The Best People In The World!

Sunday, May 31, 2015

Virtuous - DVD Review



In light of programming available for our families, it is such a thrill to find incredible movies that are not only amazing but share a valuable moral lesson straight from the Bible as if they are modern day parables. Receiving 5 out of 5 Doves, by the Dove Foundation, Virtuous from JC Films has been released on DVD for your home entertainment. It conveys the message behind the Proverbs 31 woman, one of faith, integrity, wisdom, and honor!

Singer/songwriter Brandy Allison stars as Simone Burner, a young college student who is returning home late one night after working a double shift as a waitress only to be followed by a man Patrick Walters, she meets with a group of friends outside a club. They want Simone to stay and enjoy the evening but she is too tired to stay. Instead of accepting her refusal to join them, Patrick tries to convince Simone to come stay with them, and no matter how hard she tries to dissuade him, he won't take no for an answer. Inside a dark alcove as they struggle, he is shot and Simone is left as a person of interest, especially when the gun she said she found on the ground outside her apartment goes missing.

A District Attorney looking for re-election caves to the wealth of Patrick's grandfather, who insists that Simone be charged with murder and her arrest be made swiftly. They incorporate one of the officers assigned to the case,  Detective Avery, who is convinced that Simone is guilty despite all the evidence facing her. She is assigned the case along with sealed documents from Simone's less than stellar past to help bring about the charges as quickly as possible. Simone's only chance for redemption is through an attorney Jack Evans (Erik Estrada) who offers free consultation for any case. Along the way, three other stories begin to emerge along the way of other women who are struggling to find their own self worth in a world that wants only to condemn and control them.



I received Virtuous by JC Films and Edify Media Inc for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review with only a complementary copy of the DVD provided. The opinions in this review are strictly my own. I really LOVED the overwhelming theme of the movie as it really pertains to women's struggle for discovering self worth and affirmation doesn't need to come from the world or anyone but through knowing we are daughters of the One True King, Jesus Christ! A must for any young girl struggling with low self esteem or finding out who she is outside of what the world has to offer. There is even a Behind The Scenes Look with the Cast and Crew included and a Discussion Guide is available at VirtuousFilm.com. Well worth every single 5 out of 5 stars!

For more information about Virtuous, JC Films or where you can pick up a copy of this DVD today, please click on the links below:


You can find JC Films on Facebook to stay up to date on all their latest family films.

To purchase a copy of Virtuous from Amazon, please click here.


Saturday, May 30, 2015

When Calls the Heart: Trials of the Heart DVD Review



If you are looking for some great quality family movies, then you might want to check out When Calls the Heart, a heartwarming series that is reminiscent of Little House on the Prairie but now for this generation. Michael Landon Jr. is the executive producer for the series that has been gaining popularity on the Hallmark Channel and now is beginning it's second season! I have absolutely fall in love with every aspect of this series, because in light of the programming you find on television these days, there isn't much there in the way of good moral values and family friendly shows the entire family can watch. This series is based on the novel When Calls the Heart by Janette Oke!

As Season Two begins we capture the season premiere with Trials of the Heart in this DVD episode. A lot has changed from season one, especially with all our major and well-loved characters. Elizabeth Thatcher (Erin Krakow) has been a schoolteacher for Coal Valley and has begun a new start out west despite coming from a family of affluence. When her mother falls ill, she feels she must return home now that school is out for the summer so she can spare the time. She is escorted back home by her love interest Canadian Mounty Jack Thornton (Daniel Lissing) who ensures her safe passage back home to the town of Hamilton. Once there, Elizabeth's father has hopes that she will fall in love and marry her childhood friend Charles Kensington, but he has to dissuade Jack that Elizabeth hopes for a better life are here in Hamilton and with Charles who can offer her the life her parents have always wanted.

Jack can't stay and immediately makes plans to head back to Coal Valley and leaves Elizabeth wondering what has happened between them. He only gives her the assurance that he will be waiting for her if she decides to return to Coal Valley. Meanwhile the sizzling anticipated romance between Abigail Stanton (Lori Laughlin), a widow and cafe owner in Coal Valley and investigator for the Canadian Mounties, Bill Avery (Jack Wagner). But now just as Bill returns on another case, a woman shows up claiming to be Bill's wife and she advises Abigail to look no further for any relationship with Bill. Oh what an interesting beginning for this series as love for our favorite women hang in the balance.

I received When Calls the Heart: Trials of the Heart compliments of the Word Entertainment and Edify Media for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and received a complimentary copy of the DVD to review. The opinions contained here are my own. I love this series and can't wait to see how it will all play out. Once again we have to have conflict for our characters otherwise where would the series go from there. The one thing I don't care for in the season opener is the liberties that are taken with the clothing and hairstyles some of the women are wearing. I know they might be going for a more casual approach but during the time period depicted in this series, women still wore their hair up and were not seen with it down except when they were at home in the company of their husbands or family. It seems to have lost that originality in keeping with the consistency it had in the first series and I hope they realize it before the series ends. Well worth all 5 out of 5 stars in keeping with a family friendly series the entire family can watch together. This DVD even includes some bonus features like exclusive behind the scenes interviews!

For more information about When Calls the Heart: Trials of the Heart DVD or where you can pick up a copy of this today, please click on the links below:


You can find When Calls the Heart on Facebook to get more information about the series.

You can purchase a copy of When Calls the Heart: Trials of the Heart on DVD through Amazon. 

Friday, May 29, 2015

The Lost Prophet



What if there were actual places located in the depths of the Middle East that corresponded to the Bible? What if all those ancient tombs where the prophets of old were buried in caves along with their ancestors was real? What if someone was out to ensure that they were destroyed no matter how significant their contribution was to ancient history?

In an amazing novel that rivals that of such notable authors like Don Brown and Davis Bunn, comes James McPike, a name you won't want to forget. In The Lost Prophet, a group of people looking to destroy every last trace of the ancient prophets of old such as Abraham's entire line, Zechariah and on the verge of locating the missing grave of Moses before they can be stopped. Led by the notorious evil Dimitri Markovich who is being aided by a supernatural presence from ancient history to set about a diabolical plot that is virtually unstoppable.

The Israeli Defense is looking at stopping these men who will kill any witnesses to their crime and is being headed up by Vince Ramsey, a man who has a record of bringing in those responsible for crimes against Israel's historical landmarks in the past. Now he is once again being called upon by the Ministry to help find whoever is responsible before they locate another target. They have already destroyed the Tomb of the Prophets and killed innocent civilians who were part of a group touring the ancient site. With war and terrorists groups racing all around the Middle East with Hezbollah, ISIS and Hamas, Vince will have his work cut out for him. Now he will need to follow the ancient clues from the Bible in hopes of catching this man before he secures not on the lost Ark of the Covenant by locates the body of Moses which has never been found.

