The Best People In The World!

Thursday, April 30, 2015

To Win Her Favor



Take the love of horses and combine it with the love of history in America and you have the new Belle Meade Plantation series from Tamera Alexander. In the second novel to debut in this series, To Win Her Favor, the reader is transported to Tennessee in 1869. We find the discrimination of the Irish is just as predominant as it is for black slaves. With signs up all around town, the fresh start that Cullen McGrath was looking for in buying some land to begin a new life in America seems to be against him. It doesn't matter that he has plenty of money, no one will do business with him. Armed with the auction listings for farms, he sets out with hope he might be able to convince the owner to sell the property to him before an auction begins and thus secure a home for himself.

For Maggie Linden and her father Gilbert, they need to find a way to pay off the debt on their property or face watching it being auctioned off in the next two weeks. Since the end of the war, families like hers that have owned their land for generations are now watching northerners move in and buy up all the farms leaving them without a way to make a living. Maggie knows if she can convince her father to give her one more shot at racing Bourbon Belle, her thoroughbred mare, she might just win enough to save their property. But with his health failing, Maggie doesn't believe she'll have the time left to do it before the auction or before her father passes on.

When Cullen McGrath appears, her father believes that he is the answer to his prayer. Knowing a good man when he sees him, Cullen offers to pay off the debt on the property and allow Maggie and Gilbert to remain for all long as they have need. But Gilbert knows that once he passes away, Maggie's reputation as a single woman living with a single man would be called into question. The only solution is to have Cullen marry Maggie and offer him a huge reduction in what he was planning on selling the land for. Perhaps they both might benefit if they can only find a way to convince Maggie that their plan is what is best for her. But life isn't that easy!

I received To Win Her Favor by Tamera Alexander compliments of Zondervan Publishing and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation aside from a free copy of the book for my honest review and the opinions contained here are strictly my own. This is such a beautiful novel because of all the elements that come together to show how much animosity was still prevalent into the nineteenth century and provide historical insight on prejudice. It shows how prejudice will affect not only our lives but our choices  and we see from the characters in this novel how each of them deals with them differently. Well written from a historical perspective I can't wait to see how Tamera will continue this theme in her future novels in the Belle Meade Plantation series to come. Well worth each of the 5 out of 5 stars.

For more information about To Win Her Favor, Tamera Alexander, or where you can pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can find Tamera Alexander on Facebook to stay up to date on all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on To Win Her Favor, please visit Litfuse Publicity's book tour page. 

Can Maggie prove that her mare, Bourbon Belle, can take the top purse in the inaugural Peyton Stakes, the richest race ever run in America? Find out in Tamera Alexander's To Win Her Favor. To give her that chance—and to save Linden Downs from being sold to the highest bidder—Maggie must marry a man she's never met. A man she never would have chosen for herself.

Celebrate the release of To Win Her Favor with a Kindle Fire and book giveaway!

to win her favor - 400

One grand prize winner will receive:
  • A Kindle Fire HD 6
  • A copy of To Win Her Favor
Enter today by clicking the icon below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on May 10th. Winner will be announced May 11th on Tamera's blog. Plus stay tuned for more opportunities to win after May 11 with a special Pinterest contest—more details coming soon!

to win her favor - enterbanner
{NOT ON FACEBOOK? ENTER HERE.}

Tuesday, April 28, 2015

Thick as Thieves



For girls 14 to 18 that are looking for a great series set back in the late 1800's that involve horses, you'll want to pick up Thick as Thieves, the first book in the Circle C Milestones Series, from Susan K. Marlow. As a young girl myself growing up there is such a connection with the love of a girl and her horse and that is why I absolutely recommend this book to your young readers as well.

Andrea Carter, who just turned 14, is the youngest on the Circle C Ranch but is about to get the surprise of her life when her Palomino, Taffy gives birth to two twin colts, Shasta and Sunny. As she tries to keep up training them, she still has to deal with attending school. Her mother is less than pleased when she brings  home less than favorable marks, which her mother suspects is caused by all her free time being used for training horses instead of studying. So until she can bring up her marks, she will have very limited time with them. Running a cattle and horse ranch is extraordinary busy but none more so than when suspected cattle thieves are slowly thinning the herds from the local ranchers.

Andi thinks things will go fine with the extra study time, until she is assigned as a seat mate at her desk in school with Macy Walker who will be the straw that breaks the camel's back at school. Before the end of her first day, Macy has given Cory, a classmate, a black eye, pulled more than one girls hair and has challenged the teacher to punish her if he dares. It will be all she can deal with if Macy gets her suspended from school for hitting her, then she will have even less time to work with her colts than she does now and forget raising her marks if she is kicked out of school. How can one girls life get so complicated?

