grieving mother and hoping against hope that her brother Rawdon will return from London soon. But after six months, and still no word from him, Patience believes he won't be returning after all. Left with twenty nine girls, a handful of teachers and a small staff to manage, Patience is living up to her name. She has come to a decision that this is her lot in life and marriage and family are a thing of the past.

However she didn't expect William Sterling, her landlord to wind up on her front doorstep battered and bruised. Believing he was thrown from his horse, she tends to him as she would anyone who has been injured even if he is the most handsome man she has ever seen. She knows however all to well the rumors and reputation of William and it's best she keep those romantic thoughts out of her head and her heart.

All William knows is that after being warned in no uncertain terms that the money he owes to Rafferty is due in three months, he is thankful he is still alive with only bruises to show for it. His men could have left him dead but then again, how would Rafferty collect on the money he is owed. Believing there has to be an answer somewhere besides selling of the land his father has left him as an inheritance, he knows he cannot force Patience Creighton out of her home and the young girls out of the school she tends to. All he knows is that somehow he is drawn to Patience in a way he never dreamed would be possible after the women that claimed and then broke his heart again. Does God have a bigger plan in mind for all of them?

I received The Headmistress of Rosemere by Sarah E. Ladd compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own. This is the second book in the Whispers on the Moor series, and my first one for author Sarah E. Ladd. This novel is set in the early 1800's when it was considered that any woman over the age of twenty five who remained unmarried without a suitable gentlemen caller or interest in her life to be labeled as a spinster. How very different society is today, yet Sarah takes the readers into the strength and courage of Patience Creighton who is doing all she can to manage the boarding school established by her father, while her mother remains trapped in her grief. She finds solace in the caring of the young girls she teaches while believing her brother has abandoned them. She does what she has to do when faced with survival while maintaining all the propriety of a young woman who still has romantic notions at heart. I rate this novel a 4 out of 5 stars and look forward to reading The Heiress of Winterwood, the first novel in the series. While it has been compared to Jane Austin's novels, I didn't get that same impression but the story is still a great historical romance in its own rights.

For more information about The Headmistress of Rosemere, Sarah E. Ladd or where you can pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can find Sarah E. Ladd on Facebook to stay up to date with all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on The Headmistress of Rosemere from the Litfuse Publicity Book Tour, please click here. 

  • Series: Whispers On The Moors (Book 2)
  • Paperback: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Thomas Nelson (December 31, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1401688365
  • ISBN-13: 978-1401688363
  • Product Dimensions: 8.4 x 5.4 x 0.9 inches
Don't miss Sarah Ladd's latest Regency novel, The Headmistress of Rosemere. She is celebrating the release of book two in her Whispers on the Moors series with a fun "School" Your Desk Kindle Fire Giveaway and an Author Chat Facebook Party!
 

rosemere-400

Between January 17–28, visit Sarah Ladd's Facebook Page to enter to win a new giveaway each day and be entered to win a Kindle Fire grand prize. Winners will be announced at the Facebook Author Chat party on January 28th! (Don't have a Facebook account? Enter here.)


RSVP today for Sarah's The Headmistress of Rosemere Author Chat Party on Facebook. During the party Sarah will be hosting a book chat, testing your Regency trivia skills, announcing the winner of the "School" Your Desk Giveaway, and giving away books, gift certificates, and more. Oh, and she'll also be giving partygoers an exclusive look at the next book in the Whispers on the Moors series!

So grab your copy of The Headmistress of Rosemere and hope to see you on the evening of January 28th! (If you haven’t read the book, don’t let that stop you from coming!)
 

DON’T MISS A MOMENT OF THE FUN; RSVP TODAY. HOPE TO SEE YOU ON THE 28th!

Eat Like Jesus - Giveaway and Review



"Christians of all denominations have shared a common belief for centuries. For nearly two thousand years, they have placed their faith - and their eternal destiny - in Jesus' redemptive work. Rather than depending on their own imperfect effort for their eternal salvation, they rely on Jesus' perfect life. Because of this, Christians will zealously attest to Jesus' flawless compliance with all of Moses' law, accepting it as a prerequisite for their salvation.

Given Moses' mandates, it follows that Jesus' righteous status was indeed contingent on what he ate; in other words, Jesus would not have lived a perfect life if he ate things that God forbade through Moses. The Christian redemption mechanism collapses if Jesus did not keep all of Moses' law, for Christian theology insists that an imperfect sacrifice would fail to meet the Father's expectations. Therefore, Jesus was bound by the entire law or 'Torah' of Moses - including the 'kosher' food laws of Leviticus; Jesus couldn't eat roadkill, blood, or animals slaughtered by strangulation, nor could he eat things like shrimp, lobster, scallops or swine. Had Jesus eaten such 'foods,' he would have violated Moses' law, disqualifying himself and incurring guilt and sin. Jesus' failure to comply with Moses' food laws would disintegrate the basis for Christian claims or messianic perfection; it would negate his pedigree and render his crucifixion meaningless. For Jesus to be perfect in deed, he had to be perfect in feed." (excerpt Preface).

When you look at all the crazy fad diets on the market today, it's hard for anyone to gain a clear perspective on just what works. It seems like there is literally something for everyone and everyone has had different results. What I have discovered is that there is not one perfect thing that seems to work. When you look at how food ingredients have changed in addition to the chemicals used to treat our agricultural crops you often wonder if there isn't a link to our failing health and increases in diseases through the types of foods we eat.

