The Best People In The World!

Friday, February 27, 2015

Unbound



Anyone who has followed my book reviews, knows that I love supernatural and spiritual warfare fiction novels. That is precisely why I jumped at the opportunity to review Unbound, the first novel in The Omega Trilogy by J.B. Simmons. It is based in the near future where technology has advanced quite considerably with people allowing themselves to be implanted with a device known as precepts, a computer that responds to your thoughts and enables only you to have access to it unless you agree to sync with another user. Everything in this future is activated by a wrist like implant that allows you to pay for items or even activate users to your internal precept. Security is the main goal in this new futuristic world and those lucky enough to pass the test, can become spies for the International Security Agency or ISA to combat terrorists threats all over the globe.

Elijah Goldsmith, a young Jewish man who is among the wealthy and finishing up college has applied but not without much reservations. Elijah, like his Bible predecessor, has been having what he can only call nightmares of a dragon rising from a giant hole in the ground in the city of Rome after a great earthquake. A charismatic man is also there who speaks to the dragon and then Elijah wakes up. Each night without fail he experiences the same nightmare even with the help of the sleep pills he's been taking to avoid having them. He is struggling with his own faith because none of these things make sense to a Jewish boy. Jesus was just a great guy and nothing more right? The book of Revelation is just something that should never been added to the Bible because all it contains is symbolic myths of a future that some man dreamed. Is not real right? Or is it?

I received Unbound by J.B. Simmons compliments of Believers Media for my honest review and did not receive any monetary compensation aside from a free copy of the book for my honest review. The opinions contained here are strictly my own. While the reviews on this novel compare it to a mix of The Da Vinci Code meets Hungry Games meets Left Behind, I would disagree. It is more along the lines of Left Behind with a bit more science fiction tossed in for good measure. It was an enjoyable read but the storyline took quite awhile to get to the meaning of the purpose of ISA and Elijah's involvement with it as well as the friends he interacts with along the way. While knowing this is the first novel in the series, I felt the author raced a bit to get to the action level, the purpose of Elijah's dreams, and kinda left us feeling left behind ourselves. I am hoping that the next novel might offer a bit more than what this one did and I was left feeling like I really wanted to know more before moving forward. I would rate this one a 4 out of 5 stars and for fans of books like Left Behind, you might want to check this one out as well.

For more information about Unbound, J.B. Simmons or where you can pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can find J.B. Simmons on Facebook to stay up to date with all his latest novels.

You can pick up a copy of Unbound through Amazon or your local book retailer.


Thursday, February 26, 2015

Sons of God



There is a small section in the book of Genesis, chapter 6, that very few people understand as they read it. For some, it's simply words in the Bible that they fail to understand the meaning behind the words "sons of God." For an avid Bible student, it refers to the fallen remnant of angels that fell to Earth during Lucifer's rebellion in Heaven. In order to further pollute the world with unparalleled sin, the fallen angels or demons took on human form and married daughters of women. The offspring of these relationships resulted in a creation called Nephilim, half man, half demon. But those were all but destroyed when God called forth the great flood and saved only 8 people, Noah and his family. But it is possible that something of this magnitude could still happen even today?

In Mike Dellosso's book Sons of God, he takes what he refers to as a theological thriller, which unleashes a few themes that run the length of his fictional novel about that very thing happening in a small town of Forest Ridge Pennsylvania, and impacting the Grace Bible Church and it's pastor Scott Davies in ways they could have never seen coming. Fans of spiritual warfare and supernatural fiction will absolutely LOVE the direction Mike took this storyline. Scott is dealing with his own personal demons as he struggles to deal with the loss of his wife Jess, three years ago. He doesn't realize how hard it will be to explain the presence of evil he both sees and feels when a trio of young men suddenly take an interest in three of the young women attending his church.

With visions of romance and love in their eyes, all three unexpectedly announce to Pastor Scott their intention on marriage to these three young men. While Scott can't explain his distrust of what is happening, he tries to encourage them to attend premartial counseling to ensure a successful marriage, but that is not what is on the minds of Jason, Josh and Brian and they manage to weave quite a web of destruction both for Scott and the people of Forest Ridge. Only time will tell if Scott will have enough faith in God to go to war with an ancient enemy!

I was not provided with any monetary compensation for a favorable review for Sons of God and the opinions expressed here are my own. I've read quite a few of Mike's novels and some how missed this one. Being a huge lover of spiritual warfare and supernatural suspense fiction, this one fell right into my book lovers heart. There is such a great element of taking the creation of the Nephilim and bringing it into the possibility of recreation in modern times. We can only hope this will remain a fictional storyline and one that history hopefully will not repeat, but you never know what the future brings as we race closer to the end times. I easily give this one a 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion.