I received Thick as Thieves by Susan K. Marlow compliments of Kregel Publications for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own. If you have a young adult who loves horse adventures, trust me, pick up this entire series. While this is the first in the Circle C Milestones, readers will enjoy learning more about Andi's life on the ranch with the Circle C Adventure Series and Circle C Beginnings as well. For me, this was an easy 5 out of 5 stars because I grew up loving books like this one. I only wish there were more to read when I grew up as there is now. This is such a great adventure and shows how difficult it is for Andi to maintain her Christian upbringing in the face of adversity and that just makes it all the more enjoyable because it is so real for teens in those situations!

For more information about Thick as Thieves, Susan K. Marlow or where you can pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can find Susan K. Marlow on Facebook to stay up to date on all her latest books.

To read more reviews on Thick as Thieves, please visit Kregel Publications book tour page. 


Monday, April 27, 2015

PUP: A Novel of Accidental Heroism



Sometimes a great novel can be summed by the extraordinary gift of storytelling by a talented writer. One that simply makes you forget your reading a book, but makes you feel like you stepped into real life. For me, that is simply, Christopher Slater and his novel, PUP: A Novel of Accidental Heroism. He was the winner of the authors first novel contest and after reading this book, you'll know with certainty why it was chosen.

I can saw it almost feels like a Forrest Gump story, of a young man PUP who has just graduated high school and has his future set on college. Knowing the Second Korean War has begun along with the draft he feels confident that he will not see combat based on his ability to have someone take one look at him for a likely candidate to be drafted and simply look the other way. But that is not what happens. In fact, PUP finds himself heading toward the South Sea along with many other soldiers who have begun to join the fight, but for the life of him, can't understand why he has been chosen, while many of the others have been chosen based on their ability to bench press most of the weights in a gym, PUP resembles the bar alone. Not to mention that he is prone to motion sickness, and takes just about everything on the market for it. He didn't plan on it making him nauseous and gains him an immediate dislike by a muscle bound soldier who insist that if PUP is going to throw up, he is going to rip off his nose and eat it. He later learns that this man is his squad leader with the nickname Hannibal. Wonder why?

The novel follows the coming of age that PUP will have to endure as he finds himself the FNG on the squad and will have to find ways to make himself useful to those who are on their second and third tours. Thinking he will be assigned to completing paperwork and requisitions, he is assigned infantry duty and soon learns the true meaning of pain when he heads out, fully loaded with no idea of how he will handle what war requires for someone like him. This one is a true trial by fire story of what so many of our young men had to endure on their first enlistments into fighting a war no one wanted to be a part of.

I received PUP: A Novel of Accidental Heroism by Christopher Slater by The Story Plant Publishing for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions contained here are strictly my own. This is such a great novel because I feel it has a sense of realism to it that is lacking in many military novels. Like I stated above it feels like a Forrest Gump story of how one unlikely soldier suddenly finds himself an unlikely hero and learns the meaning of what it is to lay down one life for another. There is humor, humility and a sense of growing up too soon when war comes calling that must be experienced by reading this book. For me, it is a 5 out of 5 stars and one I would LOVE to see brought to the big screen. It's the story of one man being in the wrong place at the right time to make a difference in the lives of those he serves with!

For more information about PUP: A Novel of Accidental Heroism, Christopher Slater or where to preorder a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can find Christopher Slater on Facebook to stay up to date on all his latest books.

To preorder a copy of PUP: A Novel of Accidental Heroism from Amazon due out in June, please click here.



Friday, April 24, 2015

BASH and the Chocolate Milk Cows



Spending time on the farm is what most kids would dream would be a time of untold imagination and unlimited fun. Where the sky is the limit and staying outside lasts well past the time the sun goes down. When Raymond William Boxby, known fondly as Beamer arrives to hang out with his third cousin, twice removed, but not far enough in Beamer's mind, Sebastian "Bash" Hinglehob. Their adventures are only beginning when reports of a robber being spotted in town, leaves Bash wanting to capture him and Beamer, trying to stay as far away as possible.

Things begin as most would expect adventurous boys would, building boats large enough for them to fit in to gain access to catching frogs in the small creek on the edge of the farm, to helping set the stage for the largest April Fool's Day joke even on Bash's father. It will be the day that the dairy cows will give chocolate milk for the first time, and as every kid knows there is no better milk to drink than chocolate milk. Beamer isn't sure how Bash is going to pull this off, and he knows based on all his other pranks they have been attempting to pull off, they are likely going to be reaping the consequences of those actions for a long, long time.

In the book, BASH and the Chocolate Milk Cows by Burton W. Cole, young readers will gain an true appreciation to what life was like before technology kept kids from being outside and letting their imaginations run wild. What Bash and Beamer do along with all the other kids from surrounding farms, is redefine what fun really is. From blasting off in a pretend chicken coop to galaxies far, far away, to smashing eggs on the dairy cows noses as they attempt to win the battle of the Moovarians versus the Cluckorians. Even the names the boys give to the frogs that they raise from tadpoles are completely hilarious and remind us all once more of the precious days of childhood.