I received The Lost Prophet by James McPike compliments of CreateSpace and the author himself for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review outside the complimentary copy of the novel. This is the 2nd novel in the Ramsey Series, and I am truly sorry I didn't read the first one as there are some references to previous missions that Vince had tackled but hope to resolve that very soon. This is such a nail biter, with almost non stop action from the very first page. It's like Indiana Jones meets Jason Bourne or Ethan Hunt. You get a sense of urgency that time is running out and there is a sinister sense of evil at hand when Dimitri keeps walking away without being captured leaving behind more victims to his rising body count. What really works well in this for me, is the authenticity of the locations. Whenever I am reading something like this, I use the Internet to see if these are made up locations or are based on real places. The author did an exceptional job at truly keeping this real and honestly believable. I inhaled it in one sitting simply because I could NOT put it down. It is that amazing. An adrenaline junkie's perfect novel because it is a roller coaster ride to the very end. Well worth all 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion!

For more information about The Lost Prophet, James B. McPike or where you pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can pick up a copy of this book on Amazon by clicking here. 


Wednesday, May 27, 2015

A Flying Affair



Best-selling author Carla Stewart is rising to my must read list! Everything that I have read of hers have been beyond phenomenal and is always on my list of books to recommend to anyone looking for a great novel. In her latest, A Flying Affair, gives readers a look at the role of women aviators like Amelia Earhart when aviation was just taking flight. As we all know the rise for women in any career isn't easy and despite what her parents want for her, Mittie Humphrey's believes she is being called to the skies. Aside from sitting in the cockpit of some of the bi-wing planes, she occasionally takes the controls, but not in a true formal sense. When she learns that Bobby York, a man visiting from Britain whom her mother had hoped she would settle down with, also shares a love for flying. He plans on opening a flight school and Mittie believes she has found just the right door to walk through.

She has always dreamed of doing what men like Charles Lindbergh have done with their setting world records in the sky. She finds her heart drawn to Ames Dewberry, a member of the barnstorming team called the Patriots who travel around offering paid rides as well as wing walking and aerial stunt maneuvers at the local airfields. She is drawn to his handsome good looks and confidence and it certainly has its benefits when the two meet up at his sister's wedding. Mittie will have a hard time coming to terms with what is best for her life, a love of the horses she grew up with and assisting her father in the family business or will Mittie find her wings in the skies above her childhood home as she dreams of life she could have not tied down to anyone her mother wants her to marry.

I received A Flying Affair by Carla Stewart compliments of Faith Words, a division of Hachette Book Groups for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review aside from a free copy of the book from the publisher. This is such a great novel because it showcases the advancement of women aviators like Amelia Earhart and others who at first entered simple flying competitions and height record setting before men could take them seriously. It also highlights just how dangerous flying was, especially when men set up to tamper with their planes in order to show that women were incapable of flying. It's one of the true great stories from history and one I think Carla Stewart did an admirable job at bringing to life inside the pages of this novel. It gains a well deserved 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion and can't wait for more from this amazing and talented author.

For more information about A Flying Affair, Carla Stewart, or where you can get a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can find Carla Stewart on Facebook to stay up to date on all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on A Flying Affair, please visit Faith Words website. 


Tuesday, May 26, 2015

As Waters Gone By



How would you handle your life, if suddenly everything changed in one split second? Missing a phone call from your husband asking you to come pick him up, and in return he was involved in an accident while driving under the influence and disabling a homeless man who just happened to be sitting in front of the building he crashed into? After the trial, he was sentenced to five-years in prison and he told you he didn't want to be married to you any longer? He wanted a divorce and wanted no further contact with you? What would you do?

That is just the premise that sets up the latest novel from best-selling author Cynthia Ruchti in As Waters Gone By. Oh this novel truly beckons to be read by a cottage by the lake, because that is just where Emmalyn Ross finds herself after walking away from both a lucrative career as an executive chef when the economy turns south. Having sold their home in an effort to stay afloat without her income or that of her husband, she finds the only place left to go is an old hunting cottage on Madeline Island that has been fully paid for. She only hopes what she has left in her savings will pay for whatever repairs need to get the cottage in livable condition while she sorts out what to make of the life she dreamed she have one day, that seems to be falling apart like the hunting cottage.

She will find solace and healing as she sorts through what she had hoped her life would be and what may remain of it, as she sets out on the restoration project of a lifetime. Not just with the hunting cottage itself, but what she envisioned the life she would have with Max, had this accident not stolen it from her. As she works on the bits and pieces of her life, she finds the most unlikely place to meet friends who will become not only her dearest friends, but her mentors and advocates to help her find her place in this life.

I received As Waters Gone By written by Cynthia Ruchti compliments of Litfuse Publicity and Abingdon Press for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review aside from the complimentary copy of the novel. The opinions contained here are strictly my own. Each time I read a novel like this one, I often ask myself the same questions I posted at the beginning of the review. How would I handle the situation the main character Emmalyn finds herself in, not by her own choices, but those of her husband which impacts her. I love that it is set on an Madeline Island, one of the Apostle Islands of Lake Superior and found myself quite literally in the shoes of Emmalyn as I was reading it. From the short stay at the Wild Iris Inn where she meets Bougie, the proprietress of the property who brings a form of healing in the way of friendship for Emmalyn who is trying to bear this burden in her life alone. She is seeking a sort of definition for her life when she thought all she might be was a wife and mother one day, but thanks to circumstances beyond her control, she is having to reevaluate her role in life at this stage and spending time working on a cottage is the perfect way to see how God has it all under control even when we feel like it isn't. Well worth every single 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion and only wish I had a cottage of my own by the lake to reread this one again. A truly perfect summer read!!!

For more information about As Waters Gone By, Cynthia Ruchti or where you can pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can find Cynthia Ruchti on Facebook to stay up to date on all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on As Waters Gone By, please visit Litfuse Book Tour Page.


Can a marriage survive when separated by hundreds of miles and impenetrable prison walls? Find out in Cynthia Ruchti's new book, As Waters Gone By. Emmalyn and Max Ross may have to endure the fight of their lives to mend the tattered fabric of their marriage. His actions ensured she could never be a mother and put him in prison, giving their relationship a court-mandated five-year time-out.

