The Best People In The World!

Thursday, July 30, 2015

A Heart's Promise



Sometimes the hardest choice is the one our heart wants to make but our mind convinces us that it simply isn't for us. Emmie Croftner, knows all about bad choices. It wasn't enough to be born into a family where her older brothers pretty much dictated the way life would be lived and that she would spend her time serving their needs. To call them ruthless would be an understatement, and that is why she probably fell so hard for Monroe. Not only did she need the kind of attention and perceived love he was offering, but in a way it was an escape from her brothers. Perhaps if she had listened to her head more than her heart, her life would be different.

Instead, she learns that her marriage to Monroe was real. He was previously married to another woman and he had a child with her. So when Monroe died, Emmie was left with nothing, except being a child thanks to Monroe. Her only hope would be heading to Fort Laramie and staying with her sister in law Sarah to escape the looks and rumors she was now at the center of.

She just never expected to meet a man just as sweet as Monroe had appeared, but this time instead of listening to her heart, she is listening to her common sense. One that reminds her that all men are alike, that no matter how smooth talking they might be, how kind, they only have one thing in mind, and as much as she would love to give in, she isn't about to take that chance with Isaac. She'd rather be alone for the right reasons, than with someone for all the wrong reasons.

I received A Heart's Promise by Colleen Coble compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. Aside from a free copy of this book, I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions contained here are strictly my own. This is the 5th book in the Journey of the Heart Series, and I can't wait to see how it will all end up. Emmie is struggling to find her way among the women at the Fort and believes that she will find herself facing similar circumstances once the women find out about her past. One woman in particular will go to great lengths to ensure Emmie stays away from Isaac, a man she intends on marrying. Such a beautiful story of hope, renewal and forgiveness that has been the theme of this series from beginning to end. I'd rate this one a 4 out of 5 stars.

For more information about A Heart's Promise, Colleen Coble or where to pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can find Colleen Coble on Facebook to stay up to date on all her latest books.

To read more reviews on A Heart's Promise, please visit Litfuse Publicity's book tour page. 


Will the promise Emmie makes to her friend mean the end to her dreams of a future with Isaac? Find out in book five, A Heart's Promise, of Colleen Coble's A Journey of the Heart series. Emmie Croftner let Isaac Liddle go to avoid telling him about her past. But Isaac remains determined to win Emmie’s heart and hand. Can she live happily without Isaac?

Take a day off and head to the beach with a new giveaway from Colleen: five books (books one–five in Colleen's A Journey of the Heart series) and a beach bag to tote your new books in!

heartspromise-400 

One grand prize winner will receive:
  • A copy of A Heart's Promise
  • A Lands' End beach tote
  • A copy of A Heart's Betrayal
  • A copy of A Heart's Disguise
  • A copy of A Heart's Obsession
  • A copy of A Heart's Danger
Enter today by clicking the icon below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on July 31st. Winner will be announced August 3rd on Colleen's website.

heartspromise-enterbanner

Tuesday, July 28, 2015

Crazy Little Thing Called Love



Looking for a romance that is about to catch you by storm? You might just want to grab hold of Beth K. Vogt's newest novel, Crazy Little Thing Called Love. This is the first novel in the Wedding Destination series and I can tell you, you are in for a bumpy ride that is worth it from beginning to end. Take Vanessa Hollister, a paramedic who is trying to figure out how to ensure marriage number two doesn't end up like her marriage right out of high school. Being a military brat, she was used to moving quite a bit and Logan enabled her to shake those "being the new kid" feelings in high school. She also just happened to fall in love. But often times, immaturity between the two develop as they struggle to adapt to married life with different expectations of what they both needed. Two years later they were divorced and now with her upcoming nuptials, Vanessa doesn't want a repeat. She wants to stand up for what she wants in this wedding and subsequent marriage.

Her current love of her life, ER doctor, Ted Topliff, who believes in making things as efficient as possible. I mean why not look for wedding destinations that coincide with medical conferences to help complete your medical education requirement at the same time. Not to mention the location he's pretty hooked on just happens to be the very same place, that Vanessa and Logan got married, Destin, Florida. What girl just wouldn't be thrilled with that request? Oh did I mention, Ted suggests that Vanessa use the week of vacation she has to leave a week early and make all the wedding preparations just perfect for when he arrives? Sounds like a true winner in my mind.

