The Best People In The World!

Tuesday, May 24, 2016

The Progeny

Take an idea of a family of descendants of a brutal serial killer, add in a touch of both historical and futuristic science fiction, and you might just have an idea of what The Progeny, the latest novel by Tosca Lee is about. This is the first novel in the Descendants of the Blood Countess series. Some might say it perfect for fans of Dekker and Lee's series, the Book of Mortals, or fans of Dan Brown's The DaVinci Code and still others might compare it to the BBCs hit series, Orphan Black. Yet for me, a fan of anything Tosca Lee pens, I'm all in without having to read the synopsis of the book.

Without giving any of it away, know that this will be a trilogy if not more, so whatever happens in this novel will not be resolved by the conclusion. It will however, give you a bit of the back story of the main character, Emily Jacobs, and what motivates her to make the decisions she does in The Progeny. Emily Porter is not her real name, it is the name assigned to her after she goes through a procedure to erase her memories. It is vital that she does this because before the procedure she was hunted by one person assigned to do nothing but kill her and steal her memories. He has had 5 years to do just that. Emily's real name is Audra Ellison. She is one of a handful of illegitimate children her mother had before she was murdered.

It is a race against time for Audra to now discover, who she can trust, because she can't remember who she can or can't and has to rely on her quick wits and her ability to charm those through implementing thoughts into their heads to do what she asks of them. The one thing she can't influence is other progeny's and she must discover why she erased her memories before those she loves are killed one by one, while avoiding being killed by the one person who has been assigned to kill her and take whatever memories she has. Even more important is that her death carries with it the weight that the line of her families bloodline ends and she won't be able to produce anymore children. She isn't sure if she is the last one left, but now it is a race against time to uncover clues she apparently left for herself along the way in the hopes she might discover them one day.

I received The Progeny by Tosca Lee compliments of Howard Books, a division of Simon and Schuster Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation aside from a free ARC of this novel in exchange for my honest and personal opinions. I absolutely LOVE this novel and can't wait to inhale the rest of it. To place it in any one particular genre is downright hard. It's part historical, suspense, thriller, fantasy, contemporary, action, drama, and romance. The one thing that is clear is that Tosca Lee once again has written an amazing novel and series, and now the wait begins for the next novel. This one rates a 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion.

For more information about The Progeny, Tosca Lee or where you can pick up a copy of this book today, please click on the links below:

You can find Tosca Lee on Facebook to stay up to date on all her latest novels.

To read more reviews on The Progeny, please visit Howard Book's website. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please share with me your comments. I love to know what touched you about this post or how it has blessed you in any way.