The Best People In The World!

Thursday, May 21, 2015

The Breaking Point



Dr. Bill Brockton heads up the University of Tennesse's Anthropology Research Facility known by the media, press, law enforcement and others simply as the Body Farm. Taking donations of bodies that are unclaimed or donated, Dr. Brockton has been creating a way to help police define more detailed analysis of body decomposition to aid in murders through the research he conducts at the Body Farm. He even helps train law enforcement to know what to look for in determining things in advancing the frontiers of forensic science by looking at the types of insects found on the body to help determine details towards investigation of a murder victim.

Now the FBI have called Dr. Brockton in to help with a plane crash of well known millionaire who was killed in the crash in the mountains of San Diego county. What seems like a cut and dry investigation begins to get complicated when the wife of the victim shows up to aid in the search as well as the news media who want answers yesterday. But going through the fiery remains of a small plain and hoping to discover any human remains will be beyond challenging based on the devastation of the fire at the crash scene. Time is running out quickly in regards to identifying who was on the plane and only Dr. Brockton can provide those answers as the leading expert in his field. But will it be as simple as identifying some bone fragments and teeth without any DNA to back it up?

I received The Breaking Point by Jefferson Bass compliments of William Morrow, a division of Harper Collins Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions contained here are strictly my own. For fans of CSI or Criminal Minds, you will definitely LOVE the Body Farm series of novels. It shows how there is more to criminal investigations than we give our law enforcement credit for. What happens when they get it wrong based on the evidence they do have? You're about to find out in this novel as Dr. Brockton has some explaining to do of his own when his expert testimony uncovers something he didn't see and now a serial killer from his past is vowing revenge on his family even though he remains locked up in prison. It is a nail-biter all the way to the climatic ending in this novel. Well worth 4.5 out of 5 stars in my opinion. It does contain some profanity which might offend some readers but overall the writing is superb and just what you would expect in a murder mystery suspense novel. This is the 9th book in the Body Farm Series.

For more information about The Breaking Point, Jefferson Bass or where you can preorder a copy of this novel due out in June, please click on the links below:


You can find Jefferson Bass on Facebook to stay up to date on all the latest Body Farm novels.

To read more reviews on The Breaking Point, please visit William Morrow's website. 


Wednesday, May 20, 2015

Called to Be Amish



Each time I read an Amish book or watch a television show about the Amish, I am in awe of their lifestyle. The simplicity of keeping to their faith, while working hard with the modern conveniences we find in our homes like electricity and air conditioning and the love of their community. While most shows on television portray an exaggerated form of Amish living, most are a far cry from what really goes on. They live their lives much like we do, but their faith is what sustains them in trying times.

In the book, Called to Be Amish, author Marlene C. Miller takes readers into what is it like for an English girl raised in an abusive and unloving home and finds love in an Amish young man who laces up her skates once winter day. Knowing the mixing faith cultures that are very different is challenging enough but this true life story is how Marlene eventually made that transition to willingly give up the life she knew living among the English to embrace the Amish way of life. She wasn't pressured into making that decision, since the Amish don't encourage English people to join the Old Amish order unless that can be sure the decision is one made from the heart and not by love for a man.

It shows not only the difficulties on both sides, English and Amish alike that come from learning a new language, a new way of life, and the hard work that truly goes into making a life among the Amish which is far from simple. From learning how to do without modern conveniences like a phone or electricity, to how to learn how to handle driving a horse and buggy, setting up for a home church at your home, dealing with death, and celebrating a wedding. It is far from simply wearing a plain dress, apron and kapp, it is appreciating the life God has chosen for you, accepting God's will for whatever happens in life and never truly being alone because you have the strength of an entire community behind you.

I received Called to Be Amish by Marlene C. Miller compliments of Herald Press and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed here are my own personal ones. I loved learning about becoming Amish as my family is quick to remind me of the many times, I have wanted to visit an Amish family and farm for a few days to get a sense of what getting back to basics really means. I treasure their faith most of all as it is one that is lived out with 100% honesty daily. They accept whatever happens in their lives as God's will and they never seek to adopt any of the outside influences of the English changing lifestyle. It is sad to see that not many Amish are left, only 275,000, as most younger Amish are leaving to join the English world now that farming is becoming more challenging and the price of land is growing more expensive than some people can buy as well as limited availability among the growing towns and families. There are some great recipes the author shares at the conclusion of this book and I will be looking for more Plainspoken Series Books in the future, written by Amish and Mennonite men and woman about their lifestyles. I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion.

For more information about Called to Be Amish, Marlene C. Miller or where you can pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can find out more about Marlene on Facebook.