Looking back to the Bible for answers for Christian is a way of life. I've often wondered if the key to healthier living isn't to be found along the lines of what Jesus ate during his time on Earth. Does this simple answer hold to key to everything that ails us including the rise of cancer types among people and the increase in obesity and diabetes in young people?

In the book Eat Like Jesus by Andrew L. Hoy, he takes an in-depth look at providing the answers to such questions like Did Jesus really declare all foods to be clean? Did God call Daniel to be a vegetarian? Did God expect Adam and Eve to eat only vegetables? Did Peter "get up, kill and eat" unclean animals after his vision? He researches those answers in the Bible and offers us a look at how what we eat is going against what the New Testament teaches that we can eat anything.

I received Eat Like Jesus compliments of West Bow Press and Andrew L. Hoy for my honest review and found myself definitely intrigued by not only my own personal thoughts on the issue of eating from the biblical principles to what I discovered through Andrew's research into the deeper meaning of the scriptures. I did not receive any monetary compensation for my honest review and the opinions expressed are strictly my own unless otherwise stated. I think everyone will truly gain some greater knowledge through this book and it is my hopes that you will find something that will lead to a healthier lifestyle. I personally rate this one a 4 out of 5 stars.

For more information on Eat Like Jesus, Andrew L. Hoy, or where you can pick this book today, please click on the links below:


You can find Andrew L. Hoy on Facebook to stay up to date with all his latest books.

Now for the best part, thanks to the generosity of Andrew L. Hoy, he is providing a giveaway copy to one lucky follower of my blog Reviews From The Heart. Here are your guidelines to enter:

1. Be a follower of my blog, Reviews From The Heart. 

2.  "Like" Andrew L. Hoy's Facebook page.

3. Be a resident of the US or have a US shipping address. Please No P.O. Boxes.

4. Leave a comment below telling me why you'd love to win a copy of Eat Like Jesus, along with your email address. You can use the words (at) and (dot) instead of the symbols.

The giveaway will end on January 31st and I will notify the winner by email at that time. Don't forget to include your email with your comment or I can't notify you if you're the lucky winner.






Wednesday, January 22, 2014

The Dancing Master



For me, the ear marks of a great novel is when the author truly takes the time to create a story and characters you can relate to and care about. One that doesn't worry about how many pages are in the novel as long as the storyline they thought through is conveyed in the manner they hoped. One that doesn't spend a lot of time in the build up of the novel only to rush through it quickly in a hurried breath at the end. Julie Klassen is that author.

Being a huge fan of traditional regency novels and television series like Downton Abbey, I love the look back in time when men were truly gallant and women were cherished and treated like ladies. If they were interested in one another, a chaperone was sent along as they spent time getting to know one another through walks in the garden or in carriage rides. This is one of those very heartwarming and hold your breath novels. One you will know from the very beginning you've reached something you won't want to rush through because when it does end, you'll be sad. Sad that it's over and you'll have to wait for more to come in the near future. I've been fortunate to read all of Julie Klassen's novels and this one is a masterpiece.

Julia Midwinter is the only daughter of Amelia Midwinter, one of the richest women in the town of Beaworthy. She is not at a loss of handsome suitors although none of them have caught her eye in the way of falling in love like she dreamed. She has fun practicing the art of flirting whenever the opportunity presents itself but finds life rather boring without balls or social outings one would find in London. Since her mother presides over the town and it's parish, dancing and balls have been banned. There is no law on the books but since the death of her Uncle, the entire town has gone along with request. If only Julia could get her to explain the reasons why, but her mother remains tight lipped about why.

However when a stranger moves to town along with his mother and sister, Julia's interest is more than sparked. She finds a man that will challenge even her boldest moves. He refuses to treat her with anything less than the respect a lady deserves even if it means he has to walk away most times. Alec Valcourt has moved in with his uncle along with his mother and sister to find a way to support themselves now that their father has left them. Alec only hopes that as a Dancing and Fencing Master, he might provide the finances that would allow them to find a  home of their own. But when Alec learns that dancing is banned in the town of Beaworthy, he finds his dreams are as lost as his family. How will he be able to provide for his family if he has no skills to do so? How will he be able to provide for any women he falls in love with if he has no hope for a future at anything? Will there be a time to restore dancing in the town of Beaworthy again?

I received The Dancing Master by Julie Klassen compliments of Bethany House Publishers and Litfuse Book Tours for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed in this review are strictly my own. I tried delaying the end of this novel as long as I could but somehow like all great things it has to come to an end. My only hope is that Julie Klassen has something else brewing very soon in the future. There simply hasn't been a book of hers I haven't fallen head over heels in love with. Fans of Jane Austen, Downton Abbey or traditional regency fans will LOVE this novel and is why I can easily give this one a 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion. There is even a discussion guide at the end that is excellent for book groups to utilize.

For more information about The Dancing Master, Julie Klassen or where to pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can find Julie Klassen on Facebook to stay up to date with all her latest novels.

 To read more reviews on The Dancing Master from the TLC Book Tour, please click here. 


Best-selling author Julie Klassen will be hosting a Kindle Fire HDX giveaway and a live webcast event (1/23) to celebrate the release of her latest novel, The Dancing Master. Enter and RSVP today!

dancingmaster-400
 
  One winner will receive:
  • A Kindle Fire HDX
  • The Dancing Master by Julie Klassen
Enter today by clicking one of the icons below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on January 23rd. Winner will be announced at the "All Things Jane (from Austen to Eyre)" Live Webcast Event on January 23rd. Connect with Julie for an evening of book chat, trivia, laughter, and more! Julie will also be taking questions from the audience and giving away books, Jane Austen DVDs, fun "Jane" merchandise, and gift certificates throughout the evening.

