The Best People In The World!

Friday, February 12, 2016

Ortz PS4 Vertical Stand with Cooling Fan



My daughter is a huge video game fan and has just about every video game system there is. She is always concerned now with the issue of over heating of the large consoles and the length of time she generally spends playing them when she has time. Since overheating is a concern that most of the companies recognize they are always quick to point out how to ensure they don't. From making sure they are placed on hard surfaces, to making sure that nothing is placed on top of the gaming console or that the air intakes remain free from being blocked.

When the opportunity became available to review the Ortz PS4 Vertical Stand with Cooling Fan, and realizing how much money we spent on the console, we knew this was something we had to try. Anything that enables the unit to prevent overheating has got to be something you might want to try. It was simple to use and extremely easy to hook up. The fan does emit some noise but not so much to be distracting from playing the games, more like a slight hum. The availability to stand the unit up vertically now has offered us some additional desk top space we didn't have before and it does not affect the performance of the game. The best part for her was the ability to charge her wireless controllers that comes built in. She loved that it was easy to use, is helping her with preventing any overheating issues, provides more space on her gaming desk and charges her controllers when she is done.

For me, the price point was well worth it to ensure that we won't have any overheating issues and the benefit of having a way to charge her wireless controllers without more wires is a convenience any parent or serious gamer would love, plus it is all in one. With us, this one truly rates a full 5 out of 5 stars in our opinion and would be highly recommended to anyone with a PS4.

I received the Ortz PS4 Vertical Stand with Cooling Fan compliments Ortz and the VIP Power Club for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review aside from the product in exchange for my personal and honest evaluation. For more information about the Ortz PS4 Vertical Stand with Cooling Fan, please click on the links below:



Keeper of the Stars



Forgiveness often times in some people's minds means that we must also forget but never does it say that in the Bible when we are to forgive. I guess forgetting might grow softer in the years that follow or it may never go away, but forgiveness is something that offers a degree of freedom we might never experience unless we give it. It isn't so much to allow someone off the hook for something that they have done, but it merely says in a way, I'm not going to hold on to this any longer, I am letting go of carrying around this burden anymore.

In the novel Keeper of the Stars, the third book in the Kings Meadow Series, forgiveness is the theme that surrounds Penny Cartwright, who refuses to forgive Trevor Reynolds for the role he may have played in her brother's death. At least in her mind it is his fault. Had her younger brother Brad, not been hired as a drummer in Reynold's band, he might very well still be alive today. Even though Trevor was involved in the very same accident, Penny refuses to offer him anything in the way of listening to his side of things or even why he has suddenly appeared at their family's ranch to offer his help. She wants nothing to do with him, even if every single girl in town can't help but notice Trevor's good looks and country boy charm.

Penny can't seem to let go of all her sorrow, bitterness and sadness that is consuming her every single time she looks at Trevor. The only person he is initially able to break through to is her father, Rodney who could use the help around the ranch especially in light of his son's death and the fact that he isn't getting any younger. If there was only a way to reach Penny, and let her know how important it is to begin to move forward and that in the days and months ahead it will get easier just like it did when they buried his wife and her mother 12 years ago. Perhaps all she needs is time and for now, he is going to accept Trevor's offer of help and hopes that during the time they spend together things may get easier. Trevor didn't cause the accident and that is something that Penny will have to contend with. .

I received Keeper of the Stars by Robin Lee Hatcher compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation aside from a free copy of the book in exchange for my honest review. I love that forgiveness is the central theme of this novel because of the vital importance it plays in the life of people every day who feel a sense of entitlement of holding onto grudges like that punishes the offender somehow, but in the end all it does it hurt the one holding on to it by relieving the circumstance over and over again. It also vital why the Bible says we must forgive, because we never know if we will ever see someone again because tomorrow's are never guaranteed and once that time is gone, we can never say we are sorry. That is a regret that is too hard to carry around with us. There is a great discussion guide included at the conclusion of this novel and in my opinion, this one was well worth every single 5 out of 5 stars.

For more information about Keeper of the Stars, Robin Lee Hatcher or where you can pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can find Robin Lee Hatcher on Facebook to stay up to date on all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on Keeper of the Stars, please visit Litfuse Publicity's Book Tour Page. 