To read more reviews on Called to Be Amish, please visit Litfuse Publicities Book Tour Page. 

Tuesday, May 19, 2015

Rescue at Los Banos



I had the distinct opportunity to review Rescue at Los Banos, which gives the reader an in-depth look at the Santo Tomas Internment Camp during the beginning of WWII in which many American's were imprisoned for more than three years while waiting to be rescued. Not only do you gain the insight on what it was like for those who were imprisoned but also what types of military campaigns were being waged at that time in the Pacific, after the bombing at Pearl Harbor.

As Japanese soldiers guarding the American prisoners, most of them civilians at the Los Banos Internment Campe, conditions began to rapidly deteriorate as they began to systematically starve, beat and killing their captives. Most held behind the razor wire fences hoped that the war would be over soon, but as time stretched most faced the horrors of war as those who were their captors ignored plain evidence that they were dying and facing disease and malnutrition.

Bruce Henderson, tells the dramatic story of accounts at the Japanese prison camps including detailed analysis of the complex military operations being planned and carried out. He tells the story of ordinary men and women thrust into the unspeakable horrors of World War II and the valiant heroes who would eventually saved those who were left.

Military preparations are shared as well as strategy challenges of dealing with a military that wasn't prepared for jungle warfare at the hands of General Douglas MacArthur. The three pronged attacks of deploying troops by land, air and sea had to be carried out in absolute darkness in order to be successful using all types of technology available at the time which isn't half as well as we have it today.

I received Rescue at Los Banos by Bruce Henderson compliments of William Morrow, a division of Harper Collins Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions contained here are strictly my own. This is by far one of the most daring prison camp raids of WWII and the photographs that accompany each chapter, gives life to what each had to endure, including some photographs snapped inside the prison by those held captive. I love it when you can get a sneak peek inside some of the stories most of us miss from history and applaud Bruce Henderson for providing it in this comprehensive hardcover book. Well worth every single 5 out of 5 stars in my mind. Being a huge WWII lover, I will be adding this one to my growing collection.

For more information about Rescue at Los Banos, Bruce Henderson or where you can pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can find Bruce Henderson on Facebook to stay up to date with all his latest books.

To read more reviews on Rescue at Los Banos, please visit William Morrow's website.

Monday, May 18, 2015

Red Baron Brick Oven Pizza

 

Who doesn't love a great pizza? Most people do and finding the same great quality in frozen pizza as they do with fresh pizza is hard to find. When I received the offer from being a BzzAgent to try Red Baron Brick Oven Pizza, I knew I had to try it. My youngest daughter loves the simplicity of being able to pop pizza in the oven and was more than willing to help me with the taste test. When we arrived at our local grocery store there were 4 different varieties to try; plain cheese, pepperoni, pepperoni and sausage, and sausage supreme which had green peppers and onions along with sausage. We opted for pepperoni.



The directions on the box were the first things we noticed. Simple in the best format I have ever seen. Not hard to follow at all.



The time was pretty standard at 17-20 minutes so we opted at 18:30 as a middle ground. You have the option of setting it on the oven rack or baking sheet, and we did the baking sheet.



18 minutes and 30 seconds later, we have a great looking pizza that smelled heavenly. The pizza crush was nice and crisp, which is something I had usually found lacking in frozen pizza's. Just the right amount of sauce and cheese rounded out what I would call a pretty great tasting pizza. My daughter rated it a 4 out of 5 and I would have to agree with her.



In fact, the best thing was picking up so more pizzas when we hosted our family dinner night on Wednesday night. We invited friends and family for a night of food and fun, and these pizza's were a hit to the 6 people who showed up. We didn't even tell them they were frozen until after they had begun to eat them. Almost everyone was pretty impressed that these were frozen pizza mostly because of the crunchy crust. I even passed out two coupons I had for $1.00 for those that wanted to pick these up for home.



I would love to see more toppings added to the pizza which would be my only issue with them. You could always keep some spare toppings on hand and perhaps even hosting a pizza party and just pick up the plain cheese pizzas. Overall, I would rate these a 4 out of 5 stars in my opinion and for a easy meal when you're craving pizza, these are perfect to keep on hand in your freezer.

Friday, May 15, 2015

Trial Run



Imagine a world where you have to battle against an unseen enemy. An enemy that can go anywhere and where time is halted in that realm. Imagine that nothing could be secret or hidden any longer, because as long as you possessed the power to leave your body and will it to go anywhere, you would be the ultimate weapon.