Cynthia is celebrating the release of As Waters Gone By by giving away a summer of fun to one lucky reader!

as waters gone by - 400 

One grand prize winner will receive:
  • A $100 cash card to put toward your trip to Madeline Island (discover the beauty of the setting of As Waters Gone By) or your summer vacation destination
  • A book-club set (10 copies of As Waters Gone By and a downloadable starter kit) so you can start your own summer book club
Enter today by clicking the icon below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on June 10th. The winner will be announced June 11th on Cynthia's blog.

as waters go by-enterbanner 

Plus, now through mid-July, sign up for Cynthia's mailing list for a five-day virtual tour around Madeline Island for the chance to win a Hemmed in Hope prize pack. Each day begins with an email from Cynthia that introduces where you'll be “visiting” that day (all key places from As Waters Gone By) with various interactive elements, including“I wish you were here” postcards, trivia quizzes, and an ongoing Island scavenger hunt. The person who interacts the most will win a Hemmed in Hope prize pack (valued at more than $200). That includes:
  • The letterpress block Hope sign from DaySpring
  • A set of 6 Hemmed in Hope notecards showing a hope-themed Bible verse
  • A leather “I can’t unravel, I’m hemmed in hope” journal
  • Signed copies of each of Cynthia’s books, fiction and non-fiction

Monday, May 25, 2015

When Hope Rises



When art teacher Shelby Coltman dreams of one day owning a store of her own to feature the things she transforms and re-purposes from trash to treasures, she knows that despite her wealthy upbringing, this will be the one thing she wants to do without her parent's money. In order for her to do that, however, will be to find a roommate to share her two bedroom apartment with so she can save enough for a down payment. Never did she dream that would come from her best friend Kennedi, who is looking to move out and begin a life of her own. It's truly a perfect fit for them both.

Tate Malone isn't at all happy when he learns that his younger sister, Kennedi is ready to spread her own wings and share an apartment with a friend. Even though they have lived together for the last nine years, Tate isn't quite ready to let go of the sister he tried so hard to find when their parents abandoned them. When he learns that Kennedi plans on sharing an apartment with Shelby, a coworker at the school, he thinks that they are too different to make that work. For one thing, Kennedi and Tate came from humble beginnings and Shelby has never known what its like to struggle for anything when it comes to her wishes and dreams.

Will a student with aspiring dreams by sharing a background similar to Tate's be able to bring the two together for a great purposes than what they both ever imagined. Perhaps God is the creator of both blessings of very different kinds as these three get involved beyond what any of them could have ever planned. Perhaps some sparks will fly between Tate and Shelby as they realize that they are so different after all!

I received When Hope Rises by Dora Hiers compliments of Pelican Book Group and Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review outside of a complimentary copy of the book. The opinions contained in this review are strictly my own. A great easy summer romance that is perfect for a beachside or lakeside vacation! This one easily rates at 4 out of 5 stars in my opinion and just wish it were a bit longer to see the chemistry developed a bit more between the characters.

For more information about When Hope Rises, Dora Hiers or where you can pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can find Dora Hiers on Facebook to stay up to date on all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on When Hope Rises, please visit Christian Fiction Blog Alliances Book Tour Page. 


Wednesday, May 20, 2015

Called to Be Amish



Each time I read an Amish book or watch a television show about the Amish, I am in awe of their lifestyle. The simplicity of keeping to their faith, while working hard with the modern conveniences we find in our homes like electricity and air conditioning and the love of their community. While most shows on television portray an exaggerated form of Amish living, most are a far cry from what really goes on. They live their lives much like we do, but their faith is what sustains them in trying times.

In the book, Called to Be Amish, author Marlene C. Miller takes readers into what is it like for an English girl raised in an abusive and unloving home and finds love in an Amish young man who laces up her skates once winter day. Knowing the mixing faith cultures that are very different is challenging enough but this true life story is how Marlene eventually made that transition to willingly give up the life she knew living among the English to embrace the Amish way of life. She wasn't pressured into making that decision, since the Amish don't encourage English people to join the Old Amish order unless that can be sure the decision is one made from the heart and not by love for a man.

It shows not only the difficulties on both sides, English and Amish alike that come from learning a new language, a new way of life, and the hard work that truly goes into making a life among the Amish which is far from simple. From learning how to do without modern conveniences like a phone or electricity, to how to learn how to handle driving a horse and buggy, setting up for a home church at your home, dealing with death, and celebrating a wedding. It is far from simply wearing a plain dress, apron and kapp, it is appreciating the life God has chosen for you, accepting God's will for whatever happens in life and never truly being alone because you have the strength of an entire community behind you.

I received Called to Be Amish by Marlene C. Miller compliments of Herald Press and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed here are my own personal ones. I loved learning about becoming Amish as my family is quick to remind me of the many times, I have wanted to visit an Amish family and farm for a few days to get a sense of what getting back to basics really means. I treasure their faith most of all as it is one that is lived out with 100% honesty daily. They accept whatever happens in their lives as God's will and they never seek to adopt any of the outside influences of the English changing lifestyle. It is sad to see that not many Amish are left, only 275,000, as most younger Amish are leaving to join the English world now that farming is becoming more challenging and the price of land is growing more expensive than some people can buy as well as limited availability among the growing towns and families. There are some great recipes the author shares at the conclusion of this book and I will be looking for more Plainspoken Series Books in the future, written by Amish and Mennonite men and woman about their lifestyles. I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion.

For more information about Called to Be Amish, Marlene C. Miller or where you can pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can find out more about Marlene on Facebook.

To read more reviews on Called to Be Amish, please visit Litfuse Publicities Book Tour Page. 

Tuesday, May 19, 2015

Rescue at Los Banos



I had the distinct opportunity to review Rescue at Los Banos, which gives the reader an in-depth look at the Santo Tomas Internment Camp during the beginning of WWII in which many American's were imprisoned for more than three years while waiting to be rescued. Not only do you gain the insight on what it was like for those who were imprisoned but also what types of military campaigns were being waged at that time in the Pacific, after the bombing at Pearl Harbor.

As Japanese soldiers guarding the American prisoners, most of them civilians at the Los Banos Internment Campe, conditions began to rapidly deteriorate as they began to systematically starve, beat and killing their captives. Most held behind the razor wire fences hoped that the war would be over soon, but as time stretched most faced the horrors of war as those who were their captors ignored plain evidence that they were dying and facing disease and malnutrition.

Bruce Henderson, tells the dramatic story of accounts at the Japanese prison camps including detailed analysis of the complex military operations being planned and carried out. He tells the story of ordinary men and women thrust into the unspeakable horrors of World War II and the valiant heroes who would eventually saved those who were left.

Military preparations are shared as well as strategy challenges of dealing with a military that wasn't prepared for jungle warfare at the hands of General Douglas MacArthur. The three pronged attacks of deploying troops by land, air and sea had to be carried out in absolute darkness in order to be successful using all types of technology available at the time which isn't half as well as we have it today.