Luckily for the two of them, God has another plan. When a hurricane hits the area, it brings not only a great storm, but a storm chaser, as Logan returns once more and at this time, Ted isn't around. Now that time has had a chance to change and mature them, is there still time for a second chance at love? Maybe God's got a bigger plan in mind beside a hurricane to blow some new chances into their lives. Too bad they both arrive at the same storm shelter as well. Like I said, you're in for a very bumpy ride but so worth it at the very end..

I received Crazy Little Thing Called Love by Beth K. Vogt compliments of Litfuse Publicity and Howard Books for my honest review of this novel. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions contained here are strictly my own. Fans of Sweet Home Alabama will absolutely love this one as we have a similar situation brewing on the gulf coast of Florida. What we see by the conclusion of this novel is that sometimes the plans we believe are perfect in our life, are quite different from the plans God has. Trust me, you'll want to go with what God has in mind every time. His plans are always perfect in His timing if we are willing to simply willing to let go of our ideas and accept His plans. Most of the time, it would work much easier if we simply got out of the way first. This is going to be one series I am going to want to finish all the way to the end. 5 stars all the way. There is also a discussion guide and some interesting author questions included at the end.

For more information about Crazy Little Thing Called Love, Beth K. Vogt or where you can pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can find Beth K. Vogt on Facebook to stay up to date on all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on Crazy Little Thing Called Love, please visit Litfuse Publicity' book tour page. 


Thursday, July 23, 2015

When Calls the Heart: Heart and Soul



Looking for a great family friendly television series, that still models the wholesome family values from shows like Little House on the Prairie and The Waltons? Then look no further than When Calls the Heart, based on the novel from Janette Oke and from producer Michael Landon Jr. for the Hallmark Channel. If you haven't watched it, trust me, go back to the very beginning and get acquainted with Elizabeth Thatcher (Erin Krakow), who ventured west in the dreams of becoming a teacher despite her wealthy upbringing. She brings a love of learning to the children of Coal Valley, a mining town who recently suffered a massive mine explosion that claimed the lives of the men of the town, living the survivors to pick up the pieces.

In the DVD, Heart and Soul from the series, we find the long awaited trial into the suspected tampering of the mine by owner Henry Gowen, underway. Most of the women hope that the evidence against Mr. Gowen will be brought to light and absolve the mystery behind what caused the explosion that cost these men their lives. While Abigail Stanton (Lori Loughlin) works with Bill Avery (Jack Wagner), the investigator on the case to prove her husbands innocence to the town, Elizabeth Thatcher is still in Hamilton caring for her ailing mother. Even though Jack Thornton (Daniel Lissing), went with her, he must now return to his duties and leave Elizabeth behind, trusting that their love will survive despite the distance. Her father, however has other plans in mind when he continues to invite her childhood friend, Charles Kensington to fill in her available time in hopes she might forget all about Jack.

Back in Hope Valley, Rosemary always looking for that next big break in her budding career as an actress finds herself with a prospect of returning to San Francisco to star in an upcoming play. The two producers arrive with just the right lure for her to give up any hopes of remaining in Coal Valley, now Hope Valley. Only as usual some things are simply too goo to be true, and she finds herself being kidnapped with only our reputable hero, Jack Thornton to her rescue. When the weather turns on both of them, it forces them to take shelter in an abandoned mine overnight, which leads to ongoing rumors of what really happened among those in town. Is this the end of Elizabeth and Jack?



I received When Calls the Heart: Heart and Soul compliments of Word Films, and Edify Media Inc for my honest review. Aside from the complimentary copy of the DVD, I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions contained here are strictly my own. Just like in any of our favorite romances, there always has to be conflict tossed in for good measure and in this case, with distance now separating Elizabeth and Jack, we find Rosemary and Charles are the antagonists without truly intending to do so. It will be something that either strengthens their relationship or will be a wedge that will drive them apart but I'll let that one remain a mystery until you pick this one up to enjoy. This is a Dove Family Approved DVD and one I know, you will treasure as much as my family and I do. We can't wait for more in this series and well worth all 5 out of 5 stars.