So grab your copy of The Dancing Master and join Julie and friends on the evening of January 23rd for a chance to connect and make some new friends. (If you haven't read the book, don't let that stop you from coming!)

Don't miss a moment of the fun; RSVP today by signing up for a reminder. Tell your friends via FACEBOOK or TWITTER and increase your chances of winning. Hope to see you on the 23rd!

He Did You A Favor - Giveaway and Review



"A breakup can sometimes send us reeling. Whether we were together for 10 years or 10 weeks, it can leave us doubting ourselves and our ability to ever find enough ice cream (or pork carnitas) to make us feel better. Even if we initiated it, or thought that it wouldn't be a big deal, a breakup can knock us off course in big ways and small.

Nearly everyone has had a breakup that has shaken them to the core. To add to the agony, often times they feel like they should be getting over it better, more quickly, or with fewer tears or obsessive thoughts. They feel that having a hard time with it somehow makes them weak or unhealthy.

If the relationship was meaningful, there's virtually no way to avoid the sting of a breakup completely. And it would probably make you less human if you didn't feel something. But what do you want that something to be? And how do you want to use it to forge ahead?

"It's natural for us to turn to our friends for sympathy and advice. A good friend can empathize and help us feel like we're not the loser we think we are in the moment. During her years researching the power of friendship for her book The Friendship Fix, she has learned that friendship can be downright magical in its own right. But in the wake of an earth shattering romantic breakup, sometimes even the best of friends can't do much to dig us out of our hole.

This is just one of the things you can learn from this time period. If breakups are bound to make you feel something, there's a big and meaningful difference between that something being pure misery, and that something being new understanding of yourself in a way that helps you move forward as a stronger, wiser, and more insightful human being. The latter is a person who knows herself better, and is better situated to take the steps needed to find more fulfilling relationships. Virtually all of us would choose that something.

So how do you get there? The answers to those questions fall much more squarely in your control, and by picking up He Did You A Favor, you've taken the first step in choosing to make things better for yourself. But perhaps you're balking at the idea that reading a book can help you. The whole breakup business can tread into downright clich├Ęd territory: from Hollywood ending that have Much-Better Dude Number Two entering stage left the moment Dude Number One is done, to the friends who tell you that someone now you're simply "better off" - when you haven't showered in days.

This book is packed with inspirations, motivation, and step-by-step tips to guide you through this important time in your life. Debra Rogers brilliantly shares her own stories, and those of other women, to help you work through all the stages of breakup recovery. In the pages of this book, you will find others who understand exactly what you're going through and you'll come to realize you're not a loser (even if you did eat that entire tub of chocolate chunk ice cream) - and you're not alone." (excerpt.)

I received He Did You A Favor by Debra Rogers compliments of Book Sparks for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed are strictly my own. I only wish I would have had a book like this when I was a teen and going through those difficult moments of high school crushes and even life changing break ups. I think the one thing I loved most about this book is that you can feel like Debra knows what you're going through, how you feel and even adds just the right amount of humor so you can find yourself smiling again. It's not a quick fix, but it's designed to help you see past believing your life is over and that it's all your fault. That you could have done anything to change it. The chapter are designed to be intriguing and fun, like Your Super Sucky Breakup includes such notable topics like He Did You A Favor because You Get to Purge Mr. Not Worthy or He Did You A Favor because His Excuse is Your Ticket to Freedom! All in all, I am so glad I have this because as a parent who is dealing with teen girls, I know I'll be rereading it again and again and even handing this to them as they go through it when it comes. I easily give this one a 4.5 out of 5 stars in my opinion.

Now for the fun part, thanks to the generosity of Book Sparks, they are providing a giveaway copy to one lucky follower of my blog, Reviews From The Heart. Here are your details to enter:

1. Be a follower of my blog Reviews From The Heart. 

2. "Like" He Did You A Favor's Facebook page. 

3. Be a resident of the US or have a US shipping address. Please No P.O. Boxes.

4. Leave me a comment below telling me why you'd love to win a copy of this book. Don't forget to include your email address. You can use the words (at) and (dot) instead of the symbols.

The giveaway will end on January 31st and I will notify the winner by email at that time.

For more information about He Did You A Favor, Debra Rogers, or where you can pick up a copy of this book, please click on the links below:


You can find Debra Rogers on Facebook to stay up to date on all her latest novels.

You can also join Debra Rogers on Twitter by clicking here. 


For the Love of Pete



Ever since Bethany Hanahan moved back to Bloomfield after her husband Charlie passed away two and a half years ago, people have been after her to get rid of the clutter - first her mother Naomi and then a few other garden club members who meant well. But until recently, she didn't see it as clutter. To Bethany, it was all about the memories. Charlie had been a wonderful husband and father before he found out he had advanced stage prostate cancer. After he passed away, her mother had tried to talk her into returning to Bloomfield, but she decided to wait until Ashley finished high school before moving into the modest house Charlie's parents had left them.

Charlie and Pete both worked for their families' businesses part-time during high school, with the understanding they'd eventually go full-time until their parent retired. Bethany and Charlie hung around for a couple of years, but he grew tired of Bloomfield and the small-town quirkiness. Leaving her family and friends, she moved away with him as soon as he could find a job. She compensated for her homesickness by finding joy in Charlie's happiness.

Bethany once thought they might eventually move back to Bloomfield, but after Ashley was born, that changed. Bethany and Charlie didn't want to pull their daughter away from the church-based social life that kept her busy with so many activities. But now all of that changed with Charlie's death. If only she could find a way to part with the many knick knacks that now filled her small home literally to overflowing leaving no room for movement or cleaning. If only she knew a way to do that, she just might more than light at the end of the tunnel in moving on.