I received Rescue at Los Banos by Bruce Henderson compliments of William Morrow, a division of Harper Collins Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions contained here are strictly my own. This is by far one of the most daring prison camp raids of WWII and the photographs that accompany each chapter, gives life to what each had to endure, including some photographs snapped inside the prison by those held captive. I love it when you can get a sneak peek inside some of the stories most of us miss from history and applaud Bruce Henderson for providing it in this comprehensive hardcover book. Well worth every single 5 out of 5 stars in my mind. Being a huge WWII lover, I will be adding this one to my growing collection.

For more information about Rescue at Los Banos, Bruce Henderson or where you can pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can find Bruce Henderson on Facebook to stay up to date with all his latest books.

To read more reviews on Rescue at Los Banos, please visit William Morrow's website.

Monday, May 18, 2015

Red Baron Brick Oven Pizza

 

Who doesn't love a great pizza? Most people do and finding the same great quality in frozen pizza as they do with fresh pizza is hard to find. When I received the offer from being a BzzAgent to try Red Baron Brick Oven Pizza, I knew I had to try it. My youngest daughter loves the simplicity of being able to pop pizza in the oven and was more than willing to help me with the taste test. When we arrived at our local grocery store there were 4 different varieties to try; plain cheese, pepperoni, pepperoni and sausage, and sausage supreme which had green peppers and onions along with sausage. We opted for pepperoni.



The directions on the box were the first things we noticed. Simple in the best format I have ever seen. Not hard to follow at all.



The time was pretty standard at 17-20 minutes so we opted at 18:30 as a middle ground. You have the option of setting it on the oven rack or baking sheet, and we did the baking sheet.



18 minutes and 30 seconds later, we have a great looking pizza that smelled heavenly. The pizza crush was nice and crisp, which is something I had usually found lacking in frozen pizza's. Just the right amount of sauce and cheese rounded out what I would call a pretty great tasting pizza. My daughter rated it a 4 out of 5 and I would have to agree with her.



In fact, the best thing was picking up so more pizzas when we hosted our family dinner night on Wednesday night. We invited friends and family for a night of food and fun, and these pizza's were a hit to the 6 people who showed up. We didn't even tell them they were frozen until after they had begun to eat them. Almost everyone was pretty impressed that these were frozen pizza mostly because of the crunchy crust. I even passed out two coupons I had for $1.00 for those that wanted to pick these up for home.



I would love to see more toppings added to the pizza which would be my only issue with them. You could always keep some spare toppings on hand and perhaps even hosting a pizza party and just pick up the plain cheese pizzas. Overall, I would rate these a 4 out of 5 stars in my opinion and for a easy meal when you're craving pizza, these are perfect to keep on hand in your freezer.

Friday, May 15, 2015

Trial Run



Imagine a world where you have to battle against an unseen enemy. An enemy that can go anywhere and where time is halted in that realm. Imagine that nothing could be secret or hidden any longer, because as long as you possessed the power to leave your body and will it to go anywhere, you would be the ultimate weapon.

In the latest novel by Thomas Locke, who is also known as Davis Bunn in the literary world, he goes quite literally when NO man has gone before, and I'm not talking about space. Where he comes up with these incredible ideas is beyond me but I love the storyline in Trial Run. I can best describe it as a blend of Flatliners meets Jumper. In this novel you have two groups who are battling to discover who can uncover this ability to ascend or transit out of their body, recover some secrets and return without falling into a coma on their return.

Charlie Hazard works with his team in Campione, Switzerland alongside Gabriella Speciale, the chief scientist who has had the most success in ascending. They are the good guys and are trying to perfect the ability to leave your body and travel in a world of suspended time travel where time is constant. To be gone in this world for 5 minutes might be a week in ascended time travel. They are trying to keep this out of the hands of political groups who want this for their own selfish purposes.

Reese Clawson is heading up the team in the United States under fictitious names and is having less than desirable success since taking Gabriella's secret to travel outside one's body. Only her success rate has resulted in 9 bodies who remain in a constant state of coma because they never returned from their assignment. If she can't find a way to prove her team is successful, Washington will pull the plug and shut her down.

Trent Major is a physics prodigy who algorithms subvert computer encryption and give rise to a super intelligence that goes beyond what anyone has ever seen. The only problem is now he has become the focus of both of these teams trying to win him over to their side but for very different purposes. What is given in his dreams will be the ultimate weapon of destruction if it falls into the wrong hands and could mean the end of all life as we know it.

I received Trial Run by Thomas Locke compliments of Revell Publishing and Edify Media Group for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for my review and the opinions contained here are my own. To be honest, the beginning of the book was hard to understand at first. So many different things going on as the reader begins to map out who the players are, in three different groups. I would encourage you to hold on, even though the technological explanations might be overwhelming at times, with regards to the laws of physics, but I promise, it will be so worth it, but about mid way through the book. You might want to grab a paper and keep the characters separate until the action takes place. I absolutely love this novel and can't wait for the sequel. For me, it was a well earned 5 out of 5 stars and so far, anything that Davis Bunn or Thomas Locke, who are the same person, writes will be on my immediate "have to read" list. Trial Run is the first novel in the Fault Lines Series!

For more information about Trial Run, Thomas Locke or where you can preoder a copy of this book today due out in August, please click on the links below:


You can find Thomas Locke on Facebook to stay up to date with all his latest novels.

To preorder a copy of this book through Amazon, please click here. 


Thursday, May 14, 2015

A Love Like Ours



There is a connection that surpasses what most people believe when you find a treasured friend from your childhood that you can still fall in love with twenty years into the future. That is precisely what happens between Lyndie James and Jake Porter, who grew up together and were simply the very best of friends one could ever hope to have. But like all best friends, they move away to begin a life someplace else and those feelings you had for someone at 12 are beyond your control to keep them by your side forever. So when Lyndie moved away to California, Jake stayed at home on the Porter Ranch in Holley, Texas.

Now twenty years later, both still feel strongly for one another. Where at first letter writing enabled them to keep that connection when Lyndie moved away, those letters grew less and less until they finally stopped altogether and they both moved on in their lives. Lyndie continued to help her parents take care of her sister Mollie, who struggled with a long term disability that required constant care from those in her family that were more than willing to give unconditionally for her, knowing she would never see their faces, speak words of love to them, or even walk outside of a wheelchair, but Mollie showed her love in ways people could never understand. Lyndie believes God has given Mollie the gift of healing.

Jake isn't at all thrilled to find out Lyndie has moved back to Texas and even worse she wants to apply for the exercise rider on his ranch working under him. After leaving his tour of duty with the Marines and suffering from PTSD, Jake's wounds go far deeper than the scar on his face. He will never see himself as anything less than what Lyndie needs in a man. He only hopes he can convince his heart to keep the distance between them, even though those old familiar feelings are calling on his heart to feel again. Perhaps Lyndie can work some sort of miracle on him because he is as bad as his thoroughbred Silver Leaf who has lost his own desire to run. Can love heal them both?

