The Best People In The World!

Wednesday, November 25, 2015

An Endless Christmas

Once you finish reading An Endless Christmas by Cynthia Ruchti, you will undoubtedly want a family like the Binders. As the family gathers at the cottage of Dodie and Wilson Binder in the woods just north of Stillwater, something of a family tradition, Micah and Katie prepare for her first visit on meeting the family and of course the parents. They have been dating for almost 10 months and while things have been going great, Katie knows no matter how perfect Micah is, he won't want anything to do with her once she reveals what she has been hiding. What she didn't expect was for him to propose just moments after they arrived at the cottage.

They just didn't expect her answer to the question. Of course, she said, "No." She expected reactions she didn't get and while the woman rallied around her, the men attempted to figure out why she had said no and to hopefully figure out a plan to keep things going between the two. Perhaps she simply needed more time. Perhaps being under the pressure of being in a home filled to the brim with family members she was just seeing and meeting at the same time. No one wanted to think it wasn't because she didn't love Micah. The truth was she truly did, but now all Katie wanted to do was make plans to escape this place before Christmas arrived.

Yet no matter how much she tried to pull away, the families closeness, genuine love and peace kept her from making any immediate plans. She found herself trying to come up with legitimate excuses of why she shouldn't just rush on out the door. Being a nurse practitioner gave her much needed insight that most people missed and one thing was certain, despite all appearances, Micah's grandfather didn't look well at all. What it was she wasn't certain, but perhaps she might be needed after all and it wasn't for finding time to explain things with Micah even though she needed to do that. What she would find in the course of the time she spent with the Binders is that they truly were a family that wasn't afraid of honesty or for showing one another how they truly felt. She might just get more than a miracle this Christmas.

I received An Endless Christmas by Cynthia Ruchti compliments of Worthy Inspired and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation, aside from a free copy of this book, in exchange for my honest opinion. This is truly a beautifully inspired Christmas book that will not only get you in the mood for Christmas but quite likely change how you view the Christmas season. Life is filled with fleeting moments and no tomorrow is ever a guarantee. This story helps you to appreciate each day as if it were an endless Christmas. For me, this one rates a 5 out of 5 stars and has found a permanent home in my personal library!

For more information about An Endless Christmas, Cynthia Ruchti or where you can pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:

You can find Cynthia Ruchti on Facebook to stay up to date with all her latest books.

For more reviews on An Endless Christmas, please visit Litfuse Publicity's Book Tour Page. 

  • Hardcover: 240 pages
  • Publisher: Worthy Inspired (October 13, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1617955876
  • ISBN-13: 978-1617955877
  • Product Dimensions: 7.4 x 4.9 x 1 inches

Tuesday, November 24, 2015

Christmas on Candy Cane Lane

I don't know about you, but in our city we have places where it has become a bit of a Christmas tradition in that particular neighborhood to really go all out in decorating for Christmas. You know those places, where people will drive miles just to share the Christmas displays with their friends and family. This is just what Candy Cane Lane is famous for and each year, the entire neighborhood gets into the Spirit of not only going all out on the decorating, but even dressing up and passing out candy canes to those who drive through the neighborhood. In fact Maddy Donaldson is considered by her neighbors and even family as being the Queen of Candy Cane Lane's Christmas festivities. She ensures that everyone is up to par on making sure they are participating, having their light displays up and if there are any lights out, she is the one to let them know. However, she has been neglecting her husband Alan and her daughter Jordan in the process and they are trying hard to convince her to let some of that responsibility go.

Tilda Morrison, has just bought the run down house on Candy Cane Lane with plans of fixing it up, but her lack of home economic skills are lacking severely. Between her job at the Icicle Falls Police Force, and trying to figure out her own love life, she isn't quite sure she is ready to battle Maddy's spirited insistence that she participate in the Christmas light display. But when someone begins to vandalize the lighted candy canes, Tilda will have to get involved. Unfortunately as well, her family is insisting that they all celebrate the holiday at her new home with the dinner being cooked by Tilda. The only thing she knows how to do when it comes to planning a meal is stopping at the local Safeway deli and picking up something to go.