For more information about When Calls the Heart: Heart and Soul, Word Films, or where you can pick up a copy of this DVD today, please click on the links below:


You can find When Calls the Heart on Facebook to stay up to date on what's happening with your favorite characters.

You can purchase a copy of When Calls the Heart: Heart and Soul on DVD through Amazon.




Wednesday, July 22, 2015

The Curiosity Keeper



What inspired me to really want to read this one, was two fold. First, just the title drew me in, and second was the idea of a great historical romance taking place between the employee of a curiosity shop and an apothecary. Just right there was enough intrigue to make me want to pick this one to review. Not to mention, there hasn't been one book written by Sarah E. Ladd that I didn't LOVE!

Imagine the darkened streets of London, in some of the poorest places. Not one you would want to venture out alone as the lamp lighters begin their tarry of lighting the streets. A worn down curiosity shop sits at the end of the street lit only by candle within as Camille Iverness is finishing up the books for her father. She hopes that one day, she might leave this dreaded part of town and instead head to the countryside for a fresh start at a new life. Once again her father is pushing the finances of what they take in by bringing back paintings which rarely ever sell, but she knows far better than to question how he runs this shop. Ever since her mother left them both, it seems as if her father is lost and feels perhaps that Camille might be the one to blame. Nevertheless, she hopes for a better life one day.

When she hears what appears to be her father at the front door, she attempts to open the door for him, and instead, finds a man who forces his way inside. Asking her where her father is, Camille attempts to convince him, that she doesn't know where he is. The man thinks she is trying to hide his whereabouts and draws a knife on her. Her life is only spared when Jonathan Gilchrist arrives to thwart his attempt. The only drawback is Camille is injured and the reason for Jonathan being there is now invalid. He was hoping to find the man who had stolen a rare ruby known as the Bevoy from his father's home. Legend has it that whomever possesses it is either blessed with curses or blessings. Without it, his father and sister will lose their estate and force them all out on the street. For now, his only concern is for Camille and thankfully, as an apothecary, he can help!

I received The Curiosity Keeper by Sarah E. Ladd compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review outside of a free copy of the novel and the opinions contained are my own. This is such a great novel, because the way it is written, really transports the reader to London, England in 1812. You can feel the sense of the town so accurately described, you aren't just reading this, you are actually there. I love that both of these characters have a past that keeps them from doing what they truly want in life, something I think reader will be able to relate to. Lovers of romance will find this one completely dreamy and you might just need a box of tissues as well, but I will leave it at that. This is the first novel in the Treasures of Surrey series and I can't wait for the next one. There is also discussion guide questions included at the conclusion at this one, just perfect for book clubs. For me, a wonderful 5 out of 5 stars and was something to take my mind off of dealing with a long hospital stay for my daughter.

For more information about The Curiosity Keeper, Sarah E. Ladd or where you can pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can find Sarah E. Ladd on Facebook to stay up to date on all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on The Curiosity Keeper, please visit Litfuse Publicity's Book Tour Page.

Tuesday, July 21, 2015

Passport 2 Purity - Product Review


Passport2Purity from FamilyLife® on Vimeo.


It seems like growing up for our children and teens is becoming more challenging. This is a much different world than the one I know I grew up in and even for my own teen daughter, it is a way different world for her as well. What worked for us thirty years ago isn't so much what is accepted today and that is where the Passport 2 Purity Getaway Kit comes into play. Inside this kit is a weekend getaway of sorts for you and your teen, to prepare for an overnight or weekend trip to discuss what challenges they are likely to face as they grow up. How the world can influence them, social media, their friends and even the challenges they struggle with with hormonal changes can be a lot for a teen to handle. So planning this is a perfect way to get a chance to talk about what really matters.

Inside the kit you will find a total of 8 CDs hosted by Dennis and Barbara Rainey who help coach you through these challenging topics like Running with the Herd, the challenges that are represented by having good and bad influences in their life, Ready for an Upgrade dealing with all the changes that are going on with your teens body and how that is changing them into adults, Destination Le Pure, is a topic covering what it means to stay pure until marriage and how God views relationships in accordance to the standards God has designed for all of us, and even Crossing the Dateline, what happens when things go a bit further than you had intended them to go, or you found yourself in a bit too deep. Each of these topics is discussed as you listen to a CD in two parts designed to run about an hour each. Along with each lesson, there is a great fun activity to drive the points home and hopefully make them a bit more memorable to learn from. Our favorite was the Running with The Herd activity. It deals with how influences can change you from who you wanted to be, into something you may or may not want to be later.



