The Best People In The World!

Wednesday, January 22, 2014

The Dancing Master

For me, the ear marks of a great novel is when the author truly takes the time to create a story and characters you can relate to and care about. One that doesn't worry about how many pages are in the novel as long as the storyline they thought through is conveyed in the manner they hoped. One that doesn't spend a lot of time in the build up of the novel only to rush through it quickly in a hurried breath at the end. Julie Klassen is that author.

Being a huge fan of traditional regency novels and television series like Downton Abbey, I love the look back in time when men were truly gallant and women were cherished and treated like ladies. If they were interested in one another, a chaperone was sent along as they spent time getting to know one another through walks in the garden or in carriage rides. This is one of those very heartwarming and hold your breath novels. One you will know from the very beginning you've reached something you won't want to rush through because when it does end, you'll be sad. Sad that it's over and you'll have to wait for more to come in the near future. I've been fortunate to read all of Julie Klassen's novels and this one is a masterpiece.

Julia Midwinter is the only daughter of Amelia Midwinter, one of the richest women in the town of Beaworthy. She is not at a loss of handsome suitors although none of them have caught her eye in the way of falling in love like she dreamed. She has fun practicing the art of flirting whenever the opportunity presents itself but finds life rather boring without balls or social outings one would find in London. Since her mother presides over the town and it's parish, dancing and balls have been banned. There is no law on the books but since the death of her Uncle, the entire town has gone along with request. If only Julia could get her to explain the reasons why, but her mother remains tight lipped about why.

However when a stranger moves to town along with his mother and sister, Julia's interest is more than sparked. She finds a man that will challenge even her boldest moves. He refuses to treat her with anything less than the respect a lady deserves even if it means he has to walk away most times. Alec Valcourt has moved in with his uncle along with his mother and sister to find a way to support themselves now that their father has left them. Alec only hopes that as a Dancing and Fencing Master, he might provide the finances that would allow them to find a  home of their own. But when Alec learns that dancing is banned in the town of Beaworthy, he finds his dreams are as lost as his family. How will he be able to provide for his family if he has no skills to do so? How will he be able to provide for any women he falls in love with if he has no hope for a future at anything? Will there be a time to restore dancing in the town of Beaworthy again?

I received The Dancing Master by Julie Klassen compliments of Bethany House Publishers and Litfuse Book Tours for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed in this review are strictly my own. I tried delaying the end of this novel as long as I could but somehow like all great things it has to come to an end. My only hope is that Julie Klassen has something else brewing very soon in the future. There simply hasn't been a book of hers I haven't fallen head over heels in love with. Fans of Jane Austen, Downton Abbey or traditional regency fans will LOVE this novel and is why I can easily give this one a 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion. There is even a discussion guide at the end that is excellent for book groups to utilize.

For more information about The Dancing Master, Julie Klassen or where to pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:

You can find Julie Klassen on Facebook to stay up to date with all her latest novels.

 To read more reviews on The Dancing Master from the TLC Book Tour, please click here. 

Best-selling author Julie Klassen will be hosting a Kindle Fire HDX giveaway and a live webcast event (1/23) to celebrate the release of her latest novel, The Dancing Master. Enter and RSVP today!

  One winner will receive:
  • A Kindle Fire HDX
  • The Dancing Master by Julie Klassen
Enter today by clicking one of the icons below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on January 23rd. Winner will be announced at the "All Things Jane (from Austen to Eyre)" Live Webcast Event on January 23rd. Connect with Julie for an evening of book chat, trivia, laughter, and more! Julie will also be taking questions from the audience and giving away books, Jane Austen DVDs, fun "Jane" merchandise, and gift certificates throughout the evening.

So grab your copy of The Dancing Master and join Julie and friends on the evening of January 23rd for a chance to connect and make some new friends. (If you haven't read the book, don't let that stop you from coming!)

Don't miss a moment of the fun; RSVP today by signing up for a reminder. Tell your friends via FACEBOOK or TWITTER and increase your chances of winning. Hope to see you on the 23rd!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please share with me your comments. I love to know what touched you about this post or how it has blessed you in any way.