The Best People In The World!

Wednesday, August 23, 2017

Unleashed



If you have ever been part of the current dating scene, you can honestly say there is slim pickings out there. What if you imagined having met the perfect guy, developed a new application that would net you tons of money and in a short span of time, watching that same guy steal your invention and break up with you when you least expect it? That is the premise behind Emma's (Kate Micucci) life. She was on the cusp of inventing an app called Night Sky that would allow users to view the constellations by merely downloading the app. Only her boyfriend Luke decides to take all the necessary steps to steal it before Emma can do anything to stop him, including deleting all her files on her personal computer and he markets it as his own.

She believes the only people she can trust anymore are her tuxedo cat, Alex and a lovable yellow Labrador Summit. Too bad all the love that give her and the secrets she shares with them would make it possible to find suitable human boyfriends that would treat her with the unconditional love her pets do. The one benefit that came from her breakup was she can now have pets whereas before Luke was deathly allergic. Now she is back to the grindstone trying to figure out the next big thing for app developers and for her and her co-worker Nina (Hana Mae Lee (Pitch Perfect), come up with an astrology app that can determine your daily fates using the stars and planet line ups. So when Nina tells Emma that the Supermoon coming up will completely change her life, she isn't sure what to think. On that night, her pets Ajax and Summit, are transformed into humans until the next Supermoon about a month away, only Emma doesn't know it.



Ajax now the perfect personified version of a cat, calls himself Diego (Justin Chatwin), full of arrogance, pride and animal magnetism winds up on the read cat walk as the next super model that every women desperately wants, and Summit (Steve Howey) is your typical agreeable and likeable guy going by the name Sam. They both come to terms that only one of them is likely to wind up as Emma's new love interest and may the best pet or human win. This is when the movie really goes from being a romance, to a full scale laughable comedy as both pets are trying hard to make it in the human world and Emma is caught in the middle. Sean Astin stars as a fix it man, Carl, whose is to blame for letting Emma's pets out during the Supermoon and it is his heart that he has lost to Emma, but she is simply too blind to see him.

I received Unleashed by Level 33 Entertainment compliments of TetherGroup. This is one of those adult comedies that really manages to pull of exactly what you would think. The mannerisms of both Diego and Sam are their respective animals perfectly. There is a brief nude scene as Summit goes from a dog into a human walking off in search of clothes and you have to remember that this is an adult comedy. Aside from that part, I believe that most older teens would really appreciate this movie as my 18-year-old daughter, and husband and I all thoroughly enjoyed this movie which comes to theaters and on demand on August 25, 2017. This is one we both laughed and cried through and if you are looking for something a bit different, this one is a hit in our opinion. All of us, rated it 5 out of 5 stars.

For more information about Unleashed or where you can catch this movie in a theater or on demand near you, please click on the links below:


You can find Unleashed on Facebook for up to date information and more about the film.

Tuesday, August 22, 2017

Bounty Hunter



One of my favorite jobs in the police force has to be the K-9 unit. As an animal lover I would love a job working with a dog and being in sync with them they are part of who you are. Then again, I would hate to think of sending a dog into a situation where they might not make it out alive, thus saving yours. I don't think I could do it. However if you pick up the series of books through the Love Inspired Suspense division from Harlequin, you might just want to pick up Bounty Hunter by Lynette Eason, book 4 of the Classified K-9 Unit.

In each book, they go deeper into the lives of the team of classified K-9 handlers working together as a team to locate one of their own, Jake Morrow, whom they believe may have been kidnapped by a local crime syndicate or acting as a double agent. They have had no luck with following up the tips they have been receiving lately until a random call from a bounty hunter, Riley Martelli who has been shot at by the man they've been trying to find.

When the K-9 unit arrives, FBI Special Agent Harper Prentiss and her dog Star are the first to talk with Riley. At first the team is unsure of his motives, especially when he seems eager to collect the $100,000 reward money leading the capture of Jake Morrow. So Harper follows him and learns that Riley needs the money to pay for his nephew's medical bills after being shot by his father Van Blackwell, who murder Riley's sister and left Asher, his nephew in his custody and now care. He has a bullet wedged along his spine and until he has surgery, he can't walk. So between helping the FBI catch Jake, he is also following his own pursuit to find and bring Van Blackwell to justice, if he doesn't kill Riley first.

I received Bounty Hunter by Lynette Eason compliments of Harlequin Love Inspired Suspense and TLC Book Tours. This is a pocket paperback which means you can take this book anywhere to catch up on this suspense adventure and trust me, there is NEVER a dull moment. I can't wait to read the entire series and readers even get a chance to get a sneak peek at Book 5, Body Guard at the conclusion of this one. I really love the tight knit family of FBI K-9 handlers because they work so well together and even manage to aid Riley in his own endeavors when one of their own is threatened. I love how it all wraps up in the end on one hand but gets you ready for the next adventure on the other. Trust me, murder mystery lovers and animal lovers will want to pick this one up. I give this a 4 out of 5 stars in my opinion.