I received BASH and the Chocolate Milk Cows by Burton W. Cole compliments of B and H Publishing Group and Shelton Interactive for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions contained here are strictly my own. I love the amazing illustrations that accompany the opening of each chapter. Just when you think the boys will finally stay out of trouble, they hatch another creative plot. It truly takes me back to my childhood days of catching frogs and trying to keep them at home, not a successful venture by the way, when they escape, and the unlimited ideas that come when two boys put their heads and imaginations together to fill their days when chores are done. The chocolate milk prank had to be my favorite one they manage to pull off but how they did it, will remain a secret until readers find out for themselves. I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and reminds me a lot of the Beverly Cleary series of books I read growing up.

For more information about BASH and the Chocolate Milk Cows, Burton W. Cole, or where you can pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can find more amazing books from Burton W. Cole by visiting his Facebook page. 

For more reviews on BASH and the Chocolate Milk Cows, please visit B and H Publishing Groups website. 




Thursday, April 23, 2015

The Desperate Diva Diaries



For anyone who loves the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series, but with a Christian twist, then you MUST pick up a copy of The Desperate Diva Diaries from Angie Spady. Written in similar format of the Diaries of the Wimpy Kid series, these are written from the perspective of Catie Conrad and her life in Middle School. Struggling with the same issues our teens face from secret crushes, bullying by the popular girls, struggling with school and life with her brother Jeremy who she refers to as Germ, the pest. it provides an outlet that teens can feel comfortable with.

This is the second novel, Catie Conrad: How to Become the Most Unpopular Girl in Middle School from Angie Spady. You don't have to read the first one to jump into this one and gain a true sense of appreciation from the things Catie struggles with. It's almost like a Christian version of Lizzie Maguire! Catie's help comes from her BFF, Sophie who is super smart and part of the Academic Team, who offers biblical advice when Catie has come to the end of her rope. While being far from perfect herself, Sophie struggles to deal with Miranda Maroni, the popular girl at school who never has anything nice to say to anyone who isn't in her click.

Even though Catie dreams of one day being a fashion diva through her many sketches of outfits and designing things from shirts to purses, she is your typical teen who has to deal with so many things on a daily basis. Her biggest challenge in this book is dealing with her younger brother, his pet skunk Rosie and just when she thinks it can't get any worse, he takes on the responsibility for caring for Dylan's bearded dragon when his family leaves to China to bring back their adopted sister. Now Catie has to deal with more pets than she can handle including her brother. Is there anyone who can understand?

I received The Desperate Diva Diaries: How To Become The Most Unpopular Girl in Middle School by Angie Spady compliments of Shelton Interactive and B and H Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions included here are strictly my own. I LOVE this series and have enjoyed reading them. I can see how young teens would benefit from sharing in the real life situations that Catie experiences, from failing a quiz, dealing with bullies, and trying to make a positive impression in her school and at home. This one even addresses volunteering and contributing to supporting the Compassion International program of helping out kids with monetary donations, but will the kids be able to part with their allowances? You'll have to read this one and see how it all turns out. The best thing I love about this is the Scripture references that Catie refers to when life is more than she can handle and how she attempts to live it out through her friends and family. Well worth a 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion.

For more information about The Desperate Diva Diaries: How To Become The Most Unpopular Girl in Middle School, Angie Spady or where you can pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can find The Desperate Diva Diaries on Facebook to stay up to date on all the latest books.

To read more reviews on The Desperate Diva Diaries, please visit B and H Publishers website.


Wednesday, April 22, 2015

Tiffany Girl



I love when authors use historical facts as the basis for their novels and in Tiffany Girl the latest novel from best-selling author Deeanne Gist, I got to learn a bit more about the wonderful women who were called upon by Louis Tiffany to help complete his stained glass chapel that he had planned on debuting. When the men went on strike, Mr. Tiffany relied upon the most unconventional help at that time, employing women to help cut and assemble the fantastic pieces of stained glass. It helped them during the struggles of single women in 1893 who often times found themselves working to hand over their money to the men in their lives, be it there fathers or husbands.

Often times had it not been for the money women made doing odd jobs like sewing or in this case working at the Tiffany Glass Company, many of them would be out on the streets. Work was becoming difficult for men and with the demands to work longer hours for very little money, some of them went on strike. But when women were called to take their places temporarily, many of the men made sure the women knew that they were less than pleased.

Florence Jayne is one of those young girls who has seen how the money her mother and her work so hard to bring in, is being gambled away by her father. Her mother is unwilling to stand up and demand that the money remain theirs, so Flossie takes it upon herself to become a "New Woman." A title designated for the women who believe in more than simply staying at home, marrying and starting their own families. Flossie feels that the only way that will happen is if she moves into a boarding house as she works for Mr. Tiffany.

