The Best People In The World!

Thursday, May 26, 2016

Worry-Free Living



When you think about worry-free living, you might think that is simply impossible to achieve. If you are a non believer and put your faith in your job, your bank account, your marriage, and even what you can achieve, you are 100% correct. Some day something will happen that will shake things up. You lose your job, you get that dreaded phone call from your doctor, your marriage falls apart, your children run away, even your bank account dwindles. However when you place your faith in God, the Creator of everything in the heavens and the earth, nothing is impossible, but it will take faith to see that happen.

I'm not saying that by being a believer, you won't have difficulties and won't be subject to the same things are non believers are, but we do have someone we can turn to, just like when a young child faces a problem, they know who to run to without any second thoughts. That is what the Bible means when it says to have child-like faith. They know by taking their troubles to mom or dad, thing will be okay. They will handle it and then they skip off knowing it's being handled.

In her latest book, Worry-Free Living, Joyce Meyer teaches you how to have that child-like faith, what it means to cast your anxieties upon the Lord, and how to trade your anxiety for peace that only God can provide. In just under 135 pages, this simple and easy to use book guides you through things like understanding what it means "to seek God's kingdom first, is the key to living in the peace of the Lord. To seek God's kingdom simply means to seek the know God and His ways. We are to seek God's kingdom and His righteousness over all other things ,and then everything else we need will be given to us as well. In other words, one reason we worry and fret and live in fear and anxiety is that we simply have our priorities mixed up. We are seeking our security in the things of this world rather than in the God who created this world. God meets the needs of every created thing, including you and me. As believers, we are supposed to seek Him, not to seek the fulfillment of our needs. If we will seek Him first, He has promised to provide for us in every way, to open the doors of opportunity He has for us, and to give us the security we need." (pg. 16).

I received Worry-Free Living by Joyce Meyers compliments of Faith Words, a division of Hachette Book Groups in exchange for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation aside from a free copy of this book in exchange for my personal and honest opinion. This little book is simply chalk full of great advice including a six step plan for God's peace in your life that anyone can follow. Combined with Scripture verses each of the 5 chapters focuses on specific things we can do to eliminate anxiety, manage stress and enjoy the present day that God intended us to do. One thing is true, the Bible is the perfect owner's manual to helping us enjoy every day of our life to the fullest. I'd rate this book a 4 out of 5 stars in my opinion.

For more information about Worry-Free Living, Joyce Meyer or where you can preorder a copy of this book due out June 7, 2016 today, please click on the links below:


You can find Joyce Meyer on Facebook to stay up to date on all her latest books.

To read more reviews on Worry-Free Living, please visit Faith Words website. 


Wednesday, May 25, 2016

How Would Jesus Vote?



The elections are coming! We've gotten the phone calls, our mail boxes are being filled with all kinds of ads for the propositions and candidates, and on television, we have witnessed the debates coming from both sides of the spectrum for this presidential election. As a believer in Christ, we find it hard to sort through all the propaganda being streamed in from all kinds of sources. It seems no matter how much you research it, you can't get a straight answer on what you should vote for in order to line up with biblical standards.

So you find yourself wanting to fill in the blank or opt out of voting when no real candidate meets our criteria and perhaps that is the problem. In fact it makes you wonder, How Would Jesus Vote? Darrel L. Bock has written a great novel that digs into the meat of what makes our country what it is. How did our founding fathers so long ago deal with differences in both religious beliefs, race and a diversity that seems to be driving us apart more than united us together? He tackles all that and more in this wonderful book that gives us a different perspective using the Bible as a source of reference on how we look at such topics like racial conflict, economics, poverty, health care, immigration, gun control, foreign policy, war, education, sexuality, abortion and so much more.

Using the Bible to help us see things from Jesus' point of view really gives us something to consider when we look at what direction we want our country to move in and how to deal with difficult task of not only dealing with citizens, but also dealing with illegal immigration and the influx of refugees wanting to enter the country. I love how well thought out and researched this is and before reading it I was pretty resolved on several issues, however this one had me really rethink what I believe and more so, how I can debate with others and still respect their differences and love them as Christ would.