I received A Love Like Ours by Becky Wade compliments of Bethany House Publishers and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions contained here are strictly my own. Growing up with horse racing most of my life and could relate to both Jake and Lyndie's situations. I love that Lyndie's determination to not give up on either Silver Leaf or Jake transitioned well in this novel. I have been head over heels with all the Porter boys stories since being introduced to them back in the first novel Undeniably Yours, and then in Meant to Be Mine, the second one. They are all uniquely different and truly tug at the romance lover's heart within us all to have that Happily Ever After ending. This one did not disappoint in any way and for that reason deserves all 5 out of 5 stars. A reader's discussion guide is included at the conclusion of this novel.

For more information about A Love Like Ours, Becky Wade or where you can pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can find Becky Wade on Facebook to stay up to date with all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on A Love Like Ours, please visit Litfuse Publicity's Book Tour Page.


Fall in love with Becky Wade's new book, A Love Like Ours, a story of healing, romance, and cowboys. A glimmer of the hope Jake thought he’d lost returns when Lyndie lands back in Texas, but fears and regrets still plague him. Will Jake ever be able to love Lyndie like she deserves, or is his heart too shattered to mend?

To celebrate the release of her new book, Becky is giving away a $100 cash card and a book-inspired prize pack!

lovelikeours-400 

One grand prize winner will receive:
  • A $100 cash card
  • A copy of A Love Like Ours
  • A copy of the Secretariat DVD
  • A scarf
  • A dog-tag/cross keychain
  • A pair of earrings
  • A Scarf
  • A Texas-shaped cutting board
  • A Jake Porter mug
love like ours - prize pack 

Enter today by clicking the icon below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on May 26th. Winner will be announced May 27th on Becky's site.

lovelikeours-enterbanner

Wednesday, May 13, 2015

A Heart's Danger



As part of an ongoing Journey of the Heart series, from best-selling author Colleen Coble, A Heart's Danger is the third book that is being reprinted. Once written more than 10 years ago, Colleen along with Thomas Nelson Publishers are bringing back one of her first series back to print in installments. The previous two, A Heart's Disguise and A Heart's Obsession have followed the relationship of Rand Campbell and Sarah Montgomery who were once promised to be married, but through a serious of circumstances have now gone their separate ways even though their love hasn't.

While they are living at Fort Laramie, the Indian hostilities are growing and require armed escorts for the women if they venture outside the walls. Ben Croftner hasn't abandoned his plans to marry Sarah and see the demise of Rand after all this time. Now working in conjunction with Rand's fiancee Jessica Dubois, the two figure if they can work on a plan, they will both get what they want in the end. Sarah is still trying to work on moving forward in her life and hopes that a future with one of the men from the fort, will provide the stability she needs for both herself and her brother Joel. She respects that Rand has proposed and plans to wed Jessica, but hopes that somewhere along the way, things might work out in the end for them both to find happiness.

Now that winter has set in, supplies are hard to come by for the Indians and soon one of Sarah's Indian friends succumbs to the effects of pneumonia despite not wanting to live among the white men for safety and security. It is heartbreaking for Sarah to understand the differences between the cultures and how the Indians are having to deal with the issues plaguing them by the greed of the white men like Ben who will trade anything to get what he wants even if it means bringing them to the brink of war?

I received A Heart's Danger by Colleen Coble compliments of Litfuse Publicity and Thomas Nelson Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions contained here are strictly my own. After reading this series so far, I am once more drawn to the life that people faced in the Old West. The uncertainty of life from one day to another would have been overwhelming and never knowing if the man you loved would make it home or not, was something women had to contend with. Besides the effects of the weather, there were risks of growing hostility among the Indians and those living in the Fort. It wasn't an easy life and one that required a deep sense of faith to make it from one day to the next. This certainly comes across in each of these books from the Journey of The Heart Series. It was a step of faith that Sarah and Rand have to contend with in each difficult circumstances that they face and one that will only make them grow stronger in the end. This one is definitely worth 5 out of stars!

For more information about A Heart's Danger, Colleen Coble or where you can pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can find Colleen Coble on Facebook to stay up to date with all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on A Heart's Danger, please visit Litfuse Publicity's Book Tour page.


Sarah risks everything to expose the betrayal threatening the man she loves—but will the risk be worth it? Find out in book three, A Heart's Danger, of Colleen Coble's A Journey of the Heart series. Rand’s new fiancĂ©e wants to keep him from returning to Sarah Montgomery . . . for whom his heart clearly still yearns. Sarah just wants to move on with her life at Fort Laramie, but doing so under the watchful eyes of both Campbell—the man whose love she craves—and Croftner—the man whose lies have cost her everything.

Enter to win the perfect pairing giveaway: three books (books one–three in Colleen's A Journey of the Heart series) and coffee to pair with your new book!

heartsdanger-400

One grand prize winner will receive:
  • A copy of A Heart's Danger
  • A pound of Colleen's favorite coffee, Captain Davy's Coffee Roaster Costa Rican
  • A copy of A Heart's Disguise
  • A copy of A Heart's Obsession
Enter today by clicking the icon below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on May 31st. Winner will be announced June 1st on Colleen's website.

heartsdanger-enterbanner

Tuesday, May 12, 2015

Unselfish



I've taken some advice before that has truly helped when you're feeling down or depressed about something in your life, and that is simply take your eyes off of you and do something for someone else. I think that is the problem with most of us today, we live in a world of self gratification and less in a world of being a servant for someone else or simply exhibiting random acts of kindness to others.

Paul D. Parkinson has compiled a group of 99 vastly different true life stories of what it means to truly do something for someone else. From a cop who offered advice and a small token of helping a young man out before being shot and killed. His random act of kindness was captured on video tape. It showcases random ministry opportunities sprouting up from making coats for those in need, to supplying shoes or even wheelchairs through fund raising efforts.

In a world where the latest breaking news is something negative, these untold stories show us that there is still plenty of goodness happening all around us and even how we can get involved through incorporating our own ideas into fund raising or charitable contributions or even how one act of kindness simply created a lasting ripple throughout life. Each of these stories is straight and to the point without all the fluff, how someone got an idea, implemented it and the outcome of how that idea is gaining momentum.

From building houses for those who will never be able to avoid them, to digging wells for clean water, or simply making houses for the homeless with what you find on the streets, these stories are inspirational and truly uplifting. It creates a lasting legacy in the hearts of those that are touched by their generous efforts.