In the latest novel by Thomas Locke, who is also known as Davis Bunn in the literary world, he goes quite literally when NO man has gone before, and I'm not talking about space. Where he comes up with these incredible ideas is beyond me but I love the storyline in Trial Run. I can best describe it as a blend of Flatliners meets Jumper. In this novel you have two groups who are battling to discover who can uncover this ability to ascend or transit out of their body, recover some secrets and return without falling into a coma on their return.

Charlie Hazard works with his team in Campione, Switzerland alongside Gabriella Speciale, the chief scientist who has had the most success in ascending. They are the good guys and are trying to perfect the ability to leave your body and travel in a world of suspended time travel where time is constant. To be gone in this world for 5 minutes might be a week in ascended time travel. They are trying to keep this out of the hands of political groups who want this for their own selfish purposes.

Reese Clawson is heading up the team in the United States under fictitious names and is having less than desirable success since taking Gabriella's secret to travel outside one's body. Only her success rate has resulted in 9 bodies who remain in a constant state of coma because they never returned from their assignment. If she can't find a way to prove her team is successful, Washington will pull the plug and shut her down.

Trent Major is a physics prodigy who algorithms subvert computer encryption and give rise to a super intelligence that goes beyond what anyone has ever seen. The only problem is now he has become the focus of both of these teams trying to win him over to their side but for very different purposes. What is given in his dreams will be the ultimate weapon of destruction if it falls into the wrong hands and could mean the end of all life as we know it.

I received Trial Run by Thomas Locke compliments of Revell Publishing and Edify Media Group for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for my review and the opinions contained here are my own. To be honest, the beginning of the book was hard to understand at first. So many different things going on as the reader begins to map out who the players are, in three different groups. I would encourage you to hold on, even though the technological explanations might be overwhelming at times, with regards to the laws of physics, but I promise, it will be so worth it, but about mid way through the book. You might want to grab a paper and keep the characters separate until the action takes place. I absolutely love this novel and can't wait for the sequel. For me, it was a well earned 5 out of 5 stars and so far, anything that Davis Bunn or Thomas Locke, who are the same person, writes will be on my immediate "have to read" list. Trial Run is the first novel in the Fault Lines Series!

For more information about Trial Run, Thomas Locke or where you can preoder a copy of this book today due out in August, please click on the links below:


You can find Thomas Locke on Facebook to stay up to date with all his latest novels.

To preorder a copy of this book through Amazon, please click here. 


Thursday, May 14, 2015

A Love Like Ours



There is a connection that surpasses what most people believe when you find a treasured friend from your childhood that you can still fall in love with twenty years into the future. That is precisely what happens between Lyndie James and Jake Porter, who grew up together and were simply the very best of friends one could ever hope to have. But like all best friends, they move away to begin a life someplace else and those feelings you had for someone at 12 are beyond your control to keep them by your side forever. So when Lyndie moved away to California, Jake stayed at home on the Porter Ranch in Holley, Texas.

Now twenty years later, both still feel strongly for one another. Where at first letter writing enabled them to keep that connection when Lyndie moved away, those letters grew less and less until they finally stopped altogether and they both moved on in their lives. Lyndie continued to help her parents take care of her sister Mollie, who struggled with a long term disability that required constant care from those in her family that were more than willing to give unconditionally for her, knowing she would never see their faces, speak words of love to them, or even walk outside of a wheelchair, but Mollie showed her love in ways people could never understand. Lyndie believes God has given Mollie the gift of healing.

Jake isn't at all thrilled to find out Lyndie has moved back to Texas and even worse she wants to apply for the exercise rider on his ranch working under him. After leaving his tour of duty with the Marines and suffering from PTSD, Jake's wounds go far deeper than the scar on his face. He will never see himself as anything less than what Lyndie needs in a man. He only hopes he can convince his heart to keep the distance between them, even though those old familiar feelings are calling on his heart to feel again. Perhaps Lyndie can work some sort of miracle on him because he is as bad as his thoroughbred Silver Leaf who has lost his own desire to run. Can love heal them both?

I received A Love Like Ours by Becky Wade compliments of Bethany House Publishers and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions contained here are strictly my own. Growing up with horse racing most of my life and could relate to both Jake and Lyndie's situations. I love that Lyndie's determination to not give up on either Silver Leaf or Jake transitioned well in this novel. I have been head over heels with all the Porter boys stories since being introduced to them back in the first novel Undeniably Yours, and then in Meant to Be Mine, the second one. They are all uniquely different and truly tug at the romance lover's heart within us all to have that Happily Ever After ending. This one did not disappoint in any way and for that reason deserves all 5 out of 5 stars. A reader's discussion guide is included at the conclusion of this novel.