While she is staying at the boarding house, she finds a family she never dreamed of having and sets to work to ensure that the people who live at the boarding house, feel just like family, so she incorporates various seating arrangements so people are forced to talk with someone new, she prepares questions to leave under their plate to help them get to know one another and encourages them to come together in the evening in the parlor. Reeve Wilder is an up and coming reporter who is tasked at sharing his time in the boarding house with the people who live there in a fictionalized story that is geared to help the newspaper continue to sell papers. Reeve is also a stanch advocate of women remaining at home and not part of the New Women movement. Soon sparks begin to fly in various ways as Flossie stays determine to not let men have the upper hand in everything she has to deal with, but will Mr. Wilder be able to tame the wild beast inside?

I receive Tiffany Girl by Deeanne Gist compliments of Howard Books, a division of Simon and Schuster for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions contained here are strictly my own. Seeing as I have a Tiffany Lamp on my desk, it was a great journey into the history behind how these lamps came to be and the history behind the working conditions for women in the late 1800's. For fans of Deeanne's others novels, It Happened at the Fair and Fair Play, you will definitely want to add this to your collection. There are so many great individual stories within this novel that it is hard to figure out which was my favorite, from Reeve's fictional stories, to Flossie's love of art that winds up virtually everywhere in the story. There are so amazing pictures that open much of each chapter that give the reader the essence of what is happening in this novel. Well done and a well-deserved 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion. There is a great Author's Note section that defines what is historical fact from fiction and a Reader's Discussion Guide as well.

For more information about Tiffany Girl, Deeanne Gist or where you can pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can find Deeanne Gist on Facebook to stay up to date on all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on Tiffany Girl, please visit Howard Book's website. 


Monday, April 20, 2015

Miracles From Heaven



The hardest thing for any parent is watching your child suffer and knowing there isn't anything you can do to help. That is the life that Christy and Kevin Beam witnessed for years as their daughter Annabel was diagnosed with a devastating digestive disease for which there is no cure, and would likely claim her life in the very near future. So for them, they never knew when Annabel's final day would come, so they did what most parents would do, is to try and make the remainder of those days the very best they could be.

Annabel's faith in God was always strong, despite the many tests, trials, medications, surgeries and lengthy hospitals stays she had to endure, she remained as strong as any child could. She held on to her faith in God. Being the middle daughter, her life was challenging at best. Sitting back watching others enjoy food was a luxury Annabel couldn't afford. Just taking a bite of food could set her in the hospital for obstructions in her intestines, and as you know, people celebrate life with food as part of life. How hard for a child to watch people open their stockings filled with candy and have to hand it over to others to enjoy.

But the Beams would never know how a seemingly innocent day turned into a nightmare and would forever change the outcome for Annabel's life. An aging cottonwood tree on their property with a gaping hope thirty feet up in the air would trap Annabel as she fell head first into the black hole while her sisters watched in horror. Had they not been present, who knows if anyone would have found her. Annabel's claims that during the time she remained trapped into the darkness of the tree, she went to Heaven where Jesus assured her, it was not her time to come home despite her many pleas to her parents to "let me got to Heaven with Jesus where there is no pain." What follows can only be a series of miracles for the lives of the people who were a part of this life changing rescue.

I received Miracles from Heaven by Christy Wilson Beam compliments of Shelton Interactive and Hachette Book Groups for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions found here are strictly my own. I've read quite a few books about visitations to Heaven, and we may never know what exactly happened in Annabel's life, but what happened afterwards is truly miraculous. This is the memoir of Annabel's life up to the point where this accident happened and how God worked in the life of this family is bound to make even the harshest critic a believer. A truly inspirational true story of one little girl and her journey to heaven and her amazing story of healing. Well worth 4.5 out of 5 stars in my opinion.

For more information about Miracles from Heaven, Christy Wilson Beam, or where you can pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can find Christy Wilson Beam on Facebook to stay up to date with her family. 

To read more reviews on Miracles from Heaven, please visit Hachette Book Groups' website. 


Thursday, April 16, 2015

The Inn at Ocean's Edge



Who doesn't love a great mystery? I know I've been quite a fan in recent years and was pleasantly surprised to see that Colleen Coble has taken that challenge on in her latest Sunset Cove series with the introduction of The Inn at Ocean's Edge. Be prepared to have pen and paper ready in attempts to solve the puzzle before you get to the end. I was completely unprepared for how this one would wind up and thankfully I am not a real police detective.
 
About:
Claire's visit to a luxury hotel in Maine awakens repressed memories, threatening all she holds dear.
In 1989, Claire Dellamare disappeared from her own fourth birthday party at the Hotel Tourmaline on the island of Folly Shoals, Maine. She showed up a year later at the same hotel, with a note pinned to her dress but no explanation. Nobody knows where Claire spent that year---and until now, Claire didn't even know she had ever been missing.
But when Claire returns to the Hotel Tourmaline for a business meeting with her CEO father, disturbing memories begin to surface . . . despite her parents' best efforts to keep them forgotten.
Luke Rocco lost his mother under equally mysterious circumstances---at the same time Claire disappeared. After a chance encounter reveals the unlikely link between them, Claire and Luke set out together to uncover the truth about what happened that fateful year.
With flashbacks swimming just beneath her consciousness and a murderer threatening her safety, Claire's very life depends on unscrambling her past . . . even if her family refuses to acknowledge it. Someone-maybe everyone-is hiding something from Claire Dellamare, and it will cost her everything to drag the truth out into the light.

