The Best People In The World!

Monday, March 19, 2012

Summer of Secrets

Sometimes you could live your whole life thinking things are just the way they are, until one day someone shows up from your past to remind you life isn't what had thought after all.

In the novel, Summer of Secrets by Charlotte Hubbard, we are immediately introduced into the engagement of Rachel Lantz and Micah Breeneman, a young Amish couple that have yet to announce their formal engagement as is customary among the Amish. So for now, they are happily enjoying the time just being together and riding in Micah's courting buggy. Rachel works with her mother, Miriam and sister, Rhoda at Sweet Season's, their bakery cafe in the heart of Willow Ridge, Missouri.

Just as the lunch rush is getting started, they notice an English girl dressed in Gothic attire and with multiple piercings and tattoos. What they didn't expect that day was to learn that her name is Tiffany, who used to be referred to by the name Rebecca who was lost in a river at the age of three. She is the missing sister of Rachel and Rhoda and Miriam's missing daughter who they all believed to be dead.

Yet Tiffany herself is having a difficult time accepting what her father had told her, being adopted at a young age and had to travel to Willow Ridge to meet her supposed mother, Miriam. She wasn't expecting them to be Amish and leaves before Miriam can have a change to speak with her. Rachel on the other hand is more than happy to see her leave. She believes no good can come of trying to make amends with Tiffany, especially since Micah has seemed to taken notice of her.

The Summer of Secrets is a timeless Amish novel that will educate readers of the Amish lifestyle while immersing the reader in the struggle to find a way to mend the rift between the family. Miriam has long believed that she alone was ultimately responsible for what she believed was the death of Rebecca/Tiffany thanks to her husband Jessie, who has now passed away. Will Miriam find a way to reach out to Tiffany and find a way to heal their relationship or will their differences in lifestyle be too much to heal the brokenness in both their lives?

I received Summer of Secrets compliments of Pump Up Your Book Tours and Charlotte Hubbard, herself for my honest review. Being a huge fan of the Amish fiction, this one is just another perfect companion to my growing collection. It's easy to relate to Miriam who just wants to welcome Rebecca back into the family, especially now that Rachel is getting married. This is a heart-warming story that I know my readers will love and I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars. The best part too, are the recipes that follow at the end that I know you will love to try! This is the first book in the Seasons of The Heart series and I can't wait to follow this one to the very end.

For more information on this book, the author, or where you can purchase a copy of this book, please click on the links below:

Summer of Secrets by Charlotte Hubbard

You can also find Charlotte on Facebook by clicking here.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please share with me your comments. I love to know what touched you about this post or how it has blessed you in any way.