The Best People In The World!

Monday, December 30, 2013

The Execution



Jeremy Fisk has been cleared for police duty only it won't be the kind he was hoping for. It's United Nations Week in New York City which means he will be working Intel in aiding foreign dignitaries for their week long summit. After losing his former partner and girlfriend Krina Gersten in a terrorist plot what was discovered before it had a chance to be carried out, he still had feelings that justice had not been served the way he would have wanted. Even though the trial carried with it a guilty verdict, Fisk still wanted more than just seeing the man responsible spending life behind the bars of prison.

Fate would see to it that Fisk would be allowed that brief moment to right the wrongs he felt he was due in life and no one would be able to prove he had anything to do with it. Hoping to find out just what information they could gleen from Swedish Muslim terrorist Magnus Jenssen before he was locked up for good, Fisk was granted the opportunity to speak to him privately as long as he didn't physically lay a hand on him. The Feds believed that Jenssen would be smug enough to let something slip they could use to further prevent any further terrorist activity from occurring in the United States. Just because one terrorist act failed didn't mean there were not others who were working on bigger plans.

Once Fisk had his words with Jenssen, he began to work on Intel for the UN Week. What he didn't expect during this time was that he would once again be called back into work when a mass of headless bodies appears on Rockaway Beach. Could this have anything to do with the recent mass murders that are plaguing the Federal Police Department in Mexico headed up by Commandante Cecilia Garza, also known as the Ice Queen. Now assigned as the Personal Security detail for the Mexican President, she begins to work with Detective Fisk to uncover a bigger terrorist plot that will place both of their presidents at risk of execution, if only they can unravel it in time.

In the latest novel from Dick Wolf, the New York Times best selling author of the Intercept brings you the sequel The Execution. This one will leave you virtually hanging on every page as the threat draws closer and the body count begins to add up. The real back story is the past that both Fisk and Garza carry that refuses to let them see justice prevail despite the fact that the bad guy simply gets locked up. When things get personal, it seems that revenge in the purest sense begins to rear its head and shows that justice truly is blind in the eyes of the law and for the criminals. I love the way this one ended in a so called double standard but could see that as something I would be tempted to do as well. I'll have to let you see how it truly plays out in the end. If you love shows like Law and Order, then you will definitely want to pick this one up.

I received The Execution by Dick Wolf compliments of William Morrow, a division of Harper Collins Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own. Being a huge fan of crime novels, I easily give this one a 4.5 out of 5 stars more for the ending than anything else without giving away the ending. I can't wait for more Jeremy Fisk novels from Dick Wolf in the future. For more information about The Execution, Dick Wolf or where to preorder a copy of this Jeremy Fisk Novel today, please click on the links below:


You can find Dick Wolf on Facebook to stay up to date with all his latest novels.

To read more reviews on the Execution please visit William Morrow's website. 

  • Series: Jeremy Fisk Novels
  • Hardcover: 352 pages
  • Publisher: William Morrow (January 7, 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0062064851
  • ISBN-13: 978-0062064851
  • Product Dimensions: 9 x 6.4 x 1.3 inches



Friday, December 27, 2013

The Sweetest Thing



Jennie Copeland has agreed to completely swear off men forever following the divorce of her husband David eighteen months ago, after learning he was in love with someone he worked with who was much younger than she was. Now Jennie has opted to move to the quiet country away from the city that once consumed her and her three children, even if it means leaving all traces of their former life behind as well as friends and family. Moving to a small four acre farm in Devon, she has found the inspiration to begin her own small business of baking cakes and sweet treats. Only her kids aren't the least bit convinced the country life is for them.

For her oldest son Adam, the internet speed is more along the lines of snail mail, her precocious daughter Georgia, who is more like Jennie than she could imagine, is the only one who is convinced this is a great idea, followed on the heels of Sophie the youngest who can't imagine living in a disgusting old farm house inundated by cows. Yet despite all their misgivings the Copeland family buckles down and attempts to give it a go if only Jennie can convince herself this is a good decision. Her former ex believes that she has truly bitten off more than she can chew and her neighbor gives her more than just a great view to look at. He is the one who sold her his former farm house, while maintaining a home on the existing 150 acres of land for milking cows.

Will Jennie's vow to swear off men for good last as well as she thought or does love hold a second chance in it's grip for both Jennie and Guy Barnes, who have both been left with heart ache in their past lives? Only time will tell what kind of story plots, author Cathy Woodman has in store in her latest novel, The Sweetest Thing. I received The Sweetest Thing by Cathy Woodman compliments of Arrow Books and TLC Book Tours for my honest review and did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable one. The opinions expressed here are strictly my own and once again I am delighted to be taken back to Devon for a different look at the country life I had discovered when I read Country Loving, one her many books in the Talyton St George Series of novels she has written. Her writing style once again has managed to transport me to Devon and to the sights, sounds and warmth of the people who interact with both Jennie and Guy. From learning what it takes to raise chickens and get them to lay eggs to how milk gets from cows to cartons. Along the way love begins to take root and you find yourself hoping they will realize their feelings before you get to the end. I won't spoil it but you'll definitely want this one! I personally rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars!

For more information about The Sweetest Thing, Cathy Woodman or where to pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can also find Cathy Woodman on Facebook to stay up to date on all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on The Sweetest Thing from the TLC Book Tours, please click here. 

  • Series: Talyton St George (Book 3)
  • Paperback: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Arrow (May 9, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0099551632
  • ISBN-13: 978-0099551638
  • Product Dimensions: 5.2 x 7.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 9.9 ounces

   

Thursday, December 26, 2013

Citadel



Like all great things, sometimes the U.S. is the last to receive them. This is very true of the latest novel from author Kate Mosse, Citadel. Released in the U.K. before it's debut here in the states, Citadel takes historical novels to a completely different level. This book isn't slated for it's U.S. release March of 2014. This is a definite must read for fans of historical fiction that involve strong female lead characters. Not the kind to sit back and wait for a historic rescue, the women you find in Citadel are the ones taking charge and moving forward in the Resistance movement in World War II, which was different from previous historical novels I have had the opportunity to read and review.

This was one that was definitely on my must read list and was not disappointed even though the size of the novel was larger than I had anticipated, it was worth every single page. For once, it didn't end too early for me and instead kept me engaged with the characters. Having not read the previous novels that background Citadel, there is a brief prologue to catch the reader up to speed to the present day. The first novels Labyrinth and Sepulchre take the reader back into more of a late historical past to arrive at where we find our current characters today.

This novel takes readers back to 1940's during the Nazi occupation of France and where a group of women work as Resistance Fighters code named Citadel. These are the women who find courage and fortitude to what they can to take back their country and go completely against the stereo type female characters of literature. These are the women who are armed and ready for action standing alongside men to fight back against the Germans who wanted to occupy France during the World War. It shows the character of these women who were willing to fight for what they believed in and that allowed them in places that no man could ever go. I mean if you really consider it from a writers stand point, imagine the ability of a woman to infiltrate places men would already be deemed as suspicious? It already gives credibility to just what you will find lurking beneath the covers of this book.

It gave life to something I had never considered before when you think about the role of some women during the wars. They simply didn't cower inside their homes waiting for their men to take on the war. These were women who fought just as bravely as their men counterparts and thus a major reason for me wanting to pick this one up. The writer gives a breath of reality in this novel as well as she illustrates beautifully just what these women were up against and it wasn't simply an easy way to aid in the war efforts. Even these women in Citadel often died the very same way men did, through being captured and executed by the enemy. They were not shown any favoritism simply because they were women. That was one of the things I enjoyed most about this novel.