When Claire Dellamare arrives in at the Hotel Tourmaline on the island of Folly Shoals, Maine she doesn't understand why she feels pulled into a sense of panic and fear she can't explain. Hoping to help her father seal the merger between her family's aviation company and another one lucrative one, she knows she might just be the missing piece to help the two firms unite. But when Claire discovers that she went missing for over a year as a child without any knowledge, she begins to wonder what else her parents have been hiding.

Luke Rocco hadn't meant to say anything to Claire when she wandered onto the beach accusing him and his sister Meg of capturing a baby Orca, but he believes she may have information that would help them find his mother who went missing at the same time Claire did. Even though he works for the Coast Guard, he has a hard time convincing Claire his intentions to save the baby Orca are honorable. He had hoped that meeting with Claire now 17 years later might help him discover what really happened to his mother the night she went on her walks and never came back. One thing is certain, someone else wants to ensure that neither of them find out the truth about what happened that night 17 years ago and will stop at nothing to keep those secrets dead and buried.

I received The Inn at Ocean's Edge by Colleen Coble compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions are strictly my own. I can't wait to see where this series will go and reminds me of her Rock Harbor series. A lot of suspense, mystery and of course the added element of unexpected romance are the perfect blend for a winning novel in my opinion. I don't want to give too much away but trust me if you love a great criminal mystery novel, pick this one up. Set in Maine, you get a sense of the mystery that comes from being near the ocean and using that as a backdrop for the story is truly brilliant. I give this one a 5 out of 5 stars and look forward to seeing how it all plays out through this series. I hope we see more of Luke and Claire in future novels. A Reader's Discussion Guide included at the conclusion of this novel for book groups!

For more information about The Inn at Ocean's Edge, Colleen Coble or where you can pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can find Colleen Coble on Facebook to stay up to date on all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on The Inn at Ocean's Edge, please visit Litfuse Publicity's Book Tour Page.


The minute she steps inside the grand Inn at Ocean's Edge, Claire Dellamare knows something terrible happened there—and only Luke Elwell believes her. Colleen Coble's new book, The Inn at Ocean's Edge, is a must-read for mystery and suspense readers. As Claire and Luke put together the pieces of a decades-old mystery, they discover that some family secrets refuse to stay buried. And some passions are worth killing for.

Celebrate the release of The Inn at Ocean's Edge by entering to win a Kindle Fire and RSVPing to her May 5th author chat party!

oceansedge-400

One grand prize winner will receive:
  • A Kindle Fire
  • A copy of A Heart's Disguise
  • A copy of A Heart's Obsession
  • A copy of The Inn at Ocean's Edge
Enter today by clicking the icon below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on May 7th. Winner will be announced May 8th on Colleen's website. Plus be sure to clear your calendar on the evening of May 5th because Colleen is hosting an author chat party on Facebook to celebrate her A Journey of the Heart series and the release of The Inn at Ocean's Edge! RSVP here!

oceansedge-enterbanner

RSVP today and spread the word—tell your friends about the giveaway via FACEBOOK or TWITTER and increase your chances of winning. Hope to see you on May 5th!

Tuesday, April 14, 2015

A Sparrow in Terezin



Unforgettable. It is the only word I can use that completely captures the essence of what you will experience after reading Kristy Cambrom's latest novel, A Sparrow in Terezin. It is the second novel in the Hidden Masterpiece Novel and tells the tale of two women who's lives are connected through time, one during the German invasion of Poland, and the other involving present day. But they are linked in a way the reader won't understand until the final handful of chapters. It will leave you on the edge of your seat as the story reaches it turmoil that will forever change the lives of everyone involved. I don't want to give too much away but to say that if you are a fan of historical WWII fiction, then you will HAVE to pick this one up.

As the novel opens the readers are thrown into the wedding of Sera James and her husband William Hanover. Just as the wedding is over and the celebration is about to begin, the fear that Sera and William were waiting for shows up as Will is arrested. Knowing her husband is innocent of the allegations that are piling up against him even with mounting evidence, she believes that the best way for them to get through this is working together. But Will is hiding something from his past that might set him free but shame his family's name and that isn't something he wants to do. He only hopes Sera can continue to trust him.

1942, as Kaja Makovsky escapes with her sister on a train out of Prague just as Germany is invading, she can't help but think about the parent she left behind. Ones that were willing to sacrifice everything just to see their daughters safe and living in London, far away from the affects of the war. However when the war finds Kaja in London as the bombs begin to drop, she learns that Jews are being exterminated by the thousands as they board transport trains for places like Auschwitz. She knows she must try and find a way to help get her parents out before they are shipped away on a train to be killed simply for being a Jew.