For more information about Bounty Hunter, Lynette Eason or where you can pick up a copy of Bounty Hunter today, please click on the links below:


You can find Lynette Eason on Facebook to stay up to date on all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on Bounty Hunter, please visit TLC's Book Tour page. 


Monday, August 21, 2017

Beneath Copper Falls



Have you ever stayed up so late at night to finish a book? Perhaps even trying everything to keep your eye open including holding them open? Well that was my summary of how I spent last night as I began Beneath Copper Falls by Colleen Coble. Just the first three pages had my interest and I knew I was in for an adrenaline rush before my night was over. And yes, even as midnight approached I knew I had to finish this one. I had to know what was going to happen, I mean who can nod off to sleep while your characters fate hung in the balance, not knowing if they were going to live or die?

Yup.

Me again.

Dana Newell was married after thinking she had found the perfect guy. But as we all know, there is no such things as the perfect guy. When all the warning sounds are going off around you, but you still believe you were meant to be. I mean she meet Garret through her brother Chris, when attending one of his military parties. They were good friends. She loved how focused on her he was never looking away and making her feel like she was the only one in the room for him. After countless threats, beatings and fearing for her life, she knew she had to escape. So she waited for her shift as a 911 operator to end, and she made her way back home to Washington, where her brother Chris was waiting for her. She knew he wouldn't let anything happen to her.

She even managed to score another job working as a 911 dispatcher and soon life would be perfect. She knew that Garret would know she went back to her hometown, but Dana felt that with so many people she knew looking out for her that she would be safe. At least until she began to see signs that Garret was back and he was going to make sure Dana would come home with him, even if it meant taking out those who stood in his way, one by one. She finds solace and comfort in Boone Carter, a former smoke jumper who was badly burned and found that true love doesn't exist. At least when his fianceè left him when she saw his face. Now he knows that no one can love him for who he really is, when all they can see is his scars. But even though Dana may not have visible scars, she still has them and soon her and Boone work together to ensure that Dana can defend herself if Garret gets too close. But will Boone become Garret's next target instead?

I received Beneath Copper Falls by Colleen Coble compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers and TLC Book Tours. This was one of the best murder mysteries I have read because one I was engaged I never wanted to turn my back on the action jumping off of the pages. It was heart-stopping, page turning, and trying to convince my eyes to read faster so I could know how it turns out. I love the interactions between Dana and Boone and love their friendship! That so many of us focus on what we see in people without getting to truly know them, but its on the inside the counts so much more. As the years go by and we age, we better hope that what we loved about someone is more than just skin deep! I wanted so much more and now will take a trip to my local library or book store to get all the Rock Harbor series novels. This is book 6 in the series! Who knew I could love a genre as much as I did this one! 5 out of 5 stars for keeping me wide awake til I finished and wanting more!!! A Discussion Guide is included for book clubs at the conclusion of this novel.

For more information about Beneath Copper Falls, Colleen Coble or where you can pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can find Colleen Coble on Facebook to stay up to date on all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on Beneath Copper Falls, please visit TLC's Book Tour page.

Friday, August 18, 2017

Savoring the Seasons



One of my favorite settings for a novel is an small, quaint country English village. I guess I found my love for them after watching the movie The Holiday. But I became truly enchanted when I picked up the Chilton Crosse novels and found that love I had been missing. In each novel in the series, the reader gets to know each of the village's residents a bit more that live in Chilton Crosse and with Savoring the Seasons, by Traci Borum, the fourth novel, the reader gets to really know Julia Bentley who runs Rose's Bakery in town. Her ninety year old father does his part by sitting outside the bakery handing out samples to those that pass by, whether tourists or simply someone in town. In fact, the entire town knows how much of his life and love he has poured into the bakery.

The bakery has been open now close to 40 years and with that, the town decides to celebrate all the hard work that the Bentley's have put into their baking. Mrs. Pickering decides the best way to do that is to form small committees to complete the tasks need to pull this off as a surprise of a lifetime and the only thing they will allow Julia to do, is bake a cake. So as the town sets off to complete their assignments, Julia discovers Tristan Hannigan, the new delivery man for supplying the bakeries needs and feels immediately drawn to him. Until he shaves off his beard and she realizes he is more than a decade younger than she is. While she is 40, and he is only 29 going on 30, she wonders if there might be a possibility for them. For now, they agree to be friends, something everyone can do with more of, especially Julia who's life consists of waking up early to begin baking, and taking care of her elderly father.