I received Citadel by Kate Mosse compliments of William Morrow, a division of Harper Collins Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own. Being a huge fan of anything having to do with WWII historical fiction, I LOVED this one because it gave a different spin on what I was used to reading and not only that opened my eyes up to a different role women played in the war efforts as Resistance Fighters. I easily give this one a 4.5 out of 5 stars in my opinion. This book will be available to order in the United State in March of 2014 but for now you can find copies on the internet through third party book sellers. Trust me if you love historical fiction as much as I do, you'll definitely want to carve out some time to read this one.

For more information about Citadel, Kate Mosse or where you can preorder up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can find Kate Mosse on Facebook to stay up to date with all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on Citadel, please visit William Morrow's website. 


Monday, December 23, 2013

Awakened Love



Katie Detweiler is cursed. Cursed to wind up alone and a maidel while everyone else around her falls in love and gets married. At first, she didn't believe it, but the more her friend Patsy reminded her, the more she began to believe that the lot in life that was falling over her was due to being cursed. Losing her brother Noah in a freak accident has left her growing up alone and has caused her mother to remain in depressed state, leaving her and her father behind to stay with family away from the place that brings only loneliness and sadness.

Katie has always wanted to take part in the courtship of the Amish like all her friends, but soon realizes that dream will never come true. Patsy has asked her to stand up as part of her wedding part when she learns that Micah's cousin is in town. To Patsy that means all bets are off and she will stop at nothing to ensure that her and Abram Hilty are married this year. Too bad Abram isn't aware of that plan. Leaving his family to avoid his own past, Abram can't help but notice Katie. She's not like all the other girls he has met, that throw themselves at him, but instead seems to not be attracted to his good looks at all. Now if he can only convince her that he is interested.

When Katie notices Abram's persistent ways to be around her, she believes that he isn't really interested in her, but probably wants to date Patsy. However, Abram manages to persuade Katie that it is her that he wants to date and no one else. But because Katie has grown up believing she is cursed, she believes it's just a prank being played on her by the Amish boys. It will take a lot of convincing on Abram's part and if Patsy has it her way, it will never happen. Things are going to definitely get interesting to say the very least.

I received Awakened Love by Laura V. Hilton compliments of Whitaker House Publishers and Pump Up Your Book Tours for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation and the opinions expressed in this review are strictly my own. This is the third book in The Amish of Webster County and it's a mix of Amish Romance, coupled with a twist of suspense as both Abram's and Katie's past come back to disrupt their lives in ways neither one could ever manage. I literally inhaled this one in a couple of hours. This is a first novel with Laura V. Hilton but it definitely won't be my last. I will be going back to read the first two in this series! Her writing style is very easy going and keeps you hooked from the very beginning all the way to the end. I didn't want it to end. With that being said, it's easy to give Awakened Love a true 5 out of 5 stars.

For more information about Awakened Love, Laura V. Hilton or where you can pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can also find Laura V. Hilton on Facebook to stay up to date with all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on Awakened Love from the Pump Up Your Book Tour, please click here. 


Thursday, December 19, 2013

Escaping Home



Just when Morgan Carter believed things couldn't get any worse they do. Facing unbeatable odds as more and more families turn to the FEMA and Department of Homeland Security to provide care and food during the nations crisis that has left people without any electricity or food. Not knowing where their next meal will come from or even how to gain medical needs, families are buying into the security that the government will help them. But Morgan knows that this is the deception the government want people to fall for, a sense of false hope.

Morgan and his family along with several neighbors left in his neighborhood are doing what they can to make sure that they provide security when armed raiders attempt to loot and steal from their homes. They will stop at nothing to ensure that their families are well cared for. Morgan is now joined by Thad and Sarge as their paths once again converge in an effort to help them all survive against the odds. Even their local Sheriff Mark is beginning to wonder if they aren't just battling an uphill climb and eventually succumbs to working alongside the government.

While doing a reconnaissance mission, Morgan, Sarge and Thad discover that Jess, the young girl that they helped return home, is now trapped inside the local FEMA camp where no one gets out alive. Only the dead are allowed to leave camp. The men will have to work to provide better security in their neighborhood when FEMA plots a way to disband the group. Soon Morgan will have to look at just what it will take to survive if he doesn't want to join Jess in the camp. Will he be willing to give up all his planning and abandon the only home him and his family have come to rely on to get through this latest crisis hitting the country? What will he be willing to do to fight for his own personal freedom?

I received Escaping Home by A. American compliments of Penguin Publishers and TLC Book Tours for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own. Once again I applaud the author for providing a "mature audience" disclaimer on the rear cover of this book. It is truly not for the light of heart. This book contains graphic violence and language that might not be suitable to some readers. This is the third book in the Survivalist series and it is the most violent of the three I've read. This is truly a push come to shove moment when those who are resistant to the governments aid fight to retain their personal freedoms and find themselves the criminals in the eyes of the government. Action packed from start to finish, this series paints the possible picture of one man's survival against all odds when power is removed from the country. I rate this one a 4 out of 5 stars in my opinion. A must read for survivalists and doomsday prepper fans!

For more information about Escaping Home, A. American or where you can pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can also find A. American on Facebook to stay up to date on all his latest novels.

To read more reviews on Escaping Home from the TLC Book Tour, please click here.


Wednesday, December 18, 2013

David and Goliath



"David and Goliath is a book about what happens when ordinary people confront giants. By "giants," I mean powerful opponents of all kinds - from armies and mighty warriors to disability, misfortune and oppression. Each chapter tells the story of a different person - famous an unknown, ordinary or brilliant - who has faced an outsize challenge and been forced to respond. Should I play by the rules or follow my own instincts? Shall I persevere or give up? Should I strike back or forgive?

Through these stories, author Malcolm Gladwell, explores two ideas in his book David and Goliath. The first is that much of what we consider valuable in our world arises out of these kind of lopsided conflicts, because the act of facing overwhelming odds produces greatness and beauty. And second, that we consistently get these kinds of conflicts wrong. We misread them. We misinterpret them. Giants are not what we think they are. The same qualities that appear to give them strength are often the sources of great weakness. And th fact of being an underdog can change people in ways that we often fail to appreciate: it can open doors and create opportunities and educate and enlighten and make possible what might otherwise have seemed unthinkable. We need a better guide to facing giants - and there is no better place to start that journey than with the epic confrontation between David and Goliath three thousand years ago in the Valley of Elah." (pg 5-6)

In this surprising book the reader is challenged to change their perception of how they view any situation they encounter in life, and take a different look at things through the eyes of the underdog. In reviewing the situation of David and Goliath's seemingly miraculous battle, we see things we haven't noticed before in simply getting to the end of the story. Things we overlook in the text of what was said to each of the opponents, to what they wore and how they approached the battle. Through analyzing this is great detail from a war strategy to one of confidence, you begin to see that your own personal storms in life offer a different perspective than what you thought. I simply LOVE every single story that Malcolm used to illustrate what looked like an easy victory and showed how simply changing our perspective can offer us a small window of winning against all odds.

I received David and Goliath by Malcolm Gladwell compliments of Little Brown and Company and B and B Media Group for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own. This is such a refreshing breath of fresh air when you look at the people Malcolm uses to illustrated the points in his book, from a basketball team of twelve year old girls who were the complete underdogs and how their coach used a completely different approach to use their disadvantages to their advantage and subsequently winning the national championships. It really does change how you will begin to dissect your situations, storms, or even adversity to life to see things the way God has designed you to see them. He challenges the reader to how we think about obstacles and disadvantages, offering new interpretation of what it means to be discriminated against, or cope with a disability, or lose a parent, or attend a mediocre school, or suffer from any number of setbacks. This is a MUST READ and MUST HAVE for anyone who has had to deal with any challenge in life. I personally give this one a perfect 5 out of 5 stars.