Thursday, February 11, 2016

Star Struck



I can't imagine the life of being a well-known celebrity like Mercedes Grant. She is the end product of famous parents as well, one a well-known Western legend and the other a bit more in your face type and has been known to ruffle a few feathers to get her way. It's a good thing they are no longer married to one another, but that doesn't mean that Mercedes is often called to be the ongoing referee between the two as they continue to battle it out with their own younger romantic conquests. She'd much rather be an unknown and no more so than when she is on the verge of being sick and run down. Thankfully she has escaped to her nearby mountain cabin for a bit of R and R but that isn't helping much. This will be one time she will need to seek the care of a doctor. But just how does one garner a disguise that no one will notice when your face is plastered on every single tabloid?

Yet she manages to do just that, at least in her own mind and winds up under the local care of Dr. Luke Parker, who vows to keep her identity a secret for now. Because Mercedes insists she has West Nile Virus, he offers to take a blood sample but the test results will take a few days. Until they Mercedes vows to rest and take her medications until she hears from the good doctor. When Luke learns that Mercedes is suffering from something much worse than a bad cold, he knows this is something that can not be conveyed over the phone. He drives out to give her the worst possible news and its not West Nile.

On top of that added stress comes a death threat from someone who has vowed to personally kill her and thus another reason for the seclusion of her cabin. Along with her faithful sidekicks Lizzie and Mr. Darcy, her four-footed canines, she also has her body guard Bo on standby in a close cabin if she needs him. The problem is that someone is sneaking into the cabin without anyone's knowledge and that has Mercedes on edge. If that doesn't make things worse, her parents drop by unexpectedly for an impromptu visit. How is a girl supposed to get any rest in the meantime? How will she handle conveying her medical news to her parents and her agency? Only time will tell and the clock is ticking rapidly down.



I received Star Struck by Kathi Oram Peterson compliments of Covenant Communications for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation aside from a free copy of the book in exchange for my fair and honest evaluation. I really enjoyed this novel and found it to be similar to something I had written quite some time ago in high school with a similar plot line. The characters are believable and you understand the dilemma each of these is dealing with especially poor Luke who has to treat his patient and keep the truth from her overbearing but likable parents until she is ready to share it with them. This is a great novel for fans of suspense mysteries with a little romantic flair tossed in for good measure. I would give this one a 4 out of 5 stars in my opinion.

For more information about Star Struck, Kathi Oram Peterson or where you can pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can find Kathi Oram Peterson on Facebook to stay up to date on all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on Star Struck, check out the list of reviewers below:

Here is the schedule:
Feb. 8th: http://www.singinglibrarianbooks.com/index.html http://mybookaday.blogspot.com/
Feb. 9th: http://ldsandlovinit.blogspot.com/, http://literarytimeout.blogspot.com/
Feb. 10th: http://www.wishfulendings.com/, http://lisaisabookworm.blogspot.com/, http://www.rockinbookreviews.com/
Feb. 11th: http://katiescleanbookcollection.blogspot.com/, http://ldswritermom.blogspot.com/, http://reviewsfromtheheart.blogspot.com/, http://melsshelves.blogspot.com/
Feb. 12th: http://booksaresanity.blogspot.com/, http://littlelightdesigncollective.com/, http://seekingwithallyurheart.blogspot.com/, http://gettingyourreadonaimeebrown.blogspot.com/

  a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, February 8, 2016

Proof of Angels



You may remember a recent story in the news of a car accident in Spanish Fork, California when a vehicle overturned trapping a young baby inside. The mother was killed instantly, but when the police officers arrived, they heard a woman's voice telling them to Hurry and help! Through a series of circumstances known as Godwinks, the young baby was saved and the story impacted the world, that angels were watching over the child and leading help to where the child was trapped.