Just reading about all the tasty treats Julia whips up since discovering an old cookbook left behind with all her mother's notes, makes the reader want to indulge in some as well. Just as it seems things might be looking up in the romance department for Julia, Tristan's mates from the University show up since he refused to attend their reunion and with it, Tristan's old ex who is drop dead beautiful who still seems to have a thing for Tristan. With the retelling of all their old school stories, Julia can't really contribute much except for smiling at this and that, and begins to wonder if the feelings she has for Tristan aren't just hopeful anticipation and perhaps the age difference between them is more than meets the eye.

I received Savoring the Seasons by Traci Borum compliments of Red Adept Publishing. The delightful thing about this novel is the quips of wisdom that opens up each chapter. While it might allude to baking advice it also parallels life advice as well. For example, "Don't take fresh ingredients for granted. Smell them, touch them, turn them over in your hand and really look at them. Appreciate their qualities and what they're about to do for your recipe. Don't get to busy that you forget to savor the small things." And that is just the theme of this novel. Savoring the Seasons in our lives. Too often we are consumed by our daily to do lists that we forget to engage in the people around us and before we know it, life has passed us by. I know if you love novels that take place with a small group of people that love and care for one another, pick up the Chilton Crosse series. For me, this one was well worth all 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion.

For more information about Savoring the Seasons, Traci Borum or where you can pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can find Traci Borum on Facebook to stay up to date with all her latest novels.




Thursday, August 17, 2017

Their Pretend Amish Courtship



Fanny Erb wasn't looking for a husband. She was pretty set on what her future looked like and as long as it let her continue to work with horses, she was fine staying single. But as any Amish woman knows, marriage is something to all women should look forward to as well as beginning a family. But Fanny is different from all the other Amish women. Without a potential husband in the near future, her Mamm believes she could go to Florida to help out her ailing grandparents. Without any ties to her community aside from working with the English woman and her horses, Fanny has no excuse.

Noah Bowman dreams that one day his passion for baseball will be his future. Unfortunately as the last single men living in his parents home, they have made small concessions since he hasn't joined the church to allow him to participate in the local communities games as a pitcher. He believes his God-given talent shouldn't be wasted especially if he is offered a position on a professional team. When Fanny shows up at his door with a crazy proposal to pretend to court her, he refuses immediately. He knows it is dishonest and despite how well they both have things in common, he views Fanny as more of a friend than ever entertaining the notion she would one day be his wife.

When Noah learns that his mother and sisters have begun making plans for him to attend singings and picnics to meet new Amish girls, he wonders how far-fetched Fanny's plan really is. Yet when his mother demands he give up his baseball games, he knows he will do whatever it takes to continue in his passion of playing baseball. Who knows this way perhaps Fanny gets to stay home from Florida and continue working with the horses and he can continue to play baseball. Sounds like a perfect plan and they believe they have everything figured out, or have they?

I received Their Pretend Amish Courtship by Patricia Davids compliments of Harlequin Love Inspired and TLC Book Tours. From the beginning you could see where this would go, but the humor that accompanies trying to live out a life that begins as pretends soon forces them to see the things that they believe separate them are the very things that weave them together. It is entertaining from the reader's perspective to see just how this year will go and what kind of hoops these two will have to jump through. Will they keep their passions or will they be forced to give up the Amish lifestyle they have been raised with? You'll just have to read this one to find out. I'd give this one a 4.5 out of 5 stars and is a quick read at 220 pages. This is the fourth book in the Amish Bachelor's series.

For more information about Their Pretend Amish Courtship, Patricia Davids or where you can pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the link below:


You can find Patricia Davids on Facebook to stay up to date on all her latest books.

To read more reviews on Their Pretend Amish Courtship, please visit TLC Book Tour's page. 


Wednesday, August 16, 2017

The Soldier Who Killed A King



"What would it have been like to live in the geopolitical center of the first-century world, when donkeys and camels were the cars and trucks, conversations over goblets of wine were the social media, and religious conflict influenced every facet of life? What would it have been like to live under pagan, political domination of Roman tyranny, while also under the oppressive ritualistic control of hypocritical religious bigots? What would it have been like to live in the very week that this dark, confused world was invaded by heaven - a week when history shifted from BC to AD?

The Soldier Who Killed A King by David Kitz, is a gripping story that offers its readers front row seats from which we can see the action. It's a hidden camera on the helmet of the primary witness of the history-altering drama when the Sovereign of the Universe, quietly riding a lowly donkey, overthrew the pomp and dominion of the most powerful kingdom this world has ever known. More than that, it's a look into the mind and heart of a man, not unlike you or me, who wrestled with the meaning and purpose of life.