I received How Would Jesus Vote by Darrell L. Bock compliments of Howard Books, a division of Simon and Schuster Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation aside from a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest and personal evaluation. I really wanted to read this novel to get a better understanding of how as a voter who believes in Jesus should vote when we find ourselves challenged to know what to do. This really helped and would be a great resource to anyone before this next election in November! I would rate this a 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion.

For more information about How Would Jesus Vote, Darrell L. Bock, or where to pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can find Darrell L. Bock on Facebook to stay up to date on all his latest books.

To read more reviews on How Would Jesus Vote, please visit Howard Book's website.  

How Would Jesus Vote by Darrell L. Bock:
  • Hardcover: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Howard Books (May 17, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1439190704
  • ISBN-13: 978-1439190708
  • Product Dimensions: 5.5 x 1 x 8.4 inches
 

Tuesday, May 24, 2016

The Progeny



Take an idea of a family of descendants of a brutal serial killer, add in a touch of both historical and futuristic science fiction, and you might just have an idea of what The Progeny, the latest novel by Tosca Lee is about. This is the first novel in the Descendants of the Blood Countess series. Some might say it perfect for fans of Dekker and Lee's series, the Book of Mortals, or fans of Dan Brown's The DaVinci Code and still others might compare it to the BBCs hit series, Orphan Black. Yet for me, a fan of anything Tosca Lee pens, I'm all in without having to read the synopsis of the book.

Without giving any of it away, know that this will be a trilogy if not more, so whatever happens in this novel will not be resolved by the conclusion. It will however, give you a bit of the back story of the main character, Emily Jacobs, and what motivates her to make the decisions she does in The Progeny. Emily Porter is not her real name, it is the name assigned to her after she goes through a procedure to erase her memories. It is vital that she does this because before the procedure she was hunted by one person assigned to do nothing but kill her and steal her memories. He has had 5 years to do just that. Emily's real name is Audra Ellison. She is one of a handful of illegitimate children her mother had before she was murdered.

It is a race against time for Audra to now discover, who she can trust, because she can't remember who she can or can't and has to rely on her quick wits and her ability to charm those through implementing thoughts into their heads to do what she asks of them. The one thing she can't influence is other progeny's and she must discover why she erased her memories before those she loves are killed one by one, while avoiding being killed by the one person who has been assigned to kill her and take whatever memories she has. Even more important is that her death carries with it the weight that the line of her families bloodline ends and she won't be able to produce anymore children. She isn't sure if she is the last one left, but now it is a race against time to uncover clues she apparently left for herself along the way in the hopes she might discover them one day.

I received The Progeny by Tosca Lee compliments of Howard Books, a division of Simon and Schuster Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation aside from a free ARC of this novel in exchange for my honest and personal opinions. I absolutely LOVE this novel and can't wait to inhale the rest of it. To place it in any one particular genre is downright hard. It's part historical, suspense, thriller, fantasy, contemporary, action, drama, and romance. The one thing that is clear is that Tosca Lee once again has written an amazing novel and series, and now the wait begins for the next novel. This one rates a 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion.

For more information about The Progeny, Tosca Lee or where you can pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can find Tosca Lee on Facebook to stay up to date on all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on The Progeny, please visit Howard Book's website. 


Monday, May 23, 2016

The Beautiful Pretender



Looking for some new takes on the old Medieval Fairy Tales we read as little girls with a more realistic version? Then pick up Melanie Dickerson's novels from her Medieval Fairy Tale series. In her latest novel, The Beautiful Pretender, we get a re-telling of a more realistic version of Beauty and the Beast. They are similarities in the story lines but in this one there is no magical curse that animates the household objects and turns our hero into a beast like character.

The Margrave of Thornbeck has been ordered by the king to find a suitable bride and to be married. Unfortunately that is the furthest thing from his mind. Left with a disability that keeps him with a perpetual limp and the use of a cane, he is more than frustrated with others telling him what to do. His close advisers suggest that invitations are sent out and for two weeks he can put these ladies through a series of tests to see which one most suits the qualities he is looking for in a wife.