In the novel For the Love of Pete by Debby Mayne, Bethany Hanahan remains at the center of what her mother Naomi believes is best for her and trying to find a happy medium to keep her sanity in tack. She just isn't ready to part with the overflowing keepsakes from Charlie's mother, the gifts that Charlie and Ashley have helped her collect over the years they had with one another, but now it seems that everyone knows what's best for Bethany without taking her feelings into consideration. All except Pete, who has always carried a torch for Bethany since he and Charlie vied for her heart so many years ago. But Pete isn't sure when will be the right time to tell her how he felt even though everyone else in town can see it as plain as day. Is there hope for Pete to find a way into Bethany's already cluttered and overflowing life? Only time will tell!

I received For the Love of Pete by Debby Mayne compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance and B and H Publishing Group for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed are strictly my own. I can understand the conflicts that Bethany is facing with each object that has filled her home. It carries with it the time and place of someone close to her, the day she got it and most importantly the love she feels by touching it and remembering. Her mother only wants to see her moving on with her life instead of remaining locked away in her home with only things from the past keeping her company. Pete is the perfect hero to come along at a time when she really needs a true friend! I rate this novel a 4 out of 5 stars and love how well Debby Mayne put all the elements together to create a truly remarkable series readers will love.

For more information For the Love of Pete, Debby Mayne, or where to pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can also find Debby Mayne on Facebook to stay up to date with all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on For the Love of Pete from the Christian Fiction Blog Alliance Book Tour, click here. 
  • Series: A Bloomfield Novel
  • Paperback: 320 pages
  • Publisher: B&H Books (January 15, 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 143367730X
  • ISBN-13: 978-1433677304
  • Product Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.5 x 1 inches

Tuesday, January 21, 2014

Rapture Factor on America - Giveaway and Review



If anyone asked me what my favorite book in the Bible is, by far it would be the book of Revelation! Not only does it forecast the end result of what will ultimately happen between God versus Satan but also gives us the hope for a eternal future with Jesus Christ as a believer. That when this life is over, it is just truly beginning. As a believer, I have been intrigued by Bible Prophecy and love to follow along and decipher what clues lie within the scriptures that are just waiting to be fulfilled as well as the 100% accuracy of the ones that have been filled.

However when you look at the status of the way things are going in the world whenever it has come to Bible Prophecy and the end times, we are told to look to Israel to be placed on center stage. We see in prophecy the major players at the end, but one component is missing, where is the United States in all of this? The world super power we are today will not be the world super power of the future and it's chilling to see what Bible Prophecy has to say in where we began as a blessed nation with Christian biblical foundations, although some would love to argue that point including our own government leaders of today, but also where we as a country are headed. Is God removing His hand of protection over the United States? Are we too far gone to gain back what we have had in the past? What hopes lies in store for the United States if we continue on the same path of destruction we are on currently?

You might just want to pick up Edwards L. Brownlee's latest book Rapture Factor on America for a chilling look at our biblical past and see just how much it parallels with Israel. I found so much valuable information in this book I had never connected the proverbial dots to. The thirteen tribes of Israel that had to flee across the Red Sea to gain freedom to worship God as they saw fit, much like the thirteen original colonies that came her across the Atlantic fleeing freedom from a King that wanted to control their religious freedoms. Interesting connection? This is just a handful of the blessings that have joined the US with Israel and how God has blessed us with our alliance with Israel. Now that we have long since abandoned our need for God in this current generation through the misinterpretation of the separation of church and state, to the removal of the Bible and prayer in schools and businesses. This book is such a great resource for anyone who loves Bible Prophecy and End Times events in relation to what God's Word provides.

I received Rapture Factor on America by Edward l. Brownlee compliments of Tate Publishing and Edward L. Brownlee for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation and the opinions expressed in this review are strictly my own unless otherwise noted. I love the historical research that the author did in providing his facts and interpretations of what the Bible scriptures have to say and provided all sorts of reference for your own fact checking. It is a chilling look at how far we as a blessed nation have truly fallen into our own self gratification and how we have simply pushed God to the back burner. For those that remain after the rapture, I don't believe there will be much in the way of the United States maintaining it's status as a blessed nation any longer and if today's signs are pointing to anything, it's that the rapture of the church is literally on the horizon to happen very soon! I easily give this book a 5 out of 5 stars and intend to go back through it in detail again being the huge history and prophecy lover that I am.

Now for the best part, thanks to the generosity of Edward L. Brownlee and Tate Publishing, they are providing a giveaway copy to one lucky follower of my blog Reviews From The Heart. Here are your guidelines:

1. Be a follower of my blog, Reviews From The Heart.

2. "Like" Rapture Factor on America on Facebook. 

3. Be a resident of the US or have a US shipping address. Please No P.O.Boxes.

4. Leave me a comment telling me in detail why you'd love to win a copy of this book. Don't forget to include your email address and you can use the words (at) and (dot) instead of the symbols.

The giveaway ends on January 31st and I will notify the winner of the giveaway by email at that time.

For more information about Rapture Factor on America, Edward L. Brownlee, or where to pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can also find out more information on Facebook on the Rapture Factor on America. 