For more information about David and Goliath, Malcolm Gladwell, or where you can pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can also find Malcolm Gladwell on Facebook to stay up to date on all his books.

To read more reviews on David and Goliath check out B and B Media's Website.

Tuesday, December 17, 2013

God is Able ~ Giveaway and Review



"No matter who you are, however old or young, there's always at least one thing. That thing in your life you can't seem to - you know, escape or fix or solve. It's just...it's ...(Sigh.)

It's always there. Just when you think you've maybe figured out a little piece of it - how you might be able to handle it better, manage it, work around it, or get out ahead of it - it always seems to end up beating you, or at least keeping you awake in the wee hours of the night.

You've tried. (Oh, Lord, how you've tried.) You've prayed. You've asked. You've begged. You've fretted. You've calculated. You've eaten better. You've exercised more.

You've tried being gentler, then firmer. Louder, then more quieter. More assertive, then more submissive. You've admitted where you went wrong and refused to gloat when you were right. You feel like you've done everything you can think of. And honestly, you're starting to seriously wonder now if God can do this, if He can do...It.

You'd still like to think He can. And if you were to spout all your churchy rhetoric, it'd sure sound like you believe He can. But deep down - down where you soul pulses with doubt and uneasiness - you wonder about that circumstance, that life issue, that dilemma you're facing. God may be able to keep the stars in the sky, the earth tilted on its axis, and the heavens hung in glorious array. But can He do this?  It?"(pg 1-3)

In her latest book, God Is Able, Priscilla Shirer takes the reader into a look at what God is capable of through a personal look at her own doubts and unbeliefs when she was struggling. That no one has it all together no matter how famous or close to God they appear to be. She shows us that no matter how difficult our situations may be or how caught off guard they may have found you, they can carve out a deep foothold where doubt could settle in. But if you and I don't turn to face these things, we'd never come face to face with Him. And our God's not having any of that. She write is such a way you feel as if you're having a one on one conversation with a close personal friend, something I love when reading non fiction books.

I received God is Able by Priscilla Shirer compliments of B and H Publishers and Icon Media Group for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed in this review are my own. This is such an exciting book because as believers, we all find ourselves struggling to keep our head above the storm waters that threaten to consume us. Yet even in the heart of the storm, Priscilla showcases how God is Able to do the Impossible through her own personal experiences and using the scripture reference of "Now to him who is able to do exceeding abundantly beyond all we ask or think according the power that works within us to Him be the glory" found in Ephesians 3:20-21. She pulls apart those verses to encourage readers to see what God can do in their lives, in their situations to not only answer their prayers if it His will but more importantly to see God in what is happening. This is such a great resource for anyone who has ever struggled and wondered where God was in their life. For that reason I give this a perfect 5 out of 5 stars and this is one I plan on referring to quite a bit whenever doubt tends to creep back into my life about what God is able to do!

You can find out more information about God is Able, Priscilla Shirer, or where to pick up a copy of this book today, by clicking on the links below:


You can find Priscilla Shirer on Facebook to stay up to date with all her latest books.

Thanks to the generous folks at B and H Publishers and Icon Media Group, they are providing a copy of this book to one lucky follower of my blog Reviews From The Heart. Here are your guidelines to enter:

1. Be a follower of my blog, Reviews From The Heart. 

2. "Like" my Facebook page, Reviews From The Heart. If you have already "Liked" it, simply leave me a comment telling me you stopped by as part of this giveaway.

3. Be a resident of the US or have a US Shipping address. Please No P.O. Boxes.

4. Leave me a comment below telling me why you would LOVE to win a copy of this book. Don't forget to include your email address. You can use the words (at) and (dot) instead of the symbols.

I will notify the winner by email when the giveaway ends on December 27th, so be sure to include your email address with your comment.

Monday, December 16, 2013

Whispers of Hope ~ Giveaway and Review



At times in my Christian walk I know that the most powerful weapon we have at our disposal is our prayers. Yet far too often we utilize them in a final attempt to a situation we realize is out of our control. But I believe what is missing is why we pray. It isn't just geared for a "wish list" for God's blessings in our life, or as a last minute call to action for our Heavenly Father to intervene in our situations we find ourselves struggling with. Prayer is first and foremost our method of communication with our Father in Heaven. It's more than just asking for Him to help us, it's about praising Him for what He is and what He is doing and what He has done for us. It's about letting go of thinking anything we do in this life we have control over and instead gracefully bowing out and rendering complete control willingly to Him.

In Beth Moore's latest book, Whispers of Hope, a 10 week devotional geared to work on our prayer lives over the next 70 days. She encourages readers to journal their prayers using a PRAISE acronym to remind us what it's all about instead of simply asking for help. Each day of this journey encourages the reader in a devotional to complete a brief Bible reading assignment, a Scripture for the day, and thoughts for the day. A Daily Prayer Guide follows each devotional to record your petitions using the P.R.A.I.S.E. approach to prayer. There is also a place in the book for you to record the answers to your prayers in the Answer Log.

Beth even addresses how to utilize Whispers of Hope in a group setting for Bible or Women's studies. She gives tips on different ways to make the best of the information you discover as you take your journey to enriching your personal prayer lives. No greater priority exists for the believer than knowing Christ through the study of His Word and the intimacy of prayer. Each day's format should allow most people to complete their daily devotions in about 30-40 minutes. This book is offered to help you form a habit of prayer and she hopes that in using this time, you will discover a fresh supply of mercy every morning, but more than that, may you discover the Mercy Giver.

I received Whispers of Hope by Beth Moore compliments of B and H Publishing Group and Icon Media Group for my honest review. I have not received any monetary compensation and the opinions expressed in this review are strictly my own. I know for me personally I am loving having a guide to help me set aside some time each day and read about God through the Bible and utilize this time as a personal discovery into understanding more about God. I only hope that each day in using it I will grow stronger in my prayer life, much like anyone who practices their skill in anything only improves the more time they spend doing it. I easily give this prayer devotional a perfect 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion. This is perfect for an individual, women's or group Bible Study.

For more information about Whispers of Hope, Beth Moore or where you can pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can also find Beth Moore on Facebook to stay up to date with all her latest books.

Thanks to the generosity of B and H Publishers and Icon Media Group, they are offering a giveaway copy of this prayer devotional to one lucky follower of my blog Reviews From The Heart. Here's your guidelines to enter:

1. Be a follower of my blog, Reviews From The Heart. 

2. "Like" my Facebook page, Reviews From The Heart. If you have already "Liked" it, simply leave me a comment telling me you stopped by as part of this giveaway.

3. Be a resident of the US or have a US Shipping address. Please No P.O. Boxes.

4. Leave me a comment below telling me why you would LOVE to win a copy of this book. Don't forget to include your email address. You can use the words (at) and (dot) instead of the symbols.

I will notify the winner by email when the giveaway ends on December 26th, so be sure to include your email address with your comment.

Friday, December 13, 2013

Surviving Home



 What would you do if you had to survive merely on what you currently have in your home right now? There is no electricity, no running water, no food,  no end in sight and no more help from the government at this time. How well do you really know your neighbors? How would you manage until things stabilized again and food began to be delivered. How far would you go to protect what is yours? How far would you go to protect your family?

That is just the premise behind the second book in the Survivalist series, Surviving Home by author A. American. We read about what happened in the first book Going Home where Morgan Carter found himself on a lonely stretch of highway, 250 miles from home. With no electricity and only the survival supplies he always keep with him in the car, he knows he will have to do whatever it takes to get home to his wife and three daughters. Now that Morgan has arrived home, things in the neighborhood are going from bad to worse.

