The Best People In The World!

Saturday, February 22, 2014

Where Courage Calls

For as long as I can remember, I've always loved the Old West and when Hallmark launched the television series, When Calls The Heart by best selling author Janette Oke I was completely addicted. Even my youngest daughter at thirteen, truly loved the movie. So when the opportunity became available to review Where Courage Calls, a special companion story to the When Calls the Heart TV series, I knew I had to read this one. If you've already read When Calls the Heart, you may remember Elizabeth Thatcher has left her wealthy lifestyle to head west as a teacher for Coal Valley, a small coal mining town who is in desperate need of a school teacher for the children of the town. Along the way she was escorted by Edward Montclair, who was sent to keep an eye on her by her father to ensure her safe arrival in Coal Valley.

However like all great stories, this one has a twist. Upon arriving in Lethbridge, a larger town on the outskirts of Coal Valley, Edward makes the mistake of letting a porter take their bags only to realize later than they have been robbed. The porter was really a thief in disguise and now Elizabeth has only the clothes on her back and no school supplies. Edward feels personally responsible since Elizabeth's luggage contained a valuable violin that her father gave her as well as a compass that he used to own. But Elizabeth is determined to fulfill her year contract with Coal Valley and the school board even though the school takes place in a saloon during the day.

The women of Coal Valley have taken it upon themselves to fund Miss Thatcher's employment believing that an education is necessary if they want a better life for their children than becoming coal miners which claimed most of the men and older boys in a mining explosion. In Where Courage Calls, Elizabeth's adventures are detailed in what could be future episodes on the Hallmark TV series in each chapter, from dealing with financial difficulties of the mining families when the begin to run out of food during a blizzard, what happens when Elizabeth comes down with the flu, when new miners appear in town to work in the mine but don't speak English and most of all how Elizabeth can keep the love of learning alive during her first year in Coal Valley while finding more than one man who in interested in her beside Edward, which introduces us to Jack Thornton, a Canadian Mountie who shares a common interest with Elizabeth in being the local police in Coal Valley. So more than just sparks will fly between them!

I received Where Courage Calls by Janette Oke and Laurel Oke Logan compliments of Litfuse Publicity and Bethany House Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed are strictly my own. This novel concludes at the end of Elizabeth's first year of teaching in Coal Valley and the reader is left hoping that more will come in the very near future. I absolutely LOVE this series both the books and the TV series! I love the strong determination that Elizabeth digs deep to find especially when all the odds are against her. She refuses to accept failure at any turn and her love of not only teaching but the children and women she meets is apparent in the many times she goes out of her way to help people in need. Even though she comes from a wealthy upbringing, she becomes one of the women and gains so much more insight into her own strength and character, especially when her sister comes for a visit and gets more than she bargained for. I easily give this one a 5 out of 5 stars!

For more information about Where Courage Calls, Janette Oke, Laurel Oke Logan or where you can pick up this novel today, please click on the links below:

You can find Where Calls the Heart on Facebook to stay up to date with all details from the series.

To read more reviews on Where Courage Calls, please visit Litfuse Publicity Book Tour Page. 

Janette Oke's newest book, Where Courage Calls (co-written with her daughter, Laurel Oke Logan), is receiving rave reviews. It is the companion story to Hallmark Channel's TV series When Calls the Heart, set in the Canadian west.

Janette and Laurel are celebrating with an iPad Mini giveaway and a Facebook author chat party on March 4th.
One winner will receive:
Enter today by clicking one of the icons below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on March 4th. Winner will be announced at the Where Courage Calls Facebook Party on March 4th. Connect with Janette and Laurel for an evening of book chat, trivia, laughter, and more!

So grab your copy of Where Courage Calls and join Janette and Laurel on the evening of March 4th for a chance to connect and make some new friends. (If you haven't read the book, don't let that stop you from coming!)

Don't miss a moment of the fun; RSVP today by clicking JOIN on the event page. Tell your friends via FACEBOOK or TWITTER and increase your chances of winning. Hope to see you on the 4th!

1 comment:

  1. I love Janette Oke's books. I really enjoy books about the settler days and love Christian fiction. I haven't watched this show yet but will check it out now.


Please share with me your comments. I love to know what touched you about this post or how it has blessed you in any way.