Ivy Bohn is struggling to find a way to hold down her busy family business as well as raising her two young children after her husband Rob decided that he wanted to go it alone. Not dealing with the implications of running into him during his time of visitation, she can't help but seem quite a bit grinchy towards him. The last thing she wants to do is rely on him to help do things like fix her broken washing machine, help catch her ever escaping dog, Gizmo or figure out a way to put up her Christmas lights on the house while dealing with her fear of heights. To top it off, her new neighbor Tilda, is a friend from school that she didn't not get along with at all. How can she find a way to get into the true Christmas spirit? Oh if only things didn't turn out the way they did.

I received Christmas on Candy Cane Lane by Shelia Roberts compliments of Mira Books and Pump Up Your Book Tours for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation, aside from a free copy of this book, in exchange for my honest review. This is a great contemporary Christmas fiction, that you can find yourself relating to at least one of the many characters in the book. While this novel is clean to some degree, some implied ideas such as the thoughts Tilda considered when thinking of possible men she'd like to do more than simply date, might not be the subject matter some might wish to see in a book. However, that is about as far as it goes. In my opinion, I'd rate this one a 4 out of 5 stars and loved the laughter and friendship that is formed in a wonderful neighborhood like Icicle Falls! This is the 8th book in the Life in Icicle Falls Series!

For more information about Christmas on Candy Cane Lane, Shelia Roberts, or where you can pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:

You can find Shelia Robert's on Facebook to stay up to date with all her latest books.

To read more reviews on Christmas on Candy Cane Lane, please visit Pump Up Your Books Tour Page. 

Monday, November 23, 2015

The Aleppo Code

We all know about the parting of the Red Sea by Moses, whether we have seen it on the movies, television or read about it in the Bible. Now Terry Brennan has taken the story of the staff of Aaron to a whole new level in his suspense series, Jerusalem Prophecies in his third novel, The Aleppo Code. This is a must read for fans of Indiana Jones, the DaVinci code or anyone who loves a Christian Action Suspense novel. Since this is the third novel in the series, you truly need to read the first two to understand where the characters are at in this point of the series.

Once again, Tom Bohannon has gathered together those team members that have been together since the beginning to search for the staff of Aaron that Moses used when he parted the Red Sea among the many miracles he performed. But where does one begin to look for such an object like this? By the biblical accounts it was recorded to have been contained in the Ark of the Covenant. But did it stay there? It is possible that the staff has been used from creation until it's current location whenever one of God's chosen people has needed it? Could it have been passed down throughout the generations and now lays in wait for the coming of the promised Messiah to Israel?

Utilizing every resource available to the team of experts, Tom's group must go back to the beginning of their initial search to uncover what they have missed along the way. It will take them quite literally around the world gathering pieces of seemingly random clues to point them to the ancient city of Babylon where lays buried beneath the sands of time, the gate to the Garden of Eden. Whoever finds this source of godly power in the possession of the staff will unleash the power of God and be in control of the entire world. That is something they can not let happen considering the world at this point is on the verge of World War III and this will be the deciding factor of who will win if they can possess this.

I received The Aleppo Code by Terry Brennan compliments of Kregel Publication for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation, aside from a free copy of this novel, in exchange for an honest review. This is one of my favorites when it comes to what I would call Christian Antiquities and Archaeology Fiction if there was a category. We have the team in a modern day setting in the Middle East, using clues from history to unravel the mystery while they are being hunted by various enemies against time. I have thoroughly enjoyed this series and based on the way it ended, I don't think Terry Brennan has ended it just yet. Well played Mr. Brennan! I hope there is more to come and for that reason this one rates a 4.5 out of 5 stars in my opinion.

For more information about The Aleppo Code, Terry Brennan or where you can pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:

You can find Terry Brennan on Facebook, to stay up to date with all his latest novels.

For more reviews on The Aleppo Code, please visit Kregel Publication's website. 