For more information about Sons of God, Mike Dellosso or where you can pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can find Mike Dellosso on Facebook to stay up to date on all his latest novels.


Wednesday, February 25, 2015

Betting on Hope



The man smelled like leather and sunshine and something spicy that drew her like a hummingbird to sugar water. She had to fight the urge to lean in and inhale. - Love it when you find great lines like these in a novel. (Betting on Hope, Debra Clopton). This had to be my favorite line in the latest novel from Debra Clopton. Here she introduces her readers to a new series, Four of Hearts Ranch Romance and Betting on Hope is the first novel to lead off this amazing series. If you love a great romance with a gentlemen-like cowboy, you will definitely want to make plans to rope this one up at your local retailer.

The series takes place in Wishing Springs, a small "Mayberry-like" community. The residents mean well but often find themselves in the middle of something that should have been better left alone. Tru Monahan is their local boy who has made a name for himself with his "Hollywood" good looks and manners that can smooth talk just about anyone he applies his warm words to. For Maggie Hope, she is the latest victim who falls hook, line and sinker, for Tru's cowboy like good looks and gentlemanly manners that quite literally keep sweeping her off her feet and into his arms. Maggie is known for being a bit clumsy and she wasn't at all prepared for this last minute interview with Tru Monahan for the local morning news show. Prepared with only a handful of questions, from her boss Amanda, Maggie steps in to interview Tru when Amanda falls ill. Just as the interview is about to spiral out of control, Tru does what he does best, sweet talking Maggie into staying calm and relaxing. That just puts more pressure on her to stick to being professional and stop falling for his dreamy eyes.

Soon the comments between the two being flying as Maggie tries to convey to Tru she wouldn't be caught dead on a horse. Tru responds that he can teach anyone to ride and soon an on the air bet challenges them both to a contest. Tru will have two month so teach Maggie not only to get over her fear of horses and riding but to also compete in a cutting contest. Maggie doesn't feel like this is something she can manage, but when Amanda threatens to pull her advice column, Gotta Have Hope, Maggie knows she will have to put all that advice she's been handing out to everyone on her column and learn to find her own sense of hope in this situation. But will she be able to maintain a professional distance or will she fall in love with the man who seems to be all wrong for her?

I received Betting on Hope by Debra Clopton compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own unless otherwise notated. This novel central theme is all about sacrifice and how each person will be required to give up something for the sake of someone else. For some it will be a life changing one, while others will simply have to learn to let go of their pasts and see that they're not accountable for those mistakes that were made by others in their lives. This is a great series that I can't wait to get my hands on the next novel "Counting on A Cowboy." I easily give this one a 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion and it even includes a Reader's Discussion Guide at the conclusion of this novel that is perfect for book clubs.

For more information about Betting on Hope, Debra Clopton, or where you can pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can find Debra Clopton on Facebook to stay up to date with all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on Betting on Hope, please visit Litfuse Publicity's Book Tour Page.

Saddle up for a new romance from novelist Debra CloptonBetting on HopeIn Wishing Springs, Maggie finds what she has always been looking for: a community and a home. But when her past catches up to her, it threatens everything, even the tender hope that this town holds all of her heart’s desires.

Enter to win a Kindle Fire HD 6 to celebrate the release of Betting on Hope

bettingonhope-400 
One grand prize winner will receive:
  • A Kindle Fire
  • A copy of Betting on Hope
Enter today by clicking the icon below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on March 8th. Winner will be announced March 9th on Debra's blog.

bettingonhope-enterbanner

{NOT ON FACEBOOK? ENTER HERE.}

Tuesday, February 24, 2015

Keys of Heaven



I've heard it said, that most people will grow if they are cultivated in a place where love, security and faith abounds. But what some might believe is that people can also grow among the rocks and places where soil is so thin, you would think they simply won't last long. Keys of Heaven by author Adina Senft, the second novel in the Healing Grace Series, explores that theme in a variety of situations involving both Amish and English living together in a small Amish Community.

Sarah Yoder is exploring her knowledge as an herbalist in finding cures where God's plants and weeds grow, turning them into useful lotions, remedies, teas and tinctures for whatever ails the person she is giving it to. Sarah is coming to terms with her brother and son leaving to join a cattle ranch while saying they were exploring their options. It has lead to a division not only in the community but in the family as well. She is praying that they will return soon and until that time will continue to resume training in helping her own people with natural cures.

