The Best People In The World!

Friday, October 24, 2014

A Lady at Willowgrove Hall

Ah sometimes the best places to visit are the ones best-selling authors take us to in their novels. For fans of Jane Austen or Downton Abbey, you will absolutely LOVE the Whispers on the Moors series from Sarah E. Ladd. I've been honored to be whisked away as an unseen voyeur watching the lives of the women who encounter life at Willowgrove Hall and the secrets that remain hidden beneath the stone walls there.

A Lady at Willowgrove Hall is the third and hopefully not final novel in the series and it takes us back to Willowgrove Hall once more into the lives of the Trent family who now reside there. Mrs. Trent has fallen ill and now that her lady's companion has gotten married she has requested a suitable replacement. Her letter finds her way to the Rosemere School for Young Ladies in Darbury, England. After spending five years there, Cecily Faire has been asked by the Mrs. Sterling to fulfill the role of the companion for Mrs. Trent. Cecily has been living at Rosemere since her father abandoned her there after learning of her plans to runaway with a man she had fallen in love with at sixteen. She was more than ready to begin a new life, but wondered if she might be able to find the family that had been stolen from her five years ago. Had her father forgiven her after all these years? Perhaps the answers lie within the walls of Willowgrove Hall.

Nathaniel Stanton, the steward of Willowgrove Hall has his own secrets that have been revealed to him by his mother. He has learned that the man he believed was his father wasn't and instead his father had been Mr. Trent who had long passed away. Since Mrs. Trent learned of her husband's indiscretions in their marriage, she had punished Mr. Stanton instead of her husband. That is why they have such a conflicting working relationship and why she condones having him working the estate she is living in. She knows Nathaniel should be the rightful heir, but it is something she had to keep hidden and allow the estate to pass to her nephew instead when she dies. Knowing she doesn't have much time left Mrs. Trent looks forward to spending time with someone instead of living the remainder of her years alone. Her nephew, while still part of the family, is planning his own wedding and is looking forward to the day when he will become the rightful heir to Willowgrove Hall.

I received A Lady at Willowgrove Hall by Sarah E. Ladd compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions contained here are strictly my own. Traditional regency romance fans will be thrilled at the poetic writing style that Sarah utilizes to take readers back to the early 1800's when romance was still something desired and dreamed about. I absolutely love that she utilizes flaws in Cecily and Nathaniel to make them more believable to readers. You find yourself rallying for both of them in spite of the odds against them. In the darkest places sometimes is where we find the light of hope again. I can only hope that Sarah will continue with the characters her readers have become fans of and this will not be the last novel in the Whispers of the Moors series. Truly worth 5 out of 5 royal stars in this readers heart!

For more information about A Lady at Willowgrove Hall, Sarah E. Ladd or where you can pick up a copy of this novel today, please click on the links below:

You can find Sarah E. Ladd on Facebook to stay up to date on all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on A Lady at Willowgrove Hall, please visit Litfuse Publicity's book tour page.

Award-winning author Sarah E. Ladd examines how to escape the clutches of a tainted past in the final installment of her Whispers on the Moor series. A Regency-era novel, A Lady at Willowgrove Hall cleverly shows that even though our pasts may be shameful or painful, God can take the darkest personal histories and turn them into the brightest futures.


Celebrate with Sarah by entering her Kindle HDX giveaway!
One grand prize winner will receive:
  • A Kindle Fire HDX
  • A Lady at Willowgrove Hall by Sarah E. Ladd
Enter today by clicking the icon below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on November 2nd. Winner will be announced November 3rd here.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Please share with me your comments. I love to know what touched you about this post or how it has blessed you in any way.