Sunday, November 22, 2015

The Brotherhood Conspiracy

If you have any knowledge of the Bible, there are quite a few biblical artifacts that simply come to an end. Their stories end through various books of the Bible, much like the famed Ark of the Covenant and Noah's Ark. Yet have you ever wondered if there might in fact be more biblical artifacts that the world simply has not considered searching for? What one biblical artifact would you love to search for and find? This isn't one of those Indiana Jones type adventures but Terry Brennan has really opened my eyes to some of these artifacts that if discovered may in fact be quite life changing. In the Jerusalem Prophecies series, Terry takes readers into uncharted waters throughout the Middle East in a search for what one group of people known simply as the Prophet's Guard want to keep hidden in the second novel of the series, The Brotherhood Conspiracy.

Just returning from his previous adventure, Tom Bohannon has attempted to settle into some sense of normalcy since discovering the Third Temple located beneath the existing Temple Mount in Israel. With it's discovery, it opens up Bible Prophecy to a whole new level and has created much anticipation from the Jews to begin sacrifices in the Temple of God once again. However the Muslims aren't about to allow that to happen. It flies in the face of what they have longed believe that Jesus was not the Son of God. Now with the entire Middle East on the verge of war, the President of the United States once again has need of Tom's expertise. Not only in uncovering the clues left behind on an ancient scroll which revealed the location of the Temple, but in his faith with God helping him get there and back against all odds. The President believes that Tom can find the next artifact that has every group in the Middle East looking for it.

Tom and his team have been asked to locate the Tent of Meeting, the portable tabernacle that Moses used when the Israelites crossed the wilderness and carried the Ark of the Covenant. It was where God resided as fire by night and a pillar of smoke by day. If Israel can find this artifact, they will gain complete control of the Temple area and drive the Muslims out of the area. It will take everything the team has to pull this one off, but the President firmly believes that Tom is the only one who can lead the team and find the artifact before anyone else does. It just might be the catalyst to ignite World War 3 on many levels.

I received The Brotherhood Conspiracy by Terry Brennan compliments of Kregel Publications for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation, aside from a free copy of this novel, in exchanged for my honest review. I loved the first novel The Sacred Cipher in this series, overall more than this one. It took me quite a while to get into the characters even though I had just finished the previous novel before picking this one up. You just honestly never know who the good guys or bad guys are in this group and why certain Prophet's Guard members just show up in the the most unlikeliest of places taking out more of our favorite characters. However, this is certainly an adrenaline laced series and now I am more than happy to dive into the third novel because just like each consecutive one before it, it gives you a teaser of what they will be hunting for this time and the stakes only increase. I would rate this one a 4 out of 5 stars in my opinion.

For more information about The Brotherhood Conspiracy, Terry Brennan or where to pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:

You can find Terry Brennan on Facebook to stay up to date on all his latest novels.

To read more reviews on The Brotherhood Conspiracy, please visit Kregel Publications website. 

Saturday, November 21, 2015

The Sacred Cipher

I believe what has always drawn me to the Indiana Jones movies is the possibility of the discovery of an ancient biblical artifact being discovered that might hold untold powers in the right or wrong hands. For those of us that study the Bible, we know that many religious artifacts still remain hidden even continually searched for to this day. That is just the reason for my fascination about novels that deals with that type of genre. A bit action adventure, mystery, and of course, suspense. For those that love such types like National Treasure, The DaVince Code or the Indiana Jones series, you might just want to check out Terry Brenna who has written a series of books called the Jerusalem Prophecies Series.

The first novel in the series, The Sacred Cipher takes readers into the heart of a discovery of an ancient scroll that has been found in the late 1800's by Charles Spurgeon. In the metal case contains a scroll consisting of a series of unknown characters on it and from all appearances is very old. The only issue Charles has with it is knowing what it says and even how to go about reading it. He only knows he must mail it to a professor in London who might be able to help. As he is attempting to do this, he notices a group of men want to stop him from taking the scroll from Egypt and will stop at nothing to ensure they get it back. Nothing.