As a believer in Christ, I know that angels exist because the Bible says they do and I believe I have had my own angel encounter even though I didn't see any. The Bible is clear on their purpose and we have to be careful to test all things because we never know if it comes from God or our enemy Satan, the god of this world. In the book, Proof of Angels by Ptolemy Tompkins and Tyler Beddoes, it highlights that there are circumstances happening around us that clearly indicate that we are not alone. That there is a spiritual world that operates within our own even though we do not see it. We have to be cautious however, that we do not fall into the tendency to worship angels because they are created by God and are sent by Him to serve in whatever He has called them to do. Whether to lead rescuers to help a trapped baby or to encourage others going through a difficult time.

This book defines some of those circumstances through true stories told by those who have experienced them from 9/11 to a school bombing to even random encounters where someone's health was on the line and through a series of random events, all of these people escaped certain tragedy and feel confident it was angels that saved them all. The book primarily highlights the Spanish Fork event and the circumstances that followed with the officers involved and the media frenzy. We know that there are times where angel occurrences seem prevalent as in the 90's where angels were the main event both in the media and in the bookstores.

I received Proof of Angels by Ptolemy Tompkins and Tyler Beddoes compliments of Howard Books, a division of Simon and Schuster for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation aside from a free copy of this book in exchange for my fair and honest evaluation. The only thing that bothers me about the book is the limited references to what the Bible has to say on the subject between angels and demons or fallen angels. With that being said, it would be easy to see how people might be lead astray not in that angels don't exist but what their purpose is, who sends them and what their limits are. There are some biblical references but not enough to truly educate the reader in my mind that angels do exist because the Bible says they do. More references are given to outside authorities opinions on angels like Thomas Aquinas, Dante, Shakespeare, Saint Augustine and Saint Paul. There is quite a bit of reference of the Mormon beliefs and thus the reader should be cautioned to compare this to what the Bible says to be true. In my opinion, this one rates 3 out of 5 stars for me.

For more information about Proof of Angels, Ptolemy Tompkins, or where you can pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can find Ptolemy Tompkins on Facebook's Proof of Angels page.

To see more reviews on Proof of Angels, please visit Howard Books' website. 



Friday, February 5, 2016

A Son's Vow



I've been in love with the Amish lifestyle since visiting Lancaster, PA in my teens and there is something to be said for the love of family and community as well as their strong faith to accept things without any really question as to why God has allowed certain events to take place in their lives. They struggle but they don't hold on to things. In Shelley Shepard Gray's newest series, The Charmed Amish Life, we now follow the lives of those living in Charm, Ohio. The first book A Son's Vow takes us right into the heart of the action of this novel.

There was a recent fire at the Kinsinger Lumber Mill in Charm and it claimed the lives of 5 men. Through an odd series of accidents starting with one man leaving an oily rag in the dumpster to wood shavings collecting there instead of where they should be and a piece of hot metal all lead to the fire without placing blame on any one individual. However in the heart of Aaron Kurtz, he believes that the brunt of the blame has been placed on his father who set the rag in the trash. He feels the Lumber Mills owners should have taken better care to ensure things like this don't happen even though they lost the life of their own father in the accident as well. Aaron's anger in not being able to let go is following him around to the point where he is taking it out on his family, through yelling and physically abusing his sister Darla.

Darla tries hard to understand what Aaron is dealing with but she worries if he doesn't get it under control the members of the community will take action. As the oldest daughter she has more than enough on her hands to deal with besides her siblings but since their mother walked out as well, Darla is beside herself trying to figure out what to do and Aaron doesn't seem to be willing to step up to the responsibilities now falling to the wayside around the farm. She doesn't want to bring it up for fear he will only get angry at her and lash out even more. Her only consolation is talking to her best childhood friend Lukas Kinsinger, but since Aaron holds him personally responsible for the death of their father, he takes even that anger out on his family and Darla when he can. But Lukas isn't about to stand around and watch the only person he ever loved being abused. After all, he lost his own father in the fire as well. It will take a community pulling together to help Aaron before anyone else gets hurt.

I received A Son's Vow by Shelley Shepard Gray compliments of Avon Inspire Publishing and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation aside from a free copy of the novel in exchange for my fair and honest evaluation. This one I truly enjoyed and as all of Shelley's novels, they are always over much too soon. I simply want more because you find yourself so lost in the story it's over before you know it and you have turned the last page. There are some great additions to this one beside the cute map within the front cover, There is a meet the author section, about the book and some great discussion questions just perfect for the book clubs! A bonus recipe is also included to make this truly a treat! For me, hands down a 5 out of 5 stars once again. Now I can't wait for the next novel in this series!