I received Unselfish: Love Thy Neighbor as Thy Selfie by Paul. D. Parkinson compliments of Believer's Trust for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions contained here are my own personal opinions. There is simply something in this wonderful hardcover book for everyone. From grandmother's offering love within the wall of prison ministry to children giving up their toys to help less fortunate kids in return. To love one's neighbor doesn't require words, it simply requires love in action to make all the difference in the world. In my opinion, this one hits a homerun and scores 5 out of 5 stars! A portion of the proceeds from the sale of each copy of Unselfish is being donated to the Cambodian Children's Fund

For more information about Unselfish: Love Thy Neighbor as Thy Selfie, Paul D. Parkinson or where you can pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can find Unselfish on Facebook and learn more about people making a difference in the world.

To donate or learn more about the Cambodian Children's Fund, please click here.


Monday, May 11, 2015

The Art of Losing Yourself



Do you ever feel like your drowning in your life, and no one notices? Everyday it seems like everyone is going along with their own lives, while you are watching yours fall apart bit by bit. You pray, but it even feels like God has abandoned you? Then you know exactly what Carmen Hart feels like almost every single day. Being married to her childhood sweetheart, they had always wanted a family. Yet it seems like its just not in God's plan for their life. After having six miscarriages, Carmen has lost more than her will to life, she seems to have lost her sanity at the same time.

Being in the public eye has never posed a problem in the past, but when shopping for a friends baby shower gifts at Toys R Us, and walks back to her car, she sees an expectant mother sign and completely loses it. After running over the sign repeatedly, she never expected someone to film it and post it to YouTube. Now as the local weathergirl this is not the type of publicity the station is looking for and tells Carmen to take some time off, til this blows over.

Only Carmen can't even discuss any of this with her husband Ben, because after losing so many children, she has put up walls between them and has no intention on taking them down any time soon. She finds solace renovating an old motel that has been in their family for generations. It's either fix it up and attempt to get it running again or sell the dilapidated property and let part of her treasured past go. What she doesn't expect to find there is her seventeen-year-old sister Gracie living there because it is the only real place she can call home. Their mother has turned back to alcohol once again and just seems like their parental roles have been reversed. Gracie is struggling to fit in where it seems like she doesn't and finds solace in the memories from years past in the old motel. Will this restoration project prove to be just what they both need to reconcile their pasts and move to a brighter future?

I received The Art of Losing Yourself by Katie Ganshert compliments of WaterBrook Multnomah Publishers and Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions contained here are strictly my own. This is such a great novel and truly enjoyed reading it over the weekend. It is such an escape from life, because you can definitely relate to either the characters of Gracie or Carmen. They are both struggling with the demands others have unfairly placed on them even though neither of them will admit it to those closest to them. They keep those buried deep inside instead of confronting them and sharing them with the very people that they need to. I found myself relating more to Carmen because of her apparent need to appear that she is all put together on the outside, but is literally falling apart on the inside. It's like we have to appear strong for others, but never let others see our need for comfort in our own personal struggles. I would have loved to see how some of the situations resolve themselves by the end, and am hoping there might be a sequel to this one in the near future! Well worth every single one of the 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion. There is a discussion guide at the conclusion of this book which is perfect for book clubs!

For more information on The Art of Losing Yourself, Katie Ganshert or where you can pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can find Katie Ganshert on Facebook to stay up to date on all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on The Art of Losing Yourself, please visit Christian Fiction Blog Alliance's book tour page.

Friday, May 8, 2015

Get To me



What do you do when you know the person sitting in front of you is meant to be part of your future? What do you say? How will you be able to convince her that there is simply more there than simple attraction? For police detective, Dane Scott, he truly has his work cut out for him, that is if he can keep his mind on work and not Aimee Jansenn.

Since meeting her at her brother Ben's wedding, he hasn't been able to think of anything else except how to put some distance between them. Dane isn't ready to make any type of future with any woman especially considering a past he can't and won't forget. If only it was that easy to convince his heart of that simple truth, but no matter how much he tries to keep his feelings for her hidden, he isn't able to do that.

No matter where he goes Aimee always turns up. Fate? Perhaps, but when she witnesses a drug deal gone bad and a murder, Dane knows that there is no way he will let anything happen to Aimee, and not just because she is his best friend's sister. He is hoping that things will not getting any more dangerous for Aimee when the murderer happens to be a notorious drug lord. Things just went from bad to worse and Dane now knows it is only a matter of time before Damien finds Aimee and ensures that there are no more witnesses to his crime that could put him away for a very long time.

I received Get to Me by Lara Van Hulzen compliments of Create Space Independent Publishing Platform for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions contained here are strictly my own. I absolutely loved this romance that readers caught a glimpse of in Remember Me, the first novel in the Men of Honor's series. This expands on that sizzling connection and in light of Aimee's life now being threatened only brings Dane's feelings for her closer to the surface. But now he has to reconcile with his past before he can move forward with his future and that is where the story gets interesting. Readers also get introduced to Torie, Aimee's best friend and roommate, also a cop for San Diego's police force and Keith Scott, Dane's brother serving in the Marines. Looks like romance readers will have their hands and hearts full in the next novel in this series soon! For me, this one easily scores a 5/5 stars in my opinion. There is just the right amount of chemistry and sparks flying between them both to keep any hopeful romantic busy!

For more information about Get To Me, Lara Van Hulzen or where you can pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can find Lara Van Hulzen on Facebook to stay up to date with all her latest novels.

You can pick up a copy of Get To Me in paperback or ebook format at Amazon.com


Thursday, May 7, 2015

Side by Side



Two women of two very different faiths will realize how great the saving power of Jesus can be when they have to work together to keep them both alive. Based on real events in the Sudan, author Jana Kelley uses her knowledge of missions work in other countries and the struggles Muslim women face when they convert to Christianity. For most it is a death sentence in keeping honor within the family and women are always considered lower than any male living in the family regardless of their age. It is an eye opening look at what is involved for Muslim women to walk away from the life they have always known to follow Jesus.

Mia and Michael have always wanted to live in another country and when the job offer opened for Michael with the Kellar Hope Foundation, in Sudan to aid in missionary work, they decide to pack up their family of five and leave the life they have known in Texas to make a new life in a small town of Khartoum, the capital of Sudan. While things are vastly different, Mia is hoping for an opportunity to share her faith of Jesus with some of the Arabic women living nearby, but she isn't quite certain how. A co-worker of Michael's, Beth offers a suggestion to meet the neighbors using their children as common grounds to get to know one another.