His neighbors believe that Morgan is hoarding more food than they need and if necessary will go to any lengths to make sure they get some, even if it means killing them. It seems that all the preparation that Morgan has been doing was just the key to survival for him and his family. He knows his supplies won't last for long and with threats made to both him and his family, he realizes that things have changed dramatically for the community. Now it's protect your own first, take care of your family and do what you can to survive.

It seems like luck falls in Morgan's lap when the forest land that his property faces provides him with deer just when he needs it the most, while the community can't seem to find any. Not only that but Marshall Law has been established by the Department of Homeland Security defining that a census is being conducted to determine what skill sets each person possesses to be allocated and relocated where it will best suit the needs to get the country back on track. Even more unsettling is that each family is only allowed to have three days worth of supplies in the home and everything else must be turned over to the community leaders for equal distribution. Morgan's not about to comply with anything the government or community wants and when he neighbors decide to take matters into their own hands, things get nasty.

I received Surviving Home by A. American compliments of TLC Book Tours and Penguin Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed are strictly my own. The one thing I commend this author for doing is providing a disclosure warning for mature audience on the rear cover of the book. It is one of the first I have seen to do this provided the material inside contains profanity and graphic violence as one would except in a post apocalyptic novel.

I LOVED the first novel in this series and as a Christian Book Reviewer, I see this being the type of scenario that would befall the world at the rapture of the church and the beginning of the Tribulation period. Once again the characters that Morgan teamed up with in the first novel, Thad and Sarge are back as their stories toggle back and forth between what is happening on Morgan's end. I can't wait to see how it ends in the third book in the series and often wonder just how I would survive if faced with similar circumstances. A definite MUST READ for Doomsday Preppers and Survivalists. I rate this one a 4 out of 5 stars and while you can read this novel as a stand alone thanks to the authors prologue at the beginning, to fully understand the characters of Thad and Sarge, you will need to read the first novel to see how they all came to meet and how they plays out in this series.

For more information about Surviving Home, A. American or where to pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can find A. American on Facebook to stay up to date with all the latest novels in this series.

To read more reviews on Surviving Home from the TLC Book Tour, please click here. 

  • Series: The Survivalist Series
  • Paperback: 528 pages
  • Publisher: Plume (July 24, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0142181285
  • ISBN-13: 978-0142181287
  • Product Dimensions: 1.1 x 5.2 x 7.8 inches

Thursday, December 12, 2013

Country Loving



I've always said if I could live anywhere I would love to live on a farm. Perhaps its the simplicity of life that happens there. No hustle and bustle. Where life simply happens moment by moment and it's never dull. In the latest novel that has completely captivated me in a virtual way, Country Loving by Cathy Woodman, we arrive just in time. Busy accountant Stephanie or Stevie as she is known to close family and friends receives an urgent phone call from Cecil, a man who's been helping to run the family farm in London, Nettlebed Farm. He informs her that her father has suffered a stroke and is at risk to lose their families farm due to neglect. He can no longer do what is needed to keep the farm running, no matter how much Cecil and his wife Mary help.

Stevie realizes the urgency of the call and is more concerned with the reasons why her father never bothered to call her and let her know he had had a stroke. Knowing that if she doesn't do something her father might face arrest due to animal neglect and possibly lose the family farm. Ever since her mother died, she hasn't maintained contact with her father as often as she should have and plans a trip home with her boyfriend Nick. Nick has other plans in mind by helping Stevie out on the farm. He is hoping after dating her for the last 18 months and proposing to her, she might in fact say yes and they can set a date for the wedding.

Only the more time Stevie spends on the farm, the more she comes to realize that Nick is just not the man for her to settle down with. He is looking more for the perfect image of what marriage and all that goes with it looks like. She just wants to go back to more simple times and finds that spending time with the cows on the farm that desperately need her is just what the doctor ordered. However she can't help but wonder if Leo, the new vet in town is just what she needs to help mend her heart. She just needs to convince her father to let her help to find a way to keep from losing the family farm, settle old grudges between the neighbors and find love wherever that may take her.

I received Country Loving by Cathy Woodman compliments of Arrow Books and TLC Book Tours for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed are strictly my own. I absolutely LOVED this book because deep down inside I am a firm believer I am a "country girl!" I love the softness that comes from the descriptions of the cows as Stevie tends to each of them with their own unique personalities. When the herd escapes the pasture and heads to town on a wild binge, you know you are in for wonderful journey. This one will grab at your heart strings and keep you definitely wanting more. I easily give this one a 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion. I can't wait for the next novel which will be due on next year. Until then pick this one up and prepared to definitely be hooked in the process. This is the 6th book in the Talyton Series!

For more information about Country Loving, Cathy Woodman or where you can pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can also find Cathy Woodman on Facebook to stay up to date with her latest novels.

To read more reviews on Country Loving from the TLC Book Tour, please click here. 

  • Paperback: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Arrow (September 9, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0099584891
  • ISBN-13: 978-0099584896
  • Product Dimensions: 7.7 x 5.1 x 1.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 11.4 ounces

Tuesday, December 10, 2013

Going Home



For all of you doomsday preppers and survivalists that are currently stockpiling all your gear in the event of a nuclear attack or government shutdown, the latest series from A. American is definitely one you will want to check out. The back cover does an exceptional job at warning the reader that this book is definitely for mature audience and I definitely applaud that. This novel reminded me of the television show Jericho, which showcased what happened when the United States fell victim from a nuclear attack on various major cities. The town of Jericho is a small piece of the puzzle and Going Home, the first novel in the Survivalist series, takes this scenario a step further. Think of it like Jericho on steroids!!! For you adrenaline junkies, you will definitely want to hang on tight.

The novel opens when Morgan Carter's car seems to breakdown 250 miles from home on a deserted stretch of road in Tallahassee, Florida. Believing it to be just car trouble, he immediately picks up his cell phone only to see the screen is black and even the charger is no longer functional. This means one of two things has occurred, either an EMP blast or CME, a Coronal Mass Ejection or Solar Flare has now rendered all electronics useless. Thankfully since he always packs for emergencies, he has all he needs to begin a long walk home to his wife and three daughters. But the long journey home will be far from easy as things begin to slowly unwind after people realize that they have to take care of themselves or risk becoming a victim.

Morgan Carter is resourceful and finds that all his training up this point has definitely prepared him for survival he will need to make it home. Along the way he hooks up with Jessica, a twenty-two-year old girl who fell victim to the event at a rest area. Fearing the worst for her particular situation, she begs Morgan to let her come along and she will take care of her own needs. She is able to convince him of just that knowing that two can survive in this situation better than going it alone. It seems that having her along as well provides an asset to their survival he didn't seem coming and for once is thankful for the suggestion to let her come along. They add Thad, a large black man with some military training, to their alliance and soon find out that things are only going to get worse the longer they all journey back to their respective homes and families.

I received Going Home from A. American compliments of Penguin Publishers and TLC Book Tours for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own. This is such a great novel and one I thoroughly enjoyed. Knowing that I would be encountering strong subject matter, once you understand the characters involved, it makes sense that profanity and violence in this situation would be expected. This is simply a survival story of Morgan Carter who will do ANYTHING he has to in order to make it home to his wife and daughters. Let me tell you that the journey will be anything but an easy one and walking 250 miles home will offer up dangers no one expected they would ever have to face. I easily give this one a 4 out of 5 stars in my personal opinion and can't wait for Surviving Home which we get a sneak peek at in the end of this novel.

For more information on Going Home, A. American or where you can pick up a copy of this novel, please click on the links below:


You can find find Angery American on Facebook to stay up to date all on the latest information from his series and more.