For more information about A Son's Vow, Shelley Shepard Gray or where you can pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can find Shelley Shepard Gray on Facebook to stay up to date on all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on A Son's Vow, please visit Litfuse Publicity's Book Tour Page.

Wednesday, February 3, 2016

Grub Market - Review and Giveaway



Today more than ever moms and families are becoming more aware of where our food is produced, how it is grown and what additives or preservatives are being added in. You see the labels everywhere claiming "Organic," "Non-GMO," "Gluten-Free," and so many more but are they really what they claim. Whatever happened to those good old small town farmers who believed in raising food and produce the old-fashioned way. More importantly, how can you know if you are truly getting what you pay for? Wouldn't it be nice if there was a way to take all those small town old fashioned farmers in one place and allow consumers to pick what they want and have it delivered right to their front door without costing an arm and a leg?

Great news!!! A company does exist and it's called Grub Market. Consumers can log into the companies website with their zip code to see what kinds of produce and products are available. Everything from Gluten-Free, Organic, Non-GMO, Vegan, Locally Sourced, and Preservative Free. You choose bread, meat, milk, eggs, fruits and veggies and more right from the site and it is shipped directly to your front door.



In fact, I had the pleasure of having a California Fruit Bounty Box delivered for me to try some of the produce in season at that time. I was delighted when I got the box which was packaged better than most fragile products I have ordered. I received a pineapple, some organic apples, oranges, an avocado, a pomegranate, a pear a box of dates, and a grapefruit. Before I even opened the box, the smell of the produce inside was evident and they truly smelled amazing. The best part besides how fresh and wonderful they smelled was their taste. There is something that tastes so different when it's homegrown, fresh and organic. Like you walked outside and picked them fresh from your own plants. I was more than delighted to get these but I loved the availability of the products you can order directly from the website as they are all local fresh food that is shipped direct from the farm to your front door.

For those of you that want to try to products, visit Grub Market and see what is available in your neck of the woods or farm and while you are there, use the coupon code GRUB20 to get 20% off your order. These are wholesale foods at wholesale prices and are always 20-50% off and you never have to leave the comfort of your home to get them,. There is farm produce, fresh fruits, condiments, organic eggs, pasture raised meat, baked goods, candies, healthy snacks, beverages, delicious dairy and pantry products. You even get FREE Shipping on orders over $59.00!!!



I received Grub Markets California Fruit Bounty Box compliments of Grub Market and Propeller LLC for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation aside from the California Fruit Bounty Box in exchange for my fair and honest evaluation. Trust me, besides the convenience of ordering this from home and knowing it's being shipped from the farm to my front door, I now have a hand in the food my family enjoys and I know where it is coming from and can feel good about knowing my family is getting the best that I hoped for in purchasing these products. I easily give Grub Market a full 5 out of 5 stars and think its a win-win situation all around for both families and farmers.

Now for the best part...thanks to the generosity of Grub Market and Propeller LLC, they are offering a regular sized California Fruit Bounty Box to one lucky follower of my blog, Reviews From The Heart. Here is all you need to do to enter.

1. Be a follower of my blog, Reviews From The Heart.

2. "Like" Grub Market on Facebook.

3. Be a resident of the U.S.  No P.O. Boxes, please!!!

4. Leave a comment below telling me why you'd love to win a Grub Market California Fruit Bounty Box and don't forget to leave me your email address. Otherwise I have no way to reach you if you're the lucky winner. You can even use the words (at) and (dot) instead of the symbols.

The giveaway ends on February 10, 2016. So feel free to enter as many times as you want. Winner will be notified by email.

For more information about Grub Market, please click on the links below:


You can find Grub Market on Facebook to stay up to date with all their latest information and products.


"Disclosure (in accordance with the FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”): Many thanks to Propeller Consulting, LLC for providing this prize for the giveaway. Choice of winners and opinions are 100% my own and NOT influenced by monetary compensation. I did receive a sample of the product in exchange for this review and post.