As you read the thoughtful eyewitness account of Marcus Longinus, the Roman centurion, the soldier who killed a king, you'll feel his anxiety and anguish as well as the exult in his ultimate answers because - despite the differences of time and culture - his story is our story." ~ Dr. Barry Buzza

The Soldier Who Killed A King by David Kitz is a work of historical fiction. Like other works in this genre, there are points where imagination is essential in order to round out the characters and fill n the details missing from the historical record. However every effort has been made to tell this story in the biblically accurate manner. Frequently, when the story narrative intersects with the biblical account, direct quotes from the Bible are used. This book marks the week of Christ's suffering, death and resurrection, a pivotal week in human history. Time and date entries at the head of each chapter acts as road markers as you work your way through the week. Most historical and biblical scholars situate this epic drama during the Passover week of AD 30, and if this is so, then we can pinpoint the many events to within minutes of this occurence.

I received The Soldier Who Killed A King by David Kitz compliments of Kregel Publications. This is such a wonderful book because as the foreward states, you feel like you are seeing these events as they occurred through the eyes of the Roman centurion. As you near the crucifixion, the reality of what really happened begins to cause your chest to tighten as if you were actually there. You feel the nails being pounded into the flesh of Jesus even though he uttered no words while this barbaric death was performed. This is one of the reasons I love biblical fiction because it takes those notable events from the Bible and takes the reader right into the heart of the action. I will be keeping this one tucked away in my permanent library and well worthy of all 5 out of 5 stars.

For more information about The Soldier Who Killed A King, David Kitz or where you can pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can find David Kitz on Facebook to stay up to date on all his latest works.

To read more reviews on The Soldier Who Killed A King, please visit Kregel Publication's website. 


Tuesday, August 15, 2017

Altar Egos DVD Giveaway and Review



So what does one do when taking over an existing church from his father's legacy? Well you'd think based on the lack of church attendance, you would consider making some changes to invite more people to want to join right? Well that is precisely what Pastor John (Robert Amaya, Courageous and Moms Night Out) wants to do. During the service the existing church choir makes it difficult for anyone to stay focused and awake including the elderly organist so he begins to look for ways to increase church attendance. His biggest obstacle is Mary Margaret, the head chairperson on the church board who believes that change isn't something that the church requires. She begins to question whether he is the right man for heading up the church after all.




She takes it upon herself to organize a strike against his leadership beginning with the removal of the church choir, which has the remaining church members in a fuss. They want the choir back. Mary Margaret has also called for a church board meeting to discuss Pastor John's removal and subsequent replacement. If only he could find a way to attend that meeting. He convinces his thespian son, Jack to help him find the perfect disguise so he can go unnoticed as an elderly man in their meeting. However Jack doesn't think his dad can pull it off simply because he looks like an older man. So Jack dresses up as an elderly man, called Frank while his dad goes under the name Milo and they walk the mall trying out their disguises.

Well the role play is a success in one right, they now find themselves committed to joining the church members for meetings, a Christmas party and even a dinner meeting with the potential new pastor all while remaining in disguise. I won't reveal all the high jinks and humor that comes along with this, but you can tell from the movie's title, this one was well thought out. The theme of loving the unlovable, reconciliation and change versus tradition will be one the entire family will enjoy. This movie also stars Erin Bethea, (Fireproof).

I received Altar Egos compliments of Bridgestone Multimedia Group and LEV3L Digital. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie and know that if you are looking for a great comedy that is perfect for the entire family, you will want to check this film out. It is Dove Family Approved and I can't wait for you to see it. I would easily give this movie a 4 out of 5 stars. Check out this exclusive film clip below:



Now for the thanks to the generosity of Bridgestone Multimedia Group and LEV3L Digital, they are giving away a copy of this DVD to one lucky winner. Here are your guidelines to enter:

1. "Like" Altar Ego's Facebook page.

2. Be a resident of the US or have a US mailing address.

3. Leave a comment below telling me why you'd love to win a copy of this movie along with your email address. You can use the words (at) and (dot) instead of the symbols.

4. Share this link on at least one social media site of your choice and post that link in the comments.

I will notify the winner of the giveaway on August 29th by email. If you don't include your email address I have no way of contacting you if you are the lucky winner.

For more information about Altar Egos and where you can pick up a copy of the DVD which releases on September 5, 2017, please click on the links below:


You can find Altar Egos on Facebook to stay up to date with all the movie fun.

To purchase tickets, access videos, photos, downloads, news, theaters, and more, visit Altar Egos website.