To read more reviews on Going Home from the TLC Book Tour, please click here. 

  • Series: The Survivalist Series
  • Paperback: 480 pages
  • Publisher: Plume; Reprint edition (July 24, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0142181277
  • ISBN-13: 978-0142181270
  • Product Dimensions: 1 x 5.2 x 7.8 inches



Monday, December 9, 2013

Blame It On Mistletoe


The elderly residents of Greenbrier's Nursing Home are simply up to no good! No good in the eyes of the residents of Bright Pond that is. Now that Hattie Grace who is almost ninety years old is now riding a tricyle like a three year old, and another couple is kissing like teenagers under the newly built gazebo on the property. Just what is really going on?

As Police Chief Mildred Blessing attempts to investigate all the angles on this strange dilemma, along with the nursing home doctor, they believe that someone is putting something in the food or water that the nursing home residents are drinking. Ever since Leon Fontaine has come to town and begin building things around Bright Pond, the residents here, are now acting a whole lot stranger than normal.

In the novel, Blame It On Mistletoe by Joyce Magnin, the reader is introduced to some of the quirky residents living in Bright Pond. From a beloved woman named Ruth who is prepared to out do all the previous Thanksgiving festivities that have been hosted at others homes, by offering a Thanksgiving Tropical Luau and making it definitely one that will be talked about for years to come.

Griselda is at her wit's end trying to decide if she is in love with Zeb, the diner's chief cook extraordinaire or her new aviation teacher, Cliff. Now if only she could discover what love really means while both are doing their very best to try and impress her.

I received Blame It On Mistletoe by Joyce Magnin compliments Abingdon Press for my honest review and did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review. The opinions expressed in this review are strictly my own.  This novel  is just perfect for not just Christmas but anytime. You can't help but fall in love with the amusing characters of Joyce Magnin's Bright Pond series, and this one is no exception! I rate this one a classical 5 out of 5 Christmas stars! This is the 4th book in the Bright Pond Series!For more information on this book, the author, a first chapter sneak peek and where to purchase a copy of this book, click on the link below:

Blame It On Mistletoe by Joyce Magnin

You can find also find Joyce Magnin on Facebook to stay up to date with all her latest novels. 

To read more reviews on Blame It On Mistletoe, please visit Abingdon Press' website. 

Innocent Blood



"She knew all too well the prophecy concerning that mythic figure. She pictured the words inscribed on the first page of the Blood Gospel, words written by Christ, a prediction for a coming war - and a way to avert it.

A great War of the Heavens looms. For the forces of goodness to prevail, a Weapon must be forged of this Gospel written in my own blood. The trio of prophecy must bring the book to the First Angel for his blessing. Only thus may they secure salvation for the world.

The prophecy says the trio must carry the book to the First Angel. The Knight of Christ, the Warrior of Man, and the Woman of Learning. You and Jordan are the last two. Rhun is the first.

So now the plans remains to locate who the First Angel is. But the forces of darkness lay in wait for them while they attempt to locate the answers. No one had the faintest idea who the First Angel was and time is running out.

In the latest novel from the Order of the Sanguines Series, Innocent Blood from best selling author James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell, takes readers back into the journey he began in his first book The Blood Gospel. Dr. Erin Granger, a brilliant archaeologist, Sergeant Jordan Stone and Father Rhun Korza are the three believed to be the trio spoken about in the prophecy. The Blood Gospel is a sacred artifact that the Sanguinists had won in a battle against the Belial, a joint force of humans and strigoi, a vampiric creature, to gain possession of it in the crypts below St. Peter's Basilica.

The Sanguinist is a strigoi who has taken a vow to stop drinking human blood, to serve the Catholic Church and sustain himself only on Christ's blood or more exactly on wine consecrated by the Holy Sacrament into His blood. Such an oath made this creature less dangerous, but not so much. Father Ruhn is a Sanguine that has fed on Erin and now they share a connection through visions that they can each see what is happening to one another. But Ruhn has other issues besides keeping Erin safe. He has to deal with the Countess Elizabeth Bathory de Ecsed, who shared a love that has kept them both in bondage for centuries. Now they believe that the Woman of Learning may not be Erin after all but the Countess Elizabeth who comes from the one true blood line.

Innocent Blood from authors James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell is a mix of Indiana Jones, Underworld and The DaVinci code combined. There are creatures that created from a mix of robots and then breathed into life by blood from Judas Iscariot as well as blasphemare, beasts that had been corrupted by the blood of a strigoi, poisoned into monstrous incarnations of their natural forms, with hides so tough that Sanguinists made armor out of their skins. The challenge is for the trio to avoid being killed by the strigoi who wants to stop at nothing to get their hands on the Blood Gospel and use its powers for their own dark ends. They must track down the First Angel in time to prevent the War of the Heavens from taking place and ending the world as we know it.

I received Innocent Blood by James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell compliments of William Morrow, a division of Harper Collins Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation and the opinions expressed in this review are strictly my own. This is so filled with incredible detail and face paced suspense and action that you literally can't put this down. I didn't have the opportunity to review Blood Gospel before picking this one up so I had to struggle a bit to understand the concepts behind the prophecy and who all the major players were. There is a brief prologue in the beginning but I look forward to going back and filling in the missing pieces by reading the first novel. I've read novels from James Rollins previously and LOVE the way he completely captivates the reader with such rich detailed descriptions, you can't help but feel like you're literally part of the story. This one is definitely no exception to that rule either. Being a religious reviewer, you have to take this story as it's meant to be portrayed, not a depiction from anything in the Bible but merely a great suspense thriller. Some readers might be offended by uses of profanity but it is mild compared to some novels I have read. With that being said, I easily give this one a 4.5 out of 5 stars and can't wait to see how this concludes in the next novel. Readers of The DaVinci Code will definitely LOVE this one!

For more information about Innocent Blood, James Rollins, Rebecca Cantrel, or where you can pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can also find James Rollins on Facebook to stay up to date with all his latest novels.

You can also find Rebecca Cantrell on Facebook to stay up to date with all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on Innocent Blood, please visit William Morrow's website.

  • Series: Order of the Sanguines Series
  • Paperback: 736 pages
  • Publisher: HarperLuxe; Lrg edition (December 31, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0062297880
  • ISBN-13: 978-0062297884
  • Product Dimensions: 9 x 6 x 1.2 inches

Friday, December 6, 2013

Bound To A Promise



"Never in a million years did I think I would be feeling so apprehensive about a trip to Jethou, but then I never thought my parents would be murdered either. Life is so uncertain, and that is why what Kimberly's mom, Shirley, said to me the day I got "the call" keeps me from fearing what tomorrow may bring. She said, "Bonnie, I know this has shocked you and shaken you to the core, but honey, this did not take God by surprise."

Couple that with Pastor Johnson saying, "God, could have prevented this, but He didn't, and He doesn't make mistakes," and you've got a certain God in an uncertain world.

It is not God who makes our lives uncertain, it it those who choose to sin. God knew my phone would ring that fateful morning, and in His sovereignty He orchestrated His angels to watch over me, and He sent my brothers and sisters in Christ to come alongside me. Therefore, I rest in my faith, knowing that God can and will see me through anything." (pg 89).

In the book, Bound to A Promise by Bonnie Floyd, she chronicles the true story of the murders of her father William Norman Clever, his wife Kathleen and two crew man aboard the yacht Challenger, Thomas Williams, and Ian (Criddy) Cridland. It was the phone call no one ever wants to get and one that would consume years waiting for the suspects to be arrested and the trial to begin. But more than that, this book is about what redemption and salvation looks like for the believer that has to deal with a situation no one ever wants to deal with and how it looks to come out of it on the other side.