Only one entrant per mailing address, per giveaway. If you have won a prize from our sponsor Propeller / FlyBy Promotions in the last 30 days, you are not eligible to win. Or if you have won the same prize on another blog, you are not eligible to win it again. Winner is subject to eligibility verification.”

Monday, February 1, 2016

Beyond the Silence



2016 is starting off on a great note with some incredible novels and Beyond the Silence by Tracie Peterson and Kimberley Woodhouse is no exception. Being a huge fan of western romances since I was a young teen, I've loved every single novel of Tracie Peterson's I can get my hands on, because she takes me back to another time period to lose myself in a virtual world of a great western romance with a strong and determined female character like Lillian Porter. Growing up in a life of well means has offered her luxuries she may have taken for granted, but still deep inside her heart a desire to follow along the same path of her mother has caught fire. Being the last family member under her grandfather's roof, he has lost all sense of purpose and has become a bitter old man instead after losing his wife and watching his daughter follow the path Lillian wants to follow.

To call to adventure out west is more than Lillian can bear along with her grandfather's temperament, so knowing that to walk away will mean she will have to find her own financial means she takes the position as a nanny in Angel's Camp, California far from the only home she has ever known. She just hopes that time will heal the wounds her grandfather has in his heart and she vows to do whatever she can to make it on her own. She just isn't prepared for the less than warm welcome she receives after stepping off the train in Angel's Camp and learning that the man, Woodward Colton, who has employed her has been accused of murdering his own wife. Yet not everyone believes the rumors circulating and since Woody hasn't been jailed for the crime, Lillian is willing to form her own opinion. The only catch is 7-year-old Jimmy hasn't spoken one word since his mother's murder. Perhaps if she can find a way to reach him, the truth may set them all free.

I received Beyond the Silence by Tracie Peterson and Kimberley Woodhouse compliments of Bethany House Publishers and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation aside from a free copy of this novel in exchange for my own personal and honest evaluation. I love this premise because as we know there are always two sides to every story and quite often people are willing to believe what they want instead of listening to the truth. My favorite is always Tracie and Kimberley's strong willed and determined female characters who have a whole lot of gumption to dig in and not let others run rough shod over them but still keeps them feminine charm and beauty. This is what draws me to these novels is the adventure you find yourself on that moves the story forward and never becomes stagnant or even predictable even though you know in the end, romance will ensue, it doesn't come easily. This is why I love Tracie Peterson's novels and this one just finds its home next to my growing collection in my own personal library. This one gains a perfect 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion.

For more information about Beyond the Silence, Tracie Peterson, Kimberley Woodhouse or where you can pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can find Tracie Peterson on Facebook to stay up to date on all her latest novels.

You can find Kimberley Woodhouse on Facebook to stay up to date on all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on Beyond the Silence, please visit Litfuse Publicity's Book Tour page. 

Lillian Porter takes a chance on a new job and a new future . . . but rumors surrounding her job make Lillian begin to wonder if she made the right choice in Tracie Peterson and Kimberley Woodhouse's Beyond the Silence. There are rumors in town that her new employer, Woodward Colton, caused the death of his wife. This accusation doesn't match the man Lillian comes to know . . . but soon the Colton olive farm is no longer a safe place. Lillian encounters suspicious characters on their land and mysterious damage done to the farm. Will Mrs. Goodman and Jimmy be able to speak what they know in time to save Lillian from tragedy?

Tracie and Kimberley are celebrating the launch of Beyond the Silence with a Loaded Fire Prize Pack giveaway (details below) and an author chat party on February 11!

beyond silence-400 

One grand prize winner will receive:
  • One copy of Beyond the Silence
  • A Kindle Fire 7
  • A $50 Amazon gift card to load your Fire with books
Enter today by clicking the icon below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on 2/11. The winner will be announced at the Beyond the Silence Facebook party. RSVP for a chance to connect with Tracie, Kimberley, and other readers, as well as for a chance to win other prizes!

beyond silence-enterbanner

RSVP today and spread the word—tell your friends about the giveaway via FACEBOOK, TWITTER, or PINTEREST and increase your chances of winning. Hope to see you on the 11th!