  • Paperback: 260 pages
  • Publisher: Tate Publishing (October 22, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1627466207
  • ISBN-13: 978-1627466202
  • Product Dimensions: 0.6 x 5.4 x 8.4 inches



Tuesday, January 14, 2014

Once Upon A Winter's Heart



As Emma Burcelli heads home to her Nona's after learning of the death of her Poppi, she wonders if the last of the true romantic men has truly died as well. It seems like her Nona and Poppi's marriage was the perfect role model of what a happily ever after marriage really looked like, and after all the men she has ever met, there has been no one like Poppi. Guess all the good ones really are gone.

Leaving her marketing job in Seattle far behind after sensing this truly wasn't the dream job for her, she now has more than enough time to help her Nona get settled and help with the funeral arrangements. When she arrives at her Nona's home in the mountains, the last person she expected to see there was her mother. Thinking the worst, she heads inside only to learn that her mother has left her father. It seems that even her own parents couldn't make romance and love work in their own marriage living more like room mates than husband and wife. Oh sure, they could make it look good on the outside for appearances sake, but to those that really knew them like family, it was only a matter of time before things took a toll on either of them.

But her Nona's home wasn't situated for both of them to sleep properly and knowing her mother, Emma only believed it was a matter of time before her mother high tailed it back home. Without all the luxuries she had come to enjoy, living in a simple fashion hardly suited her mother including sleeping in a twin sized bed alongside Emma. Knowing that Valentine's day was truly something to be celebrated at her grandfather's bookstore, Nona asks Emma to help make sure all the decorations are up. But with romance and love being the furthest thing from her mind, Emma is the epitome of the Valentine's Day grouch. But when Lane Forester shows up late one rainy night, she wonder if the man her grandfather was mentoring could truly be her prince charming after all. The only thing standing in her way, is that her perfect blonde sister Anne has already claimed Lane as her boyfriend and has asked Emma to back off. But is it really that simple?

I received Once Upon A Winter's Heart by Melody Carlson compliments of Center Street, a division of Hachette Book Groups for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own. This is such a charming and heartwarming book perfect as a gift for Valentine's day or anytime you want that wonderful feeling of falling in love all over again. Grab a glass of wine, some of your favorite chocolates and don't forget to add just the right music, Dean Martin and you've got the perfect recipe for love! I easily give this one a 5 out of 5 stars!

For more information about Once Upon A Winter's Heart, Melody Carlson or where you can pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can also follow Melody Carlson on Facebook to stay up to date with all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on Once Upon A Winter's Heart, please visit Center Streets Website. 

  • Paperback: 160 pages
  • Publisher: Center Street (January 7, 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1455528110
  • ISBN-13: 978-1455528110
  • Product Dimensions: 8 x 5.2 x 0.5 inches



Monday, January 13, 2014

Dragonflies, Ketchup and Late-Night Phone Calls ~ Giveaway and Review



When you think of the blessings in your life? What do you think of? The love of your family, warm sunny days, or perhaps ketchup? Author Daphne Tarango has written an exceptional book designed to help you journal 31-days of God's Blessings by focusing on those things we often take for granted every single day and offer you a refreshing perspective on your life. In Dragonflies, Ketchup and Late-Night Phone Calls, Daphne shares with you her unique look into why those three unusual things are reminders of times in her life when God offered her blessings in those every day things.

If you're at least half as curious as I was, you will definitely LOVE this book. In it, she lays out for you the background of what just those three things have meant in your life, and trust me you'll never look at them the same way again. Each of the 31 days in this blessings journal begins with a biblical verse about thankfulness. This opening verse sets the stage for a general prayer of praise and thanksgiving for the day. She encourages you to read the verse and the prayer, to use it during your quiet times at morning or night, or to meditate on it throughout the day. If something in the prayer resonates with you, she encourages you to write it on the notes page at the end of each day.

Dragonflies, Ketchup, and Late-Night Phone Calls is unique in that it goes beyond general thank-yous to God. After the opening prayer, you will see a page on which you can quickly fill in your specific blessings for that day. Remember, you can use the notes page at the end of each chapter for jotting down more thank-yous to God.

At first, it might be difficult to remember specific blessings on any given day. But she has designed Dragonflies, Ketchup, and Late Night-Phone Calls to help you along the way. Each day has four sections: Morning, Mid-Day, Evening and Bedtime. Throughout the day take time to open your journal and record some of the things that have happened to you that you often times don't see as a blessing and what it means to you. Some of the things I have recorded are hot showers on cold mornings, pre-made coffee in your coffee maker that make your mornings a bit easier, the way my cats sense when I need them and sit in my lap providing me with unconditional love.

After each section you will see the words: "For these things, I thank you. Amen. As I have mentioned earlier, the author envisioned each journal entry as its own prayer of praise and thanksgiving. This sentence brings that prayer together with one final thanks and affirmation. Doing so will lift your spirits and remind you how God is with you every minute of the day. I guarantee: You will see more and more of His goodness in your life and you WILL want to write it down. At the end of 31 days, you will have one big praise report of God's goodness. You can use it to encourage yourself, to inspire others, or both. You can use it to share your testimony with others: Family, friends, grandchildren and even strangers.

I received Dragonflies, Ketchup and Late-Night Phone Calls by Daphne Tarango compliments of Comfort Station Publications and Daphne Tarango for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed in this review are strictly my own. This is such a great way to journal 31 days of things we often times take for granted and fail to see them as blessings. Each time my husband travels out of town, is a time for me to spend those moments drawing closer to God in my own way without interruption and I never really thought of that as a blessing before. Now I am actively seeing God's hand in my life in new ways and carry my journal around with me all day to record those moments. Even after these 31 days, I plan on keeping my own gratitude and blessing journal to draw strength when the storms of life call. I easily give this a 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion.