It show cases how prayer and faith in God got both Bonnie and her husband Don along with their family and friends through the darkest of times. It is a book based on the true story of those murders but more than that it is a store of restoration of lost souls and finding compassion instead of bitterness as the reader takes a walk back in time in Bonnie's shoes through this entire nightmare. Her faith in God remains evident on every single page and I am so glad I got the opportunity to read this.

I received Bound to a Promise by Bonnie Floyd compliments of B and B Media Group for my honest review and received no monetary compensation for a favorable one. The opinions contained in this review are strictly my own. This is such a great testimony not only of Bonnie's life of faith but also how God answers in some of the darkest moments of our life. The road is not one that is easily traveled but when you consider the alternative fork in the road, you can see the results of this endeavor once she emerges on the other side stronger in her faith than ever before. God never left her or her parents and He gives her confirmation of that through several ways. I rate this book a 4.5 out of 5 stars and highly recommend this to anyone struggling with faith in why God allows bad things to happen. It is life changing.

For more information about Bound to a Promise, Bonnie Floyd or where to pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can find Bonnie Floyd on Facebook to stay up to date with all her latest books and information with her ministry.

  • Paperback: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Creative Enterprises Studio; 1ST edition (2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 098905215X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0989052153
  • Product Dimensions: 9 x 6 x 1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1 pounds


Thursday, December 5, 2013

One Imperfect Christmas



Belinda and Bram Morgan have been married for almost 50 years and have set the example for all their children to follow in what makes love work in a marriage. They celebrate Christmas the same way now that their children have grown beginning with the celebration of Natalie's birthday and then trimming the tree. But for Natalie, those are high expectations to have even within your own home. She is far from the perfectionist her mother is and often procrastinates more than she should. That's why her husband Daniel asked her to take down the decorations before his own parents arrived later that afternoon. So when Natalie's mom called enlisting her help to take down their decorations she had the perfect excuse. Her mother wanted to help since Bram and their oldest son were on a trip leaving her alone to begin the task if she didn't want to wait.

So when Natalie told her she couldn't help today due to the visit from Daniel's parents she told her mom to simply leave all the boxes in the guest room downstairs and she would over later this week to put them in storage for her. She often worried that her mom did too much now that she was older and suffering from the effects of arthritis. What Natalie didn't expect when she hung up with her mother, was to receive a phone call later that evening that would forever change her life. Her mother had suffered from a massive stroke and since she had been alone at the time, the damage was far too great for her mother to return to her former self.

Now plagued with guilt for simply being glad that she didn't have to join her mother that afternoon and instead had a day for herself, Natalie pours herself into her free lance job trying to earn money she knows her father will need to pay for her mom's medical expenses. This drives a wedge between her and Daniel as he tries to fix things between them, and Natalie avoids dealing with their own marriage issues trying to make up for not being there for her mother. She feels if she had only been there, this would have never happened. Will Natalie find a way to restore her own marriage or will this be the first imperfect Christmas to rock her family?

I received One Imperfect Christmas by Myra Johnson compliments of Abingdon Press as part of the Christmas Blog Tour for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own. I absolutely LOVED this novel based in part to being able to relate to Natalie's character so much. Often times when the holidays are upon us, we feel like we are expected to do our best and meet all family obligations despite having to manage our own. I could relate to the guilt that Natalie felt upon hearing of her mother's stroke and understood the need to do everything to make amends to her what she felt was her mistake. The resolution that evidently comes is believable and everything doesn't come wrapped up in a pretty bow like you would expect. This is real in my opinion and thus why I would rate this a 5 out of 5 stars.

For more information about One Imperfect Christmas, Myra Johnson or where to pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can find Myra Johnson on Facebook to stay up to date with all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on One Imperfect Christmas, stop by Abingdon Press' website. 

  • Paperback: 274 pages
  • Publisher: Abingdon Press (September 1, 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1426700709
  • ISBN-13: 978-1426700705
  • Product Dimensions: 0.9 x 5.4 x 8.3 inches

Wednesday, December 4, 2013

The Promise DVD - Review and Giveaway



It wouldn't be the Christmas season without a great reason to celebrate Jesus' birth! Thanks to the folks from Glorious Films they have fulfilled that calling in a great way with the launch of the DVD, The Promise: Birth of the Messiah. An animated musical for children and families running about 45 minutes long, the animation is amazing! It follows the biblical account from the Bible from the book of Luke that tells of the special way God chose Mary and Joseph to become the birth parents of Jesus Christ. Like your typical musicals this one is filled with beautiful details that outline the angelic proclamation from the angel Gabriel coming to Mary and telling her that she was chosen to give birth as a virgin to the future Savior of the World.

The animated production leverages optical motion technology to blend traditional animation techniques with the performance talents of ballet dancers and dramatic stage actors. The result is a unique and worshipful story experience that will inspire audiences young and old for years to come. This would make a great Christmas gift or stocking stuffer this year as a way to inspire a new tradition in your family to watch together.

ABOUT GLORIOUS FILMS
Glorious Films is the home of high quality entertainment products created from a strong biblical worldview. The creative and technical teams are world-class and have come to from all over the globe. Their first film, The Promise, is an animated musical about the nativity story that will be released in 2013. The second film, The Prodigal, an animated musical based on the parable of the prodigal son, is in production for a Spring 2014 release.
I received The Promise: Birth of the Messiah compliments of Glorious Films and FlyBy Promotions for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own. I absolutely LOVE this DVD and think it would be such a great way to share the gospel story in Luke with your family. It takes the story to an entirely new level and who doesn't love a great musical as well. Hands down a 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion and can't wait for future DVD's from Glorious Films. 
Now for best part, thanks to the generosity of Glorious Films and FlyBy Promotions, they are offering a giveaway copy to one lucky follower of my blog Reviews From The Heart. Here are your details to enter:

1. Be a follower of my blog Reviews From The Heart. 

2. Click "Like" on Glorious Film's Facebook page. This way you won't miss out on future additions as well to the series. 

3. Leave a comment below telling me why you would want to win a copy. PLEASE include your email address. Without it I have no way of notifying you that you are the winner. You can use the words (at) and (dot) instead of the symbols. Remember if your email address is not valid, I can't notify you if you are the lucky winner of the giveaway which ends on December 12th. In order to ensure delivery of the DVD in time for Christmas, if I don't hear from the winner within 24 hours of the giveaway, I will have to chose another. T\

This is a tight turn around giveaway just to ensure you have the DVD by Christmas so please be sure to follow the criteria to enter to win. I will notify the winner at the email you provide in the comment box so make sure you enter it carefully. I will also post the winner's name on my Facebook page for Reviews From The Heart as well. 

For more information about The Promise, Glorious Films or where to pick up your own copy of this amazing DVD today, please click on the links below: 


You can find Glorious Films on Facebook to stay up to date with future movies for your family. 
To order a copy of this movie from Amazon, please click here. 


A Walk One Winter Night



I know most of you can relate to the busyness of the Christmas Season. With shoppers rushing around, people pushing and shoving and the commercialism that stems from the retail shopping, we lose that sense of wonder that comes with the true reason for the Christmas season, the birth of Jesus Christ. Too often we feel that since the story happened so long ago it hold little in the way of how we should handle this time of year. We find that at the end, we are barely rushing through things to have time to attend church or read the biblical account of the birth of the Savior in the Bible.