Henry Byler has landed one of the biggest contracts he ever hoped for as a small time potter. They want to carry his line of bowls and pottery both in their New York stores and also online as well. The one thing Henry didn't consider was they were marketing this product as Amish made but Henry may have grown up Amish but he had made a decision to not follow in their footsteps nor does he want to join the church. That has put him at odds with some in his community and none more so than Sarah whose property adjoins Henry's.

When a wealthy family vacation at the Rose Arbor Inn, things are about to get interesting, from the oldest son, showing an interest in an Amish girl who works there as a maid, to the youngest one who has artistic passions he can't share with his family but finds hope in confiding in Henry. He dreams of one day being a great artist like Henry but hides all his passions from his parents. He believes Eric has the talent and only needs someone could encourage him. Is Henry the right person for the job?

I received Keys of Heaven of Adina Senft compliments of Faith Words, a division of Hachette Book Groups for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions contained here are strictly my own. This is such a beautiful blending of two very different cultures, the Amish and English as they try to find ways to settle any differences that come between them. It shows how we can often jump to conclusions that we might think are best for someone when in the end, we are simply overstepping God's plan for someone instead. It shows what the reward is for honest, hard work, and faith in small things and I can't wait to read the third novel coming out Balm of Gilead in the summer of 2015. A sneak peek of Balm of Gilead is included at the conclusion as well as a Reading Group Guide. I love how Sarah finds healing in what is growing around the land and I've loved learning about natural remedies through this series. It is well worth 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion.

For more information about Keys of Heaven, Adina Senft or where you can pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can find Adina Senft on Facebook to stay up to date on all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on Keys of Heaven, please visit Faith Words' website. 




Monday, February 23, 2015

Seek and Hide

This week, the
Christian Fiction Blog Alliance
is introducing
Seek and Hide
David C. Cook (September 15, 2014)
by
Amanda Stevens


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:



As a child, Amanda G. Stevens disparaged Mary Poppins and Stuart Little because they could never happen. Now, she writes speculative fiction. She holds a Bachelor of Science degree in English and has taught literature and composition to home-school students. She lives in Michigan and loves books, film, music, and white cheddar popcorn. Amanda's first novel, Seek and Hide, will be available September 15, 2014 from David C Cook.



ABOUT THE BOOK

Six years ago, the government took control of the church. Only re-translated Bibles are legal, and a specialized agency called the Constabulary enforces this and other regulations. Marcus Brenner, a new Christian, will do anything to protect his church family from imprisonment--including risk his own freedom to gain the trust of a government agent. Aubrey Weston recanted her faith when the Constabulary threatened her baby. Now released, she just wants to provide for her son and avoid government notice. But she's targeted again, and this time, her baby is taken into custody. If only she'd never denied Him, maybe God would hear her pleas for help. When Aubrey and Marcus's lives collide, they are forced to confront the lies they believe about themselves. And God is about to grab hold of Marcus's life in a way he'd never expect, turning a loner into a leader.

If you'd like to read the first chapter of Seek and Hide, go HERE.

Saturday, February 21, 2015

Tea Beyond



My family are huge fans of brewing tea. In fact we have all but given up coffee in lieu of the many different kinds of tea available on the market today. I was more than thrilled when I was contacted to try some premium blooming tea samples as well as a glass diffused tea pot from Tea Beyond. Here is some information about Tea Beyond:

Tea Beyond is very passionate about helping people stay healthier and happier by offering tea products with premium quality and enhancing tea drinking experiences with stylish tea-wares. They invest in product research and development from materials, taste, colors to aroma, feature and styles. All of their products are made from materials sourced directly from nature, no artificial materials added. We follow our sustainable business philosophy by reducing carbon footprints.

They are a big believers in natural products and support a philosophy of responsible business practices. All of their products are made of materials sourced directly from nature. No artificial ingredients are used. To foster a sustainable business model they recycle all packaging and limit the amount of printed materials.

Tea Beyond, the expanding international tea company, started its tea journey as a result of the fact that they could not find high quality tea available in the market. Their mission is to enhance the tea drinking experience, healthy and happy lifestyle by offering the most exclusive and best quality authentic international teas and tea-wares to our customers.

Premium Blooming Tea: 

Blooming tea takes its inspiration from a complaint that women and men could not share the same pot of tea at a tea house. In traditional China, women like herbal teas, such as rose buds, jasmine flowers, while men love loose tea leaves. The solution was to sew tea leaves with freshly dried flowers in an artful way so that men and women can enjoy the same pot of tea - Blooming tea was born! Premium Blooming Tea, is made of only the premium quality Silver needle green tea leaves (single buds) hand selected and sewed by tea masters, with freshly dried flowers to create the best presentation.