Avelina, has been ordered by the Earl of Plimmwald to go in the place of his daughter, Lady Dorothea, who has run away with an unborn child with the Earl's knight. Avelina, as Dorothea's maid servant, knew of her intentions but said nothing to the Earl. Now he has placed all the responsibility upon her to go in Dorothea's place impersonating her under the premise that his kingdom is represented and her secret is kept safe. She must not wed the Margrave but convince him to help stand against those who would steal Plimmwald in an effort to conquer and rule over the land and its people. She just never expected to be one of those the Margrave is interested in, due to her unnatural lady-like opinions and her compassion to help those less fortunate than herself.

I received The Beautiful Pretender by Melanie Dickerson compliments of Litfuse Publicity and Thomas Nelson Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation aside from a free copy of this novel, in exchange for my honest and personal opinions. I truly loved this novel and could see having this in my home as a fairy tale that I would feel comfortable telling my daughters and grand daughters. It provide a much more realistic version with attention to the true morals and character builders you would want to instill in your own children. The best part of these novels is that you don't know which one you are picking up until you begin the book. I love this version of my favorite Beauty and the Beast and will be adding the entire series to my own home library. For me this one easily garners a 5 out of 5 stars. This is the second novel within the Medieval Fairy Tale series, pertaining specifically to Thornbeck. The first, is the Huntress of Thornbeck Forest.

For more information about The Beautiful Pretender, Melanie Dickerson or where you can pick up a copy of the novel today, please click on the links below:


You can find Melanie Dickerson on Facebook to stay up to date with all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on The Beautiful Pretender, please visit Litfuse Publicity's book tour page.


Inheriting the new title of margrave means Reinhart has two weeks to find a noble bride. What will happen when he learns he has fallen for a lovely servant girl in disguise? Find out in the new medieval fairy tale, The Beautiful Pretender, by Melanie Dickerson. Despite Avelina’s best attempts at diverting attention from herself, the margrave has taken notice. And try as she might, she can’t deny her own growing feelings. But something else is afoot in the castle. Something sinister that could have far worse—far deadlier—consequences. Will Avelina be able to stop the evil plot? And at what cost?

Join Melanie in celebrating the release of The Beautiful Pretender by entering to win her Once Upon a Kindle giveaway!

beautiful pretender - 400 

One grand prize winner will receive:
  • A copy of The Beautiful Pretender
  • A Kindle Fire tablet
  • A $25 Amazon gift card
  • The choice between a Funko POP Disney Beauty or Beast doll
beautiful pretender - prize collage 

Enter today by clicking the icon below. But hurry! The giveaway ends on June 7th. The winner will be announced June 8th on Melanie's blog.

beautiful pretender - enter banner

Friday, May 20, 2016

Her One and Only



Can you imagine a young, beautiful woman serving as a body guard to a NFL wide receiver? Doesn't this sound like some kind of prank football players might play on one another? Yet this is exactly the premise behind Becky Wade's latest novel, Her One and Only. Gray Fowler is that wide receiver for the Mustangs, and while he has been used to dealing with obsessive fans before, his team manager is taking it a bit more seriously. The threats seem to be getting more bold and while they remain short and simple the point is clear. Someone wants to see Gray Fowler dead.

That is where Dru Porter comes into play. While she might not seem much of a threat when you look at her, she has served in the Marines, is a national expert sharpshooter champion and is a black belt in Jiu-Jitsu, besides being raised among three older brothers. She make not look like much, but looks can be intimidating and they may in fact work on her behalf. When Gray suggests she pose as his girlfriend instead of a mere secretary or personal assistant for him, Dru is less than pleased by the idea. However it may just work out in the end. It allows her to stay close to him during her hours of protection and their cover story of her working as a preschool teacher during the day, sounds perfect. The only thing she hates it the idea that she might fall for this guy no matter how hard she tries not to and how insistent her brothers are that she keeps her mind on work and nothing else.