But Mia lacks a broader knowledge of the Arabic language and soon faces her own barriers as she tries to share her faith with her neighbor who becomes distant when it is first mentioned. Mia believes she isn't ready to hear the gospel just yet, and struggles to find a place to fit in, while being at home all day with the children. She wonders if this trip was really God's calling after all.

For Halimah, she is struggling to find time to know the Jesus she is learning about in her Arabic Bible, the truth seems to find a place in her heart where she wants to believe everything she is reading about him. It will take an answer to prayer for Halimah to finally accept that Jesus is real. But if she tells her family, it might mean the end of her life, but she is hoping her family might be open to at least hearing all that she is learning about the Jesus of the Bible.

I received Side by Side by Jana Kelley compliments of New Hope Publishers and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions contained in this review are strictly my own. What I loved most is how both Mia and Halimah discover God's divine purpose for both of them being precisely where they are despite the odds facing them both. It is difficult at times to fathom how violent a family can be against their own daughter when professing a faith in Jesus contrary to their Muslim upbringing and how degraded women are treated in that culture. Truly eye opening in that it showcases how truly blessed we are in the United States to have the freedom to worship and not face any retribution from our country or our family. I give this book a 4.5 out of 5 stars in my opinion.

For more information about Side by Side, Jana Kelley or where you can pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can find Jana Kelley on Facebook to stay up to date on all her latest books.

To read more reviews on Side by Side, please visit Litfuse Publicity's book tour page.


Wednesday, May 6, 2015

Five Days In May



I don't think I've ever had such a profound feeling after reading a novel like I have after finishing Five Days in May by Ninie Hammon. You want to remember that name because her books will have you remembering them long after you have finished and to me, that is a sign of a talented and memorable author. WOW! Was my initial thought after reading this novel. How can I possibly sum this up in a review without giving away too much but convey to people looking for an exceptional book to please pick this one up.

The only way to partially describe this book is among notable movies like The Green Mile and The Shawshank Redemption. If you've watched either of them, it's not that the actors themselves are what makes the movie but the story being illustrated on the big screen. Five Days in May is precisely that while it remains in book format and I truly hope and pray that some worthwhile production company picks this up and really sees something it in and breathes life into it on the big screen. It's message is too small for television.

It's a story about sacrifice and how far you're willing to go to see that sacrifice through. It's a story about how the lives of Emily Prentiss, Reverend David "Mac" McIntosh, Jonas his father, and Joy his daughter would intersect in a way that would leave them all changed forever by their circumstances and what drew them together.

All four people have a date with destiny and what occurs on that warm Friday in May in 1963 can only be described as miraculous. Mac has been struggling as the town of Graham's pastor since the loss of his wife Melanie. While he watched cancer strip away the very life of the woman he loved, all his prayer to God seemed to go unanswered and he can no longer stand in front of a body of believers and talk to them about a God he no longer believes in. His 16-year-old daughter Joy is struggling to come to terms with no only her mother's death but has now discovered she is pregnant. Not something a preacher's kid ever wants to deal with in highschool and believes the only answer to her problem is to find a way to get rid of the baby growing inside her. But her father is certainly the last person she wants to talk to.

Jonas has watched Alzheimer's take away Maggie, the woman he agree to love and care for until death parted them. Most days she isn't the same woman he married and she doesn't even know who he is. She rambles on about events that aren't even a part of their life, and worse, she screams bitter profanities at him, while she struggles with a disease that has claimed her mind. Jonas knows there is only one way to fulfill his marriage vow and he will do what it takes so she doesn't have to suffer in her private nightmares any longer. Emily Prentiss or Princess awaits her coming execution in just 5 short days and all she knows is she must convince the pastor who is coming to meet with her, that she isn't crazy and she knows more than most people do about others through her visions. Will she be able to convince him that something wicked is coming to the town of Graham before it's too late for them all?

I received Five Days in May by Ninie Hammon compliments of the author herself. I actually came across her through Facebook posts about her incredible books. I knew that based on people comparing her with Frank Peretti, Ted Dekker, Tosca Lee and in my opinion Stephen King, I knew I had to read her novel. You always want to believe that the book will hold up to all the compliments but this one does that and so much more, I simply can't articulate it well enough. To say that it's well-written seems so shallow, because it takes you by the hand and never lets go until the end. You don't just read this novel, you become part of it. There is no religious elements in this story but to convey that there is an underlying theme of what it means to lay down one's life for another, the very same belief Christian share about the sacrifice of Jesus. That is what you will find in your own way in this novel I hope. For me, a home run with 5 out of 5 stars and I will be adding this author to my "MUST HAVE" list, because if this is a taste of what she brings to her books, I want them all!

For more information about Ninie Hammon, Five Days in May or where you can pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can find Ninie Hammon on Facebook to stay up to date with all her latest novels.


Tuesday, May 5, 2015

Plumb - Exhale CD Review and Giveaway



"It takes a village to do anything well. This album didn't just happen all by itself. Thank You to the one who truly deserves all the thanks. My true love, Jesus. I have spent most of my life, much less my career, living for me. I believe in natural consequences, so naturally, I eventually crashed and burned in just about every way. In that place, I learned that I don't exist for me but for the one who created me, died for me, forgave me and made me new. Jesus. You not only forgave me for my selfishness, and healed me and restored my home...You have me a second chance to use this gift you've given me to honor and glorify you with it, that others may know your hope.

This record is different than any record I have ever made because it's made solely for You, my Savior. It's made with my new heart for You. I love You, Jesus. As long as I have breath in my lungs I will praise You. This is an act of worship, an offering of thankfulness to you. I have breathed in the grace you so freely offered to me, it has changed me and now I breathe it out into this world through these love letters. Here, I exhale...that it may point others to you. All I am is Yours. ~ PLUMB"

In what I would have to say is definitely an inspired album, Exhale offers just that insight in every single song you find on the newest album from PLUMB. Each song feels like a personal prayer to God song with heartfelt adoration to the one who deserves all our praise and glory. This is such a beautiful tribute to PLUMB's latest vision back to God with a determination you can feel through the words of each song. My favorite, "Lord I'm Ready Now" is definitely one we can all relate to. It's about feeling like a mess and we are looking for something more than what this world has to offer.

The title song Exhale, offers hope to those who are looking for a way out of their problems and can find it in the arms of Jesus. "Smoke" tells the tale of being in a valley of shadow that feels worth than death, but in hearing the voice of God calling, can lead us out of our despair and find a new life again. "Resurrection" offers a new way at looking at our former lives in light of the resurrection of having new life breathed into darkness through faith in God. We too can be resurrected!

There are some great praise songs like Great is Our God, Faithful and Sleep will be Sweet that give all the glory and honor to God that anyone can relate to. This is such a wonderful way to showcase all the honor and glory God has done for all of us and thus a wonderful album to pick up to restore a parched and dry soul.