Your teen is given her own Passport Journal to capture her thoughts and open areas for discussion for both of you. Such as what qualities do you look for in friends now and perhaps what qualities you might want to consider in future friends. At the conclusion of this lesson for you and your teen, you are given an opportunity to present them with contract, to help them stay pure until marriage and options of gift ideas like a purity ring or necklace that helps remind your teen to stay pure for God. I only wish I would have had this for my first daughter, it might have saved her quite a bit of heartache and create a great discussion point for us to keep communication open. Being a corporate trainer, I know that the lessons coupled with the activities will definitely be something they remember and hopefully talk to their friends about.



I received The Passport 2 Purity by Dennis and Barbara Rainey compliments of Family Life and Propeller LLC for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review aside from receiving the Passport 2 Purity Getaway Kit. The activity my daughter loved the most was the Running with the Herd because it teaches you about the good and bad influences people can have in your life, once you make some compromises you can't go back to who you were before, so you might want to choose wisely. It was definitely a homerun activity for my daughter and one she can't wait to share with her high school youth group at church. For us, that just speaks volumes and we presented her with her choice of a purity ring to help remind her to stay pure for marriage. It is definitely worth the wait and not the message the world wants our teens to hear. For us, its well worth all 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion.

If you are interested in purchasing a Passport 2 Purity Getaway Kit for your family, you can get 25% off by using the promotion code PASSPORT until 8/31/2015 and clicking the purchase link.

You can find out more information about Passport 2 Purity, Dennis and Barbara Rainey, or where you can purchase your own Getaway Kit by clicking the links below:


You can find Dennis and Barbara Rainey on Facebook for more great ideas on dating or marriage according to the Bible.

You can find Passport2Purity on Facebook for more great ways to talk to your teen about remaining pure and for some great resources.

To purchase a Passport 2 Purity Getaway Kit for your teen, please click on this link!




Monday, July 20, 2015

The Lost Garden



When I was growing up, I loved the story of the Secret Garden, not sure if it has to do with the secrecy of having a place you can go to that no one else does or if there is something about watching the things you plant grow and flourish into a thing of beauty, but lovers of that premise will love the newest novel from Katharine Swartz, The Lost Garden. It parallels two different time periods so it's hard to classify it as a contemporary or historical, because it is both.

One is contemporary present day involving the lives of Marin Ellis, who is now the caretaker of her half sister Rebecca after the death of her father and his second wife. Together they are embarking on a journey of sorts between finding a common place in their new relationship together that was thrust upon them by circumstance. Not having a starting place aside from having the same father, the age differences impact them as well, with Marin having to try to find a way to be not really a mother to Rebecca but one of authority in a way without the title, and at the same time, becoming a friend and sister as well. Their common ground at this point is when Rebecca insists on a clean start for her own life, as she is now a bit of a loner and doesn't want the stigma attached to her as something to be pitied by her friends at school and hopes for a new outlook on life with the purchase of a vicar's cottage in the village of Goswell, where they find a garden locked almost hidden behind a wall that has been clearly neglected.

As the two make plans to find a way to bring life back into their garden, they discover a long history to the ones that originally created it from the 1900's, when we learn that Eleanor Sanderson, who was the daughter of the Goswell's vicar who created this garden in an attempt to find healing and a new way of life after losing her brother Walter during the war. It will be a story that is timeless as it crosses the boundary of two different lives and two different periods in history that shows that life can begin again if you are willing to put the effort into what you value as important in your life. It can be quite life changing in remarkable ways.

I received The Lost Garden by Katharine Swartz compliments of Lion Hudson and Kregel Publications for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for my honest review aside from a free copy of this novel and the opinions contained are strictly my own. I absolutely loved this novel because I have found myself to be quite the gardener as well, and successfully have created two very different gardens over the past 10 years. For me, they are a place to understand what is really important, a place of birth, growth and beauty, and that is what you find in the two stories between the Ellis's and Sanderson's that almost everyone can find something they can relate to! I would rate this one a 4 out of 5 stars in my opinion and look to future novels from Katharine Swartz in the future. The Lost Garden is the second book in the Tales from Goswell series and for me, I'll be looking for The Vicar's Wife, the first book in this series! Katharine Swartz is also the name for Kate Hewitt, if you can't find her.