Gray has different ideas, despite his threats. Everyone knows most girls fall for the quarterbacks, and Gray's buddy Colin suggests a bet between the two. While it is easy enough to kiss Dru on their end, they both place a wager that they believe they can get her to kiss them first. For Gray his bet is his Rolex watch which Colin would just love to win, while Colin has placed his big flat screen TV up for grabs for Gray. Just imagine the bragging rights these guys would have over the other in the club locker rooms. Things are about to get interesting between the three of them, especially when Dru is the one stuck in the middle. What will she think when she discovers these guys are only interested in her to win a bet?

I received Her One and Only by Becky Wade compliments of LitfusePublicity and Bethany House Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation aside from a free copy of this novel in exchange for my personal and honest opinions. I absolutely love the Becky took the opportunity to share this novel's conclusion in the Porter Family novels with Dru's story. I can't imagine the competition to measure up to three very masculine older brothers who have their own stories we have shared in the previous novels. Now each of them is settled and married beginning families of their own and while they have the best intentions on protecting Dru, she is one determined and strong willed woman with a mind of her own. I love this bit of a role reversal regarding a body guard scenario and love how it plays out throughout the entire novel. All of your favorite Porter brothers are back as this novel unfolds as well as a Reader Guide Discussion Questions at the conclusion that is perfect for book clubs. I would rate this one a 4 out of 5 stars in my opinion.

For more information about Her One and Only, Becky Wade or where you can pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can find Becky Wade on Facebook to stay up to date on all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on Her One and Only, please visit Litfuse Publicity's Book Tour page. 


Meet Dru Porter, former Marine, expert markswoman, and black belt—who also happens to be assigned as a bodyguard to star NFL tight end Gray Fowler. Don't miss the final Porter family novel by Becky Wade, Her One and Only. Gray starts receiving death threats from a stalker, and Dru is determined to find his stalker. Every secret that leads Dru closer to the stalker also draws her closer to Gray. As the danger escalates, they’ll survive only if they can learn to trust their lives—and their hearts—to one another.

Join Becky in celebrating the release of Her One and Only by entering to win her Porter prize pack and $100 cash card giveaway!

Meet Dru Porter, former Marine, expert markswoman, and black belt—who also happens to be assigned as a bodyguard to star NFL tight end Gray Fowler. Don't miss the final Porter family novel by Becky Wade, Her One and Only. Gray starts receiving death threats from a stalker, and Dru is determined to find his stalker. Every secret that leads Dru closer to the stalker also draws her closer to Gray. As the danger escalates, they’ll survive only if they can learn to trust their lives—and their hearts—to one another.

Join Becky in celebrating the release of Her One and Only by entering to win her Porter prize pack and $100 cash card giveaway!

her one and only - 400 

One grand prize winner will receive:
  • A copy of Her One and Only
  • A $100 cash card
  • Follow Your Heart tote bag
  • 24 oz Tervis Wonder Woman Tumbler
  • The Blind Side DVD
  • Necklace with star charm
  • Porter Family navy jersey
her one and only - prize collage 

Enter today by clicking the icon below. But hurry! The giveaway ends on May 31st. The winner will be announced June 1st on the Litfuse blog.

her-one-and-only-enter

Thursday, May 19, 2016

Her One and Only



Can you imagine a young, beautiful woman serving as a body guard to a NFL wide receiver? Doesn't this sound like some kind of prank football players might play on one another? Yet this is exactly the premise behind Becky Wade's latest novel, Her One and Only. Gray Fowler is that wide receiver for the Mustangs, and while he has been used to dealing with obsessive fans before, his team manager is taking it a bit more seriously. The threats seem to be getting more bold and while they remain short and simple the point is clear. Someone wants to see Gray Fowler dead.

That is where Dru Porter comes into play. While she might not seem much of a threat when you look at her, she has served in the Marines, is a national expert sharpshooter champion and is a black belt in Jiu-Jitsu, besides being raised among three older brothers. She make not look like much, but looks can be intimidating and they may in fact work on her behalf. When Gray suggests she pose as his girlfriend instead of a mere secretary or personal assistant for him, Dru is less than pleased by the idea. However it may just work out in the end. It allows her to stay close to him during her hours of protection and their cover story of her working as a preschool teacher during the day, sounds perfect. The only thing she hates it the idea that she might fall for this guy no matter how hard she tries not to and how insistent her brothers are that she keeps her mind on work and nothing else.