My Review: 

I was more than thrilled when I received my glass infused tea pot. It was simply beautiful and handles about 4 cups of hot tea. Don't let the glass fool you. It is hardy enough to handle boiling water straight from your stove top. You simply add the water into the base of the tea pot, then add your favorite blend of loose tea leaves or a Premium Blooming Tea to the diffuser. Simply lower that into the hot water and wait the appropriate amount of time for the brewing to take place.



The Premium Blooming Teas take a bit longer to steep, you simply wait until the Blooming Tea unfolds. You need to keep about 30% of the water in the tea pot each time if you plan of refilling it. When refilling water, lean the pot to 70 degree angle and them add water gently along the glass wall. Avoid any directly pouring boiling water on flowers.



I received quite the sample of Premium Blooming Teas to try along with some loose tea leaves from Black Tea with Caramel to a Green Jasmine Tea. I have to be  honest and say I love the Black Tea with Caramel the best and my daughters both love the Premium Blooming Teas. There are Jasmine, Carnation, Marigold, Peony and a melody of Jasmine, Marigold and globe Amarath to try. All are low caffeine content and simply taste great whether you love them hot or cold. For me, this will remain a long time favorite for my household and why I would strongly give this company a 5 out of 5 stars. Not only do they make an incredible product but I love that they remain environmental conscience as well! I received the Tea Beyond Butterfly Tea pot and Tea Beyond Tea Combo compliments of Tea Beyond for my honest review of their product. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review. If you love tea as much as I do, I strongly suggest you take a look at this company.

For more information about Tea Beyond, Tea Beyond Butterfly Tea Pot and Tea Beyond Tea Combo, please click on the links below:


You can order the Tea Beyond Butterfly Tea Pot by clicking here. 

To Order the Tea Beyond Tea Combo, a sample of their Premium Blooming and Loose Tea Leaves, please click here. 


Friday, February 20, 2015

10 Steps to Your F.I.T: Faith Inspired Transformation



"Whether you think you can or you think you can't - you're right. ~ Henry Ford

"You can't turn on the TV or open a magazine without seeing a dieting product. We are so inundated with infomercials and ads, but if these products work, where are the lasting results? If 20 billion dollars are being spent on diet aids, and 108 million of us use them, how is it that nearly 70 percent of adults are overweight or obese? The answer is that we're trained in quick fixes that don't last." (pg 4).

So how can we lose weight? How can we find balance in the food choices we have in front of us? Is there a way to change our focus on not losing weight but instead getting healthy? Kim Dolan Leto, who has graced the covers of magazines like Oxygen, Fitness and Fitness Life believes that it is a belief in Christ that has kept her motivated to reach her fitness goals in a balanced and healthy way. In her book 10 Steps to Your F.I.T: Faith Inspired Transformation, she explains why your typical diets don't last and why as women we have a tendency to give up before we see any real results. She also explains that not all calories are created equal thus the reason why so many people can't lose weight or even those that do, put it all back on again and more within 2 years.

What you won't find her are any quick fixes but a balance approach to seeking God's power instead of our own will power for getting healthy. Weight loss will just be an added benefit to doing just that. She explains how fad diets promise quick results, but they often leave out the education, exercise, and how-to's to maintaining those results once the program is over. What's worse is that they make you rely on their product and believe it or not, any effects aren't long lasting.

She instructs readers on changing their negative thoughts, realizing where our previous efforts have failed us, and incorporates what she calls F.I.T. practices, between spiritual, mental and physical fitness into a "power hour." You won't find a book laced with work out routines, meal plans or recipes but this is an insightful, scripture based book to enable you to begin your journey to a healthy you. I am super excited to give this one a go, since I too, have been a diet junky, looking for a better way to lose weight, keep it off and stay healthy despite all the busy pressures of being a mom and wife.



I received 10 Steps to Your F.I.T: Faith Inspired Transformation by Kim Dolan Leto compliments of Fedd Books and Shelton Interactive for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own unless otherwise notated. There are some great tools to help inspire and keep you on the right path in each section, including Get F.I.T. at the conclusion of each chapter which include reflection questions and strategies that can help you incorporate that aspect into your own getting healthy plan. There are also some great online resources that are available to help you on your journey to health and fitness success that are included in this book. I can't wait to incorporate these tips in my own healthy lifestyle change and feels this one deserves a full 4.5 out of 5 stars in my opinion.

For more information about 10 Steps to Your F.I.T: Faith Inspired Transformation, Kim Dolan Leto or where you can pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can find Kim Dolan Leto on Facebook to stay up to date with all her latest health and fitness tips.

To read more reviews on 10 Steps to Your F.I.T: Faith Inspired Transformation, please visit Shelton Interactive's website.