I think author Al Andrews has accurately captured just that overwhelming sense of stress that comes to a climax one winters night in his latest book, A Walk One Winter Night. The story takes place with an unknown man who finds he has lost the Christmas spirit and sense of wonder being caught up in the holiday hustle and bustle. He finds that taking a walk in any weather or any time of day is just what one needs to gain a sense of perspective. He finds just that when he happens upon a nativity set and gains a whole new insight on what happened that night through the eyes of Mary, Joseph, the Wise men and even the baby Jesus. What you learn might just change the Christmas season yourself and I'd almost guarantee you will never look at a nativity set the same way again.

I received A Walk One Winter Night by Al Andrews compliments of Worthy Publishing for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own. This is such a great inspirational book because of it's simplicity in delivering a much needed to hear message inside in 96 pages. The illustrations are perfect because it isn't about the pictures its about the real meaning of Christmas instead. I rate this one a perfect 5 out of 5 stars. This would make a perfect gift for those that lose sight of what the real meaning of Christmas is despite all the holiday stress that comes instead. For more information about A Walk One Winter Night, Al Andrews or where you can pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:


You can find Al Andrews on Facebook to stay up to date with all his latest books.

To read more reviews on A Walk One Winter Night, please visit Worthy Publishing's website. 
  • Hardcover: 96 pages
  • Publisher: Freeman Smith (October 1, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1605875287
  • ISBN-13: 978-1605875286
  • Product Dimensions: 6.8 x 6.7 x 0.4 inches


Tuesday, December 3, 2013

Labor Day



Labor Day is usually about time spent together as a family. Having barbeques, swimming and enjoying the last day of summer before school begins. At least that is how it is for most families, but not Henry Wheeler and his mom. Their week would be forever changed by arriving at Pricemart to get some school shopping in before Henry heads back to school. Henry is approached by a man in a Pricemart uniform who tells him that he is hurt and needs a ride. Henry notices he is bleeding from both his leg and his head and when he asks what has happened, the man named Vinnie according to his name tag, tells him that he had to jump out of a window and is now in need of medical attention. Henry finds his mom to ask for help.

His mom Adele just wants to finish up shopping and head back home. Since the divorce from Henry's father, she has found solace in simply being alone as much as possible and Henry is her only outlet. However since he needs pants and underware for school, she needed to drive him to Pricemart. She manages to find a few other things they need as well such as light bulbs since they are down to only one working one in the house. At least once she finishes with this trip, she won't have to go out again for quite some time. When Henry approaches with the strange man named Vinnie who asks for her help, Adele is drawn to help him like she would an injured animal or a hurt child. Asking no questions, she pays for the items and they take Vinnie home.

When they arrive at the house, Vinnie tells her about who he really is Frank, an escaped convict from the state penitentiary, who jumped out a window at the hospital when he was getting his appendix out just 18 months from filling his prison sentence. He manages to convince both Henry and Adele that he poses no threat to their safety if they will only allow him to stay til his leg is well enough. He won't jeopardize either of them for his own gain. Surprisingly Adele and Henry agree and soon Frank is filling in helping them around the house. But like all great stories, this one has a dark twist. Written from author Joyce Maynard this is a two part story of a coming of age for Henry and finding trust and love again for Adele. Both of them are searching in desperation for what they believe they need and Frank seems to fit the bill.

Labor Day by Joyce Maynard is now coming to the big screen and after watching the trailer, I knew I had to read this novel to see what it was all about. Joyce shares with readers at the conclusion of the novel why she decided to write this novel against what most people would argue would be a foolish idea to invite a man neither of them know to come to their home especially with a 13-year old boy at home. I absolutely LOVE her reasoning and find myself relating to Adele more than I thought. I could see where she was struggling with her life and the choices it offered her even when she didn't have a say so in any of them. Now I can't wait for the movie due out in 2014.


I received Labor Day by Joyce Maynard compliments of William Morrow, a division of Harper Collins Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation and the opinions expressed in this review are strictly my own. This novel does focus quite a bit on the adolescence and sex pertaining to Henry as well as his mom and thus some readers might find the reference to these subjects as offensive. With that being included in this novel I find the rating of 4 out of 5 reasonable based on my own rating criteria. This is not the novel for all readers but for those that love Joyce Maynard's writing style this one is a must read.

For more information about Labor Day, Joyce Maynard or where to pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can find Joyce Maynard on Facebook to stay up to date on all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on Labor Day, please visit William Morrow's website. 

  • Paperback: 288 pages
  • Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks; Mti edition (December 3, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0062313630
  • ISBN-13: 978-0062313638
  • Product Dimensions: 8 x 5.3 x 0.6 inches

Amanda Weds a Good Man



I have fallen in love with the people of Cedar Creek through author Naomi King who introduced us to a handful of the residents there in her novels Rosemary Opens Her Heart and Abby Finds Her Calling. Now launching a new series, One Big Happy Family, Naomi introduces us to Amanda Lambright, a widow with three children who has managed to raise her family in the last four years even if it has been a struggle as a single mom. She finds solace in her best friend Abby who runs A Stitch in Time in Cedar Creek. She understands what it's like to want to work to provide for her family but also knows the struggles facing women in the Amish community trying to do it alone. She only hopes to find a man who might be as understanding as her husband, Atlee was.

When she finds hope in marrying Wyman Brubaker, also a widower with five children, she wonders if they will find ways to mend the differences between the two families. They each come with a set of unique challenges, one of them being that the community of Clearwater is a much stronger Old Amish Order and they believe in sticking to the guidelines set within the community. One of them being that the pottery that Amanda makes and sells at the Cedar Creek Mercantile isn't allowed. In fact, she will have to give up that interest of hers altogether if she hopes to fit in with the new Bishop. Her daughters are also being challenged in their new school with the new rules set forth by the school teacher, the bishop's daughter who believes that their dresses are too short and that too much hair is showing from their kapps.

In the midst of all of this new change, Amanda wonders if she didn't rush into this marriage with Wyman as a way to help one another out. Perhaps this wasn't God's plan after all. She struggles with trying to find a way to communicate with him despite wanting to be a good and devout Amish wife who follows what her husband asks of her. She already knows that Wyman had to tell his previous wife to stop painting because of the Bishop's orders but will he be able to ask Amanda to do the same even if it means causing a rift between them while trying to make things work?

I received Amanda Weds a Good Man by author Naomi King compliments of Pump Up Your Book Tours and Penguin Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own. This is true a novel that you can compare quite simply as an Amish Brady Bunch with a twist. Understanding the guidelines of the Amish faith plays a big part into the roles that Wyman and Amanda fall into, and thus blending two very different Amish orders together along with additional children to the mix is bound to cause more than just a few ruffled feathers. I love how it simply doesn't all fit together and I love the struggle that Wyman is challenged with in finding resolution with his new wife and the community he grew up in. I love this series and can't wait to read the next book which we get a sneak peek at in Emma Blooms at Last at the end of this one. Hands down a 5 out of 5 stars.

For more information about Amanda Weds A Good Man, Naomi King or where you can pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can also find Naomi King on Facebook to stay up to date with all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on Amanda Weds A Good Man from the Pump Up Your Book Tour, please click here.

  • Series: One Big Happy Family (Book 1)
  • Paperback: 336 pages
  • Publisher: NAL Trade (November 5, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0451417879
  • ISBN-13: 978-0451417879
  • Product Dimensions: 7.9 x 5 x 0.8 inches



Monday, December 2, 2013

Merry Humbug Christmas



This time of the year, I love it when you can find some really remarkable Christmas novels that are so good you know that they would make an incredible movie. There hasn't been any great Christmas movies in quite some time but Merry Humbug Christmas provides an outlet in that case. The novel from author Sandra D Bricker is a two for one that combines two unique characters and divides the novel into two separate Christmas tales with a flair for humor and laughter.