Gray has different ideas, despite his threats. Everyone knows most girls fall for the quarterbacks, and Gray's buddy Colin suggests a bet between the two. While it is easy enough to kiss Dru on their end, they both place a wager that they believe they can get her to kiss them first. For Gray his bet is his Rolex watch which Colin would just love to win, while Colin has placed his big flat screen TV up for grabs for Gray. Just imagine the bragging rights these guys would have over the other in the club locker rooms. Things are about to get interesting between the three of them, especially when Dru is the one stuck in the middle. What will she think when she discovers these guys are only interested in her to win a bet?

I received Her One and Only by Becky Wade compliments of TLC Book Tours and Bethany House Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation aside from a free copy of this novel in exchange for my personal and honest opinions. I absolutely love the Becky took the opportunity to share this novel's conclusion in the Porter Family novels with Dru's story. I can't imagine the competition to measure up to three very masculine older brothers who have their own stories we have shared in the previous novels. Now each of them is settled and married beginning families of their own and while they have the best intentions on protecting Dru, she is one determined and strong willed woman with a mind of her own. I love this bit of a role reversal regarding a body guard scenario and love how it plays out throughout the entire novel. All of your favorite Porter brothers are back as this novel unfolds as well as a Reader Guide Discussion Questions at the conclusion that is perfect for book clubs. I would rate this one a 4 out of 5 stars in my opinion.

For more information about Her One and Only, Becky Wade or where you can pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can find Becky Wade on Facebook to stay up to date on all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on Her One and Only, please visit TLC Book Tours page.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, May 17, 2016

Fading Starlight



Lauren Summer's career is on the pinnacle of success as she awaits to hear what the fashion experts have to say about her first dress making its red carpet appearance. She is the first intern to have her dress on public display and it will be a make it or break it opportunity depending on this one event. When the dress malfunctions and leaves the rising starlet in a less than compromising position, suddenly her entire future vanishes before her very eyes and with it comes a text message from her employer to not bother to show up for work on Monday.

In fact, they have decided to do what they can to black ball Lauren from ever hoping to work in the fashion industry again. Her only hope is to take a low paying job creating costumes for a theater group and she hopes she can remain out of the limelight and paparazzi. The biggest asset comes when the theater group offers her a chance to stay at a home in a secluded community along the coast with the promise she will be available for the contractors who are coming to restore the dilapidated home according to the Home Owner's association.

She has to promise to keep visitors at a minimum and never disturb the residents who are seeking privacy for their own reasons, especially Charlotte Montgomery, an elderly woman who sits in a huge Victorian home as a bit of a recluse. Lauren is given the opportunity to be restored to her former glory by a reporter seeking information about Ms. Montgomery and a murder mystery that has gone unsolved. She promises to investigate Lauren's mishap to see if it was all a publicity stunt. But will Lauren compromise her faith and integrity to get her former future in fashion back? What is Ms. Montgomery hiding and why is she always seen wearing beautiful ball gowns?

I received Fading Starlight by Kathryn Cushman compliments of TLC Book Tours and Bethany House Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation aside from a free copy of this novel in exchange for my personal and honest evaluation. I absolutely adored this novel and read it in one sitting. I love the premise behind this one as both renovating old homes and uncovering the mysteriousness about Charlotte Montgomery and her former glory days as a starlet in Hollywood. I've been a huge fan of all the older Hollywood films and believe they hold a sense of awe in the wonderful decades that they came from in regards to fashion and the rumors circulating behind those starlets. In my opinion this one rates a perfect 5 out of 5 stars and has found a permanent home in my personal library.

For more information about Fading Starlight, Kathryn Cushman or where you can pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can find Kathryn Cushman on Facebook to stay up to date on all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on Fading Starlight, please visit TLC's Book Tour page. 

Fading Starlight is available in paperback and ebook formats from your favorite retailer. 304 pages ISBN: 9780764212628