For more information about Dragonflies, Ketchup and Late-Night Phone Calls, Daphne Tarango, or where you can pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can also find Daphne Tarango on Facebook to stay up to date on all her latest novels. 

 Now the best part, thanks to Daphne Tarango's generosity she is offering a signed copy of her book to one lucky follower of my blog Reviews From The Heart. Here's all you need to do to enter: 

1. Be a follower of my blog, Reviews From The Heart. 

2. "Like" Daphne's Facebook page and stop by and say Hi!

3. Be a resident of the US or have a US Shipping address. Please No P.O. Boxes. 

4. Leave a comment below telling me why you'd love to win a copy of Dragonflies, Ketchup and Late-Night Phone calls along with your email address. You can use the words (at) and (dot) instead of the symbols. 

The giveaway will end on January 20th and I will notify the winner by email at that time. So be sure to include your email address along with your comment below!
  • Paperback: 174 pages
  • Publisher: Comfort Station Publications; 1 edition (December 14, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 061592655X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0615926551
  • Product Dimensions: 9 x 6 x 0.4 inches



 


Sunday, January 12, 2014

The Noticer Returns



Ever wonder how some people handle life in general without really knowing them? The is a saying Don't Sweat The Small Stuff, in fact there are several books written that would have us think there is some great wisdom found by a simple quote tucked inside. But is there really? To a man known simply as Jones, Not Mr. Jones. Just Jones.

Jones is a old man that is always around even though you may not see him as is the case for Andy Andrews who has run into Jones more than a handful of times and knows undoubtedly he will see him again, but not sure when. Just that he will.

If you handed Jones that sentiment about not sweating the small stuff he would tell you "that is a lie and one that will ruin your life. He would tell you that your choices, your words and every move you make are permanent. Life is lived in indelible ink. Wake up. You're making little bitty brushstrokes every minute you walk around on this earth. And with those tiny brushstrokes, you are creating the painting that your life will ultimately become-a masterpiece or a disaster.

You need to understand a very important fact about your earthly existence. It is this: Every single day for the rest of your life, somebody is going to push you in the pool. And you'd better decide now how you're going to act when it happens.

Are you going to come out of the water whining? Maybe crying and complaining? Will you throw fits or worse?

Or will you come out of the water with a smile on your face? Looking to see what you can learn...who you might help? Will you act happy though you feel uncertain?

Almost every result that your life produces from this moment forward-good or bad-will depend upon how you choose. Every day, in one form or another, whether you like it or not, you will be pushed in the pool. You might as well decide right now how you'll act when it happens."

This is just one of the many eye-opening conversations that Andy will have with his encounter with Jones as well as handful of others he writes about in the Noticer Returns. If you haven't read the Noticer, please take the time to read that one first. Each of these books, I promise you will be highlighted and dog-eared with so many wonderful nuggets of wisdom that no two people will gain the same perspective out of it but it will be life changing. I can only hope that Jones will return soon with another amazing book. For now however, this one along with the Noticer remain on my personal best loved book shelf. They will be books I reference often when a situation calls for a visit from Jones again to help me gain a different perspective on things in my life. I too, Jones, choose an extraordinary life!!!

I received The Noticer Returns by Andy Andrews as a gift from my husband who has enjoyed taking this journey with me through several of Andy Andrews books and every single time there is a new one, he knows without a doubt it will be a "have to have!" If you are looking for something that when you read it will be so life changing you will want to read it again and again? Pick this one up! I personally rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and have even given away a copy to someone I knew could use it just when they needed it the most. Jones would be proud. This is a inspirational and motivational book that would be perfect for parents, coaches, employees and anyone who wants something more out of life than just the ordinary!!

For more information about The Noticer Returns, Andy Andrews or where to pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can also find Andy Andrews on Facebook to stay up to date with all his latest books.

  • Hardcover: 240 pages
  • Publisher: Thomas Nelson (October 1, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0785231455
  • ISBN-13: 978-0785231455
  • Product Dimensions: 8.5 x 5.8 x 0.9 inches



Friday, January 10, 2014

She Shall Be Praised



All Emma Cromwell hoped for when she set out on her journey to Portland, Oregon was to learn to rely on herself and not the men in her life. After spending time in the social circles in Denver and finding little in the way of friendships with women and nothing but the attention of suitable gentlemen, Emma wanted to see if she could handle life without someone making all the decisions for her. So when her father agreed to send her by coach along with the pastor and his wife, he felt he had done the right thing. After all he finally got Emma to agree to marry Joshua Hamilton, a suitable match in both business and for making sure he could provide for his daughter. Now she only has to get from Denver to Oregon in one piece.

But like all great novels, there is a twist of fate when Emma has to stop the coach to allow the dog she was gifted from Mr. Hamilton as an engagement present to do her constitutionals. Little did she imagine that the coach would be held up and the driver leave her behind in an effort to avoid being robbed. Now she is left in the care of two bumbling thieves who know they can't abandon her in the middle of the forest. One of the men, Ned, wants to be the true gentleman while Sawyer sees her like an object of desire and one that she can't trust. When she is taken back to their camp, she learns that they are more than just thieves, they have also stolen sheep from the local rancher and they are hoping to stay long enough to make some money off them.