For more information about The Lost Garden, Katharine Swartz, or where you can pick up a copy of this novel today.


You can find Katharine Swartz/Kate Hewitt on Facebook to stay up to date on all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on The Lost Garden, please visit Kregel Publication's website. 

Friday, July 17, 2015

A Bride at Last



Even though Kate Dawson, knew this day was coming, it still caught her by surprise. She had known Lucinda Riverton has been sick for quite some time and it was only a matter of time before she succumbed to her illness, and she made arrangements to have Kate take on raising her only son Anthony when that time came. She even wrote to the boy's father advising him of the circumstance, but Kate believed that to be a man named Richard, who she had helped Lucina and Anthony escape from his violent ways. Now it turns out that Lucinda has been married to a man named Silas Jonesey who has arrived to hope to make amends with Lucinda and restore their relationship. But when he gets there, Lucinda has died and she failed to tell him that he has a son. To make matters worse, Richard arrives in time to attempt to collect Anthony who he had used in the past as a pick pocket to make a little money on the side. Yet no one is considering what Anthony wants in this matter, and with Kate being unwed, it is unlikely a judge will rule in her favor to keep Anthony.

Anthony solves the issue when he runs away without anyone's knowledge and now it is a race against time to see who can find the boy first. In order to sway the odds a bit in his favor, Richard goes to see the judge just prior to the ruling on Anthony's fate, and since he is the only one there, the judge rules in his favor. Seems he might have not been as forthcoming to convincing the judge to postpone the trial while they attempt to locate Anthony. Even while Kate struggles to find him, she finds herself at the hands of the school board when they believe she is acting in a way contrary to what the town would like to have in a school teacher. Being seen arriving late to school and other questionable conduct, she is put on notice to straighten up otherwise they will be forced to find another teacher and she will lose her job. But what is more important finding Anthony or keeping her job?

I received A Bride at Last by Melissa Jagears compliments of Bethany House Publishers and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review aside from a free copy of this novel and the opinions contained in this review are strictly my own. Christian Western Romances have long been my favorite genre and it's been quite some time to have such a treat as this one. It showcases once again the struggle women had when faced with certain circumstances and keeping up ones reputation and propriety even though Kate isn't doing anything wrong. It is that perception that women had to struggle against during the late 1800's as some were willing to answer ads as a mail order bride and found themselves with men who were less than respectable. I never realized the outcome of the children who were forced to grow up as orphans, most being given away to those who might be able to raise them or placed in orphanages. The only other option was living on the streets. This is another great look our the historical past and how some had to make a go of things when the odds were stacked against them. I'd rate this one a 4 out of 5 stars. This is the 3rd book in the Unexpected Bride Series!

For more information about A Bride At Last, Melissa Jagears, or where you can pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can find Melissa Jagears on Facebook to stay up to date on all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on A Bride At Last, please visit Litfuse Publicity's Book Tour Page.


Can Silas and Kate overcome their rocky start and experience healing—and possibly love? Discover the answer in Melissa Jagears' new book, A Bride at LastNeither Kate nor Silas is prepared for the secrets and past hurts that have yet to come to light as they attempt to prove nine-year-old Anthony's paternity to the court. Can their wounded souls bind them together or will all that stands between them leave them lonely forever?

Celebrate the release of A Bride at Last by entering to win a $100 Memory-Making giveaway and RSVPing to Melissa's August 4th author chat party!

bride at last-400 

One grand prize winner will receive:
  • A $100 gift card to Netflix (for a family movie night), Shutterfly (to create a family memory book), or TablePlayGames (for a family game night)
  • One copy of A Bride at Last
Enter today by clicking the icon below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on 8/4. The winner will be announced at Melissa's 8/4 A Bride at Last Facebook author chat party. RSVP for a chance to connect with Melissa and fiction fans, as well as for a chance to win some great prizes!

bride at last-enterbanner

RSVP today and spread the word—tell your friends about the giveaway via FACEBOOK, TWITTER, or PINTEREST and increase your chances of winning. Hope to see you on the 4th!