For more information about A Love Like Ours, Becky Wade or where you can pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can find Becky Wade on Facebook to stay up to date with all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on A Love Like Ours, please visit Litfuse Publicity's Book Tour Page.


Fall in love with Becky Wade's new book, A Love Like Ours, a story of healing, romance, and cowboys. A glimmer of the hope Jake thought he’d lost returns when Lyndie lands back in Texas, but fears and regrets still plague him. Will Jake ever be able to love Lyndie like she deserves, or is his heart too shattered to mend?

To celebrate the release of her new book, Becky is giving away a $100 cash card and a book-inspired prize pack!

lovelikeours-400 

One grand prize winner will receive:
  • A $100 cash card
  • A copy of A Love Like Ours
  • A copy of the Secretariat DVD
  • A scarf
  • A dog-tag/cross keychain
  • A pair of earrings
  • A Scarf
  • A Texas-shaped cutting board
  • A Jake Porter mug
love like ours - prize pack 

Enter today by clicking the icon below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on May 26th. Winner will be announced May 27th on Becky's site.

lovelikeours-enterbanner

Wednesday, May 13, 2015

A Heart's Danger



As part of an ongoing Journey of the Heart series, from best-selling author Colleen Coble, A Heart's Danger is the third book that is being reprinted. Once written more than 10 years ago, Colleen along with Thomas Nelson Publishers are bringing back one of her first series back to print in installments. The previous two, A Heart's Disguise and A Heart's Obsession have followed the relationship of Rand Campbell and Sarah Montgomery who were once promised to be married, but through a serious of circumstances have now gone their separate ways even though their love hasn't.

While they are living at Fort Laramie, the Indian hostilities are growing and require armed escorts for the women if they venture outside the walls. Ben Croftner hasn't abandoned his plans to marry Sarah and see the demise of Rand after all this time. Now working in conjunction with Rand's fiancee Jessica Dubois, the two figure if they can work on a plan, they will both get what they want in the end. Sarah is still trying to work on moving forward in her life and hopes that a future with one of the men from the fort, will provide the stability she needs for both herself and her brother Joel. She respects that Rand has proposed and plans to wed Jessica, but hopes that somewhere along the way, things might work out in the end for them both to find happiness.

Now that winter has set in, supplies are hard to come by for the Indians and soon one of Sarah's Indian friends succumbs to the effects of pneumonia despite not wanting to live among the white men for safety and security. It is heartbreaking for Sarah to understand the differences between the cultures and how the Indians are having to deal with the issues plaguing them by the greed of the white men like Ben who will trade anything to get what he wants even if it means bringing them to the brink of war?

I received A Heart's Danger by Colleen Coble compliments of Litfuse Publicity and Thomas Nelson Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions contained here are strictly my own. After reading this series so far, I am once more drawn to the life that people faced in the Old West. The uncertainty of life from one day to another would have been overwhelming and never knowing if the man you loved would make it home or not, was something women had to contend with. Besides the effects of the weather, there were risks of growing hostility among the Indians and those living in the Fort. It wasn't an easy life and one that required a deep sense of faith to make it from one day to the next. This certainly comes across in each of these books from the Journey of The Heart Series. It was a step of faith that Sarah and Rand have to contend with in each difficult circumstances that they face and one that will only make them grow stronger in the end. This one is definitely worth 5 out of stars!

For more information about A Heart's Danger, Colleen Coble or where you can pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can find Colleen Coble on Facebook to stay up to date with all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on A Heart's Danger, please visit Litfuse Publicity's Book Tour page.


Sarah risks everything to expose the betrayal threatening the man she loves—but will the risk be worth it? Find out in book three, A Heart's Danger, of Colleen Coble's A Journey of the Heart series. Rand’s new fiancĂ©e wants to keep him from returning to Sarah Montgomery . . . for whom his heart clearly still yearns. Sarah just wants to move on with her life at Fort Laramie, but doing so under the watchful eyes of both Campbell—the man whose love she craves—and Croftner—the man whose lies have cost her everything.

Enter to win the perfect pairing giveaway: three books (books one–three in Colleen's A Journey of the Heart series) and coffee to pair with your new book!

heartsdanger-400

One grand prize winner will receive:
  • A copy of A Heart's Danger
  • A pound of Colleen's favorite coffee, Captain Davy's Coffee Roaster Costa Rican
  • A copy of A Heart's Disguise
  • A copy of A Heart's Obsession
Enter today by clicking the icon below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on May 31st. Winner will be announced June 1st on Colleen's website.

heartsdanger-enterbanner