Peter Lowery knows that the size of his sheep herd is dwindling and believes that someone is stealing from him. Instead of getting the sheriff involved since he lives so far from town, he opts to do the investigation on his own. He soon stumbles upon Ned and Sawyer in a hidden canyon, and with his ranch foreman, Colley, they are able to capture them. What he didn't expect was to find a beautiful woman being held hostage along with a dog. Knowing he can't leave her behind, he takes Emma back to the ranch with the thieves. Unfortunately for all of them, he can't risk taking Emma back to town until the fall. Being short-handed on the ranch at a critical time for his sheep herd, he can't spare anyone to take Emma to town even though he knows her father must be concerned to know if she is OK. Will a socialite be able to earn her keep living on a sheep ranch even though none of the skills she possesses will help out? Will Emma find a way to return home to her father on her own?

I received She Shall Be Praised by Ginny Aiken compliments of Faith Words, a division of Hachette Book Group for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own. This is the third book in the Women of Hope Series and I have LOVED this novel. Set in the late 1800's this is a story of how Emma learns to dig deep and find the knowledge and determination to fit in despite what Peter thinks of her. She also learns that Peter has lost his wife has also left behind a young son who finds much more in Emma than a friend. This one is worth every single one of the 5 out of 5 stars and I can't wait for more from Ginny Aiken in the future.

For more information about She Shall Be Praised, Ginny Aiken, or where to pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can find Ginny Aiken on Facebook to stay up to date on all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on She Shall Be Praised, please visit Faith Word's website.

  • Series: Women of Hope
  • Paperback: 400 pages
  • Publisher: FaithWords (January 7, 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 089296846X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0892968466
  • Product Dimensions: 8 x 5.2 x 1.2 inches





Thursday, January 9, 2014

Carolina Gold



Charlotte Fraser has gumption. A willingness to dig deep even though the men around her believe that she will ultimately fail. With the death of her father behind her, she heads back to her family home in Fairhaven now that the Civil War has ended. She has been told not to expect anything to be left since the freed slaves and Yankees have left nothing of value behind. She knows she will need to do whatever she can to ensure that the rice crop is planted to provide a living for her and to pay back the bank loan she has acquired. The only thing that remains in her name is the property at Fairhaven as well as the summer home at Pelican Cottage. The only question is the validity of her families claims on the property at Fairhaven since a land deed in her father's name can't be found.

Charlotte hopes that the remaining clue her father whispered to her about remembering the fire will lead her to discover some hope that she will not have to leave the only home she has ever known. She is more than pleased to find that some of the families she has grown up with have also moved back to South Carolina but now that all the slaves are free, Charlotte isn't quite sure how she will manage planting rice crops with no labor available. The only few men remaining now realize that they can charge Charlotte whatever the going rate is to restore some of her crops. When she arrives home, she finds the family home literally gutted. Not even the bathtub remains. The barn is in shambles, no live stock remains, and the fields where her family grew lots of rice and vegetables is in a state of disrepair. She soon bands together with the local family to hire a group of men to help plant their rice crops along with selling her stories to the Enterprise newspaper about the Southern Reconstruction efforts.

When Nicholas Betancourt moves back to Willowood, he hopes he can pursued her to tutor his two young girls while he himself attempts to start over, but Charlotte is far from qualified to teach anyone. Her methods don't follow the tradition formal training a teacher would use but she could definitely use the money to help make ends meet. Nicholas is hoping that having a woman's presence back in his daughters lives will help them readjust to a life after the death of their mother. Soon Charlotte finds a friendship with Nicholas she wasn't expecting and wonders if love can possibly arrive from the ashes of war. Being a woman living alone presents some problems for her but nothing she can't manage with raw determination and grit. Now if she can only put her mind at ease and locate the papers her father must have had to show ownership of the property otherwise all the money she is investing will be in vain.

I received Carolina Gold by Dorothy Love compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed are strictly my own. This novel was based on the true story of a Carolina rice plantation owner Elizabeth Allston Pringle. The author Dorothy Love shares just how she came to develop the storyline which gives readers an inside look at how this woman struggles in the midst of coming home after the Civil War and trying to make a start of things when life was extremely difficult with the many changes the war left. I have read every single book that Dorothy Love has written and once again, I give this one a 5 out of 5 stars. I love historical fiction and learning a little bit about history that I had never known before.

For more information about Carolina Gold, Dorothy Love, or where to pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can find Dorothy Love on Facebook to stay up to date with all her latest novels. 

To read more reviews on Carolina Gold from the Litfuse Publicity Book Tour, please click here. 

  • Paperback: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Thomas Nelson (December 10, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 140168761X
  • ISBN-13: 978-1401687618
  • Product Dimensions: 8.2 x 5.4 x 1 inches



Don't miss Dorothy Love's latest historical novel, Carolina Gold. Fun news: The release of Carolina Gold coincides with Dorothy's birthday. Celebrate with her by entering the Southern Essentials Giveaway and RSVPing to her Facebook party on January 14th!
carolinagold-400
 
Between January 3–14, visit Dorothy Love's Facebook Page to enter to win a new giveaway each day and be entered to win the $100 Visa Cash Card grand prize. Winners will be announced at the Facebook Author Chat party on January 14th! (Don't have a Facebook account? Enter here.) RSVP today for Dorothy's Carolina Gold Author Chat Party on Facebook.

During the party Dorothy will be hosting a book chat, testing your trivia skills, announcing the winner of the Southern Essentials Giveaway, and giving away books, gift certificates, and more. Oh, and she'll also be giving partygoers an exclusive look at her next book!

So grab your copy of Carolina Gold and help Dorothy celebrate her birthday on the evening of January 14th! (If you haven’t read the book, don’t let that stop you from coming!)

DON’T MISS A MOMENT OF THE FUN; RSVP TODAY. HOPE TO SEE YOU ON THE 14th!