I received A Sparrow in Terezin by Kristy Cambron compliments of Litfuse Publicity and Thomas Nelson Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own. This story is based on the art created by the children kept in the Terezin Concentration Camp and Kristy incorporated this element into this exceptional novel. In an Author's Note at the conclusion of the novel, Kristy shares that out of the 15,000 children who lived at Terezin, fewer than 100 survived the Holocaust. It is a moving story that will stay with you long after you finish this book and for that reason, I rate it a 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion. It's like reading Corrie Ten Bloom's story through the eyes of Kaja's character and makes you wonder how people find the courage not only to survive the horrors but in forgiving the men responsible for so many deaths during the war and the Holocaust.

For more information about A Sparrow in Terezin, Kristy Cambron or where you can pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can find Kristy Cambron on Facebook to stay up to date on all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on A Sparrow in Terezin, please visit Litfuse Publicity's Book Tour Page.

Bound together across time, two women will discover a powerful connection in Kristy Cambron's new book, A Sparrow in Terezin. Connecting across a century through one little girl, a Holocaust survivor with a foot in each world, two women will discover a kinship that springs even in the darkest of times. In this tale of hope and survival, Sera and K├íja must cling to the faith that sustains and fight to protect all they hold dear—even if it means placing their own futures on the line.

Kristy is celebrating by giving away a basket filled with goodies inspired by her new book!

sparrow terezin - 400 

One grand prize winner will receive:
  • A set of poppy notecards
  • A poppy pin
  • A copy of I Never Saw Another Butterfly
  • A copy of the Mrs. Miniver DVD
  • Literary tea bags
  • Tumbler
  • A copy of A Sparrow in Terezin
sparrow giveaway bastet 

Enter today by clicking the icon below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on April 28th. Winner will be announced April 29th on Kristy's blog.

sparrow terezin-enterbanner

{NOT ON FACEBOOK? ENTER HERE.}

Monday, April 13, 2015

Countdown to the Apocalypse



Have you noticed the signs all around you, in the news that can only point to the fact we might be living the final days before Jesus Christ comes for his church? The Bible predicts it with such accuracy, you can't help but believe what is happening all around us with what Jesus told his disciples what would happen in the last days in Matthew 24 when they asked for signs that would foretell his coming.

There are five very specific signs that Jesus told His believers that we should be looking for. (1) Spiritual Deception, (2) International Conflict, (3)Natural Disasters, (4)Fierce Persecution, and (5) Widespread Apostasy. There are those that would argue that these things have happened as far back in history after the crucifixion and don't mean Jesus is coming back any time soon. Yet the Bible does warn that these signs will be like birth pains for a mother with child. They will begin to happen more frequently and with stronger intensity as a expectant mother nears the birth of her child. We can definitely see that these very things are happening right before our eyes.

Pastor Robert Jeffress is a pastor first to his church in Dallas and also a Fox News contributor who has written his book, Countdown to the Apocalypse. It provides readers with a biblical message that can't be ignored in light of the things happening in this country today, from widespread drought in California which will impact our agricultural food supply, to ISIS threats and beheadings of Christians all over the world, to the impact of diseases like Ebola. Now that our nation is on the verge of negotiating a nuclear agreement with Iran, and turning its back on Israel, we are unwittingly setting the stage for the fulfillment of a war against Israel by those nations the seek to wipe her off the face of the earth. While the timeline is slowly moving forward, this book highlights those passages of scripture that show us quite clearly that Bible prophecy is being fulfilled more this century than at any other time in history. The end result is one you don't want to miss.



I received Countdown to the Apocalypse by Robert Jeffress compliments of Faith Words, a division of Hachette Book Groups for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions contained here are strictly my own. I've been a huge Bible prophecy fan since becoming a believer and now more than ever, I believe more people need to be concerned with the rapid number of events that are all happening simultaneously that they can not be ignored. From extreme weather to the fall of our own economy, God told us to watch for signs that would be as apparent as a fig tree beginning to bloom that points towards summer. It will be that obvious for those that know what to look for. Trust me, you want to be prepared for what is coming and that is why I give this book a 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion.

For more information about Countdown to the Apocalypse, Robert Jeffress or where you can pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can find Robert Jeffress on Facebook to stay up to date with all his latest books.

To read more reviews on Countdown to the Apocalypse, please visit Faith Words website. 


Friday, April 10, 2015

A Heart's Obsession



Sometimes our heart isn't willing to let go of any chance for love, especially when it comes to Sarah Montgomery. When she believed the only man she loved was killed in war, she wept but wanted to believe in the possibility that there might have been a mistake. However with her brother Wade pressuring her to marry Ben Crofter, she believes this is the best life has to offer her and hopes in time she may learn to love again.

But when Rand Campbell returns and finds Sarah on the verge of marriage it is more than he can handle. What's more is that she won't leave her ill father behind to follow Rand as he plans to head west to Fort Laramie, Wyoming to join the army as a soldier. So Sarah wonders what life is left for her when her father unexpectedly dies, leaving her future in the hands of her brother Wade once more.