As the scroll's mysteries deepen Tom Bohannon discovers an old map room hidden in an old church during the present day. Calling in support for what he discovers with scientists and historians he trusts, he unlocks a safe believed to contain a priceless collection of old religious books. Among them he finds a metal case containing a scroll along with a letter warning whoever has it that is must be uncoded and protected whatever the cost and that danger surrounds those in whose possession it remains. It will take an entire team of men to use all the resources available to them to unlock the mystery of the scroll and what they discover could quite possibly mean the end of the world if what is reveals is true. Now all they can do is true to find out if is true or just some kind of random treasure hunt, but if that is the case why are there so many people out there killing others just to stop them?

I received The Sacred Cipher by Terry Brennan compliments of Kregel Publications for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation aside from a free copy of this novel in exchange for my honest review. At first the book was hard to get into with so many characters being introduced and understanding the difficulties in dealing with ancient languages and cryptology, but the more further into the story you get, the more involved you become in wanting to know if such a thing is there and if it is possible. By the end, you will do anything to get your hands on the sequel, The Brotherhood Conspiracy. For me, this one was a 4.5 out of 5 stars and now I can't wait to read the next one. Knowing Bible prophecy, things just got a whole lot more interesting.

For more information about The Sacred Cipher, Terry Brennan or where you can pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:

You can find Terry Brennan on Facebook to stay up to date with all his latest novels.

To read more reviews on The Sacred Cipher, please visit Kregel Publication's website. 

Friday, November 20, 2015

The Five Times I Met Myself

There are some authors who when you see that they have written another book, you don't even consider what it is, you simply pick it up. I've done that with every book I have read of James L. Rubart's since picking up Rooms. It also came as no surprise that Andy Andrews, another favorite author of mine, shared a wonderful review of James' latest novel, The Five Times I Met Myself. Those two things were enough to make sure that this landed up in my MUST READ pile and I was not disappointed although my shelf space between books of Rubart's and Andrew's is steadily growing. But if you like one, you will definitely LOVE the other.

This time, James Rubart takes readers into the world of dreams. Think of the possibility if you could figure out a way to manipulate your dreams so vividly that you could command what you would dream and who would be present. What if you got so good at doing it that in your dreams, you had the opportunity to go back in time and give advice to your former self to perhaps change the outcome of your present day situation. Imagine the rights you could wrong. There would be no such thing as regrets. Yet that is precisely what happens when Brock Matthew's wakes up after another nightmare about his father who has died. There is a message he wants Brock to know but just when he thinks he is going to figure it out, he wakes up.

His friend Morgan provides him with a book, Lucid Dreaming: Turning Dreams into Reality that helps him not only understand dreams but how to manipulate them in such a way he hopes to figure out what he father was trying to say and hopefully get them to stop. He has to do something because it is more than just his dream life that is unraveling. His marriage to his wife Karissa is not all that he remembers it used to be. But then again with all the issues he has had dealing with the Black Fedora coffee business he and his brother management, he hopes he can sort them out one at a time and get back on track eventually. He is up against a time line he can't manage and time is running out faster than he can figure out what to do until he encounters his younger self before he dated his wife. What advice might you consider giving him? You just might be surprised!

I received The Five Times I Met Myself by James L. Rubart compliments Thomas Nelson Publishers and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation, aside from a free copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review. This one does have a bit of a twist to it like you might find in It's A Wonderful Life or Family Man. It does make you truly consider the consequences of the decisions we make and if you could do it all over again, would you really change anything? What would the impact be along that new timeline? I absolutely LOVED this book and at the end it really gives the reader something to think about and take away. For me this one rates a solid 5 out of 5 stars. A reader's discussion guide is included at the conclusion of this book which would work out great for a book club. I highly recommend this one!

For more information about The Five Times I Met Myself, James L. Rubart or where you can pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:

You can find James L Rubart on Facebook to stay up to date on all his latest novels.

To read more reviews on The Five Times I Met Myself, please visit Litfuse Publicity's Book Tour Page. 