Once Upon a Jingle Bells takes Joss Snow into unexpected places for Christmas. Growing up with a formal name of Merry Christmas Snow, a play on words she says can be used in Wheel of Fortune's Before and After puzzle, she decided to change her name after her parents were killed during the Christmas season. Now she swears off of celebrating the season at any cost and has enlisted her best friend Reese in this endeavor until this year. Reese is now engaged and so Joss is on her own. She books a cruise to the Mexican Riviera that is supposed to be a Bah Humbug cruise and when the cruise is cancelled she finds herself rebooked on the 12 Fun Days of Christmas cruise instead with no way out. You can only imagine how this one plays on when your stuck on a ship with Christmas celebrations at literally every corner. Will she be able to avoid catching more than the Christmas spirit after all?

The novel concludes with Reese's story in It Came Upon a Midnight Deer where we find Reese and her fiancè Damian heading to his family's cabin in Sugar Loaf to celebrate Christmas and for Reese to meet the family. While Reese may have had good intentions on making the best impression on meeting her new in-laws, this tale takes a turn for the completely unexpected beginning with a car accident on the road to the family home in which they literally hit a deer. While the deer is injured, it is able to hobble off into the night leaving Reese and Damian stranded in the snow with no phone service and their only out is a two mile hike in the snow. The laughs only build from this point on when literally NOTHING works out like Reese wants and she soon wonder if she is really cut out to marry into this family after all.

I received Merry Humbug Christmas by Sandra D Bricker compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance and B and H Publishing Group for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed are strictly my own. This was truly a breath of fresh air and I LOVED every single moment of this story. I love how Sandra combined the two best friends stories into two separate ones but still felt the overlap in what happened to both during an unexpected change in their Christmas plans. This is one of my favorite Christmas stories this year because it adds humor and laughter to the joy of the season and we all know it doesn't always work out as planned. I easily give this one a 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion. Can't wait for more novels from Sandra in the future.

For more information about Merry Humbug Christmas, Sandra D. Bricker or where you can pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can also find Sandra D. Bricker on Facebook to stay up to date with all her novels.

To read more reviews on Merry Humbug Christmas from the Christian Fiction Blog Alliance book tour, please click here. 

  • Paperback: 304 pages
  • Publisher: B&H Books (October 15, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1433680750
  • ISBN-13: 978-1433680755
  • Product Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.5 x 0.9 inches

Wednesday, November 27, 2013

Hunting Shadows



He wasn't supposed to have brought either the weapon or the ammunition back. But he had, because the rifle has become a part of him. And no one searched his kit. Thank God he had.

The man deserved to die. But not this way. Not sacrificing himself. There had to be a better way. Look at it from a different perspective. God had brought this man to him once. He would do it again. All he had to do was wait. However long it took. His patience would pay off. He was ready. And Hutchinson would come to him for the killing.

Once again Scotland Yard has been asked to follow up on not only one murder case but two. When all leads come to a dead end, Inspector Ian Rutledge is called to find answers where there appear to be none. Both victims have strong social connections and both have been shot. The mystery is how they are linked and who has a rifle since all of them were supposed to have been turned in at the close of World War I. But apparently someone didn't and now is taking the time and diligence necessary to make sure that they are not caught and no clues are left behind. Is it possible that killer was a soldier or is it simply being made to look as if it is?

The other victim, Mr. Herbert Swift, a popular Tory candidate was also killed by a single shot while commencing with a public speech down the High Street, ending at the market cross. The only witness can only claim that she saw a monster in ironmonger's dormer window. What's more, the constable and afterward that Inspector Warren from Ely tried but they couldn't shake her account. Is it possible that hobgoblins are present in Fen country? Will Inspector Rutledge be able to find answers before the killer strikes again? Seems like Scotland Yard is Hunting Shadows!

I received Hunting Shadows by Charles Todd compliments of William Morrow, a division of Harper Collins Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed are strictly my own. Once again Charles Todd takes readers back to London to 1920, where Ian Rutledge is called upon to solve a case with very little to go on. I've been a huge fan of his Ian Rutledge Series and this one did not disappoint. I easily rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and the attention to detail that Charles Todd utilizes in his series makes the reader truly feel like they are part of the action. It is always fun to see if I can solve the crimes before Inspector Rutledge does and I love the historical setting he places his mysteries in. This novel is due for release in January 2014. For more information about Hunting Shadows, Charles Todd or where you can preorder a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can find Charles Todd on Facebook to stay up to date on all his latest novels.

To read more reviews on Hunting Shadows, visit William Morrow's website. 


Tuesday, November 26, 2013

The Pursuit of Mary Bennet



If you are a Jane Austen fan of Pride and Prejudice, you will love this novel. If you haven't seen Pride and Prejudice, watch it and then deeply immerse yourself in the richness this novel offers when it picks up where the original leaves off. It had been quite awhile since I had read or even watched the movie and in order to reacquaint myself in the characters of the Bennet girls I spent some time watching the movie. Since this novel takes a look at life from Mary Bennet's point of view I had to remember who she was. Since she isn't addressed much I wondered why Pamela Mingle chose this particular Bennet girl to write a sequel on, but trust me when I tell you, she needs to be applauded for her efforts. Jane Austen would be proud!

Mary Bennet was the middle of five Bennet girls and one that most of her sisters and often times parents ignored. She wasn't pretty or even possessed any real talent a man looking for a suitable wife would find worth turning his head for. In fact, in Pride and Prejudice, Mary is chastened by her father for her lack of musical talent at playing the pianoforte or even singing. Now after spending time working at music, she possess a fine talent in those areas, but lacking the self esteem or even being bold enough as her sisters, she prefers to read alone or take walks, much like the wall flower she sees herself as.

Even her parents know that Mary will undoubtedly be an old spinster lacking in finding a suitable husband and her best outcome in life will be the governess for her older married sisters Jane or Elizabeth. But deep down inside Mary wants more but isn't sure how to find it. She is constantly reprimanded whenever she offers an opinion in any situation because she lacks the experience in such areas that her opinion isn't considered from love to marriage or even raising children. When her younger sister Lydia returns home while expecting a child from her husband Mr. Wickham, it throws the Bennet household into more scandal. In fact it turns out that Lydia isn't sure the child she is carrying is even her husbands and she has left him.

Mary is taken to her sister Jane's while the family decides how to best handle Lydia's latest predicament and to avoid having the rest of the daughter's tainted in the process. As only one of two sisters now left unmarried, Mary finds herself drawn to Mr. Henry Walsh. He seems genuinely interested in her as well but when Kitty, Mary's youngest sister deems that Henry is off limits, will Mary once again fade into the shadow or will she fight for what she wants in life?

I received The Pursuit of Mary Bennet by Pamela Mingle compliments of William Morrow, division of Harper Collins Publishers for my honest review and did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review. However, this one was so worth taking the time to spend with Mary Bennet. I think out of all the Bennet daughters, I myself, relate to her more than the rest of the girls. Pamela Mingle did such a flawless job, I felt Jane Austen herself had written this one. I can easily give this one a well deserved 5 out of 5 stars and was so thrilled to be able to review this one. This is such a treat and to spend time savoring each page was well worth curling up with on a rainy cold evening. A MUST HAVE for any fan of Pride and Prejudice!

For more information about The Pursuit of Mary Bennet, Pamela Mingle, or where you can pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:


You can also find Pamela Mingle on Facebook to stay up to date with all her latest novels.

  • Paperback: 320 pages
  • Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks (November 26, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0062274244
  • ISBN-13: 978-0062274243
  • Product Dimensions: 7.9 x 5.2 x 1 inches