Sarah knows that she must do all she can to make Rand understand the reasons why she couldn't leave and hopes it isn't too late when she takes her younger brother Joel and they head west. When Sarah arrives, she is more than shocked to learn that Rand has also moved on and has already made plans to wed Jessica DuBois, who is less than thrilled to learn of Sarah's connection to Rand. She isn't about to make life at the fort easy and will do anything she can to ensure her marriage to Rand is successful no matter what Sarah tries to do.

I received A Heart's Obsession by Colleen Coble compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions contained here are strictly my own. This is the second book in the Journey of the Heart Series and makes one truly hunger for more. This is the first series, best selling author Colleen Coble wrote while dealing with the sudden death of her own brother's death whom she immortalizes in the character of Rand. It is short enough to read in about a couple of hours at about 98 pages, but feels like a much bigger novel. The first book, A Heart's Disguise is the beginning of this series, and would need to be read first for the reader to grasp the history of Rand and Sarah's beginnings. I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and look forward to the next one!

For more information about A Heart's Obsession, Colleen Coble or where you can pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can find Colleen Coble on Facebook to stay up to date on all her latest books.

To read more reviews on A Heart's Obsession, please visit Litfuse Publicity's Book Tour Page.


Can a woman held captive by her family make it back to the one man she knows she can trust? Find out in book two, A Heart's Obsession, of Colleen Coble's Journey of the Heart series. When Sarah Montgomery’s father succumbs to his long illness, Sarah is faced with a life-altering choice: submit to her brother’s will and marry the deceptive Ben Croftner . . . or escape through the dangerous American West to reclaim the heart of her beloved Rand Campbell at Fort Laramie, Wyoming.

Celebrate book two in Colleen's A Journey of the Heart series by entering to win a Kindle Fire and RSVPing to her May 5th author chat party!

heartsobsession-400

One grand prize winner will receive:
  • A Kindle Fire
  • A copy of A Heart's Disguise
  • A copy of A Heart's Obsession
  • A copy of The Inn at Ocean's Edge (blog tour coming in mid-April)
Enter today by clicking the icon below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on May 7th. Winner will be announced May 8th on Colleen's website. Plus be sure to clear your calendar on the evening of May 5th because Colleen is hosting an author chat party on Facebook to celebrate her A Journey of the Heart series and the release of The Inn at Ocean's Edge! RSVP here!

heartsobsession-enterbanner

RSVP today and spread the word—tell your friends about the giveaway via FACEBOOK or TWITTER and increase your chances of winning. Hope to see you on May 5th!

Thursday, April 9, 2015

Chasing Sunsets



"We only have one chance to write the story of our lives, make yours a bestseller."

In the second novel to find its way into the Angels Walking Series, Chasing Sunsets from best selling author, Karen Kingsbury picks up right where Angels Walking left off. This series is about how heavenly angels are involved in what are called "Angels Walking" missions on earth, to help those they are assigned to defeat some evil circumstance or even move our characters along on the divine path God has laid out for them despite the odds against them from the enemy.

In this case Jag and Aspyn are chosen because they work well together and this is one of the more challenging missions to deal with. The fate of the future rests in the hands of events playing out perfectly but even they don't know what God's finally outcome will be in this situation and Jag feels personally responsible since his last mission didn't work out like he'd plan and the human, Terremce Williams had lost his life when Jag couldn't see through some of the details leaving his son without his father and the only memory was watching his father die.

Now this time, gang violence is sweeping the inner cities of Los Angeles despite all the attempts from Dodgers pitcher, Marcus Dillinger who wants to provide an outlet for the inner city youth over the gangs, the WestKnights and the EastTown Boys. With the rise in gang related killings Marcus doesn't realize there is a contract on his life for an up and coming gang leader Dwayne Davis. His girlfriend sixteen-year-old Lexy is looking for someone to protect and care for her and right now, despite how she feels, that person is Dwayne. She doesn't understand why he didn't settle on killing three EastTown gang members instead of Marcus, but she'll support him nonetheless. Its the only life she's ever known.

For Mary Catherine, she is coming to terms with her latest report from her cardiologist who has informed her that her heart has become enlarged and she needs to curb her adrenaline laced past times or wind up with a less than full life. All Mary Catherine knows is God is the only person in control of the number of her days and if she only has a few short years left, she wants to live life to the fullest. This is the very reason why she can't fall in love, because she doesn't want to have someone fall in love with her and to lose her before they have lived a rich life. Jag and Aspyn definitely have their work cut out for them and for now, they will need all the prayers they can find to make this mission a success.