Thursday, November 19, 2015

ESV Men's Devotional Bible - Giveaway and Review

Our world presents daily distractions that can easily displace Christ as the center of a man's heart and life. The goal of the ESV Men's Devotional Bible is to strengthen and encourage men through the life-giving Word of God and sound devotional content aimed at nurturing godliness. With 365 theologically rich and gospel-centered devotions drawn directly from the Bible, this all-new resource was created under the editorial oversight of Dr. Sam Storms with contributions from over fifty Christian leaders. Introductions orient men to each book of the Bible, exploring its unique contribution to a man's walk with God. Thoughtful and instructive articles address the importance of sound doctrine, life in the local church, leadership, the heart, calling and a host of other relevant issues for today. The Men's Devotional Bible will strengthen men in their walk with Christ, helping them apply the gospel and the truth of God's Word in their homes, churches and workplaces. (back cover).

The biggest challenge facing men today is that they have been called and set apart by God to be leaders that in a sense report directly to God. This does not mean that they are called to dominate those underneath them but to care and love them as much as Jesus did for His church, the body of believers. Men face challenges of leading a home, being the counselor of sorts for his wife and his children, to lead a moral and ethical life in their workplaces and to help spread the gospel to the world through our daily interactions with others. This does not mean men aren't perfect and go through their own struggles and challenges as well.

The ESV Men's Devotional Bible is a two-fold resource. First and foremost it is the Word of God designed to provide the truth that men can rely on to help in their spiritual and leadership walks with God and those in their life. Along with that are 365 devotionals sprinkled throughout God's Word that men can pick up and read in any order or simply follow the guide at the conclusion of each devotional to know where to find the next one. They are designed to encourage you in what Book your are reading to help guide you in your understanding of what is taking place. These are designed as well to help you apply what you are reading to what is happening in your life today. This is my favorite aspect of this Bible, because besides reading it and looking for God's inspiration in the text but also how we can apply things from the Old Testament into our present days lives and the subjects that are likely to come up in every day situations like why is going to church important, understanding the implications of pornography, understanding a mans identify, a man's work, dealing with doubt, communion with God, singleness, marriage and fathering.

I received the ESV Men's Devotional Bible by Crossway Publishers and Propeller LLC for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation, aside from a free copy of this Bible, in exchange for my honest review. I had my husband actually write the review listed above so that you got a man's opinion of the Bible instead of my own. It is such a wonderful addition to our home and one that my husband can utilize when He is traveling on business. It is a hard cover, black letter text with an 8.5 font type and includes a dictionary of key terms. In his opinion, he easily rates this one a 4.5 out of 5 stars. The only reason from not providing it a true 5 out of 5 stars is he would have liked to have a red-letter edition so the Words of Jesus truly stand apart from the remainder of the text in the New Testament.

For more information about ESV Men's Devotional Bible, Crossway Publishers or where you can pick up a copy of this Bible today, please click on the links below:

You can find Crossway Publishers on Facebook to stay up to date on all their products.

You can purchase the ESV Men's Devotional Bible through Amazon. 

Now for the part you have been waiting for, thanks to the generosity of Crossway Publishers and Propeller LLC, they are offering a giveaway of this amazing Bible to one lucky reader. Here's all you need to do to enter.

1. Be a follower of my blog, Reviews From The Heart or "Like" my Facebook page, Reviews From The Heart. 

2. Leave a comment on either place and tell me why you'd love to win a copy of the ESV Men's Devotional Bible. If you are leaving a comment below, don't forget to include your email address. You can use the words (at) and (dot) instead of the symbols. If you are leaving a comment on Facebook, no worries, I can message you if you are the lucky winner for you to get in touch with me.

3. This giveaway is open to US and Canada only.

4. I will email or message the winner of the giveaway once it ends on November 27th. You will need to respond within 72 hours or another winner will be selected.

5. Only one entrant per mailing address, per giveaway. If you have won a prize from our sponsor, Propeller/FlyBy Promotions in the last 30 days, you are NOT eligible to win. Or if you have won the same prize on another blog, you are NOT eligible to win again. Winner is subject to eligibility verification.

Disclosure (In accordance with the FTC's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising"): Many thanks to Propeller Consulting, LLC for providing this prize for the giveaway. Choice of winners and opinions ae 100% my own and NOT influenced by monetary compensation. I did receive a sample of the product in exchange for this review and post.