Tuesday, January 7, 2014

The Dancing Master



For me, the ear marks of a great novel is when the author truly takes the time to create a story and characters you can relate to and care about. One that doesn't worry about how many pages are in the novel as long as the storyline they thought through is conveyed in the manner they hoped. One that doesn't spend a lot of time in the build up of the novel only to rush through it quickly in a hurried breath at the end. Julie Klassen is that author.

Being a huge fan of traditional regency novels and television series like Downton Abbey, I love the look back in time when men were truly gallant and women were cherished and treated like ladies. If they were interested in one another, a chaperone was sent along as they spent time getting to know one another through walks in the garden or in carriage rides. This is one of those very heartwarming and hold your breath novels. One you will know from the very beginning you've reached something you won't want to rush through because when it does end, you'll be sad. Sad that it's over and you'll have to wait for more to come in the near future. I've been fortunate to read all of Julie Klassen's novels and this one is a masterpiece.

Julia Midwinter is the only daughter of Amelia Midwinter, one of the richest women in the town of Beaworthy. She is not at a loss of handsome suitors although none of them have caught her eye in the way of falling in love like she dreamed. She has fun practicing the art of flirting whenever the opportunity presents itself but finds life rather boring without balls or social outings one would find in London. Since her mother presides over the town and it's parish, dancing and balls have been banned. There is no law on the books but since the death of her Uncle, the entire town has gone along with request. If only Julia could get her to explain the reasons why, but her mother remains tight lipped about why.

However when a stranger moves to town along with his mother and sister, Julia's interest is more than sparked. She finds a man that will challenge even her boldest moves. He refuses to treat her with anything less than the respect a lady deserves even if it means he has to walk away most times. Alec Valcourt has moved in with his uncle along with his mother and sister to find a way to support themselves now that their father has left them. Alec only hopes that as a Dancing and Fencing Master, he might provide the finances that would allow them to find a  home of their own. But when Alec learns that dancing is banned in the town of Beaworthy, he finds his dreams are as lost as his family. How will he be able to provide for his family if he has no skills to do so? How will he be able to provide for any women he falls in love with if he has no hope for a future at anything? Will there be a time to restore dancing in the town of Beaworthy again?

I received The Dancing Master by Julie Klassen compliments of Bethany House Publishers and TLC Book Tours for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed in this review are strictly my own. I tried delaying the end of this novel as long as I could but somehow like all great things it has to come to an end. My only hope is that Julie Klassen has something else brewing very soon in the future. There simply hasn't been a book of hers I haven't fallen head over heels in love with. Fans of Jane Austen, Downton Abbey or traditional regency fans will LOVE this novel and is why I can easily give this one a 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion. There is even a discussion guide at the end that is excellent for book groups to utilize.

For more information about The Dancing Master, Julie Klassen or where to pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can find Julie Klassen on Facebook to stay up to date with all her latest novels.

 To read more reviews on The Dancing Master from the TLC Book Tour, please click here. 


Monday, January 6, 2014

Tempest's Course



Kelly Frost is hoping to find the one job that will be enough to pay for her expenses and keep her head above water. When she finds herself in New Bedford at the Gray House, she begins the close examination of the vintage mariner's compass quilt that is in desperate need of restoration. Kelly is hoping that she will be able to make the bid on the restoration high enough to compensate her for the time and energy she will need to repair this quilt but also low enough not to outbid her chances. Fortunately for her she gets confirmation that she has won the right to this project. The only criteria she didn't plan on was the proprietor wants to quilt to remain in the house while the restoration is completed. They will allow her to move in and use the home for the length of the project.

Now if Kelly can only put her past behind her and continue to work on building her business after her failure with her recent breakup of a curator of a large museum. Turns out while he was romancing her, he failed to let on that he was married. Now placed in a precarious situation, she is in competition with his ex-wife in the very same industry of textile restoration. It seems that sometimes in life, you can't escape your past no matter how much you try to begin again.

Tom Pereira is the groundskeeper for the Gray House and has been asked by the foundation Firstborn Holdings, LLC,  to keep an eye on Kelly Frost. Even though she has passed the background, something in her character references if off and causes the owner concern. But Tom has his own demons that are haunting him about his past. He never can seem to measure up to the standards his father had wanted for him. giving up attending college and instead enlisting in the service was Tom's choice, his father felt the choice was the wrong one to make. Now plagued with seizures, Tom only hopes to get through this project and find a way to keep his own head above water. But with the downsizing in the economy, it seems like all his contacts are coming up short. Hopefully his job at Gray House will be enough.

I received Tempest's Course by Lynette Sowell compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance and Abingdon Press for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed are strictly my own. Being a huge lover of quilts and occassionally trying my own hand at quilting, I know that most carry a story locked away in the fibers much like the Mariner's Compass Quilt does that Kelly Frost works on. Toggling back between an old journal she discovers from the quilts owner, she discovers that some secrets carry a great sacrifice and will one day shine the light on what the meaning of redemption really means. This is the 13th book in the Quilts of Love series and one I rate a 4.5 out of 5 stars. I've had the pleasure of reading almost all of them and each is truly their own work of art between the pages of the authors that have written them.

For more information about Tempest's Course, Lynette Sowell or where to pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can find Lynette Sowell on Facebook to stay up to date with all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on Tempest's Course, please visit Christian Fiction Blog Alliance Book Tours. 

  • Series: Quilts of Love (Book 13)
  • Paperback: 240 pages
  • Publisher: Abingdon Press (December 17, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1426752768
  • ISBN-13: 978-1426752766
  • Product Dimensions: 0.2 x 7.3 x 9.5 inches