I received Chasing Sunsets by Karen Kingsbury, compliments of Howard Books, a division of Simon and Schuster Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions contained here are strictly my own. This is such an exceptional series that I have looked forward to with the introduction of each new book. I was completely smitten with the first novel Angels Walking and Chasing Sunsets is such a beautiful follow up that you can help but want to pray along for the characters that are struggling with the many obstacles life throws there way. Karen doesn't rush through this one and know at the conclusion of the novel, there is more to tell to the stories of the characters you meet in this one. I can't wait for the third novel much like the season finales of your favorite shows. The spiritual supernatural element is not overwhelming much like a true angels presence is, more behind the scenes carefully orchestrating things. You see how limited their powers are and that is what makes this such a endearing series. I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion and there's even a special angelic encounter of Karen's she shares at the conclusion of this one.

For more information about Chasing Sunsets, Karen Kingsbury, or where you can pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can find Karen Kingsbury on Facebook to stay up to date on all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on Chasing Sunsets, please visit Howard Book's website.

Monday, April 6, 2015

When Grace Sings



To receive grace is to gain something you didn't deserve, much like a prisoner receives a pardon. They deserve punishment for committing crimes, but when they are pardoned, they are receiving something they didn't deserve. That is the definition for grace and also the theme in Kim Vogel Sawyer's second book in the Zimmerman Restoration Trilogy Series. In When Grace Sings, one could misinterpret what it really is about.

For Alexa Zimmerman, it is about coming to terms with the recent knowledge that she was adopted and left behind by her birth mother. It's wondering what your purpose is life is supposed to mean when you realize that all the people you believe in your life were your family, really aren't. So in order to find purpose for her life, she takes over running Grace Notes B and B on her grandmother's Mennonite farm. In fact just her appearance alone would beg to ask the question why she doesn't dress like all the others in the Old Order, but she isn't about to convey to anyone what the truth is just yet. Not until she comes to terms with it first.

Just beginning to take on guest after all the recent renovations, Alexa wants to prove she can make this business profitable and not have to rely on the finances from her grandmother. She gains a long term book from Briley Forrester, an up and coming reporter who wants the story of a lifetime. Convinced that the Mennonites and Amish aren't exactly as wholesome as they appear, his editor convinces him to stay for a couple months in order to find the story that will prove they are just like the rest of the world in their short comings. But will Briley be able to do that at the cost of hurting Alexa and the people who welcome him into their community with open arms?

I received When Grace Sings by Kim Vogel Sawyer compliments of WaterBrook Multnomah Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions contained here are strictly my own. The one thing I took away from this novel besides its theme on what grace really is, is the quote, "Every man has two equal abilities - to build up or tear down. The challenge lies in knowing which is the right choice." I guess the hardest thing any of us has to master is ability to recognize how our words can either build up or tear down. The hardest thing comes in learning to control what comes out. Sometimes it takes quite a while to figure out God's plan in things when they turn out to not be so favorable in our own eyes and it's learning how to deal with it that shows true growth of character and a healthy dose of grace as well. I rate this one a 4 out of 5 stars and readers will find a great recipe for peace and pecan pie as well as a Reader's Guide at the conclusion of this heartwarming novel.

For more information about When Grace Sings, Kim Vogel Sawyer or where you can pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can find Kim Vogel Sawyer on Facebook to stay up to date on all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on When Grace Sings, please visit WaterBrook Multnomah Publisher's website. 

  • Series: The Zimmerman Restoration Trilogy
  • Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: WaterBrook Press (March 17, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0307731332
  • ISBN-13: 978-0307731333
The Zimmerman Restoration Trilogy
# 1 When Mercy Rains
# 2 When Grace Sings

Friday, April 3, 2015

Love's True Second Chance



I am sure you can remember your first love. Perhaps it was in high school, college or even earlier than that. One thing is for certain, we never forget our first love. Jeff Dawson shares a unique personal memoir with us in Love's True Second Chances, where he tells the story of his first love, Debbie. In all romance stories, we know that two people will fall madly in love and get married to hopefully live happily ever after, but this is not the case in this one.

Jeff opens the book with a poignant poem that outlines the lives of Jeff and Debbie throughout the years culminating in the following chapter where he watches her life slowly slip away to the effects of cancer. Not exactly the way fairy tales open, but this is no fairy tale. This is the true life love story of the two who met in high school and found the one perfect love. Through a series of events they eventually break up as Jeff heads off to college with a broken heart.. It will be thirty years later before the two reconnect again and they wonder if they love they felt in high school is still there after all this time. One thing is definitely true in life, that true love never dies.

I received Love's True Second Chance compliments of Jeff Dawson for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation other than a complimentary copy of the book. It is a sad story, because the reader ultimately knows where it ends, but what a great and lasting legacy Jeff leaves to his children and Debbie's of the love the two of them shared from it's humble beginnings. It is always the questions children will ask later in life of their parents, who was their first love, how did they meet, what happened to that person, and in this book, Jeff shares his side of the love story, because death claimed Debbie before she could share hers. Truly an unforgettable story of true love that found a second chance and one I would rate a 4 out of 5 stars.

For more information about Love's True Second Chance, Jeff Dawson or where you can get a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can find Jeff Dawson on Facebook to stay up to date on all his latest books.