I received Exhale by PLUMB compliments of Propeller Consulting LLC for my honest review of this CD. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions contained here are my own unless otherwise notated. This new CD contains 12 amazing and powerful songs that can covey the personal journey that PLUMB has taken to get to this point in her spiritual walk. It is so much different than anything I have heard from her formerly and think this one will definitely appeal to believers everywhere. I give this one a well deserved 5 out of 5 stars.

Thanks to the generosity of Propeller LLC, they are offering a giveaway copy of Exhale by PLUMB to one lucky follower of my blog, Reviews From The Heart. Here are your guidelines to enter:

1. Be a follower of my blog Reviews From The Heart. 

2. "Like" PLUMB's Facebook page!

3. Be a resident of the US or Canada. Please No P.O. Boxes.

4. Leave a comment below telling me why you'd love to win a copy of Exhale and don't forget to include your email address. You can use the words (at) or (dot) instead of the symbols.

I will be notifying the winner by email once the giveaway ends on May 15th.

For more information about Exhale, PLUMB or where you can pick up a copy of this CD today, please click on the links below:


You can find PLUMB on Facebook to stay up to date with all her latest music.

You can download Exhale on iTunes!

"Disclosure (in accordance with the FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”): Many thanks to Propeller Consulting, LLC for providing this prize for the giveaway. Choice of winners and opinions are 100% my own and NOT influenced by monetary compensation. I did receive a sample of the product in exchange for this review and post.

Only one entrant per mailing address, per giveaway.  If you have won a prize from our sponsor Propeller / FlyBy Promotions in the last 30 days, you are not eligible to win.  Or if you have won the same prize on another blog, you are not eligible to win it again. Winner is subject to eligibility verification.”


Chance at Loving You



When you take three very talented best-selling authors like Terri Blackstock, Candace Calvert and Susan May Warren and have them collaborate on three contemporary short romance stories and place them in one exception book, you have Chance at Loving You! This is such a beautiful collection of exceptional and heart-warming romance stories that offer the hope of redemption, the possibility of second chances and always following your heart despite the pain of the past. All of these stories do just that. This is a perfect book to pick up when you want a romance collection that will leaving you loving the stories and trying the recipes that concludes each one. Guaranteed to fill your heart and your stomach with love and culinary flavors!

Terri Blackstock takes the lead with For the Love of Money. Both Julie Sheffield, a waitress and Blake Adcock, an entrepreneur learn how difficult it can be to follow your dreams. Despite how much you might want them, God might have other ideas in mind when Blake loses everything but knows he can't stiff Julie and instead offers her an IOU along with half of a lottery ticket. Will they both win big or will money just cause more problems than either of them could possibly understand?

Candace Calvert whips up quite the delicious romance in The Recipe. Aimee Curran is about to see the reality of her dream of being a culinary winner of a vegan cooking contest when she realizes that the recipes of her mother's she had been relying on to help her win the contest, may have more to offer than the food she is trying to create and that might in fact save more than just the life of the seniors she works with. Is God cooking up something more than just food?

Finally Susan May Warren takes us for a spin with Hook, Line and Sinker which showcases Abigail Cushman and the man, Ross Springer she has always loved but never told him. Now they are faced off with a fishing challenge between their two ministry groups to see who can land the biggest catch over a three day trip. Will the odds be in her favor or does God have a bigger fish for her to catch in the process?

I received Chance of Loving You by Terri Blackstock, Candace Calvert and Susan May Warren compliments of Tyndale House Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation aside from a free copy of this book for my review and the opinions are strictly my own. I simply can't wait to try each of the recipes that accompany these stories that will definitely stay with you long after you finish this romance collection. These are some of my favorite books because you truly get a taste of each of these best-selling authors all tucked into one sweet romance book. In this reader's heart, it definitely has earned a 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion.

For more information about Chance of Loving You, Terri Blackstock, Candace Calvert or Susan May Warren, please click on the links below:


You can find Terri Blackstock on Facebook to stay up to date with all her latest books.

You can find Candace Calvert on Facebook to stay up to date with all her latest books.

You can find Susan May Warren on Facebook to stay up to date with all her latest books.

Monday, May 4, 2015

Water From My Heart



In most of our lives, we wonder if the path we began on can ever change. For some of us, we believe that it is simply too late after we have been on that path for too long, especially when you're doing something illegal. For Charles Finn, he knows that if he can keep himself on the path without any connections to family, or any type of involvement in any relationship, it will benefit not only himself but those around him. It is also a very lonely lifestyle to live when you realize in looking back, you have absolutely nothing to show for it except money. Those that flock to that are often only looking out for their own best interests and will only hang out until the money dries up.

For Charles, he knew that he was always great with numbers especially after graduating from Harvard with an MBA in Finance. But he was only interested in what he could get out of life and nothing more. From learning how to win at cards, he took advantage of those who were not as educated as he was in both life and learning. He soon gained the attention of Marshall Pickering, not with his business mind, that would come later, but it was his interest or apparent lack of interest he showed in Amanda, his daughter. While most tried hard to gain Marshalls attention through dating Amanda, Charles knew how to play the man better than he thought and soon gained both, a place in Marshall's business world and the option to date Amanda, even though he kept that on a casual basis.

But working with Marshall soon gave Charles insight into a corrupt business world that would forever change the path he would remain on. As long as he didn't get caught using his valuable life skills he made both Marshall and himself a lot of money running drugs to Central America and gaining the financial acquisition of a coffee company that cornered the market on organic great tasting coffee that went beyond anything the world had ever tasted. It would be that obsession in doing whatever was needed to take over that company that would come back to haunt Charles in his immediate future. Is there a way for a man to gain redemption and acceptance or is he forever doomed to a life of immeasurable consequences?

I received Water From My Heart by Charles Martin compliments of Center Street Publishing, a division of Hachette Book Groups for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions found here are strictly my own. What I loved more about this novel wasn't so much the story that surfaced from true life events but the author's own self discovery of who God was in the process of researching this novel and how he couldn't deny the existence of God any more. I think for readers that is such an important moment that is shared when after reading this, you discover how it all came to be. That is how God-moments occur on a personal one on one basis, and God meets you in a very personal way that you are forever touched and can never go back. This novel alternates between current time frames and Charles past so you can see how they all converge to where he finds himself trying to come to terms with who he is and trying to find a way to change for the better by those wonderful people he meets along his journey. I rate this one 4.5 out of 5 stars in my opinion.

For more information about Water From My Heart, Charles Martin or where you can preorder a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can find Charles Martin on Facebook to stay up to date on all his latest novels.

To read more reviews on Water From My Heart, please visit Center Street Publishing's website.